DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Pre-Appeal Conference Decision from June 8, 2026. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-18, 20 are pending.
Notice to Applicant
The Examiner has withdrawn the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection(s) on claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-18, 20 as the claims recite statutory subject matter. The claims recite statutory subject matter as the claims apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e). The integration of the abstract idea into a practical application is accomplished by the meaningful use of “a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned …” to “display the video feed of the patient environment, wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions by using the lenticular lens of the image forming device, wherein different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception;”. The Examiner acknowledges that the claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-18, 20 would be eligible over Step 2A Prong Two.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0208367) in view of Krueger (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0008141) in further view of Saito (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0293691).
As per independent claim 1, Davidson discloses a device for conducting a telehealth consultation, the device comprising:
at least one processing device communicatively coupled to the image forming device (See Paragraphs [0032], [0040]: The controller of the information system may be included at least partially in a local server of the medical facility, a remote server, or a combination thereof, the controller includes a processor, a memory, and other control circuitry, which the Examiner is interpreting the controller to encompass at least one processing device, and the wearable device is able to communicate via the communication network (Paragraph [0040]), which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass communicatively coupled to the image forming device); and
a memory device storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device, cause the at least one processing device to:
receive a video feed of a patient environment (See Fig. 2 and Paragraphs [0038]-[0039]: The data captured by the imagers 92, 98 generally includes image data, such as at least one of a picture, video, real-time streaming of data, other transmissions of image data, or combinations thereof, which the Examiner is interpreting the image data to encompass a video feed);
recognize a local device in the video feed of the patient environment (See Paragraphs [0106]-[0109]: A visual identifier is operably coupled to the treatment device and a controller is configured to communicate with a remote device having a sensor for sensing the visual identifier within a field of detection, the controller is configured to recognize the visual identifier sensed by the remote device, determine device information associated with the visual identifier based on a configuration of the visual identifier, retrieve the device information relating to the treatment device associated with the visual identifier from an information source, and generate a virtual image including the device information configured to be viewed via the remote device, which the Examiner is interpreting a visual identifier is operably coupled to the treatment device to encompass a local device);
display the video feed of the patient environment (See Paragraphs [0028]-[0029]: The virtual signage (e.g., the virtual image) is displayed using at least one of augmented reality and mixed reality), wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions by using the lenticular lens of the image forming device (See Fig. 8, 10 and Paragraphs [0029]-[0030], [0038]: The virtual signage (e.g., the virtual image) is displayed using at least one of augmented reality and mixed reality, which the Examiner is interpreting augmented reality or mixed reality to encompass displaying the video feed in three dimensions, when combined with Krueger as described below), wherein different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception;
detect an input directed to the local device (See Paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0077]-[0079]: The user sensors may include at least one gesture sensor to track position, movement, and gestures of the caregiver, and the movement and/or the focus of the caregiver may be analyzed by the control unit and/or the controller and compared to the virtual image to determine the selection or the input from the caregiver, which the Examiner is interpreting determine the section or the input from the caregiver to encompass detect an input directed to the local device);
generate a control command based on the input (See Paragraphs [0077]-[0079]: The selection or interaction with the virtual image may be sensed by at least one of the environmental sensors and the user sensors and compared to the virtual image, the wearable device may then communicate the command or selection of the user to the medical bed); and
send the control command to the local device, wherein the control command causes the local device to perform an action during the telehealth consultation (See Fig. 11 and Paragraphs [0077]-[0079]: The selectable features may activate certain protocols or adjust certain aspects of the medical bed, as illustrated in FIG. 11, the caregiver may select whether to raise the side rails of the medical bed, which the Examiner is interpreting the caregiver may select whether to raise the side rails of the medical bed to encompass perform an action.)
While Davidson teaches the device to display the video feed of the patient environment, wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions as described above, Davidson may not explicitly teach an image forming device including:
a display device configured to display a patient environment; and
display the video feed of the patient environment, wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions by using the lenticular lens of the image forming device, wherein different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception.
Kreuger teaches a device for an image forming device including:
a display device configured to display a patient environment (See Paragraphs [0074]-[0079]: Realistic images can be used to simulate the target of interest or visual element being viewed or the environment in which the person would normal be engaged in when performing his or her activities of choice or occupation, which the Examiner is interpreting realistic images to encompass a display, VR, AR, or synthetic 3D devices to encompass a display device, and performing his or her activities of choice or occupation to encompass a patient environment); and
display the video feed of the patient environment, wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions by using the lenticular lens of the image forming device (See Paragraphs [0008]-[0012]: A lenticular display that presents the images for the left eye and right eye in a unit that is not worn by the user, instead the image for the left eye and the right eye are produced by a single device in a way that causes the left image to be projected at an angle visible to the left eye and causes the right image to be projected at an angle visible to the right eye, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device), wherein different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception (See Paragraphs [0008], [0079], [0246]-[0256]: A multiple depth plane three dimensional (3D) display system can visually provide multiple virtual depth planes at respective radial focal distances to simulate a 4D light beam field, which the Examiner is interpreting VRD system also can show an image in each eye with an enough angle difference to simulate three-dimensional scenes with high fidelity to encompass different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lenses, interpreting the multiple depth plane three dimensional (3D) display system to encompass changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception ([0252]) when combined with Saito below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the device of Davidson to include an image forming device including: a display device configured to display a patient environment; and display the video feed of the patient environment, wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions by using the lenticular lens of the image forming device, wherein different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception as taught by Krueger. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Davidson with Krueger with the motivation of provide unique complexity to the visual elements and to the background scenes (See Background of Krueger in Paragraph [0041]).
While Davidson/Krueger discloses the device as described above, Davidson/Krueger may not explicitly teach a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device, wherein the lenticular lens enables viewing of different aspects of the patient environment from multiple viewing angles by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device.
Saito teaches a device for a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device (See Fig. 2, 10, 12-13 and Paragraphs [0044]-[0049], [0070]-[0072]: In a multi-eye type naked-eye stereoscopic display apparatus using the lenticular lens LLs, the visual recognition range can be widened as the lens pitch is increased and the focal length is shortened, which the Examiner is interpreting the naked-eye stereoscopic display apparatus 100 to encompass a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device, and interpreting the naked-eye stereoscopic vision-ready video data generation method not by actually performing the imaging by imaging devices, but by rendering of 3D object data by CG to encompass generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device), wherein the lenticular lens enables viewing of different aspects of the patient environment from multiple viewing angles by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device (See Fig. 2 and Paragraphs [0045]-[0052]: The naked-eye stereoscopic display apparatus 100 that divides n viewpoint images into n different viewpoint directions and presents the viewpoint images, a visual recognition range .theta.vi is defined by the angle made between the direction of presenting the viewpoint image 0 and the direction of presenting the viewpoint image n-1, which the Examiner is interpreting different viewpoint directions to encompass viewing of different aspects of the patient environment from multiple viewing angles by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device as the pixel pitch in the horizontal direction of the pixels Pxl is px, and the pixel pitch in the vertical direction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the device of Davidson/Krueger to include a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device, wherein the lenticular lens enables viewing of different aspects of the patient environment from multiple viewing angles by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device as taught by Saito. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Davidson/Krueger with Saito with the motivation of reducing malfunctions between the horizontal direction and the vertical direction (See Background of Saito in Paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
As per claim 2, Davidson/Krueger/Saito discloses the device of claim 1 as described above. Davidson further teaches wherein the memory device stores further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device (See Paragraph [0048]: Each treatment device includes a control unit that has a processor, a memory, and other control circuitry, instructions or routines are stored within the memory and executable by the processor), cause the at least one processing device to: perform a gesture recognition algorithm to recognize the input as a gesture (See Paragraphs [0044], [0060]: The user sensors may include at least one gesture sensor to track position, movement, and gestures of the caregiver, which may determine the interaction of the caregiver with the virtual image, which the Examiner is interpreting the gesture sensor to encompass a gesture recognition algorithm.)
Claim(s) 11 mirrors claim 2 only within (a) different statutory category/categories, and is/are rejected for the same reason as claim 2.
As per claim 4, Davidson/Krueger/Saito discloses the device of claim 1 as described above. Davidson further teaches wherein the control command causes the local device to change a data display (See Paragraphs [0078]-[0080]: The virtual image may be adjusted or changed in response to the movement of the caregiver, which the Examiner is interpreting adjusting or changing the virtual image to encompass change a data display.)
As per claim 5, Davidson/Krueger/Saito discloses the device of claim 1 as described above. Davidson further teaches wherein the control command causes the local device to provide a therapy to the patient (See Paragraphs [0027], [0048]-[0052], [0068]-[0069]: Each room environment includes at least one treatment device for treating or otherwise caring for a patient, which the Examiner is interpreting treatment device for treating or otherwise caring for a patient to encompass the local device to provide a therapy to the patient.)
As per claim 6, Davidson/Krueger/Saito discloses the device of claim 1 as described above. Davidson further teaches wherein the memory device stores further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device, cause the at least one processing device to: augment the video feed to include a display of clinical data measured by the local device (See Paragraphs [0028]-[0029]: The information system for the medical facility disclosed herein utilizes the remote device to display virtual signage that may include the device information, the patient information, any additional information useful for the caregiver, or a combination thereof, which the Examiner is interpreting the patient information, any additional information useful for the caregiver to encompass clinical data measured by the local device.)
Claim(s) 9 mirrors claim 6 only within (a) different statutory category/categories, and is/are rejected for the same reason as claim 6.
As per independent claim 8, Davidson discloses a method of conducting a telehealth consultation, the method comprising:
receiving a video feed of a patient environment (See Fig. 2 and Paragraphs [0038]-[0039]: The data captured by the imagers 92, 98 generally includes image data, such as at least one of a picture, video, real-time streaming of data, other transmissions of image data, or combinations thereof, which the Examiner is interpreting the image data to encompass a video feed);
recognizing a local device in the video feed of the patient environment (See Paragraphs [0106]-[0109]: A visual identifier is operably coupled to the treatment device and a controller is configured to communicate with a remote device having a sensor for sensing the visual identifier within a field of detection, the controller is configured to recognize the visual identifier sensed by the remote device, determine device information associated with the visual identifier based on a configuration of the visual identifier, retrieve the device information relating to the treatment device associated with the visual identifier from an information source, and generate a virtual image including the device information configured to be viewed via the remote device, which the Examiner is interpreting a visual identifier is operably coupled to the treatment device to encompass a local device);
detecting an input directed to the local device, the input detected from a remote caregiver watching the video feed (See Paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0077]-[0079]: The user sensors may include at least one gesture sensor to track position, movement, and gestures of the caregiver, and the movement and/or the focus of the caregiver may be analyzed by the control unit and/or the controller and compared to the virtual image to determine the selection or the input from the caregiver, which the Examiner is interpreting determine the section or the input from the caregiver to encompass detect an input directed to the local device);
generating a control command based on the input (See Paragraphs [0077]-[0079]: The selection or interaction with the virtual image may be sensed by at least one of the environmental sensors and the user sensors and compared to the virtual image, the wearable device may then communicate the command or selection of the user to the medical bed);
sending the control command to the local device, wherein the control command causes the local device to perform an action during the telehealth consultation (See Fig. 11 and Paragraphs [0077]-[0079]: The selectable features may activate certain protocols or adjust certain aspects of the medical bed, as illustrated in FIG. 11, the caregiver may select whether to raise the side rails of the medical bed, which the Examiner is interpreting the caregiver may select whether to raise the side rails of the medical bed to encompass perform an action.)
While Davidson taches the method as described above, Davidson may not explicitly teach displaying the video feed of the patient environment, wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions by an image forming device including a display device and a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three- dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device, wherein different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception.
Krueger teaches a method for displaying the video feed of the patient environment, wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions by an image forming device including a display device (See Paragraphs [0074]-[0079]: Realistic images can be used to simulate the target of interest or visual element being viewed or the environment in which the person would normal be engaged in when performing his or her activities of choice or occupation, which the Examiner is interpreting realistic images to encompass a display, VR, AR, or synthetic 3D devices to encompass a display device, and performing his or her activities of choice or occupation to encompass a patient environment) and a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device (See Paragraphs [0008]-[0012]: A lenticular display that presents the images for the left eye and right eye in a unit that is not worn by the user, and the system of Kruger can select the display a lenticular display to be used (Claim 18)) by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device, wherein different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device (See Paragraphs [0008]-[0012]: A lenticular display that presents the images for the left eye and right eye in a unit that is not worn by the user, instead the image for the left eye and the right eye are produced by a single device in a way that causes the left image to be projected at an angle visible to the left eye and causes the right image to be projected at an angle visible to the right eye, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device) such that changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception (See Paragraphs [0008], [0079], [0246]-[0256]: A multiple depth plane three dimensional (3D) display system can visually provide multiple virtual depth planes at respective radial focal distances to simulate a 4D light beam field, which the Examiner is interpreting VRD system also can show an image in each eye with an enough angle difference to simulate three-dimensional scenes with high fidelity to encompass different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lenses, interpreting the multiple depth plane three dimensional (3D) display system to encompass changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception ([0252]).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the method of Davidson to include displaying the video feed of the patient environment, wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions by an image forming device including a display device and a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device, wherein different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception as taught by Krueger. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Davidson with Krueger with the motivation of provide unique complexity to the visual elements and to the background scenes (See Background of Krueger in Paragraph [0041]).
While Davidson/Krueger discloses a method for displaying the video feed of the patient environment, wherein the video feed is displayed in three dimensions by an image forming device including a display device and a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device, wherein different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception, Davidson/Kruger may not explicitly teach by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device.
Saito teaches a method for by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device (See Fig. 2 and Paragraphs [0045]-[0052]: The naked-eye stereoscopic display apparatus 100 that divides n viewpoint images into n different viewpoint directions and presents the viewpoint images, a visual recognition range .theta.vi is defined by the angle made between the direction of presenting the viewpoint image 0 and the direction of presenting the viewpoint image n-1, which the Examiner is interpreting different viewpoint directions to encompass different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device as the pixel pitch in the horizontal direction of the pixels Pxl is px, and the pixel pitch in the vertical direction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the method of Davidson/Krueger to include by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device as taught by Saito. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Davidson/Krueger with Saito with the motivation of reducing malfunctions between the horizontal direction and the vertical direction (See Background of Saito in Paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Claims 3, 12-13, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0208367) in view of Krueger (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0008141) in view of Saito (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0293691) in further view of Osterhout et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0194551).
As per claim 3, Davidson/Krueger/Saito discloses the device of claim 1 as described above. Davidson further teaches wherein the memory device stores further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device, […] (See Paragraph [0048]: Each treatment device includes a control unit that has a processor, a memory, and other control circuitry, instructions or routines are stored within the memory and executable by the processor.)
While Davidson/Krueger/Saito teaches a device wherein the memory device stores further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device, Davidson/Krueger/Saito may not explicitly teach perform a speech recognition algorithm to recognize the input as a voice command.
Osterhout teaches a device wherein the memory device stores further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device, cause the at least one processing device to: perform a speech recognition algorithm to recognize the input as a voice command (See Paragraphs [0467], [0769]: User action capture inputs and/or devices may include a head tracking system, camera, voice recognition system, body movement sensor (e.g. kinetic sensor), eye-gaze detection system, tongue touch pad, sip-and-puff systems, joystick, cursor, mouse, touch screen, touch sensor, finger tracking devices, 3D/2D mouse, inertial movement tracking, microphone, wearable sensor sets, robotic motion detection system, optical motion tracking system, laser motion tracking system, keyboard, virtual keyboard, virtual keyboard on a physical platform, context determination system, activity determination system (e.g. on a train, on a plane, walking, exercising, etc.) finger following camera, virtualized in-hand display, sign language system, trackball, hand-mounted camera, temple-located sensors, glasses- located sensors, Bluetooth communications, wireless communications, satellite communications, and the like, and combinations of the same.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the device of Davidson/Krueger/Saito to include perform a speech recognition algorithm to recognize the input as a voice command as taught by Osterhout. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Davidson/Krueger/Saito with Osterhout with the motivation of improving performance with voice commands (See Detailed Description of Osterhout in Paragraph [0811]).
Claim(s) 12 mirrors claim 3 only within (a) different statutory category/categories, and is/are rejected for the same reason as claim 3.
As per independent claim 13, Davidson discloses a device for conducting a telehealth consultation, the device comprising:
at least one processing device communicatively coupled to the image forming device (See Paragraphs [0032], [0040]: The controller of the information system may be included at least partially in a local server of the medical facility, a remote server, or a combination thereof, the controller includes a processor, a memory, and other control circuitry, which the Examiner is interpreting the controller to encompass at least one processing device, and the wearable device is able to communicate via the communication network (Paragraph [0040]), which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass communicatively coupled to the image forming device); and
a memory device storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device, cause the at least one processing device to: receive a video feed of the patient (See Paragraphs [0032], [0040]: The controller of the information system may be included at least partially in a local server of the medical facility, a remote server, or a combination thereof, the controller includes a processor, a memory, and other control circuitry, which the Examiner is interpreting the controller to encompass at least one processing device, and the wearable device is able to communicate via the communication network (Paragraph [0040]), which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass communicatively coupled to the image forming device when combined with Krueger); and
display the feature and the measurement of the feature in the three-dimensional image (See Paragraphs [0028]-[0029]: The information system for the medical facility disclosed herein utilizes the remote device to display virtual signage that may include the device information, the patient information, any additional information useful for the caregiver, or a combination thereof, which the Examiner is interpreting the patient information, any additional information useful for the caregiver to encompass the feature and the measurement of the feature in the three-dimensional image when combined with Osterhout.)
While Davidson teaches the device as described above, Davidson may not explicitly teach an image forming device, the image forming device including: a display device configured to display a patient; and
display a three-dimensional image using the image forming device, the three-dimensional image being based on the video feed, wherein different aspects of the patient are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception.
Kruger teaches a device for an image forming device, the image forming device including: a display device configured to display a patient (See Paragraphs [0074]-[0079]: Realistic images can be used to simulate the target of interest or visual element being viewed or the environment in which the person would normal be engaged in when performing his or her activities of choice or occupation, which the Examiner is interpreting realistic images to encompass a display, VR, AR, or synthetic 3D devices to encompass a display device, and performing his or her activities of choice or occupation to encompass a patient environment); and
display a three-dimensional image using the image forming device, the three-dimensional image being based on the video feed (See Paragraphs [0008]-[0012]: A lenticular display that presents the images for the left eye and right eye in a unit that is not worn by the user, instead the image for the left eye and the right eye are produced by a single device in a way that causes the left image to be projected at an angle visible to the left eye and causes the right image to be projected at an angle visible to the right eye, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device), wherein different aspects of the patient are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception (See Paragraphs [0008], [0079], [0246]-[0256]: A multiple depth plane three dimensional (3D) display system can visually provide multiple virtual depth planes at respective radial focal distances to simulate a 4D light beam field, which the Examiner is interpreting VRD system also can show an image in each eye with an enough angle difference to simulate three-dimensional scenes with high fidelity to encompass different aspects of the video feed of the patient environment are viewable through the lenticular lenses, interpreting the multiple depth plane three dimensional (3D) display system to encompass changing the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception ([0252]).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the device of Davidson to include an image forming device, the image forming device including: a display device configured to display a patient; and display a three-dimensional image using the image forming device, the three-dimensional image being based on the video feed, wherein different aspects of the patient are viewable through the lenticular lens as a viewing angle changes relative to the display device such that the viewing angle reveals different pixels of the display device behind the lenticular lens to provide depth perception as taught by Krueger. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Davidson with Krueger with the motivation of provide unique complexity to the visual elements and to the background scenes (See Background of Krueger in Paragraph [0041]).
While Davidson/Krueger discloses the device as described above, Davidson/Krueger may not explicitly teach a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device, wherein the lenticular lens enables viewing of different aspects of the patient from multiple viewing angles by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device.
Saito teaches a device for a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device (See Fig. 2, 10, 12-13 and Paragraphs [0044]-[0049], [0070]-[0072]: In a multi-eye type naked-eye stereoscopic display apparatus using the lenticular lens LLs, the visual recognition range can be widened as the lens pitch is increased and the focal length is shortened, which the Examiner is interpreting the naked-eye stereoscopic display apparatus 100 to encompass a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device, and interpreting the naked-eye stereoscopic vision-ready video data generation method not by actually performing the imaging by imaging devices, but by rendering of 3D object data by CG to encompass generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device), wherein the lenticular lens enables viewing of different aspects of the patient from multiple viewing angles by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device (See Fig. 2 and Paragraphs [0045]-[0052]: The naked-eye stereoscopic display apparatus 100 that divides n viewpoint images into n different viewpoint directions and presents the viewpoint images, a visual recognition range .theta.vi is defined by the angle made between the direction of presenting the viewpoint image 0 and the direction of presenting the viewpoint image n-1, which the Examiner is interpreting different viewpoint directions to encompass viewing of different aspects of the patient environment from multiple viewing angles by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device as the pixel pitch in the horizontal direction of the pixels Pxl is px, and the pixel pitch in the vertical direction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the device of Davidson/Krueger to include a lenticular lens having an array of lenses positioned in front of the display device to generate a three-dimensional rendering based on images displayed by the display device, wherein the lenticular lens enables viewing of different aspects of the patient from multiple viewing angles by directing different pixels of the display device to different viewing positions as the multiple viewing angles change relative to the display device as taught by Saito. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Davidson/Krueger with Saito with the motivation of reducing malfunctions between the horizontal direction and the vertical direction (See Background of Saito in Paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
While Davidson/Krueger/Saito teaches the device as described above, Davidson/Krueger/Saito may not explicitly teach determine a measurement of a feature in the three-dimensional image, wherein the feature is a wound and the measurement is a size of the wound.
Osterhout teaches a device for determine a measurement of a feature in the three-dimensional image (See Paragraphs [0444]-[0446]: The eyepiece may be used periodically to measure the gait of the user, and maintain the measurements in a database for analysis, which the Examiner is interpreting the measured gait to encompass a measurement of a feature in the three-dimensional image), wherein the feature is a wound and the measurement is a size of the wound (See Paragraphs [0838]-[0843]: A gunshot wound to the chest of a soldier is the example used in Osterhout to supply guidance to a caregiver.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the device of Davidson/Krueger/Saito to include determine a measurement of a feature in the three-dimensional image, wherein the feature is a wound and the measurement is a size of the wound as taught by Osterhout. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Davidson/Krueger/Saito with Osterhout with the motivation of improving use and associated efficiency of the eyepiece (See Detailed Description of Osterhout in Paragraph [0784]).
As per claim 15, Davidson/Krueger/Saito/Osterhout discloses the device of claim 13 as described above. Davidson further teaches further comprising: an image capture device configured to capture an image of a user (See Paragraphs [0037]-[0039], [0056]: The imager captures data from the field of detection, while the imager captures image data within a separate field of detection, and the imager may be configured to capture image data of the face of the caregiver for identification and authorization purposes.)
As per claim 16, Davidson/Krueger/Saito/Osterhout discloses the device of claims 13 and 15 as described above. Davidson/Kruger/Saito may not explicitly teach further comprising: a mirror covering the image capture device, the mirror allowing the image capture device to capture images without disturbing the three-dimensional image.
Osterhout teaches a device further comprising: a mirror covering the image capture device, the mirror allowing the image capture device to capture images without disturbing the three-dimensional image (See Fig. 72, 88 and Paragraphs [0230]-[0234]: Certain optical elements of the transfer optics may replace the outer lens of an eyewear application, in an example, a beam splitter, lens, or mirror of the transfer optics could replace the front lens for an eyewear application (e.g. sunglasses), thus eliminating the need for the front lens of the glasses, such as if the curved reflection mirror is extended to cover the glasses, eliminating the need for the cover lens, which the Examiner is interpreting the curved reflection mirror to encompass a mirror covering the image capture device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the device of Davidson/Kruger/Saito to include a mirror covering the image capture device, the mirror allowing the image capture device to capture images without disturbing the three-dimensional image as taught by Osterhout. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Davidson/Kruger/Saito with Osterhout with the motivation of improving use and associated efficiency of the eyepiece (See Detailed Description of Osterhout in Paragraph [0784]).
As per claim 17, Davidson/Kruger/Saito/Osterhout discloses the device of claim 13 as described above. Davidson further teaches wherein the video feed includes red, green, blue, and depth (RGB-D) data, and the three-dimensional image is generated using the RGB-D data (See Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]: The environmental sensors may include infrared cameras or Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) emitters and detectors to capture depth or range in the surrounding environment and multiple sensors, such as an infrared sensor or Red, Green, Blue (RGB) cameras that sense information about the movement of the user, such as the position, orientation, and motion of the user within the environment.)
As per claim 18, Davidson/Kruger/Saito/Osterhout discloses the device of claims 13 and 17 as described above. Davidson further teaches wherein the measurement is determined based on the RGB-D data (See Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]: The environmental sensors may include infrared cameras or Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) emitters and detectors to capture depth or range in the surrounding environment and multiple sensors, such as an infrared sensor or Red, Green, Blue (RGB) cameras that sense information about the movement of the user, such as the position, orientation, and motion of the user within the environment.)
As per claim 20, Davidson/Kruger/Saito/Osterhout discloses the device of claim 13 as described above. Davidson further teaches wherein the memory device stores further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device (See Paragraph [0048]: Each treatment device includes a control unit that has a processor, a memory, and other control circuitry, instructions or routines are stored within the memory and executable by the processor), cause the at least one processing device to:
recognize an object in the three-dimensional image (See Paragraphs [0106]-[0109]: A visual identifier is operably coupled to the treatment device and a controller is configured to communicate with a remote device having a sensor for sensing the visual identifier within a field of detection, the controller is configured to recognize the visual identifier sensed by the remote device, determine device information associated with the visual identifier based on a configuration of the visual identifier, retrieve the device information relating to the treatment device associated with the visual identifier from an information source, and generate a virtual image including the device information configured to be viewed via the remote device, which the Examiner is interpreting a visual identifier is operably coupled to the treatment device to encompass recognize an object in the three-dimensional image);
augment the three- dimensional image to include a display of clinical data associated with the object recognized in the three-dimensional image (See Paragraphs [0028]-[0029]: The information system for the medical facility disclosed herein utilizes the remote device to display virtual signage that may include the device information, the patient information, any additional information useful for the caregiver, or a combination thereof, which the Examiner is interpreting the patient information, any additional information useful for the caregiver to encompass clinical data associated with the object.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Frayne et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0268588), describes a superstereoscopic display with enhanced off-angle separation includes a first light source; a lenticular lens optically coupled to the first light source that, with the first light source, generates a first light output having viewing angle dependency; and a high-index optical volume optically coupled to the lenticular lens.
Shin (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0394451), describes a method of reducing an alignment error between a user device and lenticular lenses to view a glass-free stereoscopic image.
Yang et al. (“Screening for Stereopsis of Children Using an Autostereoscopic Smartphone”), describes an autostereoscopic smartphone is that it can achieve 3D effects without the need for glasses.
/Bennett Stephen Erickson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683