Detailed Notice
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 5/28/2026 has entered prosecution.
Claims 1-2, 4-16 and 21 are pending examination.
The 112(b) rejections of Claims 2 and 8 are withdrawn in light of the amendment.
The amendment necessitates the new grounds of rejection presented in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ul-Hamid (US20170067179A1) in view of Foster (US 20160237581 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 13, Ul-Hamid teaches a method for forming a component comprising immersing a substrate (a cathode) in a solution comprising a Ni salt, NiCoCrAlY (understood to be a superalloy) particles between 0.5 and 50 µm, and Al particles 3-15 µm in size, after which point co-deposition of the particles and the dissolved metal salt occur on the substrate to form a matrix of electrodeposited Ni with trapped Al and NiCoCrAlY particles [0064-0065 and 0068]. The coated material is then calcined at 900-1200 °C [0072]. It is understood that the mandrel is merely a cathode [see instant specification [0016] and Fig. 9) and so Ul-Hamid teaches the same method.
However, Ul-Hamid does not teach that following the first heat treatment is a second heat treatment between 500 to 800 °C for between 5-20 hours subsequent to the first heat treatment, which forms precipitates in the electroformed component.
Foster teaches a method of electroplated coatings in the same field of endeavour [abstract].
Foster teaches an electroplating process to deposit a coated of a mixed metallic matrix onto a substrate from a solution of suspended particle powders [0009, 0020 and 0035-0037]. Foster teaches that the electroplating solution can comprise NiCoCrAlY particles [0034]. Foster teaches that a two stage heat treating process can be applied to form particular coating structures with high temperature strength properties; Foster teaches a first heat treatment is performed between 2000 to 2400 °F for 2 to 6 hrs, followed by a second heat treatment step between 1400 to 1950 °F for 6 to 48hrs, in order that the second heat-treatment step induces the precipitation of γ′-Ni3Al phase precipitates [0037] wherein the γ′-Ni3Al phase precipitates are desirable structures in an metallic coating owing to the high-temperature strength and oxidation resistance the phase provides [0030].
Prior to the filing of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that the method of electroforming a substrate comprising particles of NiCoCrAlY, as per Ul-Hamid, was ready for improvement by the incorporation of the method of two stage heat treating an electroformed component comprising NiCoCrAlY, as per Foster, in order that one would arrive at a method for electroforming a coating which has improved mechanical properties owing to the precipitation and formation of γ′-Ni3Al particulates in a heated treated electroformed coating.
Regarding Claims 4-6 and 21, Ul-Hamid teaches a method for forming a component comprising immersing a substrate (a cathode) in a solution comprising a Ni salt, NiCoCrAlY (understood to be a superalloy) particles between 0.5 and 50 µm, and Al particles 3-15 µm in size, after which point co-deposition of the particles and the dissolved metal salt occur on the substrate to form a matrix of electrodeposited Ni with trapped Al and NiCoCrAlY particles [0064-0065 and 0068]. Ul-Hamid teaches that the deposited layer on the substrate is first calcined at 900-1200 °C [0072] and may be subjected to a second heat treatment in air at 1000 °C [0083]. Ul-Hamid teaches the presence of an AlNi (understood to be a NiAl) phase after the first heat treatment [0091].
However, Ul-Hamid does not teach that following the first heat treatment is a second heat treatment between 500 to 800 °C which forms precipitates in the electroformed component; the metallic powder particles; nor that the first heat treatment dissolves the metallic powder particles into a metal matrix to define a second matrix, wherein the precipitates of the second heat treatment are formed within the second matrix.
Foster teaches a method of electroplated coatings in the same field of endeavor [abstract].
Foster teaches an electroplating process to deposit a coated of a mixed metallic matrix onto a substrate from a solution of suspended particle powders [0009, 0020 and 0035-0037]. Foster teaches that the electroplating solution can comprise NiCoCrAlY particles [0034]. Foster teaches that a two stage heat treating process can be applied to form particular coating structures with high temperature strength properties; Foster teaches a first heat treatment is performed between 2000 to 2400 °F for 2 to 6 hrs, followed by a second heat treatment step between 1400 to 1950 °F for 6 to 48hrs, in order that the second heat-treatment step induces the precipitation of γ′-Ni3Al phase precipitates [0037] wherein the γ′-Ni3Al phase precipitates are desirable structures in an metallic coating owing to the high-temperature strength and oxidation resistance the phase provides [0030].
Prior to the filing of the present invention it is understood that one of ordinary skill would find that the method of electrodeposition further comprising two heat treatments after the deposition to form a NiAl phase inside the coating, as per Ul-Hamid, was ready for improvement by the incorporation of the method of applying a first and second heat treatment, as per Smith, in order that one would arrive at a method of applying a two-stage heat treating process on electroformed composites containing NiCrCoAlY particles in order to form secondary precipitates of Ni3Al or NiAl within the electroformed heat treated coating that improve the mechanical properties of the electroformed material. Further, as Ul-Hamid in view of Foster teaches to the required steps, it is understood that the process of Ul-Hamid in view of Foster inherently teaches second-phase particles have an average particle size range of 10-1000 nm (see MPEP 2112.01 I).
Regarding Claims 7-9, Ul-Hamid teaches that the calcining step forms an oxidized layer on outer surfaces of the particles of Al and NiCrCoAlY particles in the Ni matrix after the heat treatment, which is understood to mean that the native oxide present on the coating was incorporated into the metal matrix [0038 and 0088]. It is understood that Al particles would necessarily have a native oxide on their surface. Furthermore, the courts have held broadly that under the principles of inherency, where a prior art device in its normal and usual operation would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior device, as it is assumed the prior art device will inherently perform the claimed processes (see MPEP 2112.02 I). In this case, as Ul-Hamid teaches the same heat treatment step, it is understood that the same process of oxide melt and incorporation into the matrix is occurring therein.
Regarding Claim 10, Ul-Hamid teaches that the solution can be agitated with sonication [0075].
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, Ul-Hamid teaches that the cathode being worked upon may be a component in a turbine engine, such as a rings, disks, shafts, etc. etc. which are understood to collectively each comprise at least one non-horizontal surface [0063]. Ul-Hamid teaches that the solution can be agitated with sonication [0075]. Accordingly, it is understood that as the sonication causes an agitation to the solution during deposition, that the mixture solution would be directed to the non-horizontal surfaces in any of the cathode objects being electrodeposited upon.
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, Ul-Hamid teaches that the surface composition of the coating may have varying weight percentages of the metal particles and the electrodeposited material [0049-0061]. Prior to the filing of the present invention, it is understood that, barring a demonstration of criticality, the method Ul-Hamid would be capable of making an electrodeposit comprising mass fractions or volume fractions of the metallic powder particles in the range of 30-70% as a matter of routine optimization.
Regarding Claim 16, Ul-Hamid teaches that the coating thickness may be varied depended on the process for applying the coating [0048], though Ul-Hamid teaches that the thickness may be between 50 and 200 µm [0016]. Ul-Hamid also teaches that Ul-Hamid teaches that there may be a plurality of “layers” [0047], such that it is understood that each layer could be 200 µm, in order that a coating comprise three layers would be a total of overall 600 µm. Prior to the filing of the present invention, it is understood that, barring a demonstration of criticality, the method Ul-Hamid would be capable of making a multi-layered electroformed coating which would have a layer thickness of 0.5 to 10 mm as a matter of routine optimization.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHANAEL JASON. DOWNES
Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/NATHANAEL JASON DOWNES/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759