Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 03/30/2026, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-3, 10-12, and 19-20 are amended. No claims are new. No claims are presently cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The prior objections to the Claims are withdrawn due to the amendments.
The prior interpretations of claim terms under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) are maintained, as detailed infra.
The prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn due to the amendments and explanations provided in the applicant’s response (03/30/2026; pp. 7).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
The amended independent claims 1, 10, and 19 have changed scoped due to the new subject matter requiring actions to be performed “during the off mode”. Thus, this final rejection is proper, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Interpretation
The term “logic” is interpreted in accordance with the structural definition provided by the instant application’s specification ¶ [69], which defines “logic 208” as “a control circuit”.
The term “means for monitoring” and “means for determining” are each interpreted to be synonymous with “logic” (see structural definition of prior section) and/or “an analog-to-digital converter … such as a comparator” per ¶ [69].
The term “means for disconnecting” is interpreted to be synonymous with “logic” (see structural definition of prior section) and/or “a switch” per ¶ [69].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by El Markhi et al. (US 2019/0348846 A1; hereinafter “ELM”).
Regarding Claim 1, ELM discloses a method of battery protection (¶ [28]: “method for controlling a device to enter a ship mode”; Figs. 3-5), comprising the following.
ELM further discloses monitoring a voltage (“VPMID”; Figs. 3-5) of a battery node (“PMID pin 212”; Fig. 2) during an off mode (any time when “SHIP_MODE_REQ” = 1, i.e. a “logical high value”; Figs. 3-5; ¶ [23]: “instruction to put the circuit 200 into a ship mode or other low-power mode (e.g., such as a battery saving mode)”) of a device (“system 100”; Fig. 1; ¶ [14]: “100 is representative of a consumer or other electronic device, such as …”) having a battery (“battery 102”; Fig. 1) coupled to the battery node (“212”, coupled to “214” via “222”; ¶ [23]: “battery coupled to the battery pin 214”).
ELM further discloses determining (Fig. 5, step 506: “VPMID < VSUPP”, resulting in setting “SUPP_COMP=1”), during the off mode (when “SHIP_MODE_REQ” = 1), that the voltage (VPMID) of the battery node (212) is below a first threshold voltage (“supplemental voltage threshold VSUPP”; Figs. 3-5; ¶ [13]: “VSUPP may be less than VBATT”; when “VPMID” is less than “VSUPP”, then “SUPP_COMP” is set to 1; Figs. 3-5).
ELM further discloses that in response to the determination (VSUPP = 1), disconnecting a path (“transistor 220” is opened as a result of entering “ship mode”, as a result of setting “SHIP_MODE_ENABLE” = 1; Figs. 2-5; ¶ [25]: “Based on SHIP MODE_ENABLE, the FET control circuit 204 turns off … the transistor 220”) between the battery node (212) and a power supply node (“voltage input pin 210”; Fig. 2) of the device (100) during the off mode (when “SHIP_MODE_REQ” = 1).
Regarding Claim 5, ELM discloses the method of claim 1.
ELM further discloses the disconnecting (“transistor 2220” is opened as a result of entering “ship mode”, as a result of setting “SHIP_MODE_ENABLE” = 1; Figs. 2-5; ¶ [25]: “Based on SHIP MODE_ENABLE, the FET control circuit 204 turns off … the transistor 220”) comprises opening a switch (“transistor 220”; Fig. 2) coupled between the power supply node (210) and the battery node (212).
Regarding Claim 6, ELM discloses the method of claim 5.
ELM further discloses the method further comprising charging the battery (102) through the switch (“220”; part of the “battery charging circuit 104” per ¶ [18]; ¶ [16]: “104 receives power via the charging port 106 and uses the power to charge the battery 102”) when the switch is closed (in order for “104” / “200” to conduct charge from “210” to “214”, the “transistor 220” must be closed; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [23]: “power is also provided to the battery pin 214 by coupling the Vin pin 210 to the battery pin 214 for charging a battery coupled to the battery pin 214”).
Regarding Claim 7, ELM discloses the method of claim 1.
ELM further discloses the monitoring (Fig. 5, step 506: “VPMID < VSUPP?”; can begin simultaneously with entering the off mode of step 502 per ¶ [31]: “operation 502, operation 504, and/or operation 506 may be performed substantially concurrently”) begins when the device (100) enters the off mode (Fig. 5, step 502: “receive SHIP_MODE_REQ=1”).
Regarding Claim 8, ELM discloses the method of claim 1.
ELM further discloses the determining (Fig. 5, step 506: “VPMID < VSUPP”, resulting in setting “SUPP_COMP=1”) comprises comparing the voltage (“VPMID”) of the battery node (212) to the first threshold voltage (“VSUPP”) with a comparator (“comparator 230”; Fig. 2; ¶ [24]: “230 outputs a signal (SUPP COMP) having a logical high value and outputs SUPP COMP having a logical low value when VPMID is not less than VSUPP”).
Regarding Claim 9, ELM discloses the method of claim 1.
ELM further discloses the first threshold voltage (“VSUPP”) is programmable (all functions of the disclosed circuit and associated method are executed with “software programming” per ¶ [34]).
Regarding Claim 10, ELM discloses an apparatus (“system 100”; Fig. 1; ¶ [14]: “100 is representative of a consumer or other electronic device, such as …”; see annotated Figs. 2 and 4, included supra in the claim 1 section) comprising the following features.
ELM further discloses a battery (“battery 102”; Fig. 1) coupled to a battery node (“PMID pin 212”, coupled to “214” via “222”; ¶ [23]: “battery coupled to the battery pin 214”).
ELM further discloses logic (combo of “control circuit 202”, “FET control circuit 204”, and “ADC 206”; Fig. 2) coupled to the battery node (212) and configured to do the following.
ELM further discloses to monitor a voltage (“VPMID”; Figs. 3-5) of the battery node (212) during an off mode (any time when “SHIP_MODE_REQ” = 1, i.e. a “logical high value”; Figs. 3-5; ¶ [23]: “instruction to put the circuit 200 into a ship mode or other low-power mode (e.g., such as a battery saving mode)”) of the apparatus (100).
ELM further discloses to determine (Fig. 5, step 506: “VPMID < VSUPP”, resulting in setting “SUPP_COMP=1”), during the off mode (when “SHIP_MODE_REQ” = 1), that the voltage (VPMID) of the battery node (212) is below a first threshold voltage (“supplemental voltage threshold VSUPP”; Figs. 3-5; ¶ [13]: “VSUPP may be less than VBATT”; when “VPMID” is less than “VSUPP”, then “SUPP_COMP” is set to 1; Figs. 3-5).
ELM further discloses to disconnect a path (“transistor 220” is opened as a result of entering “ship mode”, as a result of setting “SHIP_MODE_ENABLE” = 1; Figs. 2-5; ¶ [25]: “Based on SHIP MODE_ENABLE, the FET control circuit 204 turns off … the transistor 220”) between the battery node (212) and a power supply node (“voltage input pin 210”; Fig. 2) of the apparatus (100), during the off mode (when “SHIP_MODE_REQ” = 1), in response to the determination (VSUPP = 1).
Regarding Claim 14, ELM discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
ELM further discloses a switch (“transistor 220”; Fig. 2) coupled between the power supply node (210) and the battery node (212), wherein to disconnect the path, the logic (202, 204, 206) is configured to open the switch (“transistor 2220” is opened as a result of entering “ship mode”, as a result of setting “SHIP_MODE_ENABLE” = 1; Figs. 2-5; ¶ [25]: “Based on SHIP MODE_ENABLE, the FET control circuit 204 turns off … the transistor 220”).
Regarding Claim 15, ELM discloses the apparatus of claim 14.
ELM further discloses the logic (202, 204, 206) is further configured to charge the battery (102) through the switch (“220”; part of the “battery charging circuit 104” per ¶ [18]; ¶ [16]: “104 receives power via the charging port 106 and uses the power to charge the battery 102”) when the switch is closed (in order for “104” / “200” to conduct charge from “210” to “214”, the “transistor 220” must be closed; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [23]: “power is also provided to the battery pin 214 by coupling the Vin pin 210 to the battery pin 214 for charging a battery coupled to the battery pin 214”).
Regarding Claim 16, ELM discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
ELM further discloses the logic (202, 204, 206) is configured to begin monitoring (Fig. 5, step 506: “VPMID < VSUPP?”; can begin simultaneously with entering the off mode of step 502 per ¶ [31]: “operation 502, operation 504, and/or operation 506 may be performed substantially concurrently”) the voltage (“VPMID”) of the battery node (212) when the apparatus (100) enters the off mode (Fig. 5, step 502: “receive SHIP_MODE_REQ=1”).
Regarding Claim 17, ELM discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
ELM further discloses a comparator (“comparator 230”; Fig. 2; ¶ [24]: “230 outputs a signal (SUPP COMP) having a logical high value and outputs SUPP COMP having a logical low value when VPMID is not less than VSUPP”) including an output (output of “230”) coupled to an input (input of “228” within “202”) of the logic (202, 204, 206), including a first input coupled to the battery node (212), and including a second input coupled to a reference voltage node configured to have the first threshold voltage (“VSUPP”).
Regarding Claim 18, ELM discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
ELM further discloses the first threshold voltage (“VSUPP”) is programmable (all functions of the disclosed circuit and associated method are executed with “software programming” per ¶ [34]).
Regarding Claim 19, ELM discloses an apparatus (“system 100”; Fig. 1; ¶ [14]: “100 is representative of a consumer or other electronic device, such as …”; see annotated Figs. 2 and 4, included supra in the claim 1 section) comprising the following features.
ELM further discloses a battery (“battery 102”; Fig. 1) coupled to a battery node (“PMID pin 212”, coupled to “214” via “222”; ¶ [23]: “battery coupled to the battery pin 214”).
ELM further discloses means for monitoring (combo of “control circuit 202”, “FET control circuit 204”, and “ADC 206”; Fig. 2) a voltage (“VPMID”; Figs. 3-5) of the battery node (212) during an off mode (any time when “SHIP_MODE_REQ” = 1, i.e. a “logical high value”; Figs. 3-5; ¶ [23]: “instruction to put the circuit 200 into a ship mode or other low-power mode (e.g., such as a battery saving mode)”) of the apparatus (100).
ELM further discloses means for determining (202, 204, 206), during the off mode (when “SHIP_MODE_REQ” = 1), that the voltage (VPMID) of the battery node (212) is below a first threshold voltage (“supplemental voltage threshold VSUPP”; Figs. 3-5; ¶ [13]: “VSUPP may be less than VBATT”; when “VPMID” is less than “VSUPP”, then “SUPP_COMP” is set to 1; Figs. 3-5).
ELM further discloses means for disconnecting (202, 204, 206) a path (“transistor 220” is opened as a result of entering “ship mode”, as a result of setting “SHIP_MODE_ENABLE” = 1; Figs. 2-5; ¶ [25]: “Based on SHIP MODE_ENABLE, the FET control circuit 204 turns off … the transistor 220”) between the battery node (212) and a power supply node (“voltage input pin 210”; Fig. 2) of the apparatus (100), during the off mode (when “SHIP_MODE_REQ” = 1), in response to the determination (VSUPP = 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 11-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Markhi et al. (US 2019/0348846 A1; hereinafter “ELM”) in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0115774 A1).
Regarding Claims 2-4, ELM discloses the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, ELM does not disclose “the battery is a battery pack comprising one or more battery cells and protection circuitry coupled in series with at least one of the battery cells”.
Regarding claim 3, ELM does not disclose “the disconnecting occurs before the protection circuitry can: detect that the voltage of the battery node is below a second threshold voltage, lower than the first threshold voltage; and open circuit the at least one of the battery cells from the power supply node or a reference potential node of the device”.
Regarding claim 4, ELM does not disclose “tripping the protection circuitry is avoided”.
Li teaches the battery (Fig. 1, including “battery 12”) is a battery pack (Fig. 1) comprising one or more battery cells (¶ [16]: “battery 12 may include one or more cells”) and protection circuitry (“second protection circuit 16”, with a “controller 18”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [17]: “configured to measure the output voltage of the battery Vout and to compare … against a predetermined threshold”) coupled in series (see Figs. 1-2; per ¶ [17-18], “16” includes a switch in series with “12” to connect/disconnect the battery cells from the “load”) with at least one of the battery cells (12).
Li further teaches the disconnecting (by opening “switch 22” within “14” to disconnect “battery 12 from the load” per ¶ [18]; controlled by the logic: “controller 18” within “first protection circuit 14”; Figs. 1-2) occurs before the protection circuitry (16) can: detect that the voltage (Vout) of the battery node (output of “battery 12”) is below a second threshold voltage (“V_UVP_B”; Fig. 3; ¶ [22]: “once the output voltage Vout drops to second protection threshold, VUVP B, … second protection circuit 16, disposed between first protection circuit 14 and battery 12 disconnects”).
Li further teaches the second threshold voltage (“V_UVP_B”) is lower than the first threshold voltage (“V_UVP_A”; Fig. 3; ¶ [21]: “since second protection threshold VUVP B is lower than first protection threshold VUVP A, second protection circuit 16 will not disconnect, and will thus remain operational until … Vout reaches second protection threshold VUVP B”).
Li further teaches the disconnecting (by opening “switch 22” to disconnect “battery 12 from the load” per ¶ [18]; controlled by the logic: “controller 18” within “first protection circuit 14”; Figs. 1-2) occurs before (because the logic “16” has a higher threshold voltage “V_UVP_A”, it activates earlier in the discharge process than the protection circuitry “18”, which has a lower second threshold voltage “V_UVP_B”) the protection circuitry (16) can open circuit the at least one of the battery cells (12) from the power supply node (left side of “protection circuit 14”; Fig. 1) of the device.
Li further teaches tripping the protection circuitry (opening the switch within “16” in response to battery voltage declining below “V_UVP_B”) is avoided (avoids tripping “16” by activating “14” first when battery voltage declines below “V_UVP_A”, which is higher than “V_UVP_B”; ¶ [21]: “since second protection threshold VUVP B is lower than first protection threshold VUVP A, second protection circuit 16 will not disconnect”).
Li further teaches to disconnect the path before the protection circuitry can detect that the voltage of the battery node is below a second threshold voltage, lower than the first threshold voltage to reduce current demand from the battery (¶ [6, 21]) when in a low voltage state (between “V_UVP_B” and “V_UVP_A”). Li further teaches the second threshold voltage for the protection circuitry is intended to further reduce current demand (¶ [22]) from an even lower-voltage battery (between “V_inhibit” and “V_UVP_B”), to further reduce risk of reaching the inhibit voltage level. Because the inhibit voltage is the threshold as which the battery’s life declines from discharging (¶ [14]), this teaching of the second threshold voltage and associated control improves life of the battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery and method disclosed by ELM to incorporate protection circuitry which open circuits in response to the battery node’s voltage declining below a second threshold voltage, lower than the first threshold voltage, as taught by Li, to improve the life of the battery by reducing risk of the battery voltage declining to a damaging level for discharging.
Regarding Claims 11-13, ELM discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, ELM does not disclose “the battery is a battery pack comprising one or more battery cells and protection circuitry coupled in series with at least one of the battery cells”.
Regarding claim 12, ELM does not disclose “wherein to disconnect the path, the logic is configured to disconnect the path before the protection circuitry can: detect that the voltage of the battery node is below a second threshold voltage, lower than the first threshold voltage; and open circuit the at least one of the battery cells from the power supply node or a reference potential node of the apparatus”.
Regarding claim 13, ELM does not disclose “the logic is further configured to avoid tripping the protection circuitry due to an undervoltage condition of the battery”.
Li teaches (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3, included supra in the claims 12-14 section) the battery (Fig. 1, including “battery 12”) is a battery pack (Fig. 1) comprising one or more battery cells (¶ [16]: “battery 12 may include one or more cells”) and protection circuitry (“second protection circuit 16”, with a “controller 18”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [17]: “configured to measure the output voltage of the battery Vout and to compare … against a predetermined threshold”) coupled in series (see Figs. 1-2; per ¶ [17-18], “16” includes a switch in series with “12” to connect/disconnect the battery cells from the “load”) with at least one of the battery cells (12).
Li further teaches that to disconnect the path (by opening “switch 22” within “14” to disconnect “battery 12 from the load” per ¶ [18]; controlled by the logic: “controller 18” within “first protection circuit 14”; Figs. 1-2), the logic (“controller 18” within “first protection circuit 14”; Figs. 1-2) is configured to disconnect the path (by opening “switch 22” to disconnect “battery 12 from the load” per ¶ [18]) before the protection circuitry (“second protection circuit 16”, also with a “controller 18”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [17]: “configured to measure the output voltage of the battery Vout and to compare … against a predetermined threshold”) can detect that the voltage (Vout) of the battery node (output of “battery 12”) is below a second threshold voltage (“V_UVP_B”; Fig. 3; ¶ [22]: “once the output voltage Vout drops to second protection threshold, VUVP B, … second protection circuit 16, disposed between first protection circuit 14 and battery 12 disconnects”).
Li further teaches the second threshold voltage (“V_UVP_B”) is lower than the first threshold voltage (“V_UVP_A”; Fig. 3; ¶ [21]: “since second protection threshold VUVP B is lower than first protection threshold VUVP A, second protection circuit 16 will not disconnect, and will thus remain operational until … Vout reaches second protection threshold VUVP B”).
Li further teaches the logic (“18”, within “14”) is configured to disconnect the path (by opening “switch 22” to disconnect “battery 12 from the load” per ¶ [18]) before (because the logic “16” has a higher threshold voltage “V_UVP_A”, it activates earlier in the discharge process than the protection circuitry “18”, which has a lower second threshold voltage “V_UVP_B”) the protection circuitry (16) can open circuit the at least one of the battery cells (12) from the power supply node (left side of “protection circuit 14”; Fig. 1) of the apparatus.
Li further teaches the logic (“18”, within “14”) is further configured to avoid tripping the protection circuitry (opening the switch within “16” in response to battery voltage declining below “V_UVP_B”) due to an undervoltage condition (avoids tripping “16” by activating “14” first when battery voltage declines below “V_UVP_A”, which is higher than “V_UVP_B”; ¶ [21]: “since second protection threshold VUVP B is lower than first protection threshold VUVP A, second protection circuit 16 will not disconnect”) of the battery (12).
Li further teaches to disconnect the path before the protection circuitry can detect that the voltage of the battery node is below a second threshold voltage, lower than the first threshold voltage to reduce current demand from the battery (¶ [6, 21]) when in a low voltage state (between “V_UVP_B” and “V_UVP_A”). Li further teaches the second threshold voltage for the protection circuitry is intended to further reduce current demand (¶ [22]) from an even lower-voltage battery (between “V_inhibit” and “V_UVP_B”), to further reduce risk of reaching the inhibit voltage level. Because the inhibit voltage is the threshold as which the battery’s life declines from discharging (¶ [14]), this teaching of the second threshold voltage and associated control improves life of the battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery and logic disclosed by ELM to incorporate protection circuitry in the battery which the logic controls to open circuit in response to the battery node’s voltage declining below a second threshold voltage, lower than the first threshold voltage, as taught by Li, to improve the life of the battery by reducing risk of the battery voltage declining to a damaging level for discharging.
Regarding Claim 20, ELM discloses the apparatus of claim 19.
ELM does not disclose “the battery is a battery pack comprising one or more battery cells and protection circuitry coupled in series with at least one of the battery cells; and the means for disconnecting is configured to disconnect the path before the protection circuitry can: detect that the voltage of the battery node is below a second threshold voltage, lower than the first threshold voltage, and open circuit the at least one of the battery cells from the power supply node or a reference potential node of the apparatus”.
Li teaches (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3, included supra in the claims 12-14 section) the battery (Fig. 1, including “battery 12”, integrated together per ¶ [14]) is a battery pack (Fig. 1) comprising one or more battery cells (¶ [16]: “battery 12 may include one or more cells”) and protection circuitry (“second protection circuit 16”, with a “controller 18”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [17]: “configured to measure the output voltage of the battery Vout and to compare … against a predetermined threshold”) coupled in series (see Figs. 1-2; per ¶ [17-18], “16” includes a switch in series with “12” to connect/disconnect the battery cells from the “load”) with at least one of the battery cells (12).
Li further teaches the means for disconnecting (“controller 18” within “first protection circuit 14”; Figs. 1-2) is configured to disconnect the path (by opening “switch 22” to disconnect “battery 12 from the load” per ¶ [18]) before the protection circuitry (“second protection circuit 16”, also with a “controller 18”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [17]: “configured to measure the output voltage of the battery Vout and to compare … against a predetermined threshold”) can detect that the voltage (Vout) of the battery node (output of “battery 12”) is below a second threshold voltage (“V_UVP_B”; Fig. 3; ¶ [22]: “once the output voltage Vout drops to second protection threshold, VUVP B, … second protection circuit 16, disposed between first protection circuit 14 and battery 12 disconnects”).
Li further teaches the second threshold voltage (“V_UVP_B”) is lower than the first threshold voltage (“V_UVP_A”; Fig. 3; ¶ [21]: “since second protection threshold VUVP B is lower than first protection threshold VUVP A, second protection circuit 16 will not disconnect, and will thus remain operational until … Vout reaches second protection threshold VUVP B”).
Li further teaches the means for disconnecting (“18”, within “14”) is configured to disconnect the path (by opening “switch 22” to disconnect “battery 12 from the load” per ¶ [18]) before (because the logic “16” has a higher threshold voltage “V_UVP_A”, it activates earlier in the discharge process than the protection circuitry “18”, which has a lower second threshold voltage “V_UVP_B”) the protection circuitry (16) can open circuit the at least one of the battery cells (12) from the power supply node (left side of “protection circuit 14”; Fig. 1) of the apparatus.
Li further teaches to disconnect the path before the protection circuitry can detect that the voltage of the battery node is below a second threshold voltage, lower than the first threshold voltage to reduce current demand from the battery (¶ [6, 21]) when in a low voltage state (between “V_UVP_B” and “V_UVP_A”). Li further teaches the second threshold voltage for the protection circuitry is intended to further reduce current demand (¶ [22]) from an even lower-voltage battery (between “V_inhibit” and “V_UVP_B”), to further reduce risk of reaching the inhibit voltage level. Because the inhibit voltage is the threshold as which the battery’s life declines from discharging (¶ [14]), this teaching of the second threshold voltage and associated control improves life of the battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery and logic disclosed by ELM to incorporate protection circuitry in the battery which the logic controls to open circuit in response to the battery node’s voltage declining below a second threshold voltage, lower than the first threshold voltage, as taught by Li, to improve the life of the battery by reducing risk of the battery voltage declining to a damaging level for discharging.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859