DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
New claims 17-19 are added.
Applicant’s amendments are entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment overcome drawing and specification objections. Applicant’s remarks are also entered into the record. A new search was made necessitated by the applicant’s amendments and remarks. Applicant’s arguments are now moot in view of the new rejection of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-17 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over CN109606594B to Wang Linxiang (herein after “Linxiang”) in view of High Accuracy Buoyancy for Underwater Gliders: The Uncertainty in the Depth Control, Sensors (Basel). 2019 Apr 17;19(8):1831 to Enrico Petritoli (herein after “Petritoli”) and WO2011163217A1 to Jones et al. (herein after “Jones”).
Regrading claim 1, Linxiang discloses a variable buoyance engine comprising (See Linxiang Abstract The invention discloses an underwater glider with memory-alloy driving attitude control): a pressure vessel (similar as a front control cabin 19) , a reservoir (similar as cylinder 1); an external bladder in fluid communication with the reservoir (similar as water storage bladder 4); a non-compressible fluid ( similar as sea water) disposed inside the reservoir (similar as cylinder 1) and the external bladder( water storage bladder 4); (see Linxiang figure 1 for details) and a drive system disposed inside the reservoir (See Linxiang figure 1, drive systems: one is 2 bias spring another is 6 a traction memory alloy spring), wherein the drive system comprises: a deformable shape memory alloy actuator ( 6 is a traction memory alloy spring); (see at least Linxiang para[0042]) a piston attached to the deformable shape memory alloy actuator ( see Linxiang figure 1, piston 1 , 3 attached with the traction memory alloy spring 6); a power source connected to the deformable shape memory alloy actuator, wherein the power source is configured to cause the deformable shape memory alloy actuator to change temperature and deform when power is applied to the deformable shape memory alloy actuator thereby moving the piston from a first position to a second position( see Linxiang para[0012] the first water supply drive system supplies cold/hot water to the traction alloy wire heat exchange tube to drive the telescopic deformation of the traction memory alloy spring, and then drives the plunger to move in the active channel through the lug structure.);
wherein the reservoir and external bladder ( water storage bag 4) are configured to retain without leakage (see Linxiang para[0048] The opening of the water storage bag 4 is sealed )the non-compressible working fluid and wherein the external bladder ( water storage bladder 4) is configured to receive the non-compressible working fluid from the reservoir (see Linxiang para[0048] The opening of the water storage bag 4 is sealed and connected to the inner end face of the through hole. The water storage bag 4 is connected to the external water environment through the through hole. The axial movement of the plunger 3 in the active channel drives the water storage bag 4 to expand or contract).
However, Linxiang does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach positive and negative buoyancy states. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Petritoli teaches wherein the deformable shape memory alloy actuator moves the piston from a first position to a second position to create a second, positive buoyancy state; and to expel the non-compressible working fluid from the external bladder to the reservoir when the deformable shape memory alloy actuator moves the piston from the second position to the first position to create a first, negative buoyancy state ( see Petritoli “The buoyancy engine of the glider allows changing its net buoyancy into alternating positive and negative states, thereby imparting it with the ability to string together a succession of descending and ascending glide slopes referred to as a sawtooth glide”);” The system is extremely simple: while descending, hydraulic fluid moves from the external inflatable bladder, which produces a high pressure in the internal reservoir, which is at a low pressure through a valve: the decrease in volume of the bladder creates an increase in density, causing negative buoyancy”) , a controller configured to control application of power from the power source to the deformable shape memory alloy actuator ( see Petritoli “An open-loop stepper motor was used to drive the screw inside the actuator that, in turn, pushes the piston”);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control with Petritoli’s positive and negative buoyancy state in order to allow for the system more efficient and significant by buoyancy control which can move the vessel upward or downward (positive or negative buoyancy state).
However, Linxiang does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the power source includes a heating device that causes the deformable shape memory alloy actuator to change temperature and deform. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Jones teaches wherein the power source includes a heating device that causes the deformable shape memory alloy actuator to change temperature and deform (see Jones page 14 lines 24-27 Whether the electrical connection between the heater assembly 40 and the external power source includes the terminals 80 or 130, the operation of the heating device is the same).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control Jones’s power source includes a heating device in order to allow for heating objects within a container (see Jones page 1 lines 6-8).
Regrading claim 2, Linxiang, Petritoli and Jones remain as applied to claim 1. Linxiang discloses wherein the drive system comprises a plurality of deformable shape memory alloy actuators (see Linxiang para [0042] 6 is a traction memory alloy spring and 2 is a bias spring).
Regrading claim 3, Linxiang, Petritoli and Jones remain as applied to claim 1. Linxiang teaches an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control. However, Linxiang does not teaches the non-compressible working fluid comprises an oil. Nevertheless, Petritoli– same field of endeavor teaches wherein the non-compressible working fluid comprises an oil (see Petritoli it accommodates the buoyancy motor and the oil tank and provides longitudinal balance to the system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control with Petritoli’s non-compressible working fluid comprises an oil to make more efficient by maintaining pressure in system.
Regrading claim 4, Linxiang, Petritoli and Chang remain as applied to claim 1. Linxiang discloses wherein the non-compressible working fluid comprises water or a water-based solution ( see Linxiang ,fluid is water).
Regrading claim 17, Linxiang, Petritoli and Jones remain as applied to claim 1. However, Linxiang does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the heating device is a resistance heater. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Jones teaches wherein the heating device is a resistance heater (see Jones page 1 lines 10-15 Resistance heaters are made from various conductive materials including resistance wire, metalized polymer films, conductive fibers, graphite, metal foil, conductive inks, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control Jones’s resistance heater as a heating device in order to allow for heating objects within a container (see Jones page 1 lines 6-8).
Regrading claim 11, Linxiang discloses a method for propelling an autonomous underwater vehicle in an underwater environment, comprising: providing an autonomous underwater vehicle in an underwater environment (see para [0002] The invention relates to an underwater glider, in particular to an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy and controlled in posture), wherein the autonomous underwater vehicle comprises: an underwater vehicle body configured to operate in an underwater environment; and a variable buoyance engine comprising: a pressure vessel (similar as a front control cabin 19); a reservoir(similar as cylinder 1); an external bladder in fluid communication with the reservoir(similar as water storage bladder 4); a non-compressible fluid disposed inside the reservoir and the external bladder; and a drive system disposed inside the reservoir, (See figure 1, drive systems: one is 2 bias spring another is 6 a traction memory alloy spring) wherein the drive system comprises: a deformable shape memory alloy actuator( 6 is a traction memory alloy spring); (see at least para[0042]); a piston attached to the deformable shape memory alloy actuator( see figure 1, piston 1 , 3 attached with the traction memory alloy spring 6); a power source connected to the deformable shape memory alloy actuator( water storage bladder 4); (see figure 1 for details), wherein the power source (same as a power supply module 21) is configured to cause the deformable shape memory alloy actuator to change temperature (see para[0059] and [0062]), a controller configured to control application of power from the power source to the deformable shape memory alloy actuator(see para[0042] 19 is the front control chamber, 20 is the rear control chamber); wherein the reservoir and external bladder are configured to retain without leakage (see para[0048] The opening of the water storage bag 4 is sealed ) the non-compressible working fluid and wherein the external bladder is configured to receive the non- compressible working fluid from the reservoir (see para[0048] The opening of the water storage bag 4 is sealed and connected to the inner end face of the through hole. The water storage bag 4 is connected to the external water environment through the through hole. The axial movement of the plunger 3 in the active channel drives the water storage bag 4 to expand or contract ) wherein the pressure vessel is part of the structure of the underwater vehicle body(similar as a front control cabin 19), the reservoir is positioned inside the underwater vehicle body, and the external bladder is positioned external to the underwater vehicle body (see figure 1);
However, Linxiang does not teaches positive and negative buoyancy state. Nevertheless, Petritoli– same field of endeavor teaches wherein deform when power is applied to the deformable shape memory alloy actuator thereby moving the piston from a first position to a second position(see Petritoli “The buoyancy engine of the glider allows changing its net buoyancy into alternating positive and negative states, thereby imparting it with the ability to string together a succession of descending and ascending glide slopes referred to as a sawtooth glide”)( ” The system is extremely simple: while descending, hydraulic fluid moves from the external inflatable bladder, which produces a high pressure in the internal reservoir, which is at a low pressure through a valve: the decrease in volume of the bladder creates an increase in density, causing negative buoyancy”) , when the deformable shape memory alloy actuator moves the piston from a first position to a second position to create a second, positive buoyancy state (see Petritoli “The buoyancy engine of the glider allows changing its net buoyancy into alternating positive and negative states, thereby imparting it with the ability to string together a succession of descending and ascending glide slopes referred to as a sawtooth glide”, To reduce the force required to actuate the oil piston, which pushes the oil in the bladder at high pressure, is necessary to reduce the piston surface (diameter) and increase the stroke); and to expel the non-compressible working fluid from the external bladder to the reservoir when the deformable shape memory alloy actuator moves the piston from the second position to the first position to create a first, negative buoyancy state (See Petritoli “The system is extremely simple: while descending, hydraulic fluid moves from the external inflatable bladder, which produces a high pressure in the internal reservoir, which is at a low pressure through a valve: the decrease in volume of the bladder creates an increase in density, causing negative buoyancy); wherein the underwater vehicle body is configured to descend in the underwater environment when the variable buoyance system is in a first, negative buoyancy state and the underwater vehicle body is configured to ascend in the underwater environment when the variable buoyance system is in a second, positive buoyancy state ((see Petritoli “The buoyancy engine of the glider allows changing its net buoyancy into alternating positive and negative states, thereby imparting it with the ability to string together a succession of descending and ascending glide slopes referred to as a sawtooth glide”, To reduce the force required to actuate the oil piston, which pushes the oil in the bladder at high pressure, is necessary to reduce the piston surface (diameter) and increase the stroke);
controlling the underwater vehicle (see Petritoli Gliders are controlled through hydrostatics (vertical forces) and manipulate hydrostatic balances in order to accomplish roll and pitch of the vehicle.) through a period of descending in the underwater environment when the variable buoyance system is in a first, negative buoyancy state;
and controlling the underwater vehicle through a period of ascending in the underwater environment when the variable buoyance system is in a second, positive buoyancy state (see Petritoli “The buoyancy engine of the glider allows changing its net buoyancy into alternating positive and negative states, thereby imparting it with the ability to string together a succession of descending and ascending glide slopes referred to as a sawtooth glide”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control with Petritoli’s positive and negative buoyancy states to make the system more efficient and significant by buoyancy control which can move the vessel upward or downward (positive or negative buoyancy state).
However, Linxiang does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the power source includes a heating device that causes the deformable shape memory alloy actuator to change temperature and deform. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Jones teaches wherein the power source includes a heating device that causes the deformable shape memory alloy actuator to change temperature and deform (see Jones page 14 lines 24-27 Whether the electrical connection between the heater assembly 40 and the external power source includes the terminals 80 or 130, the operation of the heating device is the same).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control Jones’s power source includes a heating device in order to allow for heating objects within a container (see Jones page 1 lines 6-8).
Regrading claim 12, Linxiang, Petritoli and Jones remain as applied to claim 11. Linxiang discloses wherein the drive system of the variable buoyance system comprises a plurality of deformable shape memory alloy actuators (see figure 1, one is 2 bias spring another is 6 a traction memory alloy spring).
Regrading claim 13, Linxiang, Petritoli and Jones remain as applied to claim 11. Linxiang teaches an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control. However, Linxiang does not teaches the non-compressible working fluid comprises an oil. Nevertheless, Petritoli– same field of endeavor teaches wherein the non-compressible working fluid comprises an oil (see Petritoli it accommodates the buoyancy motor and the oil tank and provides longitudinal balance to the system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control with Petritoli’s non-compressible working fluid comprises an oil to make more efficient by maintaining pressure in system.
Regrading claim 14, Linxiang, Petritoli and Jones remain as applied to claim 11. Linxiang discloses wherein the non-compressible working fluid comprises water or a water-based solution ( see Linxiang ,fluid is water).
Regrading claim 15, Linxiang, Petritoli and Jones remain as applied to claim 11. Linxiang discloses wherein the underwater vehicle is an underwater glider and the underwater vehicle body is a streamlined glider body( see para[0072] Suspended posture: when the present embodiment is started, it is still floating on the water),, wherein the underwater glider further comprises: a plurality of hydrofoils configured to direct the streamlined glider body in a forward direction (see para[0010] The underwater glider comprises a fuselage, a left hang glider, a right hang glider and a tail wing. The left hang glider and the right hang glider are symmetrically installed on both sides of the rear part of the fuselage, and the tail wing is installed at the tail of the fuselage;)when the streamlined glider body changes depth due to changes in buoyancy state see para[0005] However, there are several ways to change the attitude angle of existing underwater gliders; Para [0006] 9 In summary, to change the attitude angle using the center of gravity adjustment module, a buoyancy adjustment module needs to be set up to achieve snorkeling.); and a vertical stabilizer configured to orientation of the streamlined glider body along a longitudinal axis; (see para[0080] and [0081] the right tilt is started and the yaw is terminated, and the yaw is returned to the longitudinal gliding direction before the deflection).
wherein the plurality of hydrofoils direct the streamlined glider body in a forward direction when the streamlined glider body changes depth due to changes in buoyancy state(see para[0010] The underwater glider comprises a fuselage, a left hang glider, a right hang glider and a tail wing. The left hang glider and the right hang glider are symmetrically installed on both sides of the rear part of the fuselage, and the tail wing is installed at the tail of the fuselage;).
Regrading claim 16, Linxiang, Petritoli and Jones remain as applied to claim 11. Linxiang teaches an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control. However, Linxiang does not teaches the neutral buoyancy state condition is based on the mass and volume of the underwater vehicle. Nevertheless, Petritoli– same field of endeavor teaches wherein the underwater vehicle is a float and the underwater vehicle body is a float body and the method further comprises: establishing neutral buoyance state operational conditions for the underwater vehicle based on conditions of the underwater environment and the mass and volume of the underwater vehicle( See at least Petritoli “Gliding forces” paragraph), such that the neutral buoyancy state corresponds to a desired depth in the underwater environment(See Petritoli “For neutral buoyancy, the vehicle must have a density equal to seawater) ; and controlling the underwater vehicle (see Petritoli Gliders are controlled through hydrostatics (vertical forces) and manipulate hydrostatic balances in order to accomplish roll and pitch of the vehicle) through a period of neither descending nor ascending in the underwater environment when the variable buoyance system is in a third, neutral buoyancy state(See Petritoli “For neutral buoyancy, the vehicle must have a density equal to seawater).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control with Petritoli’s neutral buoyancy state to make the system realistic and balanced by having the vehicle an equal density to seawater.
Regrading claim 18, Linxiang and Petritoli remain as applied to claim 5. However, Linxiang does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the heating device is a resistance heater. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Jones teaches wherein the heating device is a resistance heater (see Jones page 1 lines 10-15 Resistance heaters are made from various conductive materials including resistance wire, metalized polymer films, conductive fibers, graphite, metal foil, conductive inks, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control Jones’s resistance heater as a heating device in order to allow for heating objects within a container (see Jones page 1 lines 6-8).
Regrading claim 19, Linxiang, Petritoli and Jones remain as applied to claim 11. However, Linxiang does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the heating device is a resistance heater. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Jones teaches wherein the heating device is a resistance heater (see Jones page 1 lines 10-15 Resistance heaters are made from various conductive materials including resistance wire, metalized polymer films, conductive fibers, graphite, metal foil, conductive inks, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control Jones’s resistance heater as a heating device in order to allow for heating objects within a container (see Jones page 1 lines 6-8).
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over CN109606594B to Wang Linxiang (herein after “Linxiang”) in view of High Accuracy Buoyancy for Underwater Gliders: The Uncertainty in the Depth Control, Sensors (Basel). 2019 Apr 17;19(8):1831 to Enrico Petritoli (herein after “Petritoli”).
Regrading claim 5, Linxiang discloses An autonomous underwater vehicle comprising: an underwater vehicle body configured to operate in an underwater environment (see para [0002] The invention relates to an underwater glider, in particular to an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy and controlled in posture); and a variable buoyance engine of claim 1, wherein the pressure vessel is part of the structure of the underwater vehicle body (similar as a front control cabin 19)).
Linxiang teaches an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control. However, Linxiang does not teaches positive and negative buoyancy state. Nevertheless, Petritoli– same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reservoir is positioned inside the underwater vehicle body, and the external bladder is positioned external to the underwater vehicle body (see Petritoli Figure 4); wherein the underwater vehicle body is configured to descend in the underwater environment when the variable buoyance system is in a first, negative buoyancy state and the underwater vehicle body is configured to ascend in the underwater environment when the variable buoyance system is in a second, positive buoyancy state (see Petritoli “The buoyancy engine of the glider allows changing its net buoyancy into alternating positive and negative states, thereby imparting it with the ability to string together a succession of descending and ascending glide slopes referred to as a sawtooth glide”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control with Petritoli’s positive and negative buoyancy state to make high accuracy of the system by giving longitudinal balance to the system.
Regrading claim 6, Linxiang and Petritoli remain as applied to claim 5. Linxiang teaches an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control. However, Linxiang does not teaches neutral buoyancy state. Nevertheless, Petritoli– same field of endeavor teaches wherein the underwater vehicle is a float, the underwater vehicle body is a float body, and the underwater vehicle body is configured to neither descend nor ascend in the underwater environment when the variable buoyance system is in a third, neutral buoyancy state (See Petritoli “For neutral buoyancy, the vehicle must have a density equal to seawater).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control with Petritoli’s neutral buoyancy state to make the system realistic and balanced by having the vehicle an equal density to seawater.
Regrading claim 7, Linxiang and Petritoli remain as applied to claim 5. .Linxiang discloses wherein the underwater vehicle is an underwater glider and the underwater vehicle body is a streamlined glider body ( see Linxiang para[0072] Suspended posture: when the present embodiment is started, it is still floating on the water), wherein the underwater glider further comprises: a plurality of hydrofoils configured to direct the streamlined glider body in a forward direction(see Linxiang para[0010] The underwater glider comprises a fuselage, a left hang glider, a right hang glider and a tail wing. The left hang glider and the right hang glider are symmetrically installed on both sides of the rear part of the fuselage, and the tail wing is installed at the tail of the fuselage;) when the streamlined glider body changes depth due to changes in buoyancy state(see Linxiang para[0005] However, there are several ways to change the attitude angle of existing underwater gliders;para [0006] 9 In summary, to change the attitude angle using the center of gravity adjustment module, a buoyancy adjustment module needs to be set up to achieve snorkeling.); and a vertical stabilizer configured to orientation of the streamlined glider body along a longitudinal axis (see Linxiang para[0080] and [0081] the right tilt is started and the yaw is terminated, and the yaw is returned to the longitudinal gliding direction before the deflection).
Regrading claim 8, Linxiang and Petritoli remain as applied to claim 5. Linxiang discloses wherein the drive system of the variable buoyance system comprises a plurality of deformable shape memory alloy actuators (see figure 1, one is 2 bias spring another is 6 a traction memory alloy spring).
Regrading claim 9, Linxiang and Petritoli remain as applied to claim 5. Linxiang teaches an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control. However, Linxiang does not teaches the non-compressible working fluid comprises an oil. Nevertheless, Petritoli– same field of endeavor teaches wherein the non-compressible working fluid comprises an oil ( see Petritoli “it accommodates the buoyancy motor and the oil tank and provides longitudinal balance to the system”) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Linxiang’s an underwater glider driven by a memory alloy driven attitude control with Petritoli’s non-compressible working fluid comprises an oil to make more efficient by maintaining pressure in system.
Regrading claim 10, Linxiang and Petritoli remain as applied to claim 5. Linxiang discloses wherein the non-compressible working fluid comprises water or a water-based solution (see Linxiang, fluid is water).
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs (or upon request, columns and line numbers) in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly,THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666