DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/07/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Oshi fails to teach a nano-ridged convex structure layer wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer because Oshi’s 20, fine irregular structure is in the smoothly undulating shape rather than in the ridged shape. Applicant argues Oshi fails to teach wherein the nano-ridged convex structure has a shape of a wide bottom and narrow top. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Oshi fails to teach a nano-ridged convex structure layer wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer because Oshi’s 20, fine irregular structure is in the smoothly undulating shape rather than in the ridged shape, Examiner notes that at least Figure 11 depicts a “ridged shape”.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Oshi fails to teach wherein the nano-ridged convex structure has a shape of a wide bottom and narrow top, both Figures 1 and 11 depict a wider base that narrows to the top. Although Examiner appreciates and agrees with the shape differences highlighted on page 11 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (09/07/2026), the claims are not positively reciting the structure in a manner that bar’s Examiner’s interpretation of Oshi’s structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-14, and 18-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. (2020/0132986, of record) in view of Okumura (2006/0051085, of record) in view of Oishi et al. (2017/0205539, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Lai discloses a metal light blocking element (Figure 1, 1, light shielding sheet; [0032] teaches 1, light shielding sheet, has 10, metal substrate), surrounding a central axis (central axis through 103, first through light hole), a first annular surface disposed opposite to an outer surface (1032, hole wall), and the first annular surface closer to the central axis than the outer surface to the central axis (Figure 1); a second annular surface disposed opposite to the outer surface (1031, hole wall), the second annular surface closer to the central axis than the outer surface to the central axis (Figure 1), and the first annular surface connected to the second annular surface to form a minimum opening structure (Figure 1; 104, second through light hole); and an anti-reflecting layer disposed on the first annular surface and the second annular surface, covering the minimum opening structure (11, light extinction film), and comprising: a light absorbing layer (111, light absorption film); wherein the minimum opening structure is a tip end opening structure (Figure 1), an angle is formed between the first annular surface and the second annular surface (angle formed between 1032, hole wall, and 1031, hole wall), the angle is α, and the following condition is satisfied: 0 degrees<α≤170 degrees (Figure 1 depicts that the angle formed between 1032, hole wall, and 1031, hole wall is roughly between 100 and 120 degrees).
Lai fails to teach an outer diameter surface surrounding the metal light blocking element; and a nanostructure layer disposed on the light absorbing layer; wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units, a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units, and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally; wherein the nanostructure layer further comprises a connecting layer, and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top. Lai and Okumura are related because both teach a metal light blocking element.
Okumura teaches a metal light blocking element comprising an outer diameter surface surrounding the metal light blocking element (at least Figure 3, outer diameter surface of 28, diaphragm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Okumura and provide an outer diameter surface surrounding the metal light blocking element, and consequently the outer surface to be the outer diameter surface. Doing so would allow for form fitting in a cylindrical lens barrel. Furthermore, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See also In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
The modified Lai fails to teach a nanostructure layer disposed on the light absorbing layer; wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units, a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units, and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally; wherein the nanostructure layer further comprises a connecting layer, and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top. The modified Lai and Oishi are related because both teach an anti-reflecting layer.
Oishi teaches an anti-reflecting layer (at least Figure 1, 10, anti-reflection member) comprising: a nanostructure layer (at least 14, anti-reflection layer, 20, fine irregular structure); wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units (at least Figures 1 and 11), a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units (at least Figure 11 depicts 20A, fine irregular structure, is formed of convex structures), and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally (at least Figure 11 is interpreted to extend non-directionally); wherein the nanostructure layer further comprises a connecting layer (12, substrate), and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer (Examiner notes the combination of Lai and Oishi is viewed to teach this limitation as Oishi’s 10, anti-reflection member, is viewed to substitute Lai’s 112, anti-reflection film, and consequently Oishi’s 12, substrate, is viewed to be disposed between Lai’s 111, light absorption film, and Oishi’s 20, fine irregular structure); wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material ([0051] teaches each 14, anti-reflection layer, is formed of Al2O3); wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top (at least Figures 1 and 11 depict a wider base than the top, thus interpreted as a wide bottom and narrow top).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Oishi and provide a nanostructure layer disposed on the light absorbing layer; wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units, a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units, and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally; wherein the nanostructure layer further comprises a connecting layer, and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top. Doing so would allow for improved reduction of unwanted reflection and unwanted glare.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a thickness of the connecting layer is d, and the following condition is satisfied: 30 nm≤d≤500 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the thickness of the substrate to be between 30 and 500 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Doing so would allow for a durable substrate while maintaining a compact size.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 1, wherein a height of each of the nanostructure units is h, and the following condition is satisfied: 90 nm≤h≤350 nm (Oishi: at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 6, but fails to teach wherein the height of each of the nanostructure units is h, and the following condition is satisfied: 90 nm≤h≤290 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the height of the each of the nanostructure units to be between 90 and 290 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Doing so would allow for a compact size of the anti-reflection film while successfully reducing unwanted reflection.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 1, wherein the tip end opening structure has at least one shrinkage cavity structure (exposed portion of 1032, hole wall, which is exposed from 11, light extinction film; [0034]), and the at least one shrinkage cavity structure is closer to the central axis than a maximum outer diameter of the tip end opening structure to the central axis (Figure 1 depicts the exposed portion is closer to the central axis than d1, hole radius).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 1, wherein the angle is α, and the following condition is satisfied: 10 degrees≤α≤150 degrees (Figure 1 depicts that the angle formed between 1032, hole wall, and 1031, hole wall is roughly between 100 and 120 degrees).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 9, wherein the angle is α, and the following condition is satisfied: 20 degrees≤α≤120 degrees (Figure 1 depicts that the angle formed between 1032, hole wall, and 1031, hole wall is roughly between 100 and 120 degrees).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 1, further comprising: a recess structure disposed on at least one of the first annular surface and the second annular surface (recess formed by 11, light extinction film, to expose 1032, hole wall; the recess is disposed on the first annular surface), the recess structure caving towards the outer diameter surface (Figure 1, the recess caves towards outer peripheral of 1, light shielding sheet), and at least one portion of the anti-reflecting layer disposed on the recess structure (Figure 1, the recess is formed by 11, light extinction film, thus the light extinction film is disposed on the recess structure).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Lai discloses an imaging lens assembly module (Okumura: Figure 2), comprising: an imaging lens set (Okumura: 24, first lens); and at least one of the metal light blocking element of claim 1 (Okumura: 28, diaphragm), wherein the at least one metal light blocking element is disposed opposite to the imaging lens set (Okumura: Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Lai discloses an electronic device (Okumura: Figures 1A and 1B), comprising: the imaging lens assembly module of claim 12 (Okumura: Figure 2); and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the imaging lens assembly module (Okumura: 30, CCD image sensor).
Regarding claim 14, Lai discloses a metal light blocking element (Figure 1, 1, light shielding sheet; [0032] teaches 1, light shielding sheet, has 10, metal substrate), surrounding a central axis (central axis through 103, first through light hole), a first annular surface disposed opposite to an outer surface (1032, hole wall), and the first annular surface closer to the central axis than the outer surface to the central axis (Figure 1); a second annular surface disposed opposite to the outer surface (1031, hole wall), the second annular surface closer to the central axis than the outer surface to the central axis (Figure 1), and the first annular surface connected to the second annular surface to form a minimum opening structure (Figure 1; 104, second through light hole); and an anti-reflecting layer disposed on the first annular surface and the second annular surface, covering the minimum opening structure (11, light extinction film), and comprising: a light absorbing layer (111, light absorption film).
Lai fails to teach an outer diameter surface surrounding the metal light blocking element; a nanostructure layer disposed on the light absorbing layer; wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units, a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units, and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally; wherein the nanostructure layer further comprises a connecting layer, and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top; wherein a length of the first annular surface along the central axis is L1, a length of the second annular surface along the central axis is L2, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.01 mm≤L1+L2≤3.00 mm. Lai and Okumura are related because both teach a metal light blocking element.
Okumura teaches a metal light blocking element comprising an outer diameter surface surrounding the metal light blocking element (at least Figure 3, outer diameter surface of 28, diaphragm); wherein a length of the first annular surface along the central axis is L1 (Figure 4, thickness of 28a, first plate portion), a length of the second annular surface along the central axis is L2 (Figure 4, thickness of 28b, second plate portion), and the following condition is satisfied: 0.01 mm≤L1+L2≤3.00 mm ([0044] teaches the thickness of 28a, first plate portion, is from 0.01 to 0.02 mm and the thickness of 28b, second plate portion, is from 0.05 to 0.1 mm; thus the values fall within the claimed range).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Okumura and provide an outer diameter surface surrounding the metal light blocking element; wherein a length of the first annular surface along the central axis is L1, a length of the second annular surface along the central axis is L2, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.01 mm≤L1+L2≤3.00 mm. Doing so would allow for form fitting in a cylindrical lens barrel and a satisfactory strength and durability of the light blocking element. Furthermore, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See also In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
The modified Lai fails to teach a nanostructure layer disposed on the light absorbing layer; wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units, a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units, and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally; wherein the nanostructure layer further comprises a connecting layer, and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top. The modified Lai and Oishi are related because both teach an anti-reflecting layer.
Oishi teaches an anti-reflecting layer (at least Figure 1, 10, anti-reflection member) comprising: a nanostructure layer (at least 14, anti-reflection layer, 20, fine irregular structure); wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units (at least Figures 1 and 11), a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units (at least Figure 11 depicts 20A, fine irregular structure, is formed of convex structures), and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally (at least Figure 11 is interpreted to extend non-directionally); wherein the nanostructure layer further comprises a connecting layer (12, substrate), and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer (Examiner notes the combination of Lai and Oishi is viewed to teach this limitation as Oishi’s 10, anti-reflection member, is viewed to substitute Lai’s 112, anti-reflection film, and consequently Oishi’s 12, substrate, is viewed to be disposed between Lai’s 111, light absorption film, and Oishi’s 20, fine irregular structure); wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material ([0051] teaches each 14, anti-reflection layer, is formed of Al2O3); wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top (at least Figures 1 and 11 depict the structure to have a wider base than the top, thus interpreted as a wide bottom and narrow top).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Oishi and provide a nanostructure layer disposed on the light absorbing layer; wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units, a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units, and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally; wherein the nanostructure layer further comprises a connecting layer, and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top. Doing so would allow for improved reduction of unwanted reflection and unwanted glare.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 14, but fails to teach wherein a thickness of the connecting layer is d, and the following condition is satisfied: 30 nm≤d≤500 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the thickness of the substrate to be between 30 and 500 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Doing so would allow for a durable substrate while maintaining a compact size.
Regarding claim 19, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 14, wherein a height of each of the nanostructure units is h, and the following condition is satisfied: 90 nm≤h≤350 nm (Oishi: at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 19, but fails to teach wherein the height of each of the nanostructure units is h, and the following condition is satisfied: 90 nm≤h≤290 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the height of the each of the nanostructure units to be between 90 and 290 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Doing so would allow for a compact size of the anti-reflection film while successfully reducing unwanted reflection.
Regarding claim 21, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 14, wherein the length of the first annular surface along the central axis is L1, the length of the second annular surface along the central axis is L2, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.03≤L1/L2≤5 (Okumura: [0044] teaches the thickness of 28a, first plate portion, is from 0.01 to 0.02 mm and the thickness of 28b, second plate portion, is from 0.05 to 0.1 mm; thus the values fall within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 14, further comprising: a recess structure disposed on at least one of the first annular surface and the second annular surface (recess formed by 11, light extinction film, to expose 1032, hole wall; the recess is disposed on the first annular surface), the recess structure caving towards the outer diameter surface (Figure 1, the recess caves towards outer peripheral of 1, light shielding sheet), and at least one portion of the anti-reflecting layer disposed on the recess structure (Figure 1, the recess is formed by 11, light extinction film, thus the light extinction film is disposed on the recess structure).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 14, wherein the minimum opening structure has at least one shrinkage cavity structure (exposed portion of 1032, hole wall, which is exposed from 11, light extinction film; [0034]), and the at least one shrinkage cavity structure is closer to the central axis than a maximum outer diameter of the minimum opening structure to the central axis (Figure 1 depicts the exposed portion is closer to the central axis than d1, hole radius).
Regarding claim 24, Lai discloses a metal light blocking element (Figure 1, 1, light shielding sheet; [0032] teaches 1, light shielding sheet, has 10, metal substrate), surrounding a central axis (central axis through 103, first through light hole), a first annular surface disposed opposite to an outer surface (1032, hole wall), and the first annular surface closer to the central axis than the outer surface to the central axis (Figure 1); a second annular surface disposed opposite to the outer surface (1031, hole wall), the second annular surface closer to the central axis than the outer surface to the central axis (Figure 1), and the first annular surface connected to the second annular surface to form a minimum opening structure (Figure 1; 104, second through light hole); and an anti-reflecting layer disposed on the first annular surface and the second annular surface, covering the minimum opening structure (11, light extinction film), and comprising: a light absorbing layer (111, light absorption film).
Lai fails to teach an outer diameter surface surrounding the metal light blocking element; a nanostructure layer disposed on the light absorbing layer; wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units and a connecting layer, a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units, and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally, and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top; wherein a height of each of the nanostructure units is h, and the following condition is satisfied: 90 nm≤h≤350 nm. Lai and Okumura are related because both teach a metal light blocking element.
Okumura teaches a metal light blocking element comprising an outer diameter surface surrounding the metal light blocking element (at least Figure 3, outer diameter surface of 28, diaphragm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Okumura and provide an outer diameter surface surrounding the metal light blocking element. Doing so would allow for form fitting in a cylindrical lens barrel. Furthermore, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. See also In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
The modified Lai fails to teach a nanostructure layer disposed on the light absorbing layer; wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units and a connecting layer, a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units, and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally, and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top; wherein a height of each of the nanostructure units is h, and the following condition is satisfied: 90 nm≤h≤350 nm. The modified Lai and Oishi are related because both teach an anti-reflecting layer.
Oishi teaches an anti-reflecting layer (at least Figure 1, 10, anti-reflection member) comprising: a nanostructure layer (at least 14, anti-reflection layer, 20, fine irregular structure); wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units (at least Figures 1 and 11) and a connecting layer (12, substrate), a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units (at least Figure 11 depicts 20A, fine irregular structure, is formed of convex structures), and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally (at least Figure 11 is interpreted to extend non-directionally), and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer (Examiner notes the combination of Lai and Oishi is viewed to teach this limitation as Oishi’s 10, anti-reflection member, is viewed to substitute Lai’s 112, anti-reflection film, and consequently Oishi’s 12, substrate, is viewed to be disposed between Lai’s 111, light absorption film, and Oishi’s 20, fine irregular structure); wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material ([0051] teaches each 14, anti-reflection layer, is formed of Al2O3); wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top (at least Figures 1 and 11 depict the structure to have a wider base than the top, thus interpreted as a wide bottom and narrow top); wherein a height of each of the nanostructure units is h, and the following condition is satisfied: 90 nm≤h≤350 nm (at least [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Oishi and provide a nanostructure layer disposed on the light absorbing layer; wherein the nanostructure layer comprises a plurality of nanostructure units, a nano-ridged convex structure is formed via the nanostructure units, and the nanostructure units extend non-directionally; wherein the nanostructure layer further comprises a connecting layer, and the connecting layer is disposed between the light absorbing layer and the nano-ridged convex structure layer; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer is made of an aluminum oxide material; wherein the nano-ridged convex structure layer has a shape of wide bottom and narrow top; wherein a height of each of the nanostructure units is h, and the following condition is satisfied: 90 nm≤h≤350 nm. Doing so would allow for improved reduction of unwanted reflection and unwanted glare while maintaining a compact size.
Regarding claim 26, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 24, but fails to teach wherein the height of each of the nanostructure units is h, and the following condition is satisfied: 90 nm≤h≤290 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the height of the each of the nanostructure units to be between 90 and 290 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Doing so would allow for a compact size of the anti-reflection film while successfully reducing unwanted reflection.
Claims 2, 15, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. (2020/0132986, of record) in view of Okumura (2006/0051085, of record) in view of Oishi et al. (2017/0205539, of record) as applied to claims 1, 14, and 24 above, and further in view of Yoshikawa et al. (7,787,184, of record).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the light absorbing layer is made of a carbon black material. The modified Lai and Yoshikawa are related because both teach an anti-reflecting layer including a light absorbing layer.
Yoshikawa teaches an anti-reflecting layer including a light absorbing layer wherein the light absorbing layer is made of a carbon black material (col 7 lines 4-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Yoshikawa and provide wherein the light absorbing layer is made of a carbon black material. Doing so would allow for high light-shielding and light-absorbing performance, thereby more effectively reducing unnecessary light.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 14, but fails to teach wherein the light absorbing layer is made of a carbon black material. The modified Lai and Yoshikawa are related because both teach an anti-reflecting layer including a light absorbing layer.
Yoshikawa teaches an anti-reflecting layer including a light absorbing layer wherein the light absorbing layer is made of a carbon black material (col 7 lines 4-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Yoshikawa and provide wherein the light absorbing layer is made of a carbon black material. Doing so would allow for high light-shielding and light-absorbing performance, thereby more effectively reducing unnecessary light.
Regarding claim 27, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 24, but fails to teach wherein the light absorbing layer is made of a carbon black material. The modified Lai and Yoshikawa are related because both teach an anti-reflecting layer including a light absorbing layer.
Yoshikawa teaches an anti-reflecting layer including a light absorbing layer wherein the light absorbing layer is made of a carbon black material (col 7 lines 4-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Yoshikawa and provide wherein the light absorbing layer is made of a carbon black material. Doing so would allow for high light-shielding and light-absorbing performance, thereby more effectively reducing unnecessary light.
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. (2020/0132986, of record) in view of Okumura (2006/0051085, of record) in view of Oishi et al. (2017/0205539, of record) as applied to claims 1, 14, and 24 above, and further in view of Kakegawa (2012/0212827, of record).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the connecting layer is made of a silicon dioxide material. The modified Lai and Kakegawa are related because both teach an anti-reflection film.
Kakegawa teaches a nanostructure layer (at least Figure 1) wherein the connecting layer (1, substrate) is made of a silicon dioxide material (at least [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Kakegawa and provide wherein the connecting layer is made of a silicon dioxide material. Doing so would allow for improved high antireflection.
Regarding claim 29, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 14, but fails to teach wherein the connecting layer is made of a silicon dioxide material. The modified Lai and Kakegawa are related because both teach an anti-reflection film.
Kakegawa teaches a nanostructure layer (at least Figure 1) wherein the connecting layer (1, substrate) is made of a silicon dioxide material (at least [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Kakegawa and provide wherein the connecting layer is made of a silicon dioxide material. Doing so would allow for improved high antireflection.
Regarding claim 30, the modified Lai discloses the metal light blocking element of claim 24, but fails to teach wherein the connecting layer is made of a silicon dioxide material. The modified Lai and Kakegawa are related because both teach an anti-reflection film.
Kakegawa teaches a nanostructure layer (at least Figure 1) wherein the connecting layer (1, substrate) is made of a silicon dioxide material (at least [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Lai to incorporate the teachings of Kakegawa and provide wherein the connecting layer is made of a silicon dioxide material. Doing so would allow for improved high antireflection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872