DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant requested that the application data sheet be updated in the patent center, and submitted a new application data sheet. The examiner notes new application data sheet has been entered into the application file.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 7/22/2026, which substantially repeat the arguments previously filed 3/6/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 103.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, and as previously indicated in the prior action, Stratton discloses and makes obvious splitting (or cutting, see paragraph 0017) said single fibre-reinforced structure in a region that overlies the joining member (such as joint 808). See especially Figures 8A-C and paragraph 0045-49, cited below:
[0045] In the process (600) of FIG. 6, a composite tubular body (710) is formed (block 602) around a mandrel, as shown in FIG. 7A. FIG. 7A omits the mandrel for clarity. The tubular body (710) has a first flexure member (720) extending from a first portion (725) of the tubular body (710) at a first side to a second portion (730) of the tubular body (710) at a second side. The mandrel is not shown in FIG. 7A for clarity. As shown in FIG. 7A, the first and second portions (725, 730) of the composite tubular body (710) and the first flexure member (720) may be formed by wrapping a filament (705) around the mandrel and introducing a matrix material (715) into the wrapped filament (705).
[0046] The filament (705) may be made from any type of material that can be used in the fabrication of composite materials, as may suit a particular application of the principles described herein. Examples of suitable filament materials include, but are not limited to, carbon fiber, glass, plastics, other polymers aramids), metal wire, and the like. Similarly, the matrix material (715) may be any type of matrix material that can be used in the fabrication of composite materials, as may suit a particular application of the principles described herein. Examples of suitable matrix materials include, but are not limited to, polymer resins and epoxies, plastics (e.g., thermosetting plastics or thermoplastics), solder materials, and braze materials (e.g., where the filament material is metallic).
[0047] After forming the first flexure member (720), the first flexure member (720) is covered (block 604) with a removable layer (735), and a second flexure member (740) is formed (block 606) over the removable layer (735), as shown in FIG. 7B. The removable layer (735) may be made of any material that can be removed from the composite material after curing (i.e., any material that will not bond the edges of different layers of composite material together), as may suit a particular application of the principles described herein. Examples of suitable removable layers (735) include, but are not limited to, various types of release films made from plastic sheeting coated so as not to bond with the matrix material (715), foil materials that prevent the flow of a resin matrix material (715) between layers of the composite tubular body (710), materials that can be dissolved by heat, acid, or water, and/or any other material that can withstand the fabrication of the tubular body (710) and be chemically or mechanically removed after the tubular body (710) has cured.
[0048] The second flexure member (740) extends from the first portion (725) of the tubular body (710) at the second side to the upper portion (730) of the tubular body (710) at the first side. Once the tubular body (710), including the flexures (720, 740), has been cured (block 608), the removable layer (735) can be removed (block 610), leaving a single integral composite cross-flexural pivot (745), shown in FIG. 7C. As with the other cross-flexural pivots described in the present specification, the composite cross-flexural pivot has a first structure (725) (also referred to as the first portion of the tubular body (710) having a first longitudinal axis (750), a second structure (730) (also referred to as the second portion of the tubular body (710)) having a second longitudinal axis (755), an inner flexure member (720) (also referred to as the first flexure member), and an outer flexure member (740) (also referred to as the second flexure member). The inner flexure member (720) is coupled to the first structure (725) at a first side and to the second structure (730) at a second side opposing the first side. The second flexure member (740) has a curved periphery that encloses the inner flexure member (720) and is coupled to the first structure (725) at the second side and to the second structure (730) at the first side. Each of the flexure members (720, 740) has a face disposed obliquely to the first and second longitudinal axes (750, 755). Because the flexure members (720, 740) are formed by wrapping filament (720) around a cylindrical mandrel, each of the flexure members (720, 740) shown in FIG. 7C may be substantially tubular and concentric to the first structure (725) and the second structure (740) when the pivot (745) is not being flexed.
[0049] FIGS. 8A-8C an illustrative use of a cross-flexural pivot (100) consistent with the principles described herein to house an illustrative pivoting tool (802). In FIG. 8A, the pivoting tool (802) is shown. The pivoting tool (802) may include a first portion (804), a second portion (806), and a joint (808) that allows the first portion (804) to pivot with respect to the second portion (806). FIG. 8B shows the pivoting tool (802) disposed within a cross-flexural pivot (100) similar to that shown in FIGS. 1A-C. The cross-flexural pivot (100) may be a component of, for example, a snake tool used to guide the pivoting tool (802) through a passageway and/or to control the motion of the pivoting tool (802). FIG. 8C shows the illustrative pivoting tool (802) pivoting while the cross-flexural pivot (100) is in a state of flexure.
See also Figures 8A-C, below:
Stratton discloses that these approaches have the benefit of simple manufacture, teaching in paragraph 0022 that “Yet another advantage associated with the cross-flexural pivot described herein is that of simple manufacture. As will be shown in greater detail below, the cross-flexural pivot described herein may be manufactured by creating a planar profile cut in an assembly having an inner body and an outer body, and then rotating one of the bodies with respect to the other.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to create a single fibre-reinforced polymer structure and to perform splitting said single fibre-reinforced structure in a region that overlies the joining member because Stratton discloses that it is known to create and remove sections in order to achieve simple manufacture with an embedded joint.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanwood (US 4289557 A), McLain (US 4248062 A) and Stratton (US 20110188926 A1).
As to claim 1, Stanwood discloses a method of producing a universal joint assembly comprising:
providing a joining member for forming a universal joint (see column 2, line 46, disclosing “End members 10 can be yoke portions of universal joints.”), said joining member comprising a first pivot and a second pivot (see metallic end members 10);
applying continuous fibre reinforcement and a polymer matrix to a form including said joining member to create a fibre-reinforced polymer structure (see column 4, line 31, disclosing “There are two basic methods of placing the layers of fibers into the grooves. The first is a wet method wherein the fibers are first laid and then the whole structure is dipped into a liquidous matrix. A second method is a pre-preg method wherein one or more layers of fibers preimpregnated in a tape of uncured or semicured matrix are wound onto the grooves, followed by curing.”); and
splitting said single fibre-reinforced structure into a first fibre-reinforced polymer shaft and a second fibre-reinforced polymer shaft that are coupled together by the joining member to form a universal joint (see column 5, line 14, disclosing “The mandrel is then slid out of the end-to-end shaft assembly, which is cooled to room temperature. The individual shafts are formed by cutting the double-sleeves at their midpoints. Then the metal sleeves 4 are welded onto the end yokes 10. ”).
Stanwood does not disclose to creating a single fibre-reinforced polymer structure in which the joining member is embedded, but rather creates two fibre-reinforced polymer structures which are attached to form the joint. Stanwood also does not disclose splitting said single fibre-reinforced structure in a region that overlies the joining member.
However, McLain discloses creating the fiber-reinforced polymer structure in which the joining member is embedded. See column 5, line 24, disclosing:
The yoke 12 of a universal joint is secured to each end of the shaft portion 11 by attachment to corresponding sleeves 13, preferably metallic, in which case attachment may be effected by welding. The sleeves 13 in turn are embracingly enveloped by the fiber reinforced plastic material of the shaft portion 11, that is, the reinforcing fibers and the resin matrix.
McLain further teaches in column 11, line 54, that:
It should now be apparent that a drive shaft assembly embodying the concept of the present invention, and made according to the improved method thereof, provides improved critical speed characteristics as well as an effective and convenient interconnection between the fiber reinforced plastic shaft portion and the metallic yoke of a universal joint while accomplishing the other objects of the invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize creating the fiber-reinforced polymer structure in which the joining member is embedded as taught by McLain in order to achieve an effective and convenient interconnection between the fiber reinforced plastic shaft portion and the metallic yoke of a universal joint.
Additionally, Stratton discloses creating a single fibre-reinforced polymer structure, and discloses splitting (see paragraph 0017, disclosing “making a profile cut in the assembly of the inner body and the outer body”) said single fibre-reinforced structure in a region that overlies the joining member (see paragraph 0049, disclosing “The pivoting tool (802) may include a first portion (804), a second portion (806), and a joint (808)…”). See paragraph 0017-18 and 0041 and 0045-49, disclosing:
[0017] The present specification further discloses methods of fabricating and using the above-described cross-flexural pivot. One example of a method of fabricating a cross-flexural pivot includes: a) forming, an assembly having an inner body placed concentrically within a tubular outer body, the assembly including a first portion and a second portion; b) making a profile cut in the assembly of the inner body and the outer body such that each of the inner body and the outer body includes a flexure member extending from a first side of the assembly at the first portion to a second side of the assembly at the second portion; and c) rotating one of the bodies in the assembly with respect to the other of the bodies within the assembly.
[0018] Another example of a method of fabricating a cross-flexural pivot includes: a) forming a composite tubular body around a mandrel, the tubular body having a first flexure member extending from a lower portion of the tubular body at a first side to an upper portion of the tubular body at a second side, the second side opposing the first side; b) covering the first flexure member with a removable layer; c) forming a second flexure member over the sacrificial layer, the second flexure member extending from the lower portion of the tubular body at the second side to the upper portion of the tubular body at the first side; d) curing the tubular body; and e) removing the removable layer.
…
[0041] A planar profile cut is made (block 304) in the assembly (400) so as to form in the inner body (404) and the outer body (406) a flexure member (408, 410, respectively) extending from a lower portion (412) of the assembly (400) at a first side (414) to an upper portion (416) of the assembly (400) at a second side (418). FIG. 4B illustrates the assembly (400) after the profile cut has been made. Because the outer body (406) has been cut away, only the flexure member (408) of the inner body (404) is shown in FIG. 4B; however, the flexure member (410) for the outer body (406) will be substantially the same in shape and orientation as the flexure member (408) for the inner body (404). The material (420) removed from the inner body (404) is also shown in FIG. 4B.
…
[0045] In the process (600) of FIG. 6, a composite tubular body (710) is formed (block 602) around a mandrel, as shown in FIG. 7A. FIG. 7A omits the mandrel for clarity. The tubular body (710) has a first flexure member (720) extending from a first portion (725) of the tubular body (710) at a first side to a second portion (730) of the tubular body (710) at a second side. The mandrel is not shown in FIG. 7A for clarity. As shown in FIG. 7A, the first and second portions (725, 730) of the composite tubular body (710) and the first flexure member (720) may be formed by wrapping a filament (705) around the mandrel and introducing a matrix material (715) into the wrapped filament (705).
[0046] The filament (705) may be made from any type of material that can be used in the fabrication of composite materials, as may suit a particular application of the principles described herein. Examples of suitable filament materials include, but are not limited to, carbon fiber, glass, plastics, other polymers aramids), metal wire, and the like. Similarly, the matrix material (715) may be any type of matrix material that can be used in the fabrication of composite materials, as may suit a particular application of the principles described herein. Examples of suitable matrix materials include, but are not limited to, polymer resins and epoxies, plastics (e.g., thermosetting plastics or thermoplastics), solder materials, and braze materials (e.g., where the filament material is metallic).
[0047] After forming the first flexure member (720), the first flexure member (720) is covered (block 604) with a removable layer (735), and a second flexure member (740) is formed (block 606) over the removable layer (735), as shown in FIG. 7B. The removable layer (735) may be made of any material that can be removed from the composite material after curing (i.e., any material that will not bond the edges of different layers of composite material together), as may suit a particular application of the principles described herein. Examples of suitable removable layers (735) include, but are not limited to, various types of release films made from plastic sheeting coated so as not to bond with the matrix material (715), foil materials that prevent the flow of a resin matrix material (715) between layers of the composite tubular body (710), materials that can be dissolved by heat, acid, or water, and/or any other material that can withstand the fabrication of the tubular body (710) and be chemically or mechanically removed after the tubular body (710) has cured.
[0048] The second flexure member (740) extends from the first portion (725) of the tubular body (710) at the second side to the upper portion (730) of the tubular body (710) at the first side. Once the tubular body (710), including the flexures (720, 740), has been cured (block 608), the removable layer (735) can be removed (block 610), leaving a single integral composite cross-flexural pivot (745), shown in FIG. 7C. As with the other cross-flexural pivots described in the present specification, the composite cross-flexural pivot has a first structure (725) (also referred to as the first portion of the tubular body (710) having a first longitudinal axis (750), a second structure (730) (also referred to as the second portion of the tubular body (710)) having a second longitudinal axis (755), an inner flexure member (720) (also referred to as the first flexure member), and an outer flexure member (740) (also referred to as the second flexure member). The inner flexure member (720) is coupled to the first structure (725) at a first side and to the second structure (730) at a second side opposing the first side. The second flexure member (740) has a curved periphery that encloses the inner flexure member (720) and is coupled to the first structure (725) at the second side and to the second structure (730) at the first side. Each of the flexure members (720, 740) has a face disposed obliquely to the first and second longitudinal axes (750, 755). Because the flexure members (720, 740) are formed by wrapping filament (720) around a cylindrical mandrel, each of the flexure members (720, 740) shown in FIG. 7C may be substantially tubular and concentric to the first structure (725) and the second structure (740) when the pivot (745) is not being flexed.
[0049] FIGS. 8A-8C an illustrative use of a cross-flexural pivot (100) consistent with the principles described herein to house an illustrative pivoting tool (802). In FIG. 8A, the pivoting tool (802) is shown. The pivoting tool (802) may include a first portion (804), a second portion (806), and a joint (808) that allows the first portion (804) to pivot with respect to the second portion (806). FIG. 8B shows the pivoting tool (802) disposed within a cross-flexural pivot (100) similar to that shown in FIGS. 1A-C. The cross-flexural pivot (100) may be a component of, for example, a snake tool used to guide the pivoting tool (802) through a passageway and/or to control the motion of the pivoting tool (802). FIG. 8C shows the illustrative pivoting tool (802) pivoting while the cross-flexural pivot (100) is in a state of flexure.
See also Figures 8A-C, below:
Stratton discloses that these approaches have the benefit of simple manufacture, teaching in paragraph 0022 that “Yet another advantage associated with the cross-flexural pivot described herein is that of simple manufacture. As will be shown in greater detail below, the cross-flexural pivot described herein may be manufactured by creating a planar profile cut in an assembly having an inner body and an outer body, and then rotating one of the bodies with respect to the other.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to create a single fibre-reinforced polymer structure and to perform splitting said single fibre-reinforced structure in a region that overlies the joining member because Stratton discloses that it is known to create and remove sections in order to achieve simple manufacture with an embedded joint.
As to claim 2, Stanwood as modified by McLain and Stratton discloses and makes obvious wherein the first pivot of the joining member is embedded within continuous fibre reinforcement of the first fibre-reinforced polymer shaft and the second pivot of the joining member is embedded within continuous fibre reinforcement of the second fibre-reinforced polymer shaft.
See, for example, Figure 1 of Stanwood, which shows wherein the first pivot of the joining member is embedded within continuous fibre reinforcement of the first fibre-reinforced polymer shaft and the second pivot of the joining member is embedded within continuous fibre reinforcement of the second fibre-reinforced polymer shaft.
See also Figures 1 and 2 of McLain, below:
See also Figures 8A-C of Stratton, showing a joining member (joint 808)is embedded within continuous fibre reinforcement of the first and second fibre-reinforced polymer shaft.
As to claim 3, Stanwood does not disclose wherein the form comprises a sacrificial core that at least partially surrounds the joining member and around which the continuous fibre reinforcement is applied, and the method comprises removing said sacrificial core after splitting the single fibre-reinforced structure.
However, Stratton discloses and makes obvious wherein the form comprises a sacrificial core that at least partially surrounds the joining member and around which the continuous fibre reinforcement is applied, and the method comprises removing said sacrificial core after splitting the single fibre-reinforced structure. Stratton, in paragraph 0059, teaches “depositing the sacrificial material over each flexure member in the first set of flexure members”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize wherein the form comprises a sacrificial core that at least partially surrounds the joining member and around which the continuous fibre reinforcement is applied, and the method comprises removing said sacrificial core after splitting the single fibre-reinforced structure because Stratton discloses that it is known to create and remove sections in order to achieve simple manufacture.
As to claim 4, Stanwood, McLain and Stratton all disclose wherein the form comprises a single mandrel around which the continuous fibre reinforcement is applied.
Stanwood teaches a single mandrel 20 for manufacturing, teaching in column 4, line 39 that:
FIG. 8 illustrates a preferred embodiment for mass producing shafts with such metallic end members. A tooling mandrel 20, which is about thirty or forty feet long, has an outer diameter slightly less than the inner diameter of the double-sleeves 7 selected. The mandrel is typically fabricated of aluminum, steel or wood, and should have a different thermal coefficient of expansion than the metal comprising double-sleeve 7 and composite material 2 so as to facilitate separation of the mandrel from the completed shafts. The mandrel may be overcoated with a release layer such as Teflon (TM) for this purpose. The mandrel should be rigid enough not to bow when positioned horizontally. Several double-sleeves 7 are positioned along the horizontal mandrel at locations which correspond to the desired length of the shafts. At the ends of the mandrel, single sleeves 4 rather than double-sleeves are employed. If the shafts are to be six feet in length it is seen that at least five shafts can be fabricated simultaneously on one mandrel which is about 30 feet in length.
McLain also teaches a mandrel. See column 9, line 34, teaching:
The sleeves 13 are mounted on a mandrel in longitudinally spaced disposition determined by the length desired for the finished assembly 10. The mandrel may be consumable and become an integral core, or the mandrel may be removable. In the latter event it may be desirable to have the mandrel at least minutely tapered in order to facilitate subsequent removal. However, a collapsible mandrel may certainly be employed in those situations where even a minute taper would be deemed undesirable.
Stratton also utilizes a mandrel, teaching in paragraph 0045 that “a composite tubular body (710) is formed (block 602) around a mandrel, as shown in FIG. 7A.”
As to claim 5, Stanwood does not disclose further comprising: braiding the continuous fibre reinforcement onto the form.
However, McLain discloses further comprising: braiding the continuous fibre reinforcement onto the form. See Figures 1 and 2, below, showing braiding of the fiber onto the form by using multiple orientations:
McLain teaches at column 6, lines 61 that:
Layers comprised of fibers having helix angles of 25.degree. or greater have progressively lower "longitudinal components" in their conformation, and thus are generally less effective in resisting flexural forces, just as layers comprised of fibers having helix angles of less than 25.degree. are less effective in resisting torsional forces. The combination of the two types of layers in a single shaft, however, reinforce each other with regard to both types of forces, torsional and flexural, to a greater extent than would be expected merely from addition of their separate strengths with regard to the respective forces.
Similarly, Stratton suggests using conventional filament wrapping techniques. See paragraph 0044, disclosing “the illustrative process (600) depicted in FIGS. 6-7 may be used to produce a composite cross-flexural pivot as a single integral composite structure using conventional filament wrapping composite techniques” and paragraph 0045, disclosing “As shown in FIG. 7A, the first and second portions (725, 730) of the composite tubular body (710) and the first flexure member (720) may be formed by wrapping a filament (705) around the mandrel and introducing a matrix material (715) into the wrapped filament (705).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize further comprising: braiding the continuous fibre reinforcement onto the form as taught by McLain because braided layers result in the combination of the two types of layers in a single shaft, however, reinforce each other with regard to both types of forces, torsional and flexural, to a greater extent than would be expected merely from addition of their separate strengths with regard to the respective forces
As to claim 6, Stanwood does not disclose further comprising: guiding the continuous fibre reinforcement around conical fibre guiding extensions of the first and second pivots of the joining member, and subsequently removing said conical fibre guiding extensions.
However, McLain discloses guiding the fiber to various patterns. See Figures 1 and 2, below, showing guiding of the fiber onto the form by using multiple orientations:
McLain teaches at column 6, lines 61 that:
Layers comprised of fibers having helix angles of 25.degree. or greater have progressively lower "longitudinal components" in their conformation, and thus are generally less effective in resisting flexural forces, just as layers comprised of fibers having helix angles of less than 25.degree. are less effective in resisting torsional forces. The combination of the two types of layers in a single shaft, however, reinforce each other with regard to both types of forces, torsional and flexural, to a greater extent than would be expected merely from addition of their separate strengths with regard to the respective forces.
Additionally, changes in size and shape would have been obvious under MPEP 2144.04, such as by choosing a conical guiding element.
Similarly, Stratton suggests using conventional filament wrapping techniques. See paragraph 0044, disclosing “the illustrative process (600) depicted in FIGS. 6-7 may be used to produce a composite cross-flexural pivot as a single integral composite structure using conventional filament wrapping composite techniques” and paragraph 0045, disclosing “As shown in FIG. 7A, the first and second portions (725, 730) of the composite tubular body (710) and the first flexure member (720) may be formed by wrapping a filament (705) around the mandrel and introducing a matrix material (715) into the wrapped filament (705).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize further comprising: guiding the continuous fibre reinforcement around conical fibre guiding extensions of the first and second pivots of the joining member, and subsequently removing said conical fibre guiding extensions as taught by McLain because guided layers result in the combination of the two types of layers in a single shaft, however, reinforce each other with regard to both types of forces, torsional and flexural, to a greater extent than would be expected merely from addition of their separate strengths with regard to the respective forces
As to claim 16, Stanwood does not disclose wherein the form comprises a sacrificial core that at least partially surrounds the joining member and around which the continuous fibre reinforcement is applied, and the method comprises removing said sacrificial core after splitting the single fibre-reinforced structure.
However, Stratton discloses and makes obvious wherein the form comprises a sacrificial core that at least partially surrounds the joining member and around which the continuous fibre reinforcement is applied, and the method comprises removing said sacrificial core after splitting the single fibre-reinforced structure. Stratton, in paragraph 0059, teaches “depositing the sacrificial material over each flexure member in the first set of flexure members”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize wherein the form comprises a sacrificial core that at least partially surrounds the joining member and around which the continuous fibre reinforcement is applied, and the method comprises removing said sacrificial core after splitting the single fibre-reinforced structure because Stratton discloses that it is known to create and remove sections in order to achieve simple manufacture.
As to claim 17, Stanwood, McLain and Stratton all disclose wherein the form comprises a single mandrel around which the continuous fibre reinforcement is applied.
Stanwood teaches a single mandrel 20 for manufacturing, teaching in column 4, line 39 that:
FIG. 8 illustrates a preferred embodiment for mass producing shafts with such metallic end members. A tooling mandrel 20, which is about thirty or forty feet long, has an outer diameter slightly less than the inner diameter of the double-sleeves 7 selected. The mandrel is typically fabricated of aluminum, steel or wood, and should have a different thermal coefficient of expansion than the metal comprising double-sleeve 7 and composite material 2 so as to facilitate separation of the mandrel from the completed shafts. The mandrel may be overcoated with a release layer such as Teflon (TM) for this purpose. The mandrel should be rigid enough not to bow when positioned horizontally. Several double-sleeves 7 are positioned along the horizontal mandrel at locations which correspond to the desired length of the shafts. At the ends of the mandrel, single sleeves 4 rather than double-sleeves are employed. If the shafts are to be six feet in length it is seen that at least five shafts can be fabricated simultaneously on one mandrel which is about 30 feet in length.
McLain also teaches a mandrel. See column 9, line 34, teaching:
The sleeves 13 are mounted on a mandrel in longitudinally spaced disposition determined by the length desired for the finished assembly 10. The mandrel may be consumable and become an integral core, or the mandrel may be removable. In the latter event it may be desirable to have the mandrel at least minutely tapered in order to facilitate subsequent removal. However, a collapsible mandrel may certainly be employed in those situations where even a minute taper would be deemed undesirable.
Stratton also utilizes a mandrel, teaching in paragraph 0045 that “a composite tubular body (710) is formed (block 602) around a mandrel, as shown in FIG. 7A.”
As to claim 18, Stanwood does not disclose further comprising: braiding the continuous fibre reinforcement onto the form.
However, McLain discloses further comprising: braiding the continuous fibre reinforcement onto the form. See Figures 1 and 2, below, showing braiding of the fiber onto the form by using multiple orientations:
McLain teaches at column 6, lines 61 that:
Layers comprised of fibers having helix angles of 25.degree. or greater have progressively lower "longitudinal components" in their conformation, and thus are generally less effective in resisting flexural forces, just as layers comprised of fibers having helix angles of less than 25.degree. are less effective in resisting torsional forces. The combination of the two types of layers in a single shaft, however, reinforce each other with regard to both types of forces, torsional and flexural, to a greater extent than would be expected merely from addition of their separate strengths with regard to the respective forces.
Similarly, Stratton suggests using conventional filament wrapping techniques. See paragraph 0044, disclosing “the illustrative process (600) depicted in FIGS. 6-7 may be used to produce a composite cross-flexural pivot as a single integral composite structure using conventional filament wrapping composite techniques” and paragraph 0045, disclosing “As shown in FIG. 7A, the first and second portions (725, 730) of the composite tubular body (710) and the first flexure member (720) may be formed by wrapping a filament (705) around the mandrel and introducing a matrix material (715) into the wrapped filament (705).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize further comprising: braiding the continuous fibre reinforcement onto the form as taught by McLain because braided layers result in the combination of the two types of layers in a single shaft, however, reinforce each other with regard to both types of forces, torsional and flexural, to a greater extent than would be expected merely from addition of their separate strengths with regard to the respective forces
As to claim 19, Stanwood does not disclose further comprising: guiding the continuous fibre reinforcement around conical fibre guiding extensions of the first and second pivots of the joining member, and subsequently removing said conical fibre guiding extensions.
However, McLain discloses guiding the fiber to various patterns. See Figures 1 and 2, below, showing guiding of the fiber onto the form by using multiple orientations:
McLain teaches at column 6, lines 61 that:
Layers comprised of fibers having helix angles of 25.degree. or greater have progressively lower "longitudinal components" in their conformation, and thus are generally less effective in resisting flexural forces, just as layers comprised of fibers having helix angles of less than 25.degree. are less effective in resisting torsional forces. The combination of the two types of layers in a single shaft, however, reinforce each other with regard to both types of forces, torsional and flexural, to a greater extent than would be expected merely from addition of their separate strengths with regard to the respective forces.
Additionally, changes in size and shape would have been obvious under MPEP 2144.04, such as by choosing a conical guiding element.
Similarly, Stratton suggests using conventional filament wrapping techniques. See paragraph 0044, disclosing “the illustrative process (600) depicted in FIGS. 6-7 may be used to produce a composite cross-flexural pivot as a single integral composite structure using conventional filament wrapping composite techniques” and paragraph 0045, disclosing “As shown in FIG. 7A, the first and second portions (725, 730) of the composite tubular body (710) and the first flexure member (720) may be formed by wrapping a filament (705) around the mandrel and introducing a matrix material (715) into the wrapped filament (705).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize further comprising: guiding the continuous fibre reinforcement around conical fibre guiding extensions of the first and second pivots of the joining member, and subsequently removing said conical fibre guiding extensions as taught by McLain because guided layers result in the combination of the two types of layers in a single shaft, however, reinforce each other with regard to both types of forces, torsional and flexural, to a greater extent than would be expected merely from addition of their separate strengths with regard to the respective forces
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK