DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-14, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Paladugu et al. (US 2021/0289391 A1) hereinafter Paladugu.
Regarding claim 1 – Paladugu discloses receiving, by a terminal device, a first message sent by a first network device, wherein the first message is a radio resource control (RRC) message or a non-access stratum (NAS) message, and wherein the first message is used to determine a change in quality of service QoS related information; refer to paragraph [0018] - receiving the QoS mapping configuration message may include operations, features, means, or instructions for receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message including the QoS mapping configuration message and modifying the first connection based on the RRC reconfiguration message, also, refer to paragraph [0022] - where the change in the QoS may be determined based on the reception link performance indication, also, refer to paragraph [0161] - The control plane entity may manage non-access stratum (NAS) functions such as mobility, authentication, and bearer management for the UEs 115 served by the base stations 105 associated with the core network 130, also, refer to Figure 3 and paragraph [0196] - QoS configuration 300 may implement aspects of or may be implemented by aspects of wireless communications system 100, wireless communications system 200, or both. For example, QoS configuration 300 may include a UE 115-c, a UE 115-d, and a base station 105-b, which may be examples of corresponding UEs 115 and base stations 105, respectively, as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2. Additionally, QoS configuration 300 may include a core network 305 and an access stratum 310, which may be examples of corresponding wireless devices as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2 (e.g., 5GC, network devices, etc.), also, refer to Figure 9 callout 932, and, refer to paragraph [0238] - At 932, the base station 105-d may transmit, to the UE 115-o, a configuration message based on determining the QoS configuration, where the configuration message includes the first configuration and the second configuration. For example, the base station 105-d may inform the UE 115-o regarding the sidelink DRB/access stratum configuration for the end-to-end QoS configuration. In some cases, the configuration message may be an RRC reconfiguration message. The Base Station (first network device) sends a first message, an RRC reconfiguration message.
determining, by the terminal device, a condition for changing the QoS related information according to first condition information, refer to paragraph [0021] - for determining a change in a QoS for the first interface of the first connection, transmitting, to the base station, assistance information indicating the determined change, and for receiving, from the base station, a modified QoS configuration for the first interface, for the second interface, or both, based on the transmitted assistance information, also, refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0263] - FIG. 12 illustrates an example of a process flow 1200 that supports QoS support for sidelink relay service in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, the process flow 1200 may implement aspects of or may be implemented by aspects of wireless communications system 100, wireless communications system 200, or both. For example, the process flow 1200 may include a base station 105-f (e.g., a network entity, such as an NG-RAN device), a UE 115-t, a UE 115-u, an AMF 1205, an SMF 1210, and a UPF 1215 which may be examples of corresponding devices as described with reference to FIGS. 1-11. Additionally, the UE 115-t (e.g., a second UE) may be referred to as a remote UE 115, and the UE 115-u (e.g., a first UE) may be referred to as a relay UE 115 for routing communications from the UE 115-t to the base station 105-f, where the base station 105-f may be referred to as a network entity. In some cases, the process flow 1100 may be used for a QoS modification based on a change in channel conditions of a PC5 link as part of a RAN-centric solution.
wherein the first message comprises at least one of: a changed QoS parameter of a data flow; a changed QoS parameter of a bearer, refer to paragraph [0129] - a network entity (e.g., a base station) may determine an end-to-end QoS configuration when establishing a relay connection between a remote UE and the 5GC. In some examples, the QoS configuration may be associated with a 5QI. The QoS configuration may define a QoS flow for a sidelink connection (e.g., via a PC5 interface) between the remote UE and a relay UE, as well as a QoS flow for an additional interface (e.g., a Uu interface) between the relay UE and the network entity. In some cases, a mapping may be determined between the sidelink QoS identifier and the 5QI to indicate on which radio bearers at the relay UE to relay traffic between the remote UE and the 5GC (e.g., through the network entity), a changed binding relationship of the data flow; and a changed binding relationship of the bearer.
Regarding claim 2 – Paladugu discloses claim 1. Paladugu discloses wherein the first condition information is comprised in the first message, refer to Figure 9 callout 932, and paragraph [0238] - At 932, the base station 105-d may transmit, to the UE 115-o, a configuration message based on determining the QoS configuration, where the configuration message includes the first configuration and the second configuration. For example, the base station 105-d may inform the UE 115-o regarding the sidelink DRB/access stratum configuration for the end-to-end QoS configuration. In some cases, the configuration message may be an RRC reconfiguration message.
Regarding claim 3 – Paladugu discloses claim 1. Paladugu discloses wherein the first message comprises at least one of: a QoS parameter of a data flow that need to be changed; a QoS parameter of a bearer that need to be changed, refer to paragraph [0129] - a network entity (e.g., a base station) may determine an end-to-end QoS configuration when establishing a relay connection between a remote UE and the 5GC. In some examples, the QoS configuration may be associated with a 5QI. The QoS configuration may define a QoS flow for a sidelink connection (e.g., via a PC5 interface) between the remote UE and a relay UE, as well as a QoS flow for an additional interface (e.g., a Uu interface) between the relay UE and the network entity. In some cases, a mapping may be determined between the sidelink QoS identifier and the 5QI to indicate on which radio bearers at the relay UE to relay traffic between the remote UE and the 5GC (e.g., through the network entity), a binding relationship of the data flow that needs to be changed; and a binding relationship of the bearer that needs to be changed.
Regarding claim 4 – Paladugu discloses claim 3. Paladugu discloses wherein the first condition information comprises at least one of: time information for changing the QoS parameter, refer to paragraph [0225] - In the following description of the process flow 900, the operations between the base station 105-d, the UE 115-n, the UE 115-o, the AMF 905, and the SMF 910 may be performed in a different order than the example order shown, or the operations performed by the base station 105-d, the UE 115-n, the UE 115-o, the AMF 905, and the SMF 910 may be performed in different orders or at different times. Some operations may also be omitted from the process flow 900, and other operations may be added to the process flow 900. The operations performed by the base station 105-d, the UE 115-n, the UE 115-o, the AMF 905, and the SMF 910 may support improvement to the QoS operations for the UEs 115 and, in some examples, may promote improvements to QoS support for the base station 105-d and the UEs 115, among other benefits, location information for changing the QoS parameter, refer to paragraph [0195] - Additionally, the techniques for establishing the end-to-end QoS configuration (e.g., an end-to-end QoS setup for L3 relays) is described in greater detail below in FIG. 9. The techniques described herein may enable improvements for QoS support over the relay connection, among other benefits, (Location information of the relay.), time information for changing a binding relationship between the data flow and a filter; location information for changing the binding relationship between the data flow and the filter; time information for changing a binding relationship between a radio bearer and the data flow; location information for changing the binding relationship between the radio bearer and the data flow; time information for changing a configuration parameter of the radio bearer; and location information for changing the configuration parameter of the radio bearer.
Regarding claim 7 – Paladugu discloses claim 1. Paladugu discloses wherein the first condition information comprises at least one of: an effective time of the changed QoS parameter, refer to paragraph [0225] - In the following description of the process flow 900, the operations between the base station 105-d, the UE 115-n, the UE 115-o, the AMF 905, and the SMF 910 may be performed in a different order than the example order shown, or the operations performed by the base station 105-d, the UE 115-n, the UE 115-o, the AMF 905, and the SMF 910 may be performed in different orders or at different times. Some operations may also be omitted from the process flow 900, and other operations may be added to the process flow 900. The operations performed by the base station 105-d, the UE 115-n, the UE 115-o, the AMF 905, and the SMF 910 may support improvement to the QoS operations for the UEs 115 and, in some examples, may promote improvements to QoS support for the base station 105-d and the UEs 115, among other benefits, an effective location of the changed QoS parameter, refer to paragraph [0195] - Additionally, the techniques for establishing the end-to-end QoS configuration (e.g., an end-to-end QoS setup for L3 relays) is described in greater detail below in FIG. 9. The techniques described herein may enable improvements for QoS support over the relay connection, among other benefits, (Location information of the relay.), an effective time of a changed binding relationship between the data flow and a filter; an effective location of the changed binding relationship between the data flow and the filter; an effective time of a changed binding relationship between a radio bearer and the data flow; an effective location of the changed binding relationship between the radio bearer and the data flow; an effective time of a changed radio bearer configuration parameter; an effective location of the changed radio bearer configuration parameter.
Regarding claim 8 – Paladugu discloses claim 1. Paladugu discloses adjusting an application layer parameter or an application layer behavior of the terminal device according to the first condition information, refer to paragraph [0170] - The wireless communications system 100 may be a packet-based network that operates according to a layered protocol stack. In the user plane, communications at the bearer or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer may be IP-based. A Radio Link Control (RLC) layer may perform packet segmentation and reassembly to communicate over logical channels. A Medium Access Control (MAC) layer may perform priority handling and multiplexing of logical channels into transport channels. The MAC layer may also use error detection techniques, error correction techniques, or both to support retransmissions at the MAC layer to improve link efficiency. In the control plane, the RRC protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or a core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data, also refer to paragraph [0201], also, refer to Figure 6 and paragraph [0210] - In some cases, the packet 605 (e.g., V2X packet) may be sent from an application layer 610 (e.g., V2X layer) to an access stratum layer with sidelink QoS flows (e.g., PC5 QoS flows) identified by different sidelink QoS flow identifiers (e.g., PFIs, such as PC5 QoS flow identifiers). For example, the access stratum layer may include QoS rules 615 that enable filtering/mapping of sidelink packets (e.g., packet 605) to appropriate QoS flows. In some cases, the QoS rules 615 may include classification and marking of sidelink user plane traffic (e.g., an association of sidelink traffic to QoS flows, such as PC5 traffic to QoS flows), and the sidelink QoS flow identifiers may be associated with a set of sidelink QoS parameters (e.g., PQIs that indicate preconfigured mapping/parameters, such as a GBR, bearer type, etc.). Additionally, a sidelink QoS flow identifier may be unique within a same destination. In some cases, the QoS rules 615 for the sidelink interface may be located inside the application layer 610, also, refer to paragraph [0215] - At 705, the UEs 115-j and 115-k may determine a destination Layer 2 identifier for signaling reception. At 710, an application layer of the UE 115-i may provide application information for sidelink unicast communications (e.g., a PC5 unicast communication). Subsequently, at 715, the UE 115-i may transmit a direct communication request to one or more UEs 115 (e.g., in a broadcast or unicast) based on the application information (e.g., target user information).
Regarding claim 9 – Paladugu discloses claim 1. Paladugu discloses sending, by the terminal device, first reference information to a second network device, wherein the first reference information is used by the second network device to determine a target application layer parameter or application layer behavior of the second network device refer to refer to paragraph [0170] - The wireless communications system 100 may be a packet-based network that operates according to a layered protocol stack. In the user plane, communications at the bearer or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer may be IP-based. A Radio Link Control (RLC) layer may perform packet segmentation and reassembly to communicate over logical channels. A Medium Access Control (MAC) layer may perform priority handling and multiplexing of logical channels into transport channels. The MAC layer may also use error detection techniques, error correction techniques, or both to support retransmissions at the MAC layer to improve link efficiency. In the control plane, the RRC protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or a core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data, also refer to paragraph [0201], also, refer to Figure 6 and paragraph [0210] - In some cases, the packet 605 (e.g., V2X packet) may be sent from an application layer 610 (e.g., V2X layer) to an access stratum layer with sidelink QoS flows (e.g., PC5 QoS flows) identified by different sidelink QoS flow identifiers (e.g., PFIs, such as PC5 QoS flow identifiers). For example, the access stratum layer may include QoS rules 615 that enable filtering/mapping of sidelink packets (e.g., packet 605) to appropriate QoS flows. In some cases, the QoS rules 615 may include classification and marking of sidelink user plane traffic (e.g., an association of sidelink traffic to QoS flows, such as PC5 traffic to QoS flows), and the sidelink QoS flow identifiers may be associated with a set of sidelink QoS parameters (e.g., PQIs that indicate preconfigured mapping/parameters, such as a GBR, bearer type, etc.). Additionally, a sidelink QoS flow identifier may be unique within a same destination. In some cases, the QoS rules 615 for the sidelink interface may be located inside the application layer 610, also, refer to paragraph [0215] - At 705, the UEs 115-j and 115-k may determine a destination Layer 2 identifier for signaling reception. At 710, an application layer of the UE 115-i may provide application information for sidelink unicast communications (e.g., a PC5 unicast communication). Subsequently, at 715, the UE 115-i may transmit a direct communication request to one or more UEs 115 (e.g., in a broadcast or unicast) based on the application information (e.g., target user information), also, refer to paragraph [0220] - At 805, the UEs 115 may obtain QoS flow information and corresponding sidelink access stratum configurations (e.g., QoS flow to DRB mapping). In some cases, the UEs 115 may obtain this QoS flow information from either a base station 105 or network entity (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), an RRC Reconfiguration message, etc.)
Regarding claim 10 – Paladugu discloses a processor and a memory, the memory configured to store a computer program, which when executed by the processor, executes a method for wireless communication, comprising:, refer to Figures 13 and 16 and paragraph [0279] - The UE communications manager 1315, or its sub-components, may be implemented in hardware, code (e.g., software or firmware) executed by a processor, or any combination thereof. If implemented in code executed by a processor, the functions of the UE communications manager 1315, or its sub-components may be executed by a general-purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) or other programmable logic device, discrete gate or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or any combination thereof designed to perform the functions described in the present disclosure.
For the rejection of the additional elements of claim 10 – please see claim 1.
Regarding claim 11. Please see the rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 12. Please see the rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 13. Please see the rejection for claim 4.
Regarding claim 14 - Paladugu discloses a processor and a memory, the memory configured to store a computer program, which when executed by the processor, executes a method for wireless communication, comprising:, refer to Figures 17 and 20, and paragraph [0316] - FIG. 17 shows a block diagram 1700 of a device 1705 that supports QoS support for sidelink relay service in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1705 may be an example of aspects of a first network entity (e.g., a base station 105) as described herein. The device 1705 may include a receiver 1710, a communications manager 1715, and a transmitter 1720. The device 1705 may also include a processor.
For the rejection of the additional elements of claim 14 – please see claim 10.
Regarding claim 16. Please see the rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 17. Please see the rejection for claim 4.
Regarding claim 20. Please see the rejection for claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 7-14, 16, 17, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicants have claimed uniquely distinct features in the application, which are not found in the prior art, either singularly or in combination. The independent claims identify the following uniquely distinct features:
I. The primary reason for the allowance of the claims are the inclusion of the limitation in the claims which are not found in the prior art references. The following claim elements “the time information comprises first time information and a first time offset” together with the other elements are the reasons for allowance.
1. Regarding claim 5 – The method according to claim 4, wherein the time information comprises first time information and a first time offset, and the first time offset is a time offset relative to the first time information.
2. Regarding claim 18 – The network device according to claim 17, wherein the time information comprises first time information and a first time offset, and the first time offset is a time offset relative to the first time information.
The closest prior art, either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render the above limitations obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng et al. (US 2019/0281491 A1) discloses QoS congestion control handling.
Walker et al. (US 9,072,005 B2) discloses QoS control in a multicast transmission.
Ma et al. (US 12,610,272 B2) discloses communication method and apparatus.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to John Pezzlo whose telephone number is (571) 272-3090. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A. Abaza, can be reached at telephone number (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
John Pezzlo
8 July 2026
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465B