DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s argument, filed on 02/24/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-4, 6-11 and 13 has been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
The Applicant states in scanned page 2 “Further, the Office Action fails to demonstrate the relevancy of Gutman's SNR mode, which is described as "SNR mode can include the operating mode" and "[t]he SNR mode indication can specify the SNR to be used for decoding downlink communication." See Gutman at paragraph [0067]. Gutman does not appear to teach "determining, based on noise data associated with a communication channel of a network device and one or more client devices, a noise model" as claimed (emphasis added).”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Turning to instant specification as filed in para [0082] Fig. 3, At step 304, an expected noise metric (e.g., or multiple noise metrics) may be determined. The expected noise metric may comprise one or more of an amount of noise and/or a level of noise.
The expected noise metric may comprise one or more of a predicted amount of noise, a level of noise, modulation error rate, a signal-to-noise ratio, a forward error correction metric, a corrected percentage, a failed percentage.
The expected noise metric may be associated with (e.g., specific to) a communication channel of a network. The communication channel may comprise a frequency channel defined by a range of frequencies (e.g., or other logical channel). An expected noise metric may be determined for each communication channel of a plurality of communication channels.
Examiner respectfully submits that Gutman discloses in para [0036] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, These different types of BSs may have different transmit power levels, different coverage areas, and different effects on interference in the wireless network 100. For example, macro BSs can have high transmit power levels (e.g., 5 to 40 watts), while pico BSs, femto BSs, and repeater BSs can have lower transmit power levels (e.g., 0.1 to 2 watts). ;
And in para [0045] At base station 110, transmit processor 220 can receive data to one or more UEs from data source 212, select one or more modulation and coding schemes (MCS) for each UE based at least in part on the channel quality indicator (CQI) received from each UE, process (e.g., encode and modulate) the data to the UE based at least in part on the MCS selected for each UE, and provide data symbols for all UEs and
in para [0049] On the uplink, at UE 120, the transmit processor 264 can receive and process data from the data source 262 and control information from the controller/processor 280 (e.g., reports including RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, and/or CQI).
Gutman also teaches in para’s [0014] receive from the base station in a first time slot an indication of an SNR mode of a plurality of SNR modes to be used by the UE for one or more downlink communications in one or more time slots occurring after the first time slot, wherein different SNR modes of the plurality of SNR modes support at least one of different modulation and coding schemes, different ranks, or combinations thereof and operate using the SNR mode in the one or more time slots at least in part based on the indication.
And in para [0015] determine the MCS and rank to be used for one or more downlink communications in one or more time slots;
determine, at least in part, based on at least one of the MCS, the rank, or a combination thereof, the SNR mode to be indicated to the UE for use in the one or more downlink communications in the one or more time slots; and transmit the indication of the SNR mode to the UE.
i.e., CQI representing effects of interferences on transmit power of BS. Modulation and coding scheme (MCS) determined from CQI, interference effect on channel, effect of noise on channel/noise data.
Therefore base station determines based on at least one of the MCS i.e., applying modulation profile, the rank, or a combination thereof, the SNR mode/SNR is associated with noise, (and SNR modes to be used by the UE for one or more downlink communications in one or more time slots), to be indicated to the UE for use in the one or more downlink communications in the one or more time slots/communication channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutman et al. (CN 114982161 A) hereinafter Gutman and further in view of Li et al. (CN 109525299 A) hereinafter Li; translated copies of foreign documents are attached
As to claim 1. Gutman teaches A method comprising:
determining, based on noise data associated with a communication channel of a network device and one or more client devices, a noise model([0079], BS 110 may determine a plurality of SNR model indicating to UE 120 for one or more downlink communication of the SNR of model or more time slots, SNR model may be determined based at least in part on at least one of an MCS, a rank, or a combination thereof.)
determining, based on the noise model,([0067] Fig. 1, Fig. 4, The BS 110 may determine an MCS and a rank to be used for one or more downlink communications in one or more slots (e.g., slot n 415, slot n+1 420, and/or the like) and determine the SNR mode based at least in part on at least one of the MCS, the rank, or a combination thereof.)
and
sending data indicative of the modulation profile. ([0045]select one or more modulation and coding schemes (MCS) for each UE based at least in part on channel quality indicators (CQIs) received from the UE, process (e.g., encode and modulate) the data for each UE based at least in part on the MCS(s) selected for the UE, and provide data symbols for all UEs.)
Gutman does not teach based on applying a modulation profile of a plurality of modulation profiles, an expected noise metric associated with the communication channel; selecting, based on the expected noise metric, the modulation profile for the network device
Li teaches based on applying a modulation profile of a plurality of modulation profiles, an expected noise metric associated with the communication channel;([0053][0054] subset of coding and modulation schemes is selected from 28 schemes given in the DVB-S2 standard based on the distribution range of the channel signal-to-noise ratio and the signal-to-noise ratio threshold value/model, of each coding and modulation scheme; the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) is predicted and matched with the SNR threshold/model of each selected coding scheme to select the optimal coding modulation scheme)
selecting, based on the expected noise metric, the modulation profile for the network device; ([0054] the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) is predicted and matched with the SNR threshold of each selected coding scheme to select the optimal coding modulation scheme. Based on the SNR prediction result, i.e. the first value obtained by the first calculation module, the transmission scheme that is more suitable for the channel state is selected for the next round of transmission, i.e., the optimal coding modulation scheme.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Li with the teaching of Gutman because Li teaches that signal-to-noise ratio prediction and coding-modulation scheme selection at the ground receiving terminal would reduce the burden on the gateway station. (Li [0043])
As to claim 2 the combination of Gutman and Li specifically Li teaches wherein the expected noise metric comprises one or more of an amount of noise or a level of noise. ([0070] during satellite communication, the signal-to-noise ratio threshold of the coding and modulation scheme must be higher than the actual value of the current channel signal-to-noise ratio for 99% of the link visibility time,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Li with the teaching of Gutman because Li teaches that signal-to-noise ratio prediction and coding-modulation scheme selection at the ground receiving terminal would reduce the burden on the gateway station. (Li [0043])
As to claim 4. the combination of Gutman and Li specifically Li teaches wherein the noise model comprises one or more of noise amplitude distribution data, noise duration distribution data, or noise interval distribution data.([0053] subset of coding and modulation schemes is selected based on the distribution range of the channel signal-to-noise ratio and the signal-to-noise ratio threshold value of each coding and modulation scheme.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Li with the teaching of Gutman because Li teaches that signal-to-noise ratio prediction and coding-modulation scheme selection at the ground receiving terminal would reduce the burden on the gateway station. (Li [0043]
As to claim 6 the combination of Gutman and Li specifically Li teaches wherein selecting the modulation profile comprises determining that the modulation profile satisfies one or more conditions associated with network performance. ([0092] predicts the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of the next round of communication based on the channel state information, and selects the optimal coding scheme for communication based on the predicted SNR. that can maximize the utilization of channel resources and improve system performance by adaptively optimizing the coding and modulation scheme.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Li with the teaching of Gutman because Li teaches that signal-to-noise ratio prediction and coding-modulation scheme selection at the ground receiving terminal would reduce the burden on the gateway station. (Li [0043]
As to claim 7. the combination of Gutman and Li specifically Gutman teaches wherein sending data indicative of the modulation profile comprises one or more of sending an identifier of the modulation profile, sending a command to use the modulation profile for a channel, sending a message to the network device, or sending a message to the one or more client devices. ([0084] Figure 6, he UE (e.g., using the receiving processor 258, controller/processor 280, memory 282. and so on) can be received from the base station in the first time slot to a plurality of signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) in model or more time slot after the first time slot occurs after the one or more downlink communication of the SNR model the indication of the downlink communication, as described above. In some aspects, different SNR model a plurality of SNR model support different modulation and coding scheme, at least one of different rank or a combination thereof.)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutman. Li and further in view of Azenko et al. (US 20050039103 A1)hereinafter Azenko
As to claim 3. the combination of Gutman and Li specifically does not teach wherein the noise data comprises measurements of upstream noise transmitted from the one or more client devices to the network device.
Azenko teaches wherein the noise data comprises measurements of upstream noise transmitted from the one or more client devices to the network device. ([0025] CMTS upstream receivers are responsible for making various measurements on the upstream logical channels they receive. Bit error rate, byte error rate, packet loss rate and channel SNR are measurements many CMTS upstream receivers make)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Azenko with the teaching of Gutman and Li because Azenko teaches that upstream noise measurement would allow to deciding whether to alter the upstream burst profile in each particular logical channel.(Azenko [0025])
Claim(s) 8, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (CN 109804676 A) hereinafter Zhou and Gutman; translated copies of foreign documents are attached
As to claim 8 Zhou teaches A method comprising:
determining, by a network device, a condition associated with access to a network([0123][0125] the first device can be an AP, and the second device can be a STA, the first device can be configured to determine a first packet error rate corresponding to a first modulation and coding scheme based on a first SINR.)
selecting, based on the condition and based on associated with the network, a modulation profile for accessing a communication channel of the network; ([0123][0124[0125] the first device/AP, can be configured to select the first modulation and coding scheme based on the first SINR/noise mode, by being configured to select the first modulation and coding scheme based on the first packet error rate being less than a threshold value)
and
causing a client device to use the modulation profile for accessing the communication channel of the network. ([0123][0130] the first device can be configured to select a first modulation and coding scheme based on transmit power-related information for scheduling uplink transmission with the second device according to the first modulation and coding scheme.)
Zhou does not specifically Teach a noise model
Gutman teaches a noise model ([0062][0079], switching to different SNR modes in the middle of a time slot can add nonlinear performance degradation/network condition , BS 110 may determine a plurality of SNR model indicating to UE 120 for one or more downlink communication of the SNR of model or more time slots; associated with network)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Gutman with the teaching of Zhou because Gutman teaches that signaling indicating SNR modes, can achieve these power savings without increasing transmission overhead and improve operational efficiency. (Gutman [0074])
As to claim 13. The combination of Zhou and Gutman specifically Gutman teaches , wherein causing the client device to use the modulation profile comprises one or more of sending an identifier of the modulation profile, sending a command to use the modulation profile for the communication channel, sending a command to the network device to use the modulation profile, or sending a command to the client device to use the modulation profile. ([0084] Figure 6, he UE (e.g., using the receiving processor 258, controller/processor 280, memory 282. and so on) can be received from the base station in the first time slot to a plurality of signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) in model or more time slot after the first time slot occurs after the one or more downlink communication of the SNR model the indication of the downlink communication, as described above. In some aspects, different SNR model a plurality of SNR model support different modulation and coding scheme, at least one of different rank or a combination thereof.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Gutman with the teaching of Zhou because Gutman teaches that signaling indicating SNR modes, can achieve these power savings without increasing transmission overhead and improve operational efficiency. (Gutman [0074])
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou Gutman and Azenko
As to claim 9. The combination of Zhou and Gutman does not teach wherein the network device comprises one or more of a termination system or a cable modem termination system.
Azenko teaches wherein the network device comprises one or more of a termination system or a cable modem termination system. ([0114] FIG. 8 cable system with DOCSIS 1.x and/or 2.0 compatible cable modems 102 and 104 sending upstream data on multiple logical channels to a DOCSIS 1.x and/or DOCSIS 2.0 compatible Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS) via Hybrid Fiber Coax (HFC) networks 108 and 110 and a combiner 112.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Azenko with the teaching of Gutman and Li because Azenko teaches that upstream noise measurement would allow to deciding whether to alter the upstream burst profile in each particular logical channel.(Azenko [0025])
As to claim 10. The combination of Zhou and Gutman specifically Zhou teaches detecting a request for the client device to access a network, or detecting network throughput falling below a threshold. ([0075] an AP is configured to notify a STA by broadcasting from the AP via beacon, probe, or association request/response, beacon, probe, or association request/response from STA, may include the STA’s maximum transmit power information; AP detects a response )
The combination of Zhou and Gutman does not teach wherein determining the condition comprises detecting an error rate rising above a threshold,
Azenko teaches wherein determining the condition comprises detecting an error rate rising above a threshold, ([0077] the BER or byte error rate is above the threshold)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Azenko with the teaching of Gutman and Li because Azenko teaches that upstream noise measurement would allow to deciding whether to alter the upstream burst profile in each particular logical channel.(Azenko [0025])
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou Gutman and Li
As to claim 11 The combination of Zhou and Gutman does not teach wherein the noise model comprises one or more of noise amplitude distribution data, noise duration distribution data, or noise interval distribution data.
Li teaches wherein the noise model comprises one or more of noise amplitude distribution data, noise duration distribution data, or noise interval distribution data. .([0053] subset of coding and modulation schemes is selected based on the distribution range of the channel signal-to-noise ratio and the signal-to-noise ratio threshold value of each coding and modulation scheme.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Li with the teaching of Zhou and Gutman because Li teaches that signal-to-noise ratio prediction and coding-modulation scheme selection at the ground receiving terminal would reduce the burden on the gateway station. (Li [0043]
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mokrushin; Leonid et al. [US 20210306873 A1] Improving Immune System of Site using Generative Adversarial Networks and Reinforcement Learning
HAREUVENI; Ofer et al. [US 20210204302 A1] NETWORK COMPONENT, SYSTEM AND METHOD
Meng; Yan et al. [US 20120069807 A1] TRANSMITTER WITH MULTIPLE ANTENNAS AND DATA TRANSMISSION METHOD IN THE TRANSMITTER WITH MULTIPLE ANTENNAS
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413