DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BELL et al. (US 2016/0052414 A1, hereinafter BELL).
Regarding claim 1, BELL discloses a system for charging a vehicle having a receiving coil (See Fig.1, discloses a vehicle 12, comprising a charge receiving coil 34) and an electric power source electrically coupled to the receiving coil (See Fig.1, discloses a traction battery 24 connected to the receive coil 34 via a power conversion module 32), the system comprising:
a charging coil (See Fig.,1, Item#40, discloses a transmit coil);
at least one tire positioning sensor (See Fig.2, and Par.23, disclose a vehicle locating system 100 comprising a plurality of pressure sensors 160 connected to a controller to determine the placement of the wheels of the vehicle based on the pressure sensors [Fig.3 and Pars.25-26]); and
a controller operably coupled to the at least one tire positioning sensor, the charging coil (See Fig.1, and Pars. 38-40, discloses an Electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) controller which controls the position of the transmitter coil with respect to the detected position of the tires based on the ascertained position of the charge receiving coil), the controller being operable to:
determine a location of the receiving coil (See Par.40, discloses the EVSE controller 54 includes a table which includes the make and model and the distance between the tires and the charge receiving coil of each vehicle); and
adjust a position of the charging coil in response to the location of the receiving coil to maximize a charge rate of the electric power source (See Pars.52-56, discloses the charging coil transport mechanism 102, moves the charging coil according to the ascertained receiver coil position derived from the location of the tires and the vehicle identifying information [Par.40]. Par.21 discloses the aligning the charging coil with the receiving coil is to optimize the transfer or charge).
Regarding claim 2, BELL discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the controller is operable to receive vehicle-specific information from the vehicle (See Par.54, disclose “The controller 54 of the wireless vehicle charging system 52 may receive data from the vehicle. The data may be indicative of the position of the vehicle receive coil 34 relative to the center of the tire. Data indicative of the location of the receive coil 34 relative to the tires 22 may be received”, also Par.55, discloses the controller 52 may also receive data indicative of a compatible coil).
Regarding claim 3, BELL discloses the system of claim 2 as discussed above, wherein the vehicle-specific information includes a year, make, and model of the vehicle (See Par.56, discloses “Data indicative of the vehicle type, such as make, model and year, may be received. The controller 54 may maintain a table of vehicle data that maps each particular vehicle to a compatible transmit coil (one of 140, 142, 144). The table may also include information regarding the location of the receive coil 34 of the vehicle 12”).
Regarding claim 5, BELL discloses the system of claim 2 as discussed above, wherein the controller is operable to identify at least one physical dimension of the vehicle in response to the vehicle-specific information (See Par.54, discloses “The controller 54 of the wireless vehicle charging system 52 may receive data from the vehicle. The data may be indicative of the position of the vehicle receive coil 34 relative to the center of the tire.”).
Regarding claim 6, BELL discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the at least one tire positioning sensor is operable to sense a location of a footprint of a tire of the vehicle (See Fig.2, and Par.23 and Fig.3 +Pars.25-26., disclose a vehicle locating system 100 comprising a plurality of pressure sensors 160 connected to a controller to determine the footprint of the wheels of the vehicle based on the pressure sensors. The voltage measurement provided is proportional to the amount of pressure applied by the tire, such that area directly underneath tire has a voltage greater than the areas located to the side of the tire).
Regarding claim 7, BELL discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the at least one tire positioning sensor includes an array of mechanical action switches (See Fig.3, Items#160 and Par.32, disclose the pressure sensors comprise an array of pressure sensitive switches).
Regarding claim 9, BELL discloses the system of the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the controller is operable to receive a signal indicating a position of the vehicle from the at least one tire positioning sensor, said controller being operable to determine the location of the receiving coil in response to the signal indicating the position of the vehicle (See Fig.1, and Pars. 38-40 and 52-56, discloses an Electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) controller receives the tire pressure information from the vehicle locating mechanism 100 and the vehicle information comprising make/model and year, uses a stored table which includes distance between the centerline of the tires and the receiving coil and use the information to determine the location of the receiving coil).
Regarding claim 10, BELL discloses wherein the location of the receiving coil determined by the controller includes a distance of the receiving coil above a ground level (See Pars.44 and 49, disclose the charging coil height is adjusted relative to the vehicle, This implicitly indicates that the height of the charge receiving coil is determined by the controller in order to be able to control the height of the charging coil).
Regarding claim 11, BELL discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising a positioning system operably coupled to the charging coil and to the controller (See Fig.2, Item#102, discloses a transport coil transport mechanism, Pars.47-49, disclose a carousel and rails which allow the coil to rotate and slide, Par.44 also discloses that the transport mechanism may adjust the height of the coil relative to the vehicle).
Regarding claim 12, BELL discloses the system of claim 11 as discussed above, wherein the controller is operable to communicate at least one of the location of the receiving coil and a movement command to the positioning system (See Par.57, discloses the controller issues commands to the carousel or platform to move the coils to the desired location).
Regarding claim 13, BELL discloses a system for charging a vehicle having a receiving coil (See Fig.1, discloses a vehicle 12, comprising a charge receiving coil 34) and an electric power source electrically coupled to the receiving coil, the system comprising:
a charging coil (See Fig.,1, Item#40, discloses a transmit coil);
a positioning system operably coupled to the charging coil (See Fig.2, Item#102, discloses a transport coil transport mechanism, Pars.47-49, disclose a carousel and rails which allow the coil to rotate and slide, Par.44 also discloses that the transport mechanism may adjust the height of the coil relative to the vehicle);
at least one tire positioning sensor (See Fig.2, and Par.23, disclose a vehicle locating system 100 comprising a plurality of pressure sensors 160 connected to a controller to determine the placement of the wheels of the vehicle based on the pressure sensors [Fig.3 and Pars.25-26]); and
a controller operably coupled to the at least one tire positioning sensor, the charging coil, and the positioning system (See Fig.1, Item#52 and Pars. 38-40, discloses an Electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) controller which controls the position of the transmitter coil with respect to the detected position of the tires based on the ascertained position of the charge receiving coil), the controller being operable to:
receive a signal indicating a position of a tire of the vehicle relative to the at least one tire positioning sensor (Par.52, discloses “With the tires 22 on the tire pads 104, the pressure sensors 160 may provide signals to the ECU 162. The signals may be analyzed to determine the position of the tires 22 on the tire pads 104. Based on the sensor data, coordinates of the center of the tire 22 may be determined. A distance between the center of the tire 22 and the reference point may be calculated to obtain an absolute tire location within the vehicle charging system 52”);
receive vehicle-specific information (See Par.54, disclose “The controller 54 of the wireless vehicle charging system 52 may receive data from the vehicle. The data may be indicative of the position of the vehicle receive coil 34 relative to the center of the tire. Data indicative of the location of the receive coil 34 relative to the tires 22 may be received”, also Par.55, discloses the controller 52 may also receive data indicative of a compatible coil);
identify an exact location of the receiving coil based on the position of the tire of the vehicle relative to the at least one tire positioning sensor and the vehicle-specific information; and communicate the exact location of the receiving coil to the positioning system (See Pars.40 and 52-56, disclose the EVSE controller 54 includes a table which includes the make and model and the distance between the tires and the charge receiving coil of each vehicle, the controller uses the detected tire position via the signals from the pressure sensors and the vehicle information associated with a specific vehicle make/mode and year to determine the position of the receiving coil and adjust the position of the charging coil accordingly).
Regarding claim 14, BELL discloses the system of claim 13 as discussed above, wherein being operable to receive the signal indicating the position of the tire further comprises being operable to receive the signal indicating the position of a first tire and a second tire of the vehicle relative to the at least one tire positioning sensor (See Fig.3, Items#160 and Par.52, discloses “With the tires 22 on the tire pads 104, the pressure sensors 160 may provide signals to the ECU 162. The signals may be analyzed to determine the position of the tires 22 on the tire pads 104. Based on the sensor data, coordinates of the center of the tire 22 may be determined. A distance between the center of the tire 22 and the reference point may be calculated to obtain an absolute tire location within the vehicle charging system 52”).
Regarding claim 16, BELL discloses the system of claim 13 as discussed above, wherein the controller is operable to identify at least one physical dimension of the vehicle using the vehicle-specific information (See Par.54, discloses “The controller 54 of the wireless vehicle charging system 52 may receive data from the vehicle. The data may be indicative of the position of the vehicle receive coil 34 relative to the center of the tire.”).
Regarding claim 17, BELL discloses the system of claim 16 as discussed above, wherein the controller is operable to identify the position of the receiving coil relative to the tire using the at least one physical dimension of the vehicle (See Pars.40 and 52-56, disclose the EVSE controller 54 includes a table which includes the make and model and the distance between the tires and the charge receiving coil of each vehicle, the controller uses the detected tire position via the signals from the pressure sensors and the vehicle information associated with a specific vehicle make/mode and year to determine the position of the receiving coil).
Regarding claim 18, BELL discloses the system of claim 13 as discussed above, wherein the vehicle-specific information includes a year, make, and model of the vehicle (See Par.56, discloses “Data indicative of the vehicle type, such as make, model and year, may be received. The controller 54 may maintain a table of vehicle data that maps each particular vehicle to a compatible transmit coil (one of 140, 142, 144). The table may also include information regarding the location of the receive coil 34 of the vehicle 12”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELL in view of CHRISTEN et al. (US 2019/0217715, hereinafter CHRISTEN).
Regarding claims 4 and 19 (Claim 4 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), BELL discloses the system of claims 2 as discussed above, wherein the vehicle communicates the make, model and year information of the vehicle, However BELL does not disclose wherein the vehicle-specific information includes a vehicle identification number.
CHRISTEN discloses a vehicle charging system wherein the vehicle identifies itself to the charging system by sending vehicle-specific information including vehicle identification number (See Par.26, discloses the charging system communicates wirelessly with the vehicle to receive vehicle information comprising vehicle identification information).
BELL and CHRISTEN are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BELL with that of CHRISTEN by providing the VIN to the charger for the benefit of providing an accurate abbreviated way to communicate the vehicle’s identity to the charger.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELL in view of DEDE et al. (US 2016/0325630 A1, hereinafter DEDE).
Regarding claim 15, BELL discloses the system of claim 13, however, BELL does not disclose wherein the controller further comprises an RFID reader operable to receive the vehicle-specific information from the vehicle.
DEDE discloses a vehicle charging system comprising a self-aligning system, wherein the controller further comprises an RFID reader operable to receive the vehicle-specific information from the vehicle (See Par.35, discloses the vehicle data transmitter 32 comprising RFID transmitter and the charger comprising RFID receiver for receiving the vehicle charge receiver size or dimension information).
BELL and DEDE are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BELL with that of DEDE by using RFID for wireless communication between the vehicle and the vehicle charger for the benefit of providing a secure communication.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BELL in view of WAKABAYASHI (US 2014/0300315, hereinafter WAKABAYASHI).
Regarding claim 8, BELL discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, However, BELL does not disclose wherein the at least one tire positioning sensor includes a pressure sensor mat.
WAKABAYSHI disclose a charging mat comprising a plurality of pressure sensors for the benefit of detecting a plurality of different size objects placed on the mat (See Fig.1 and 3-4, Items#8, disclose a plurality of pressure sensors for detecting different size object A and B place don the surface).
BELL and WAKABAYASHI are analogous art since they both deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BELL with the teaching of WAKABAYASHI by using a mat comprising a plurality of pressure sensors for the benefit of detecting vehicles (power receiving devices) having different sizes such that the system is used to charge different vehicle models (vehicles with different spacing between its wheels, such as sedans and semi-trucks).
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859