DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 06/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0317999) in view of Park et al (WO 2013/162334).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 10, Wang et al. teaches light emitting apparatus (See Abstract) comprising a backlight unit and a color conversion array comprising at least red, green and blue pixels, i.e. color filter, wherein the color conversion array comprise nanoparticles (paragraph [0005]) in a polymeric binder (paragraphs [0078]-[0079]), the backlight unit may be an active matrix light emitting diode (paragraph [0082]), and color conversion array may comprise a blue pixel area, green color conversion layer may comprise first nanoparticles, and red color conversion layer may comprise second nanoparticles (paragraph [0089]) which correspond to two or more color conversion regions.
Wang et al. fails to teach the nanoparticles as claimed.
However, Park et al. teaches light-emitting nanoparticles having a zinc-silver-indium-sulfide ((ZnxAgyInz)S2) (0≤x≤1, 0≤y≤1, 0.1≤z≤1, x+y+z=1) composition (See Abstract) in order to improved light emission characteristics (page 4) which meets the mole ratios as presently claimed. For example, when x = 0.6, y = 0.1, and z = 0.3 (page 3), a mole ratio of zinc to a total sum of silver, indium, gallium, and zinc is 0.6:1 which falls within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include nanoparticles having a zinc-silver-indium-sulfide ((ZnxAgyInz)S2) (0≤x≤1, 0≤y≤1, 0.1≤z≤1, x+y+z=1) composition as the nanoparticles in the color conversion array of Wang et al. in order to improved light emission characteristics (page 4).
Regarding claim 3, given that Wang et al. in view of Park et al. teaches color conversion panel comprising materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, the first light of the semiconductor nanoparticles would necessarily have a maximum emission wavelength as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 6, Wang et al. in view of Park et al. teaches wherein the zinc-silver-indium-sulfide composition has formula (ZnxAgyInz)S2) wherein 0≤x≤1, 0≤y≤1, 0.1≤z≤1, x+y+z=1, which meets the mole ratios as presently claimed. For example, when x = 0.6, y = 0.1, and z = 0.3 (Park et al., page 3), a mole ratio of zinc to a total sum of silver, indium, gallium, and zinc is 0.6:1 which falls within the claimed range. A mole ratio of zinc to sulfur is 0.3:1, a mole ratio of total sum of indium to sulfur is 0.15:1, and a mole ratio of silver to sulfur is 0.05:1. A mole ratio of silver to total sum of silver, indium, zinc, and gallium is 0.1:1 and a mole ratio of sulfur to total sum of silver, indium, zinc, and gallium is 2:1. A mole ratio of zinc to total sum of silver, indium, zinc, and gallium is 0.6:1.
Regarding claim 7, given that Wang et al. in view of Park et al. teaches color conversion panel comprising materials and structure identical to those presently claimed, color conversion panel would necessarily meet the properties as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787