Claims 1-20 are presented for Examination.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et.al. (U.S Patent Application Publication 2023/0221785; hereinafter “Lee”; Reference cited as prior art in previous office action) in view of Kim et.al. (U.S Patent Application Publication 2023/0122508; hereinafter “Kim”)
1
Regarding claims 1, 12, Lee discloses, a mobile device, comprising:
a rollable display screen configurable in one of multiple display states corresponding to respective device form factors[ “ According to various embodiments, the flexible display 210 may visually provide information to the outside of the electronic device 200 (e.g., a user). According to various embodiments, the flexible display 210 may include at least one of a foldable display, a slidable display, and a rollable display. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 200 may further include a sub-display. According to an embodiment, the flexible display 210 may have various form factors. For example, the form factors may refer to various forms of the flexible display 210. For example, a folded or unfolded form of a foldable display, an expanded or non-expanded form of a slidable display, or an expanded or contracted from of a rollable display may each be a form factor of a flexible display.”, 0059; Referring to FIG. 3D, the electronic device 340 may include a slidable display or a rollable display. For example, the slidable display (or rollable display) of the electronic device 340 may have a form factor in which the foldable display is expanded as indicated by reference numeral 341 and a form factor in which the foldable display is contracted as indicated by reference numeral 343”, 0079;( i.e multiple display states corresponding to expanded, contracted , folded.. etc corresponding to the respective form factors an expanded or contracted from of a rollable display or an expanded or non-expanded form of a slidable display , a folded or unfolded form of a foldable display) ];
a slidable display mount operable to one of extend or retract the rollable display screen into one of the multiple display states corresponding to a device form factor [0079; Fig.3D; ( i.e . expanding or contracting display . Hence it is apparent that a slidable display mount is operable to perform the expand or contract operation corresponding to a device form factor) ]; and
a configuration manager implemented at least partially in computer hardware [ ; “the processor 250 may identify a current form factor of the flexible display 210 when the remaining battery level of the battery 220 is equal to or less than a specified value. For example, the processor 250 may determine whether the flexible display 210 is currently in an unfolded state, a folded state, an expanded state, or a contracted state…” 0063-0065 ; 0071; (i.e., processor corresponds to the configuration manager)] and configured to maintain the rollable display screen in a display state of the multiple display states. corresponding to a the respective device form factor of the mobile device corresponding to a display state of the multiple display states [ “ .. the processor to identify a current form factor of the flexible display when a remaining battery level of the battery is less than or equal to a specified value, determine at least one form factor of the flexible display enabling reduction in power consumption of the battery, and provide information related to the at least one form factor of the flexible display.”, 0152; 0159; 0163; Fig.2; “ the electronic device may display a window 610 or 620 indicating information related to a form factor when the remaining battery level of a battery is less than or equal to a specified value (e.g., the remaining battery level is 15%). For example, the window 610 or 620 may display a guide 611 or 621 indicating that it is possible to change a form factor (e.g., use a portion of a display) or switch to a power saving mode to reduce battery consumption and increase a usable time, along with information on a remaining battery level or the usable time. ..”, 0092; Fig.6A, 6B; “.. For example, it is assumed that the electronic device includes a flexible display capable of being folded into three areas. When a user tries to unfold the flexible display 710 while using a portion of the flexible display in a state in which the flexible display is folded, the electronic device may provide information on a current mode of the electronic device (e.g., a power saving mode) and output a window 720 notifying that there is a need to release the power saving mode”, 0095; Fig.7; ( i.e when the device is in power saving mode or low battery power, displaying a portion of the flexible display corresponding to a foldable form factor is maintained until the user releases the power saving mode as illustrated in Fig.7. Hence maintaining the display state corresponding to the respective form factor upon detection of low battery power )].
However, Lee does not expressly disclose limiting powered operation of the slidable display mount based at least in part on detection of low battery power of the mobile device. Specifically, Lee discloses a slidable display mount and limiting or deactivating operations of components based on low battery power[ 0072; 0079; Fig.3D].
In the same field of endeavor (e.g. an electronic device including a flexible display and controlling the sliding movement of the display by adjusting the speed of the motor according to the battery state), Kim teaches ,
limiting powered operation of the slidable display mount based at least in part on detection of low battery power of the mobile device.[ “..The electronic device may include a driving structure (e.g., a motor) capable of providing a thrust (force) for slide-in or slide-out (e.g., sliding movement) of the flexible display, for the sliding movement-based extension structure”, 0005; The motor of the electronic device may operate by receiving power from a battery, and along with the operation of the motor, the flexible display may extend or retract while sliding in or out (e.g., making a sliding movement)”, 0006; “ The processor 620 according to an embodiment may identify a battery current, .. and/or an electronic device temperature sensed through at least one sensor, based on the occurrence of the slide operation start event of the display 660..”, 0105; “ The processor 620 according to an embodiment may control the speed of the motor 665 or restrict an operation of the motor 665 based on at least one or more or all of the battery current, the battery voltage,… .the processor 620 may control the speed of the motor 665 to one of a plurality of different speeds or may lock the motor 665 not to be driven..”, 0106; “The processor 620 according to an embodiment may identify (or determine or set or control) the speed of the motor 665 based on a speed control table stored in the memory 630 or identify discontinuation of the driving of the motor 665, and control the magnitude of power supplied to the motor 665 .., 0107; ( i.e limiting the powered operation of the slidable display mount by controlling the speed of the motor according to the remaining battery capacity)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with Kim. Kim’s teaching of controlling the sliding movement of the display by adjusting the speed of the motor according to the state of the battery will substantially improve Lee’s system to prevent an overcurrent protection (OCP) and a sudden momentary power loss (SMPL) that occurs due to the large power consumption of the slide -in and slide-out operation of the display[0008].
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses, wherein the respective device form factors include a compact form factor, an expanded form factor, and a partial form factor[ 0059; 0079] .
Regarding claims 3, 13, Lee discloses the respective device form factor of the mobile device maintained by the configuration manager comprises a current device form factor of the mobile device [ 0152; 0159; 0163;0079;0092; 0095]; .
Regarding claims 4, 14, Lee discloses based on the detection of the low battery power, the configuration manager is configured to:
initiate to configure the rollable display screen in a predefined low power display state[0083; 0087;0122; 0130; 0167] and
limit the operation after the rollable display screen is configured in the predefined low power display state[0072;0079; 0172; 0122-0123; ( i.e., configure the rollable display screen in a predefined low power display state by providing options to initially select a form factor and then implementing the configuration to enter a power saving mode )].
Kim teaches limit the powered operation of the slidable display mount [0105-0107].
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses, wherein the predefined low power display state is a user preferred display state of the rollable display screen[0122-0123; 0130-0131].
Regarding claims 6, 15, Lee discloses, wherein the configuration manager is configured to: determine that a current display state of the rollable display screen utilizes less battery power than moving the slidable display mount[0079; Fig.3D; i.e slidable display mount); 0063, 0065; 0071-0072] to reconfigure the rollable display screen in a different display state[“..when the form factor of the flexible display is changed, the electronic device may output information indicating that an available use time of the battery may be reduced when the form factor is changed”, 0095] Wherein the display state maintained by the configuration manager comprises the current display state maintain the rollable display screen in a current display state[0152; 0159; 0163; Fig.6A, 6B, Fig.7;(i.e determining whether changing the form factor / display state from the current display state/ form factor will provide less or more power based on the remaining battery level)].
Regarding claims 7, 16, Lee discloses, wherein the configuration manager is configured to: determine that a current display state of the rollable display screen utilizes more battery power than reconfiguring the rollable display screen in a different display state; and initiate to reconfigure the rollable display screen corresponding to a compact form factor of the mobile device[0083-0084; Fig.4A, Fig.4B].
Regarding claims 8, 17, Lee discloses, wherein the configuration manager is configured to: receive a configuration input of the display state of the rollable display screen; initiate to configure the rollable display screen according to the configuration input[0122; 0130]
Regarding claims 9, 18, Lee discloses, wherein the configuration input is a user-selected display state of the rollable display screen corresponding to one of a compact form factor, an expanded form factor, or a partial form factor[ 0115; 0122].
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses, wherein the configuration manager is configured to: initiate to configure the rollable display screen in a user-selected display state[0040;0071] and limit the powered operation of the slidable display mount after the rollable display screen is configured in the user-selected display state[0072;0079; 0172; 0122-0123;0151 ( i.e. configure the rollable display screen in a predefined low power display state by providing options to initially select a form factor and implementing the configuration to enter a power saving mode )].
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses , a user interface displayable on the rollable display screen to display indications of battery power remaining in one or more battery modes corresponding to the respective device form factors, the one or more battery modes including a conserve mode, a balanced mode, and a performance mode[0092-0093; Fig.6B. Fig.8; (i.e . providing recommendations of form factors that would increase the usage time. Respective use time associated to the form factors, based on the remaining battery power corresponds to the different battery conservation modes)].
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses , a mobile device, comprising:
a rollable display screen configurable in one of multiple display states corresponding to respective device form factors [ “ According to various embodiments, the flexible display 210 may visually provide information to the outside of the electronic device 200 (e.g., a user). According to various embodiments, the flexible display 210 may include at least one of a foldable display, a slidable display, and a rollable display. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 200 may further include a sub-display. According to an embodiment, the flexible display 210 may have various form factors. For example, the form factors may refer to various forms of the flexible display 210. For example, a folded or unfolded form of a foldable display, an expanded or non-expanded form of a slidable display, or an expanded or contracted from of a rollable display may each be a form factor of a flexible display.”, 0059; Referring to FIG. 3D, the electronic device 340 may include a slidable display or a rollable display. For example, the slidable display (or rollable display) of the electronic device 340 may have a form factor in which the foldable display is expanded as indicated by reference numeral 341 and a form factor in which the foldable display is contracted as indicated by reference numeral 343”, 0079];
a slidable display mount operable to one of extend or retract the rollable display screen into one of the multiple display states corresponding to a device form factor[0079; Fig.3D; ( i.e . expanding or contracting display . Hence it is apparent that a slidable display mount is operable to perform the expand or contract operation) ]; and
a user interface displayable on the rollable display screen to display indications of battery power remaining in one or more battery modes corresponding to the respective device form factors, the one or more battery modes including a conserve mode, a balanced mode, and a performance mode [“…the window 410 may display a guide 411 indicating that it is possible to change a form factor or switch to a power saving mode to reduce battery consumption and increase a usable time, ..”, 0082-0084; 0092-0093; Fig.6B. Fig.19b, Fig.20; (i.e . providing recommendations of form factors that would increase the usage time. Respective use time associated to the form factors, based on the remaining battery power corresponds to the different battery conservation modes)];
a configuration manager [ ; “the processor 250 may identify a current form factor of the flexible display 210 when the remaining battery level of the battery 220 is equal to or less than a specified value. For example, the processor 250 may determine whether the flexible display 210 is currently in an unfolded state, a folded state, an expanded state, or a contracted state…” 0063-0065 ; 0071; (i.e., processor corresponds to the configuration manager)] configured to maintain the respective device form factor of the mobile device corresponding to a display state of the multiple display states based at least in part on user input indicating the conserve mode[ [ 0152; 0159; 0163; Fig.2; “ the electronic device may display a window 610 or 620 indicating information related to a form factor when the remaining battery level of a battery is less than or equal to a specified value (e.g., the remaining battery level is 15%). For example, the window 610 or 620 may display a guide 611 or 621 indicating that it is possible to change a form factor (e.g., use a portion of a display) or switch to a power saving mode to reduce battery consumption and increase a usable time, along with information on a remaining battery level or the usable time. ..”, 0092; Fig.6A, 6B; “.. For example, it is assumed that the electronic device includes a flexible display capable of being folded into three areas. When a user tries to unfold the flexible display 710 while using a portion of the flexible display in a state in which the flexible display is folded, the electronic device may provide information on a current mode of the electronic device (e.g., a power saving mode) and output a window 720 notifying that there is a need to release the power saving mode”, 0095; Fig.7; ( i.e when the device is in power saving mode or low battery power, displaying a portion of the flexible display corresponding to a foldable form factor is maintained until the user releases the power saving mode as illustrated in Fig.7. Hence maintaining the display state corresponding to the respective form factor to conserve battery power. )].
However, Lee does not expressly disclose limiting powered operation of the slidable display mount. Specifically, Lee discloses a slidable display mount and limiting or deactivating operations of components based on low battery power[ 0072; 0079; Fig.3D].
In the same field of endeavor (e.g. an electronic device including a flexible display and controlling the sliding movement of the display by adjusting the speed of the motor according to the battery state), Kim teaches ,
limiting powered operation of the slidable display mount.[ “..The electronic device may include a driving structure (e.g., a motor) capable of providing a thrust (force) for slide-in or slide-out (e.g., sliding movement) of the flexible display, for the sliding movement-based extension structure”, 0005; The motor of the electronic device may operate by receiving power from a battery, and along with the operation of the motor, the flexible display may extend or retract while sliding in or out (e.g., making a sliding movement)”, 0006; “ The processor 620 according to an embodiment may identify a battery current, .. and/or an electronic device temperature sensed through at least one sensor, based on the occurrence of the slide operation start event of the display 660..”, 0105; “ The processor 620 according to an embodiment may control the speed of the motor 665 or restrict an operation of the motor 665 based on at least one or more or all of the battery current, the battery voltage,… .the processor 620 may control the speed of the motor 665 to one of a plurality of different speeds or may lock the motor 665 not to be driven..”, 0106; “The processor 620 according to an embodiment may identify (or determine or set or control) the speed of the motor 665 based on a speed control table stored in the memory 630 or identify discontinuation of the driving of the motor 665, and control the magnitude of power supplied to the motor 665 .., 0107; ( i.e limiting the powered operation of the slidable display mount by controlling the speed of the motor according to the remaining battery capacity)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with Kim. Kim’s teaching of controlling the sliding movement of the display by adjusting the speed of the motor according to the state of the battery will substantially improve Lee’s system to prevent an overcurrent protection (OCP) and a sudden momentary power loss (SMPL) that occurs due to the large power consumption of the slide -in and slide-out operation of the display[0008].
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses , wherein the respective device form factors include a compact form factor corresponding to the conserve mode, and an expanded form factor corresponding to the performance mode[ “For example, FIGS. 19A and 19B show a case in which a camera application is being executed in an electronic device including a slidable display (or a rollable display) capable of divided into areas “A”, area “B”, area “C”, and area “D” through expansion and contraction…”, 0142-0145].
Response to Arguments
a) Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, 19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to Lee in view of Kim references as being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al., U.S Patent Application Publication 2022/0418122, teaches retractable screen products, and more particularly, to a driving mechanism and an electronic device.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GAYATHRI SAMPATH whose telephone number is (571)272-5489. The examiner can normally be reached on Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/GAYATHRI SAMPATH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2176
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176