DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/15/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 11/05/2025. Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11, 14, 16 and 17 have been amended. Claims 3, 9 and 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11 and 13-23 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10-11 and 13-23 have been considered but are not persuasive/moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument(s):
… Neither Gummadi nor Kim, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests every element of amended claim 14. For example, neither reference teaches or suggests that a UE receives aggregated cell strength measurement data that includes a result of measurement by a reference device of a reference signal transmitted by a base station … However, there is no teaching or suggestion that the RedCap UE receives, from any entity, aggregated cell strength measurement data that includes a result of measurement of a reference signal transmitted by a base station by a reference device.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the amendment(s) made on the independent claims, including Claim 14, the examiner no longer relies on Tseng and instead introduces Hasanzadezonuzy et al. (US 2024/0027569 A1). In Hasanzadezonuzy, referencing ¶0097-¶0098, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches that a node may selectively share measurement information based on a measurement sharing indication from a network node, which may be included in the configuration from the network node to the other nodes in regards to how to share measurement information. This indication may trigger the nodes to send measurement information to other co-located nodes, where the selective shared measurement information may be based on a capability of the node, a transmission capability of the node or the like. Examiner interprets one or more of the co-located nodes includes devices with different types of capabilities, including a low capability device. Because measurement information may be shared based on the capability of the device, a node (or UE) is capable of receiving the aggregated cell strength measurement data since co-located nodes share measurement information with one another, including by broadcast or groupcast (¶0096). Hasanzadezonuzy also teaches the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals associated with a cell, such as an SSB measurement, a CSI-RS measurement, a DMRS measurement, or the like (¶0104), which shows cell strength measurements derived from reference signals. ¶0103 provides further context regarding how the node may be a cluster head of the plurality of co-located nodes, capable of collecting measurement information from other nodes as a combined measurement report. Therefore, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches a UE receiving aggregated cell strength measurement data that includes a result of measurement of a reference signal transmitted by a base station by a reference device.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., RedCap UE) are not recited in rejected claim 14. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). This response applies to all independent and dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hasanzadezonuzy et al. (US 2024/0027569 A1), Hasanzadezonuzy hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches a wireless communication device acting as a management node in a subnetwork that includes a reference device and a low capability device, comprising: (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0118 (Fig. 7) - As shown, example 700 includes a plurality of co-located nodes 705 and a network node 710 (e.g., network node 110, network node 520, network node 615). The set of co-located nodes 710 includes one or more nodes. A node 705 can include, for example, UE 120, a TRP, or an antenna panel, among other examples. Fig. 6 & ¶0098 - In some aspects, a node 605/610 may selectively share measurement information based at least in part on a capability of the node. For example, a node 605/610 may selectively transmit measurement based at least in part on a measurement capability of the node 605/610, a transmission capability of the node 605/610, or the like. ¶0101 - … the nodes 605/610 may communicate with one another to identify a configuration for sharing measurement, such as a configuration based at least in part on a measurement metric, a capability, a battery level, a device type, or the like);
a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the wireless communication device to: (Fig. 11 & ¶0008, ¶0169);
receive cell strength measurement data from the reference device or a management node of a neighboring subnetwork, (Fig. 9 & ¶0105 - In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected cells. For example, the measurement information may include a measurement metric associated with a detected beam, TRP, and/or cell (such as an RSRP, an RSSI, an RSRQ, a signal to noise ratio (SNR), an SINR, or the like). Fig. 7 & ¶0124 - As shown by reference number 735, the plurality of nodes 705 may transmit measurement information, based at least in part on the measurements, to the network node 710. ¶0153 - As further shown in FIG. 9, in some aspects, process 900 may include receiving measurement information, based at least in part on the measurements, from the set of nodes (block 930). Please also see ¶0104. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features is to be mapped because of the presence of “or”));
wherein the cell strength measurement data is not received from the low capability device, (¶0096 - In some aspects, a node 605/610 may selectively transmit measurement information based at least in part on a configuration received from the network node 615. For example, the configuration may indicate how nodes 605/610 should share measurement information (e.g., resources on which to transmit measurement information, a periodicity or condition associated with sharing measurement information, an interface associated with transmitting measurement information, nodes 605/610 with which to share measurement information, or the like). As another example, the configuration may indicate which measurement information should be shared (e.g., particular types of measurement information, measurement information pertaining to particular nodes, or the like). Fig. 7 & ¶0126 - For example, the network node 710 may schedule a communication of a first node 705 from which measurement information is not received. The network node 710 may schedule the first node 705's communication based at least in part on measurement information received from a second node 705 of the plurality of co-located nodes 705);
wherein the cell strength measurement data is based on measurement by the reference device of a reference signal transmitted by a base station; (¶0104 - For example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals transmitted by a TRP. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information regarding a cell measurement. For example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals associated with a cell, such as an SSB measurement, a CSI-RS measurement, a DMRS measurement, or the like. Fig. 9 & ¶0152 - As further shown in FIG. 9, in some aspects, process 900 may include configuring measurements for a set of nodes, of the plurality of co-located nodes, the set of nodes including at least two nodes (block 920). For example, the network node (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or configuration component 1110, depicted in FIG. 11) may configure measurements a set of nodes of the plurality of co-located nodes, as described above);
and broadcast, to the low capability device, aggregated cell strength measurement data comprising the received cell strength measurement data (¶0086 - As another example, the network node 520 may use this information to combine multiple measurements (e.g., by jointly evaluate measurements from multiple nodes 505/510) to improve communication and configuration with the nodes 505 and 510. ¶0095 - For example, the network node 615 may configure a node 605/610 to perform measurements (such as sidelink measurements) and report measurement information based at least in part on these measurements to the network node 615 or to other nodes 605/610. ¶0097 - In some aspects, a node 605/610 may selectively share measurement information based at least in part on a measurement sharing indication from a network node 615. For example, the measurement sharing information may include, or may be included in, the configuration described above. As another example, the measurement sharing indication may include a signal that triggers the node 605/610 to transmit the measurement information to other co-located nodes. ¶0098 - In some aspects, a node 605/610 may selectively share measurement information based at least in part on a capability of the node. For example, a node 605/610 may selectively transmit measurement based at least in part on a measurement capability of the node 605/610, a transmission capability of the node 605/610, or the like. Please also see ¶0103).
Re. Claim 2, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches Claim 1.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the cell strength measurement data comprises signal to interference and noise (SINR) data, reference signal received power (RSRP) data, or reference signal received quality (RSRQ) data for one or more downlink beams of a serving base station of the reference device, one or more downlink beams of a neighboring base station of the reference device, one or more downlink beams of the management node, or one or more downlink beams of the management node of the neighboring subnetwork (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0057 - The network node 110 may include a scheduler 246 to schedule one or more UEs 120 for downlink and/or uplink communications. ¶0105 - In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected beams. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected TRPs. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected cells. For example, the measurement information may include a measurement metric associated with a detected beam, TRP, and/or cell (such as an RSRP, an RSSI, an RSRQ, a signal to noise ratio (SNR), an SINR, or the like).
Re. Claim 6, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches Claim 1.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the processor is configured to cause the wireless communication device to receive the cell strength measurement data via a sidelink channel or Wi-Fi channel associated with the reference device (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0095 (Fig. 6) - For example, the network node 615 may configure a node 605/610 to perform measurements (such as sidelink measurements) and report measurement information based at least in part on these measurements to the network node 615 or to other nodes 605/610. ¶0104 - As another example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed as part of a sidelink beam management procedure. Please also see ¶0107).
Re. Claim 7, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches Claim 1.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the processor is configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the aggregated cell strength measurement data via a broadcast message that also indicates a mobility state of the reference device associated with the cell strength measurement data (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0086 - As another example, the network node 520 may use this information to combine multiple measurements (e.g., by jointly evaluate measurements from multiple nodes 505/510) to improve communication and configuration with the nodes 505 and 510. ¶0095 - For example, the network node 615 may configure a node 605/610 to perform measurements (such as sidelink measurements) and report measurement information based at least in part on these measurements to the network node 615 or to other nodes 605/610. ¶0105 - In some aspects, the measurement information may include location information, such as geographical information, spatial information, or the like … For example, the relative location may be relative to a node 605/610 reporting measurement information, a node 605/610 receiving the location information, an average of locations of the node 605/610 reporting the measurement information and the node 605/610 receiving the location information, a common reference (such as spatial information relative to a common direction of mobility of the node 605/610 reporting the measurement information and the node 605/610 receiving the location information), or the like).
Re. Claim 8, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches Claim 1.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the processor is configured to cause the wireless communication device to control a periodicity of the broadcasting of the aggregated cell strength measurement data within the subnetwork based on a respective mobility state of the reference device (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0096 - For example, the configuration may indicate how nodes 605/610 should share measurement information (e.g., resources on which to transmit measurement information, a periodicity or condition associated with sharing measurement information, an interface associated with transmitting measurement information, nodes 605/610 with which to share measurement information, or the like. ¶0105 - In some aspects, the measurement information may include location information, such as geographical information, spatial information, or the like … For example, the relative location may be relative to a node 605/610 reporting measurement information, a node 605/610 receiving the location information, an average of locations of the node 605/610 reporting the measurement information and the node 605/610 receiving the location information, a common reference (such as spatial information relative to a common direction of mobility of the node 605/610 reporting the measurement information and the node 605/610 receiving the location information), or the like. Please also see ¶0109).
Re. Claim 10, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches a method for a user equipment (UE), comprising: measuring reference signals transmitted by one or more base stations to generate cell strength measurement data; (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0152 (Fig. 9) - As further shown in FIG. 9, in some aspects, process 900 may include configuring measurements for a set of nodes, of the plurality of co-located nodes, the set of nodes including at least two nodes (block 920). For example, the network node (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or configuration component 1110, depicted in FIG. 11) may configure measurements a set of nodes of the plurality of co-located nodes, as described above. ¶0104 - In some aspects, the measurement information may include information regarding a cell measurement. For example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals associated with a cell, such as an SSB measurement, a CSI-RS measurement, a DMRS measurement, or the like. Please also see ¶0103);
and transmitting, by way of a sidelink or Wi-Fi channel, the cell strength measurement data to a management node (MN) of a subnetwork to which the UE belongs (Fig. 6 & ¶0095 - For example, the network node 615 may configure a node 605/610 to perform measurements (such as sidelink measurements) and report measurement information based at least in part on these measurements to the network node 615 or to other nodes 605/610. ¶0104 - As another example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed as part of a sidelink beam management procedure. Please also see ¶0107. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features is to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Re. Claim 11, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches Claim 10.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the cell strength measurement data comprises signal to interference and noise (SINR) data, reference signal received power (RSRP) data, or reference signal received quality (RSRQ) data for one or more downlink beams of a serving base station, one or more downlink beams of a neighboring base station, one or more downlink beams of the management node, or one or more downlink beams of a MN of a neighboring subnetwork (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0057 - The network node 110 may include a scheduler 246 to schedule one or more UEs 120 for downlink and/or uplink communications. ¶0105 - In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected beams. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected TRPs. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected cells. For example, the measurement information may include a measurement metric associated with a detected beam, TRP, and/or cell (such as an RSRP, an RSSI, an RSRQ, a signal to noise ratio (SNR), an SINR, or the like).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasanzadezonuzy, and further in view of Dizdarevic et al. (US 2018/0367958 A1), Dizdarevic hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to cause the wireless communication device to broadcast a system information block (SIB) that indicates the aggregated cell strength measurement data.
However, in the analogous art, Dizdarevic explicitly teaches the processor is configured to cause the wireless communication device to broadcast a system information block (SIB) that indicates the aggregated cell strength measurement data (Fig. 1, 4 & ¶0027 - Various SIBs are utilized in LTE networks and some of them, such as SIB1, carry important network information to help mobile devices perform cell search and selection, in addition to obtaining other important network information to help mobile devices with handovers, cell reselection, etc. As an example, the SIBs are transmitted by the access points 112 over a U-u radio interface in the broadcast control channel (BCCH) logical channel. ¶0037 - An event determination component 304 can be utilized to analyze the data received by the data aggregation component 302 to verify a validity of the event and dynamically determine where (e.g., size and/or location of a geographical area surrounding the defined area) the event notification is to be broadcast and/or a class of devices, for which the event notification is intended).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Dizdarevic to the teaching of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communications, e.g., to a network broadcast of data to Internet of things (IoT) devices using a dedicated SystemInformationBlock (SIB) in long term evolution (LTE) and/or fifth generation (5G) next radio (NR) networks (e.g., as well as to other next generation radio networks) (¶0001, Dizdarevic).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasanzadezonuzy, and further in view of Leppänen et al. (US 2011/0223937 A1), Leppänen hereinafter.
Re. Claim 5, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches Claim 1.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the processor is configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the aggregated cell strength measurement data via a broadcast message (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0086 - As another example, the network node 520 may use this information to combine multiple measurements (e.g., by jointly evaluate measurements from multiple nodes 505/510) to improve communication and configuration with the nodes 505 and 510. ¶0095 - For example, the network node 615 may configure a node 605/610 to perform measurements (such as sidelink measurements) and report measurement information based at least in part on these measurements to the network node 615 or to other nodes 605/610. ¶0097 - In some aspects, a node 605/610 may selectively share measurement information based at least in part on a measurement sharing indication from a network node 615. For example, the measurement sharing information may include, or may be included in, the configuration described above. As another example, the measurement sharing indication may include a signal that triggers the node 605/610 to transmit the measurement information to other co-located nodes);
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach that includes an anonymized identification of the reference device associated with the cell strength measurement data.
However, in the analogous art, Leppänen explicitly teaches that includes an anonymized identification of the reference device associated with the cell strength measurement data (Fig. 2A & ¶0043 - The exchange of awareness information occurs as a broadcast message (i.e., a flooding message) from a wireless node 101 to neighboring wireless nodes 101 that are within range of the radio of the broadcasting wireless node 101. ¶0088 - For example, the determination may involve checking whether the CID contained in, for instance, the message header of the received message matches a CID contained in the community directory 243 of the receiving wireless node 101. In certain embodiments, the CID is anonymized to protect the privacy of the community and its members. Please also see ¶0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Leppänen to the teachings of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because It is recognized that privacy and anonymity may be of concern (¶0060, Leppänen).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasanzadezonuzy, and further in view of Hofmann et al. (WO 2023/117054 A1), Hofmann hereinafter.
Re. Claim 13, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches Claim 10.
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach transmitting a mobility status of the UE to the MN.
However, in the analogous art, Hofmann explicitly teaches transmitting a mobility status of the UE to the MN (¶0005 - The method further includes transmitting, by the user equipment to the location management node, the mobility status information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Hofmann to the teaching of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because it describes techniques of determining positioning of a UE in a network (Abstract, Hofmann).
Claims 14-18, 20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasanzadezonuzy, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2025/0300750 A1), Kim hereinafter.
Re. Claim 14, Hasanzadezonuzy teaches an apparatus of a user equipment (UE), comprising one or more baseband processors configured to cause the UE to: receive aggregated cell strength measurement data, (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0007 - The one or more processors may be configured to receive, from the set of co-located nodes, measurement information regarding at least one of a beam measurement, a TRP measurement, or a cell measurement. ¶0124 - In some aspects, the at least one node 705 may receive measurement information from other nodes 705, and the at least one node 705 may use the received measurement information to generate a measurement report, as described above with regard to FIG. 6. ¶0095 - For example, the network node 615 may configure a node 605/610 to perform measurements (such as sidelink measurements) and report measurement information based at least in part on these measurements to the network node 615 or to other nodes 605/610. Please also see ¶0097-¶0098 and ¶0103).
wherein the aggregated cell strength measurement data comprises a result of measurement, by a reference device, of a reference signal transmitted by a base station; (¶0104 - For example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals transmitted by a TRP. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information regarding a cell measurement. For example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals associated with a cell, such as an SSB measurement, a CSI-RS measurement, a DMRS measurement, or the like. Fig. 9 & ¶0152 - As further shown in FIG. 9, in some aspects, process 900 may include configuring measurements for a set of nodes, of the plurality of co-located nodes, the set of nodes including at least two nodes (block 920). For example, the network node (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or configuration component 1110, depicted in FIG. 11) may configure measurements a set of nodes of the plurality of co-located nodes, as described above);
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach determine inferred cell strength measurement data for the UE based on the aggregated cell strength measurement data; and in subsequent processing use the inferred cell strength measurement data in place of or in addition to cell strength measurement data determined based on measurements made by the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches determine inferred cell strength measurement data for the UE based on the aggregated cell strength measurement data; (Fig. 15, 21-22 & ¶0595 - The UE may infer from the outputs and use the outputs as feedback for the machine learning model. ¶0606- The network may include machine learning input parameters for the machine learning model, such as UE location information, radio measurements related to serving cell and neighbouring cells, UE mobility history. ¶0615 - At each time, the UE may derive measurement results based on the measurement configuration and configured ML model);
and in subsequent processing use the inferred cell strength measurement data in place of or in addition to cell strength measurement data determined based on measurements made by the UE (¶0240 - Model Inference. Required measurements are leveraged into Model Inference to output the prediction … ¶0617 - The UE may derive predictive measurement results of cell(s) associated with the concerned measurement objects for a future time. ¶0641 - One or more predictive measurement results in the unit of e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a method and apparatus for measurement prediction in a wireless communication system (¶0002, Kim).
Re. Claim 15, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim teach Claim 14.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a broadcast message that includes the cell strength measurement data (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0096 - As shown by reference number 630, the node 605 and the set of nodes 610 may share measurement information with one another. In some aspects, all of the nodes 605/610 may share measurement information with one another (such as by transmitting measurement information using a broadcast or groupcast configuration or over one or more unicast links)).
Re. Claim 16, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim teach Claim 14.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the cell strength measurement data comprises signal to interference and noise (SINR) data, reference signal received power (RSRP) data, or reference signal received quality (RSRQ) data for one or more downlink beams of a serving base station of the reference device, one or more downlink beams of a neighboring base station of the reference device, one or more downlink beams of a management node of a subnetwork to which the UE belongs, or one or more downlink beams of a MN of a neighboring subnetwork (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0057 - The network node 110 may include a scheduler 246 to schedule one or more UEs 120 for downlink and/or uplink communications. ¶0105 - In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected beams. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected TRPs. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information associated with a set of detected cells. For example, the measurement information may include a measurement metric associated with a detected beam, TRP, and/or cell (such as an RSRP, an RSSI, an RSRQ, a signal to noise ratio (SNR), an SINR, or the like).
Re. Claim 17, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim teach Claim 14.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the one or more baseband processors are configured to at a plurality of training time instances, measuring reference signals from one or more base stations to generate respective cell strength measurement data; (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0080 - To enable the UE 120 to perform receive beam sweeping, the base station may use a transmit beam to transmit (e.g., with repetitions) CSI-RS at multiple times within the same RS resource set so that UE 120 can sweep through one or more receive beams in multiple transmission instances. ¶0104 - For example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals transmitted by a TRP. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information regarding a cell measurement. For example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals associated with a cell, such as an SSB measurement, a CSI-RS measurement, a DMRS measurement, or the like. ¶0105 - In some aspects, the measurement information may include time information, such as a time interval in which a beam, TRP, or cell was detected. Fig. 9 & ¶0152 - As further shown in FIG. 9, in some aspects, process 900 may include configuring measurements for a set of nodes, of the plurality of co-located nodes, the set of nodes including at least two nodes (block 920). For example, the network node (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or configuration component 1110, depicted in FIG. 11) may configure measurements a set of nodes of the plurality of co-located nodes, as described above. Please also see ¶0111);
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach receiving a training set of cell strength measurement data, wherein the training set comprises respective cell strength measurement data generated by respective reference devices or management nodes at the plurality of training time instances; and training a measurement inference model based on the training set of cell strength measurement data and the generated cell strength measurement data.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches receiving a training set of cell strength measurement data, wherein the training set comprises respective cell strength measurement data generated by respective reference devices or management nodes at the plurality of training time instances; (¶0605 - When network configures the ML model to be trained, it may also configure training parameters such as optimization objective(s) and optimization-related configuration parameters. ¶0606 - The network may include machine learning input parameters for the machine learning model, such as UE location information, radio measurements related to serving cell and neighbouring cells, UE mobility history);
and training the measurement inference model based on the training set of cell strength measurement data and the generated cell strength measurement data (¶0608 - The UE may perform a machine learning model training, validation, and testing which may generate model performance metrics based on the prediction model configuration. ¶0609 - The UE may perform a model training with the machine learning input parameters. ¶0610 - UE may use the configured ML model to perform ML task such as predictions of measurements. ¶0612 - The UE may infer from the outputs and use the outputs as feedback for the machine learning model. ¶0240 - Model Inference. Required measurements are leveraged into Model Inference to output the prediction … ¶0617 - The UE may derive predictive measurement results of cell(s) associated with the concerned measurement objects for a future time. ¶0641 - One or more predictive measurement results in the unit of e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a method and apparatus for measurement prediction in a wireless communication system (¶0002, Kim).
Re. Claim 18, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim teach Claim 14.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to receive configuration for performing respective cell strength measurements at a respective plurality of time instances; (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0096 - In some aspects, a node 605/610 may selectively transmit measurement information based at least in part on a configuration received from the network node 615. For example, the configuration may indicate how nodes 605/610 should share measurement information (e.g., … a periodicity or condition associated with sharing measurement information, … or the like). ¶0152 - As further shown in FIG. 9, in some aspects, process 900 may include configuring measurements for a set of nodes, of the plurality of co-located nodes, the set of nodes including at least two nodes (block 920). For example, the network node (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or configuration component 1110, depicted in FIG. 11) may configure measurements a set of nodes of the plurality of co-located nodes, as described above. Please also see ¶0109);
receive aggregated cell strength measurement data associated with a given time instance of the plurality of time instances; (¶01111 - In some aspects, a node 605/610 may transmit a solicitation of measurement information. For example, the solicitation may request all available measurement information of co-located nodes, particular measurement information, a type of measurement information, measurement information in a particular time range, or the like. In some aspects, a co-located node 605/610 may transmit measurement information based at least in part on the solicitation, such as all measurement information available to the network node or measurement information requested by the solicitation);
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach provide the aggregated cell strength measurement data to a measurement inference model to generate the inferred cell strength measurement data for the given time instance; and determine a cell strength measurement result for the given time instance based on the inferred cell strength measurement data.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches provide the aggregated cell strength measurement data to a measurement inference model to generate the inferred cell strength measurement data for the given time instance; (Fig. 15, 21-22 & ¶0240 - Model Inference. Required measurements are leveraged into Model Inference to output the prediction … ¶0571 - The wireless device may derive one or more measurement results for the measurement object within the first prediction window. ¶0574 - At the second time point, the wireless device may start the measurement prediction within the second prediction window. The wireless device may derive one or more measurement results for the measurement object within the second prediction window. ¶0595 - The UE may infer from the outputs and use the outputs as feedback for the machine learning model. ¶0606- The network may include machine learning input parameters for the machine learning model, such as UE location information, radio measurements related to serving cell and neighbouring cells, UE mobility history. ¶0615 - At each time, the UE may derive measurement results based on the measurement configuration and configured ML model. ¶0617 - The UE may derive predictive measurement results of cell(s) associated with the concerned measurement objects for a future time);
and determine a cell strength measurement result for the given time instance based on the inferred cell strength measurement data (Fig. 15, 21-22 & ¶0595 - The UE may infer from the outputs and use the outputs as feedback for the machine learning model. ¶0615 - At each time, the UE may derive measurement results based on the measurement configuration and configured ML model. ¶0641 - One or more predictive measurement results in the unit of e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a method and apparatus for measurement prediction in a wireless communication system (¶0002, Kim).
Re. Claim 20, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim teach Claim 18.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to receive configuration for transmitting, to a base station, respective cell strength measurement results corresponding to the respective time instances of the plurality of time instances; (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0096 - In some aspects, a node 605/610 may selectively transmit measurement information based at least in part on a configuration received from the network node 615. For example, the configuration may indicate how nodes 605/610 should share measurement information (e.g., … a periodicity or condition associated with sharing measurement information, … or the like). ¶0152 - As further shown in FIG. 9, in some aspects, process 900 may include configuring measurements for a set of nodes, of the plurality of co-located nodes, the set of nodes including at least two nodes (block 920). For example, the network node (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or configuration component 1110, depicted in FIG. 11) may configure measurements a set of nodes of the plurality of co-located nodes, as described above. Please also see ¶0109);
at the given time instance, measure reference signals from one or more base stations to generate cell strength measurement data for the time instance; ¶0080 - To enable the UE 120 to perform receive beam sweeping, the base station may use a transmit beam to transmit (e.g., with repetitions) CSI-RS at multiple times within the same RS resource set so that UE 120 can sweep through one or more receive beams in multiple transmission instances. ¶0104 - For example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals transmitted by a TRP. In some aspects, the measurement information may include information regarding a cell measurement. For example, the measurement information may be based at least in part on a measurement performed on one or more reference signals associated with a cell, such as an SSB measurement, a CSI-RS measurement, a DMRS measurement, or the like. ¶0105 - In some aspects, the measurement information may include time information, such as a time interval in which a beam, TRP, or cell was detected. Fig. 9 & ¶0152 - As further shown in FIG. 9, in some aspects, process 900 may include configuring measurements for a set of nodes, of the plurality of co-located nodes, the set of nodes including at least two nodes (block 920). For example, the network node (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or configuration component 1110, depicted in FIG. 11) may configure measurements a set of nodes of the plurality of co-located nodes, as described above. Please also see ¶0111);
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach and refine the cell strength measurement data based on the inferred cell strength measurement data to generate the cell strength measurement result; and transmit the cell strength measurement result to the base station.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches and refine the cell strength measurement data based on the inferred cell strength measurement data to generate the cell strength measurement result; (Fig. 15, 21-22 & ¶0193 - The Model Inference function is also responsible for data preparation (e.g., data pre-processing and cleaning, formatting, and transformation) based on Inference Data delivered by a Data Collection function …);
and transmit the cell strength measurement result to the base station (¶0008 - When the network instructs the UE to report the predictive measurement report, the UE may send a predictive measurement report of the cell for a future time. ¶0232 - The UE sends measurement report message to NG-RAN node 1 including the required measurement. Please also see ¶0682).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a method and apparatus for measurement prediction in a wireless communication system (¶0002, Kim).
Re. Claim 22, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim teach Claim 14.
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit the inferred cell strength measurement data to a base station based on a pre-configured reporting of cell strength measurement data.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit the inferred cell strength measurement data to a base station based on a pre-configured reporting of cell strength measurement data (Fig. 15, 21-22 & ¶0552 - For example, the measurement configuration may include a reporting condition. ¶0553 - For example, the reporting condition may include information on at least one reporting event. ¶0587 - The network may configure measurement configuration, which is including the measurement object(s) and the measurement reporting condition, for measurement target (cell/beam/reference signal). ¶0008 - When the network instructs the UE to report the predictive measurement report, the UE may send a predictive measurement report of the cell for a future time. ¶0232 - The UE sends measurement report message to NG-RAN node 1 including the required measurement. Please also see ¶0682).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a method and apparatus for measurement prediction in a wireless communication system (¶0002, Kim).
Re. Claim 23, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim teach Claim 14.
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to perform link management related operations based on the inferred cell strength measurement data.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to perform link management related operations based on the inferred cell strength measurement data (¶0147 - Study the 3GPP framework for AI/ML for air-interface corresponding to each target use case regarding aspects such as performance, complexity, and potential specification impact. ¶0148 - Use cases to focus on: ¶0151 - b) Beam management, e.g., beam prediction in time, and/or spatial domain for overhead and latency reduction, beam selection accuracy improvement [RAN1]. ¶0221 - the source RAN node of a mobility event, or the RAN node acting as Master Node (a eNB for EN-DC, a gNB for NR-DC) can use feedbacks received from the other RAN node, as input to an AI/ML function supporting traffic related decisions (e.g., selection of target cell in case of mobility, selection of a PSCell/Scell(s) in the other case), so that future decisions can be optimized. ¶0788 - For example, by providing the predicted measurement results to the network, it is possible to reduce handover failures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a method and apparatus for measurement prediction in a wireless communication system (¶0002, Kim).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim, and further in view of Kakishima et al. (US 2022/0022053 A1), Kakishima hereinafter.
Re. Claim 19, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim teach Claim 18.
Hasanzadezonuzy further teaches the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to receive configuration for transmitting, to a base station, respective cell strength measurement results corresponding to the respective time instances of the plurality of time instances; (Fig. 4-9 & ¶0096 - In some aspects, a node 605/610 may selectively transmit measurement information based at least in part on a configuration received from the network node 615. For example, the configuration may indicate how nodes 605/610 should share measurement information (e.g., … a periodicity or condition associated with sharing measurement information, … or the like). ¶0152 - As further shown in FIG. 9, in some aspects, process 900 may include configuring measurements for a set of nodes, of the plurality of co-located nodes, the set of nodes including at least two nodes (block 920). For example, the network node (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or configuration component 1110, depicted in FIG. 11) may configure measurements a set of nodes of the plurality of co-located nodes, as described above. Please also see ¶0109);
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy does not explicitly teach and transmit the inferred cell strength measurement data as the cell strength measurement result for the given time instance without measuring a reference signal from the base station at the given time instance.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches and transmit the inferred cell strength measurement data as the cell strength measurement result for the given time instance (¶0008 - When the network instructs the UE to report the predictive measurement report, the UE may send a predictive measurement report of the cell for a future time. ¶0232 - The UE sends measurement report message to NG-RAN node 1 including the required measurement. Please also see ¶0682).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Hasanzadezonuzy. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a method and apparatus for measurement prediction in a wireless communication system (¶0002, Kim).
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim do not explicitly teach without measuring a reference signal from the base station at the given time instance.
However, in the analogous art, Kakishima explicitly teaches without measuring a reference signal from the base station at the given time instance (¶0041 - … based on a downlink reference signal received (or detected) by the UE without measuring an uplink reference signal (e.g., SRS) in the base station (Rx)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kakishima to the teachings of Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a user terminal of a next-generation mobile communication system (¶0001, Kakishima).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim, and further in view of Svendsen et al. (US 2022/0159491 A1), Svendsen hereinafter.
Re. Claim 21, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim teach Claim 20.
Yet, Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim do not explicitly teach the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to refine the cell strength measurement data by computing a weighted average of the cell strength measurement data and the inferred cell strength measurement data to generate the cell strength measurement result or by selecting either the inferred cell strength measurement data or the cell strength measurement data for the cell strength measurement result based on an impulse response function.
However, in the analogous art, Svendsen explicitly teaches the one or more baseband processors are configured to cause the UE to refine the cell strength measurement data by computing a weighted average of the cell strength measurement data and the inferred cell strength measurement data to generate the cell strength measurement result or
by selecting either the inferred cell strength measurement data or the cell strength measurement data for the cell strength measurement result based on an impulse response function (¶0083 - For example, UE 110 may apply various algorithms…, based on the measurements on reference signals... Averages of various metrics, or any filtered values, could also be used, such as… finite impulse response filter, infinite impulse response filter or any order (e.g. first, second, . . . , n-th order) should also be considered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Svendsen to the teachings of Hasanzadezonuzy and Kim. The motivation would be because factors such as environment changes or physical orientation of antennas will have an increased performance impact which needs to be taken into account for achieving desired performance. (¶0002, Svendsen).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahn et al. (US 2022/0394537 A1) – Please see Abstract.
Shi et al. (US 2019/0098489 A1) – Please see Abstract.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465