DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 10/14/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. There is no copy of the reference that matches the entry provided under the heading “Other Documents – Non-Patent Literature Documents”. The reference to which the entry provided under the heading “Other Documents – Non-Patent Literature Documents” refers has not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 30-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/29/2026.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites “wherein the actuator is fixedly coupled to the actuator” in line 1, but it is not clear what this recitation means. How can the actuator being fixedly coupled to itself?
Claim 37 recites “wherein the deployed position, the second end portion of the trigger portion is configured to flex away from the blade holder portion” in lines 1-3, which is so grammatically awkward that its meaning is not clear.
Double Patenting
Claims 28-29 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,633,136 (the reference patent).
Claim 10 of the reference patent includes all the features of claim 28 of the reference patent.
Claim 11 of the reference patent includes all the features of claim 29 of the reference patent
Claims 21, 23, and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,633,136 (the reference patent), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0080929 (Yi).
Claim 1 of the reference patent includes all the features of claim 21 of the reference patent except the base being configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and the release member being fixedly coupled to the base. Yi teaches a device for withdrawing bodily fluid from a subject, the device comprising: a housing including a base (the housing 2 of Yi including a bottom surface or base; paragraphs 0036 and 0053 of Yi) configured to be positioned against skin of the subject (paragraphs 0066 and 0069 of Yi) and a members that extend out from the bottom surface of base being fixedly coupled to the bottom surface or base (see the rear member 36 and the cam element 40 of Yi). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base being configured to be positioned against skin of the subject, as suggested by Yi, since it ensures the withdrawal of the bodily fluid from the skin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the have the release member being fixedly coupled to the base, as suggested by Yi, since it permits a firm construction.
Claim 1 of the reference patent (as modified) includes all the features of claim 26 of the present application.
Claim 9 of the reference patent includes all the features of claim 21 of the reference patent except the base being configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and the release member being fixedly coupled to the base. Yi teaches a device for withdrawing bodily fluid from a subject, the device comprising: a housing including a base (the housing 2 of Yi including a bottom surface or base; paragraphs 0036 and 0053 of Yi) configured to be positioned against skin of the subject (paragraphs 0066 and 0069 of Yi) and a members that extend out from the bottom surface of base being fixedly coupled to the bottom surface or base (see the rear member 36 and the cam element 40 of Yi). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base being configured to be positioned against skin of the subject, as suggested by Yi, since it ensures the withdrawal of the bodily fluid from the skin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the have the release member being fixedly coupled to the base, as suggested by Yi, since it permits a firm construction.
Claim 9 of the reference patent (as modified) includes all the features of claim 26 of the present application.
With respect to claim 23 of the present application, Yi teaches a device for withdrawing bodily fluid from a subject, the device comprising: a housing including a lumen (see the lumen of the housing 2 of Yi; paragraphs 0036 and 0053 of Yi). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the housing having a lumen with the components of the skin-piercing assembly positioned within the lumen since placement of the skin-piercing assembly inside the housing is required and Yi teaches such a structure that permits such a placement. Thus, claim 1 or 9 of the reference patent (as modified) includes all the features of claim 23.
Claim 25 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,633,136 (the reference patent), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0080929 (Yi) and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,314,441 (Cusack).
Claim 1 or 9 of the reference patent (as modified) includes a biasing member. Cusack teaches that a torsion spring 122 is a suitable spring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a torsion spring as the biasing member since a type of biasing member is required and Cusack teaches one such biasing member. Thus, claim 1 or 9 of the reference patent (as modified) includes all the features of claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0081967 (Charlton).
With respect to claim 28, Charlton teaches a device for withdrawing bodily fluid from a subject, the device comprising:
a housing (the storage case 30 of Charlton) including a base (the front portion 36 of Charlton) having an opening extending therethrough (the openings seen in the front portion 36 in FIG. 1B of Charlton), wherein the base is configured to be positioned adjacent skin of the subject (paragraph 0027 of Charlton); and
a skin-piercing assembly positioned at least partially within the housing, wherein the skin-piercing assembly includes-
a casing (the housing of the lancing device 20 of Charlton) having a lower surface (the lower surface of the housing of the lancing device 20 of Charlton); and
a blade (the lancet 22 of Charlton) configured to move relative to the lower surface (compare FIGS. 1A and 1B of Charlton; paragraphs 0032-0033 of Charlton); and
an actuator (the button 26 of Charlton) operably coupled to the skin-piercing assembly and movable relative to the housing, wherein-
the actuator is movable to a first position to drive the lower surface of the casing at least partially through the opening in the base and into contact with the skin (moving the button (along with the rest of the housing of the lancing device 20) into the position in FIG. 1B of Charlton); and
the actuator is movable to a second position to permit the blade to move along a path through the skin and relative to the lower surface of the casing (pressing the button to eject the lancet 22 from the housing of the lancing device 20; paragraph 0033 of Charlton).
With respect to claim 29, Charlton teaches that at least a portion of the lower surface of the casing has a curved shape (the rounded corners of the lower surface of the housing of the lancing device 20 of Charlton).
Claims 35-36 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0125018 (Galloway).
With respect to claim 35, Galloway teaches a skin-piercing assembly configured to be positioned at least partially in a device (the cover 16 of Galloway) for withdrawing bodily fluid from a subject, the skin-piercing assembly comprising:
a casing (the casing 12 of Galloway) including a trigger portion (the portion A of the casing outside the triangle B in the below annotated Figure of the casing 12 of Galloway) and a blade holder portion (the portion of the casing inside the triangle B in the below annotated Figure of the casing 12 of Galloway), wherein the trigger portion includes a first end portion fixedly coupled to the blade holder portion (the portions D of the casing at the sides of the triangle B in the below annotated Figure of the casing 12 of Galloway) and a second end portion (the guide member 15 of Galloway) spaced apart from the blade holder portion, wherein the second end portion of the trigger portion includes a first retaining feature (the guide member 15 of Galloway), and wherein the blade holder portion includes a lower surface (the bottom surface 14 of Galloway);
a drive member (the carriage 58 of Galloway) pivotably coupled to the blade holder portion of the casing, wherein the drive member includes a second retaining feature (the cam 64 of Galloway);
a blade (the razor blade 38 of Galloway) carried by the drive member; and
a biasing member (the leaf spring 45 of Galloway) operably coupled between the drive member and the casing, wherein-
in a pre-deployed position, the second retaining feature is configured to engage the first retaining feature to maintain the biasing member in a loaded configuration (FIG. 3 of Galloway; paragraphs 0050-0054 of Galloway); and
in a deployed position, the second retaining feature is configured to disengage the first retaining feature to permit the biasing member to pivot the blade at least partially past the lower surface of the blade holder portion (FIG. 4 of Galloway; paragraphs 0050-0054 of Galloway).
Annotated FIG. 3 of Galloway
With respect to claim 36, Galloway teaches that the trigger portion (the portion A of the casing outside the triangle B in the above annotated Figure of the casing 12 of Galloway) and the blade holder portion (the portion of the casing inside the triangle B in the above annotated Figure of the casing 12 of Galloway) are integrally formed.
With respect to claim 38, Galloway teaches that the casing is movable along a longitudinal axis from the pre-deployed position to the deployed position (see the movement of the casing 12 of Galloway relative to the cover 16 of Galloway in FIGS. 3-5 of Galloway).
With respect to claim 39, Galloway teaches that at least a portion of the lower surface of the casing has a curved shape (the portions E of the casing in the above annotated Figure of the casing 12 of Galloway).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35-36 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0172698 (Reynolds), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0036915 (Karbowniczek).
Reynolds teaches a skin-piercing assembly comprising a needle 304 carried by a hub 820. Karbowniczek teaches a blade edge is a suitable substitute for a needle (paragraph 0098 of Karbowniczek). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a blade edge in place of the needle of Reynolds since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
With respect to claim 35, the combination teaches or suggests a skin-piercing assembly configured to be positioned at least partially in a device for withdrawing bodily fluid from a subject, the skin-piercing assembly comprising:
a casing including a trigger portion (the element A in the below annotated FIG. 8A of Reynolds) and a blade holder portion (the element B in the below annotated FIG. 8A of Reynolds), wherein the trigger portion includes a first end portion (the element C in the below annotated FIG. 8A of Reynolds) fixedly coupled to the blade holder portion and a second end portion (the element D in the below annotated FIG. 8A of Reynolds) spaced apart from the blade holder portion, wherein the second end portion of the trigger portion includes a first retaining feature (the retaining feature at the element D in the below annotated FIG. 8A of Reynolds), and wherein the blade holder portion includes a lower surface (the element E in the below annotated FIG. 8A of Reynolds);
a drive member (the hub 820 of Reynolds) pivotably coupled to the blade holder portion of the casing, wherein the drive member includes a second retaining feature (the latch 818 of Reynolds);
a blade (the blade edge of Karbowniczek; paragraph 0098 of Karbowniczek) carried by the drive member (the hub 820 of Reynolds); and
a biasing member (the torsion spring of Reynolds; FIGS. 8A-8C of Reynolds) operably coupled between the drive member and the casing, wherein-
in a pre-deployed position, the second retaining feature is configured to engage the first retaining feature to maintain the biasing member in a loaded configuration (FIGS. 8A-8B of Reynolds); and
in a deployed position, the second retaining feature is configured to disengage the first retaining feature to permit the biasing member to pivot the blade at least partially past the lower surface of the blade holder portion (paragraph 0102 of Reynolds).
Annotated FIG. 8A of Reynolds
With respect to claim 36, the combination teaches or suggests that the trigger portion and the blade holder portion are integrally formed (the elements A and B in the above annotated FIG. 8A of Charlton are integrally formed).
With respect to claim 39, the combination teaches or suggests that at least a portion of the lower surface of the casing has a curved shape (the element E in the above annotated FIG. 8A of Charlton has a rounded corner).
With respect to claim 40, the combination teaches or suggests that the biasing member is a torsion spring (the torsion spring of Reynolds; FIGS. 8A-8C of Reynolds).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 24, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 21, 23, and 25 would be allowable if a terminal disclaimer is filed to overcome the double patenting rejections.
Claim 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if a terminal disclaimer is filed to overcome the double patenting rejections.
Claim 37 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
With respect to claim 21, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0036915 (Karbowniczek) teaches a device for withdrawing bodily fluid from a subject, the device comprising:
a housing (the shield body 50c of Karbowniczek) including a base (the front end wall 58c of Karbowniczek) configured to be positioned against skin of the subject a release member (the shield proximal end 54c of Karbowniczek) fixedly coupled to and extending from the base, wherein the base has an opening extending therethrough;
a skin-piercing assembly positioned at least partially within the housing, wherein the skin-piercing assembly includes-
a trigger portion (the actuator 110 of Karbowniczek) and a blade holder portion (the spring guide 86c of Karbowniczek);
a drive member (the carrier body 76c of Karbowniczek) coupled to the blade holder portion (the spring guide 86c of Karbowniczek );
a blade (the blade of Karbowniczek; paragraph 0098 of Karbowniczek) carried by the drive member; and
a biasing member (the drive spring 92c of Karbowniczek) operably coupled to the drive member; and
an actuator (the rear cap 24c of Karbowniczek) operably coupled to the skin-piercing assembly and movable from a first position to a second position relative to the housing, wherein-
in the first position, the drive member is configured to engage the trigger portion to maintain the biasing member in a biased configuration (FIG. 14 of Karbowniczek), and
movement of the actuator from the first position to the second position is configured to engage the trigger portion with the release member to disengage the trigger portion from the drive member to permit the biasing member to drive the blade at least partially through the opening in the base (FIG. 15 of Karbowniczek).
However, Karbowniczek does not teach or suggest that the drive member (the carrier body 76c of Karbowniczek) is pivotably coupled to the blade holder portion (the spring guide 86c of Karbowniczek ).
With respect to claim 21, WO 01/00090 (Vos)(cited by Applicant) teaches a device for withdrawing bodily fluid from a subject, the device comprising:
a housing including a base (the body 23 of Vos) configured to be positioned against skin of the subject a release member (the releasing rod 83 of Vos) extending from the base, wherein the base has an opening (the aperture 32 of Vos) extending therethrough;
a skin-piercing assembly positioned at least partially within the housing, wherein the skin-piercing assembly includes-
a trigger portion (the barb 85 of Vos) and a blade holder portion (the shaft base proximal to the head portion 64 and surrounded by the compression spring 63 of Vos);
a drive member (the head portion 64, the pricking rod 65, and the wheel 46 of Vos) pivotably coupled to the blade holder portion (the shaft base proximal to the head portion 64 and surrounded by the compression spring 63 of Vos);
a blade (the lancet 24 of Vos) carried by the drive member (the head portion 64, the pricking rod 65, and the wheel 46 of Vos); and
a biasing member (the torsion spring 59 of Vos) operably coupled to the drive member (the torsion spring 59 is in operation with the head portion 64, the pricking rod 65, and the wheel 46 of Vos during incision thus making them operably coupled); and
an actuator (the firing button 38 and the protrusion 81 of Vos) operably coupled to the skin-piercing assembly and movable from a first position to a second position relative to the housing, wherein-
in the first position, the drive member is configured to engage the trigger portion (the head portion 64, the pricking rod 65, and the wheel 46 of Vos is configured to engage the barb 85 of Vos) to maintain the biasing member in a biased configuration, and
movement of the actuator from the first position to the second position is configured to engage the trigger portion with the release member to disengage the trigger portion from the drive member to permit the biasing member to drive the blade at least partially through the opening in the base (the movement of the firing button 38 and the protrusion 81 is configured to engage the barb 85 with the releasing rod 83 of Vos to disengage the barb 85 from the head portion 64, the pricking rod 65, and the wheel 46 to permit the torsion spring 59 to drive the lancet 24 at least partially through the aperture 32 of Vos).
However, Vos does not teach or suggest that a release member (the releasing rod 83 of Vos) fixedly coupled to and extending from the base (the body 23 of Vos).
Claims 22-27 are allowable over the prior art by virtue of their dependence from claim 21.
With respect to claim 37, Galloway and the combination of Reynolds and Karbowniczek do not teach or suggest “wherein the deployed position, the second end portion of the trigger portion is configured to flex away from the blade holder portion”.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791