DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 3/20/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Searby et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0097617), hereinafter Searby.
Regarding claim 1, Searby discloses an adapter device (i.e. Fig. 1, docking station 14) that connects a body to be attached (i.e. support structure 20) and an attachment body (i.e. display device 10) including a case main body (i.e. housing of display device 10), which accommodates an electronic device (i.e. electronic device 8) including a display (i.e. flat panel LCD 18), and an article accommodation portion (i.e. adapter 16) which has an opening (i.e. guide element 60, fig 2) and is provided outside the case main body (i.e. housing of display device 10), the adapter device (i.e. docking station 14, fig 1) comprising:
an insertion portion (i.e. Fig. 7, guide element 62) capable of being inserted into the article accommodation portion (i.e. adapter 16) from the opening (i.e. guide element 60) of the attachment body (i.e. display device 10); and
a fixing portion (i.e. mounting wall 72) capable of being fixed to the body to be attached (i.e. support structure 20),
wherein the insertion portion (62, fig 7) includes a second engaging portion (120, fig 7) capable of engaging with a first engaging portion (130, fig 7) provided in the attachment body ([0033] recites ‘interior portion of a recess 130 formed on guide element 62 engages cam arm 120, thereby causing cam arm 120 to move in the direction indicated generally by arrow 132’), and
the second engaging portion is configured to be rotationally movable on the insertion portion (element 120 rotates about arrow 132).
Regarding claim 3, Searby discloses an operation portion (40, fig 8, [0032] recites ‘cam arm 120 coupled to locking arm 40 by a cam 146’) that moves the second engaging portion (120) from a first position (i.e. Fig. 9) where the second engaging portion (120) is capable of engaging with the first engaging portion (130) to a second position (i.e. Fig. 8) where the second engaging portion (120) is incapable of engaging with the first engaging portion ([0034] recites ‘after loosening and/or removal of set screw 102, and in response to movement of adapter 16/display device 10 in the direction indicated by arrow 150 relative to docking station 14, an interior portion of recess 130 of guide element 60 (FIG. 7) engages cam arm 120, thereby causing movement of cam arm 120 in the direction indicated by arrow 133’).
Regarding claim 4, Searby discloses wherein the operation portion (i.e. Fig. 7, locking arm 40) is provided at a position (i.e. Fig. 8) facing a side surface (i.e. left side of display device 10) of the case main body (i.e. housing of display device 10) in a state in which the insertion portion (i.e. guide element 62) is inserted into the article accommodation portion (i.e. adapter 16).
Regarding claim 5, Searby discloses wherein the operation portion (i.e. locking arm 40) is capable of moving ([0033] recites ‘set screw 102 is used on locking arm 40 to lock and/or otherwise prevent movement of locking arm 40 (and cam arm 120)’) the second engaging portion (120) from the first position (i.e. Fig. 9) to the second position (i.e. Fig. 8) by being moved in a direction away from the side surface (i.e. left side of display device 10) of the case main body (i.e. housing of display device 10), and
a position of the operation portion (i.e. locking arm 40) is held in a state (i.e. via fastener 102) in which the second engaging portion (120) is moved to the second position (i.e. Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Searby discloses an interlocking portion (136 including 124, 134, fig 9) that interlocks with the second engaging portion (136 interlocks with 120 through element 146), wherein the interlocking portion is incapable of coming into contact with the attachment body (i.e. display device 10) in a state in which the second engaging portion (120) is in the first position (i.e. Fig. 9), and is capable of coming into contact with the attachment body (i.e. display device 10) in a state in which the second engaging portion (120) is in the second position (i.e. Fig. 8), and
the second engaging portion (120) returns from the second position (i.e. Fig. 8) to the first position (i.e. Fig. 9) through the contact (i.e. paragraph 34) between the interlocking portion (i.e. cam arm 120) and the attachment body (i.e. display device 10) in a state in which the second engaging portion (120) is in the second position (i.e. Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 10, and 11, Searby discloses wherein the fixing portion (i.e. mounting wall 72) includes a back surface member (i.e. surface of mounting wall 72) that is provided at a position facing the case main body (i.e. housing of display device 10) with the insertion portion (i.e. guide element 62) interposed between the back surface member (i.e. surface of mounting wall 72) and the case main body (i.e. housing of display device 10) and that has a length larger (i.e. Fig. 7 shows mounting wall 72 being taller than guide element 62) than a length of the insertion portion (i.e. guide element 62) in a direction in which the insertion portion (i.e. guide element 62) extends, and the adapter device (i.e. docking station 14) further comprises a base portion (i.e. base member 70) on which the insertion portion (i.e. guide element 62) and the back surface member (i.e. surface of mounting wall 72) are provided upright.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Searby in view of Tsen et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0268513), hereinafter Tsen.
Regarding claims 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16, Searby discloses the invention substantially as claimed for claims 7-11, wherein a direction (i.e. left-right direction) perpendicular to a direction (i.e. front-rear direction) in which the back surface member (i.e. surface of mounting wall 72) and the insertion portion (i.e. guide element 62) are arranged and to the direction (i.e. up-down direction) in which the insertion portion (i.e. guide element 62) extends is set as a width direction, a length of the back surface member (i.e. surface of mounting wall 72) in the width direction is larger (i.e. Fig. 7 shows mounting wall 72 being wider than guide element 62) than a length of the insertion portion (i.e. guide element 62) in the width direction. Searby does not disclose the insertion portion is eccentrically disposed on one side in the width direction with respect to a center of the back surface member in the width direction.
However, Tsen discloses the insertion portion (i.e. bayonet 24) is eccentrically disposed on one side in the width direction (i.e. Fig. 4) with respect to a center of the back surface member (i.e. cover 50) in the width direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the insertion portion of Searby to be eccentrically disposed like the insertion portion of Tsen. Doing so would allow for various ports of the electronic device to still be accessible while mounted (Tsen paragraph 22).
Claims 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Searby in view of Ubbesen et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0259518), hereinafter Ubbesen.
Regarding claims 17, 19, and 20, Searby discloses the invention substantially as claimed for claims 1-4. Searby does not disclose wherein the case main body is capable of further accommodating an interface adapter that converts an image pickup signal from an endoscope into image data capable of being displayed by the electronic device and that transmits the image data to the electronic device.
However, Ubbesen discloses wherein the case main body (i.e. Fig. 1b, housing 22) is capable of further accommodating an interface adapter (i.e. output interface 30) that converts an image pickup signal (i.e. paragraph 4) from an endoscope (i.e. Fig. 1, videoscope 1) into image data capable of being displayed (i.e. paragraph 86) by the electronic device (i.e. monitor 20) and that transmits the image data to the electronic device (i.e. monitor 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electronic device of Searby with the endoscope image capabilities of Ubbesen. Doing so would be obvious as image processing apparatuses are known in the art and this would be a simple substitution.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. Applicant argues in response to claim 1:
‘That is, Searby teaches that the extension member 124 (interpreted as the claimed second engaging portion by the Office) is linearly movable (i.e., extends and retracts) in the horizontal direction as seen in FIGS. 8-9 of Searby. However, the extension member 124 is not rotationally movable. Therefore, Scarby fails to disclose "the second engaging portion is configured to be rotationally movable on the insertion portion" of claim 1.’
The rejections as shown above rely upon element 120 for the second engaging portion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS R BURTNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841