DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 4-8, 20, 12, and 13 are pending, independent claim 1 is amended, dependent claims 2, 3, 9, and 11 are cancelled and claim 13 is new.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 5-9, file 01/08/2026 with respect to U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-12 have been fully considered but they are not considered persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ock, Yoshikawa and Wang do not teach the amended limitation of claim 1, once originally claim 9, because Wang and Ock cannot be reasonably combined to arrive at the recited claim language by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ock, Yoshikawa, and Wang are all application publications from the same field of research, that is all three of these applications are on measuring battery packs and checking for abnormalities. The argument that the Office appears to have been to search solely for a "missing piece" from Ock and then assert that the "missing piece" in isolation is known without considering the applied references and the recited claim language as whole, is false under the basic principles of fuses and electrical circuits. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to protect the circuit by placing valuable and integral parts behind the fuse such that a short circuit (fuse blows) would render said valuable pieces to be protected. On the basis that removing the switch 31 would be removed from Ock rendering Ock pointless, that is simply not true. Switch 31 and fuse 32 are part of one device unit 30, said device 30 is a switch fuse unit and is a specific type of fuse in which the switch would not “be removed” on the principle that in the case of a switch fuse unit it is part of the fuse and would be moved jointly with the individual fuse piece.
Applicant argues that Ock does not cover the new limitations added to amended independent claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and directs applicant to the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ock et al. (US 20210231707 A1) hereinafter Ock in view of Yoshikawa (US 20090273314 A1) and further in view of Wang et al (US 2014/0376137 A1 as seen in IDS on 04/04/2024) hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 1, Ock teaches a detection line on which a detection resistance, a measurement switch, and a first resistance are connected in series ([0063] “diagnosing path 140 (i.e., detection line) may include a diagnosis switching unit SD (i.e., measurement switch) and a diagnosis resistor RD (i.e., detection resistance).”, where in Fig. 8 RD and SD are in series to R1 (i.e., first resistor) of path 110, however the switch can be found to be in series with each of the resistances in Fig 8 and any could be labelled as the first resistance, for example R2 also works as the first resistor, and so does R3 as each individual circuit path can be considered connected in series), the detection line being connected to the output circuit in parallel, (fig. 8 where the path containing 140 and 110 are in parallel to path 20); a second resistance connected to a first connection point between the measurement switch and the first resistance on the detection line and connected to a second connection point between the battery and the fuse (Fig. 8 where R2 is connected to nodes N2 between the battery 10 and the fuse 32 of the output circuit, and node NC which is between the Measurement switch SD and the any one of the resistors R1, R2, and R3 depending on the voltage path); via a first connection line connected to a positive electrode side of the battery (Fig. 8 where the first connection line 20 exits the positive side of the batter and connects to the fuse unit; The pending application in [0016] explains the first connection line as “The first connection line41 is connected between the positive electrode of the battery10 and the fuse12.”) and a second connection line connected to a negative electrode side of the battery (Fig. 8 where the negative electrode of the battery connects to RD which is used to measure the detection resistance; [0067] “the voltage measuring unit 150 may measure the voltage of the diagnosis resistor RD (i.e., detection resistance) as the diagnosis voltage.” The pending application in [0016] explains the second connection line as “The second connection line 42 is connected between the negative electrode of the battery 10 and the connection point 18a.”), a second voltage measurement section that measures a detection voltage applied to the detection resistance relative to the reference potential via the second connection line; ([0067] “the voltage measuring unit 150 may measure the voltage of the diagnosis resistor RD (i.e., detection resistance) as the diagnosis voltage.”; Fig. 8 where the negative electrode of the battery connects to RD which is used to measure the detection resistance; where the pending application in [0016] explains the second connection line as “The second connection line 42 is connected between the negative electrode of the battery 10 and the connection point 18a.”), and a third connection line connected between the detection resistance and the measurement switch (Fig 8 where connection line 150 runs between SD and RD starting at ND, and the pending application in [0016] states the third connection line “The third connection line43 is connected between the detection resistance 32 and the measurement switch 34.”); and a controller ([0012] “a control unit”), wherein a first terminal of the fuse is connected to the first resistance and a second terminal of the fuse is connected to the second connection point (Fig. 1 where the fuse 32 is connected to a resistance (R3, which can be labelled as any first, second, or third resistance, and connection point N2),the detection resistance, the first resistance, and the second resistance is set based on a voltage measurement range of the first voltage measurement section and the second voltage measurement section and a possible maximum voltage of the battery voltage ([0022] “The method includes measuring, by a voltage measuring unit, a diagnosis voltage between a diagnosis switching unit and a diagnosis resistor on an integrated diagnosing path having a first end connected to the common node and a second end connected to ground, wherein the common node is connected to each of (i) a first node between the battery cell and the charging and discharging switching unit via a first diagnosing path having a first resistor, (ii) a second node between the charging and discharging switch and the fuse via a second diagnosing path having a second resistor, and (iii) a third node between the charging and discharging switching unit and the pack terminal via a third diagnosing path having a third resistor, and determining, by a control unit configured to turn the diagnosis switching unit on and off, whether the charging and discharging switching unit is operating abnormally based on the diagnosis voltage measured by the voltage measuring unit.”; [0123] “For example, the battery pack may include a component for measuring a battery cell voltage, and the control unit 160 may receive a measured value of the battery cell voltage from the component and input the same as the battery cell voltage VC of Equations 1 to 3.” Where the measured battery voltage would be the possible maximum voltage of the battery voltage), the second terminal of the fuse is permanently electrically connected to the second voltage measurement section (Fig 1 where the fuse terminals, either side can be labeled the second terminal as there are two options, is connected to the second and third measurement section, which can be relabeled as first or second measurement sections. These measurement sections are the paths in which the voltage travels and is them measured at the end of the path.), and the controller is configured or programmed to: determine whether the fuse is blown, based on the detection voltage measured by the second voltage measurement section when the measurement switch is in an on state ([0066] “For example, if the control unit 160 (i.e., controller) turns on the diagnosis switching unit SD, a current may flow to the integrated diagnosing path 140. Further, if the control unit 160 turns on the diagnosis switching unit SD, a current may flow to the first diagnosing path 110, the second diagnosing path 120 and/or the third diagnosing path 130. In this case, since a voltage is applied to the diagnosis resistor RD, the voltage measuring unit 150 may measure the voltage of the diagnosis resistor RD as the diagnosis voltage(i.e., second voltage measurement according to pending claim 1).”), and determine whether the measurement switch has an open fault, based on the detection voltage when the measurement switch is in an on state ([0096] “Meanwhile, if the measured value of the diagnosis voltage shows a difference over a certain level from the reference voltage (4.29V), the control unit 160 (i.e., controller) may determine that the charging and discharging switch 31 is not turned on normally (i.e., state is on but there is an open fault). In particular, if the charging and discharging switch 31 is not properly turned on, as shown in FIG. 2, circuit may flow only to the first diagnosing path 110. Thus, if the resistance of each resistor and the cell voltage are the same as described in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the diagnosis voltage may be measured as approximately 1 V. Thus, if the diagnosis voltage measured by the voltage measuring unit 150 is near 1 V, the control unit 160 may diagnose that the charging and discharging switch 31 is not properly turned on in a situation where the charging and discharging switch 31 must be turned on.”).
Ock fails to teach a first voltage measurement section that measures a battery voltage of the battery relative to a reference potential
Yoshikawa teaches a measurement section that measures a battery voltage of the battery relative to a reference potential ([0040] “The AFE 3 measures the respective voltages of the battery cells 15 of the secondary battery 2, and supplies the measured values to the MPU 4 described later.” where [0041] “Herein, if the secondary battery 2 is a lithium-ion battery, the overcharge detection voltage and the overdischarge detection voltage are set to be 4.25V.+-.0.05V and 2.5V.+-.0.1V, respectively (i.e., reference potentials), for example.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the measuring of the battery voltage and comparing it to a reference as described in Yoshikawa to the fuse blow detection circuit as described in Ock for the purpose of measuring the voltage provided by the battery to apply to the equations utilized when checking if a fuse is blown via the measurement circuit. This is advantageous because without first checking the battery voltage, the fuse blown detection device could produce a voltage value that would otherwise look like a blown fuse if the battery value is not calibrated in the monitoring system.
Ock and Yoshikawa do not teach the second terminal of the fuse is permanently electrically connected to the battery.
Wang teaches the second terminal of the fuse is permanently electrically connected to the battery (Fig 2 where the fuse 222 is permanently (i.e., there is nothing to interrupt the signal between the battery and the fuse) connected to the battery 202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the circuit design presented in Wang to the fuse blown detection circuit discussed in Ock and Yoshikawa for the purpose of protecting the circuit placed electrically behind the fuse from a short circuit. This is advantageous because protecting the circuit placed electrically behind the fuse from a short circuit minimizes the risk of fire or other circuit damage, as the fuse would blow and break the circuit protecting the resistors and other electrically connected circuit pieces behind the fuse.
Regarding Claim 4, Ock, Yoshikawa and Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ock further teaches wherein the controller configured or programmed to execute processes of determining that the fuse is not blown when the detection voltage is a preset first voltage ([0109] “former embodiment FIG. 3, if the measured value of the diagnosis voltage is measured as a value close to 4.29V (i.e., preset first voltage, when working), the control unit 160 may determine that the charging and discharging switch 31 and the fuse 32 are operating normally.”) , determining that the fuse is blown when the detection voltage is a preset second voltage that is lower than the first voltage ([0108] “At this time, the control unit 160 may compare the reference voltage (2.32V) with the diagnosis voltage measured by the voltage measuring unit 150. If the measured value of the diagnosis voltage is identical or similar to the reference voltage when fuse 32 is disconnected, the control unit 160 may diagnose that charging and discharging switch 31 is turned on but the fuse 32 is disconnected or a current does not flow normally.”) and a measurement switch ([0063] “diagnosis switching unit SD (i.e., measurement switch)”), and determining that a switch has an open fault when the detection voltage is a preset third voltage that is lower than the second voltage ([0096] “Thus, if the diagnosis voltage measured by the voltage measuring unit 150 is near 1 V (i.e., third preset value), the control unit 160 may diagnose that the charging and discharging switch 31 is not properly turned on in a situation where the charging and discharging switch 31 must be turned on.” Where not properly turned on means the switch state is open [0081] “the reference voltage of the diagnosis voltage may be set as about 1 V in a state where the charging and discharging switch 31 is open.”)
Ock does not explicitly teach determining that the measurement switch has an open fault when the detection voltage is a preset third voltage that is lower than the second voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrive at determining that the measurement switch has an open fault when the detection voltage is a preset third voltage that is lower than the second voltage based on the teachings of a measurement switch, and determining that a switch has an open fault when the detection voltage is a preset third voltage that is lower than the second voltage as described in Ock for the purpose of testing the normal and abnormal activities of all the switches in the circuit. This is advantageous because it allows for abnormal switch activities to be monitored and caught when monitoring the fuse and battery system.
Regarding Claim 5, Ock, Yoshikawa and Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ock further teaches a measurement switch ([0063] “diagnosis switching unit SD (i.e., measurement switch)”), wherein the second voltage measurement section further measures the detection voltage when the switch is in an off state ([0081] “Thus, in this case, the reference voltage of the diagnosis voltage (i.e., second measurement section according to current applications claim1) may be set as about 1 V in a state where the charging and discharging switch 31 is open (i.e., open means off state)”), and the controller determines whether the switch has a close fault, based on the detection voltage when the switch is in an off state ([0083] “Meanwhile, if the measured value of the diagnosis voltage is different over a certain level from the reference voltage (IV), the control unit 160 may determine that the charging and discharging switch 31 is not normally turned off (i.e., close fault).”).
Ock does not explicitly teach wherein the second voltage measurement section further measures the detection voltage when the measurement switch is in an off state and the controller determines whether the measurement switch has a close fault, based on the detection voltage when the measurement switch is in an off state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrive at the second voltage measurement section further measures the detection voltage when the measurement switch is in an off state and the controller determines whether the measurement switch has a close fault, based on the detection voltage when the measurement switch is in an off state based on combining the teachings of a measurement switch, and wherein the second voltage measurement section further measures the detection voltage when the switch is in an off state, and the controller determines whether the switch has a close fault, based on the detection voltage when the switch is in an off state as described in Ock for the purpose of testing the normal and abnormal activities of all the switches in the circuit. This is advantageous because it allows for abnormal switch activities to be monitored and caught when monitoring the fuse and battery system.
Regarding Claim 6, Ock, Yoshikawa and Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ock further teaches wherein a resistance value of the first resistance is higher than a resistance value of the second resistance ([0093] “assuming the voltage VC of the battery cell is 400 V, the resistance R1 of the first resistor is 4000 kQ, the resistance R2 of the second resistor is 3000 kQ,”).
Regarding Claim 7, Ock and Yoshikawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ock further teaches wherein a resistance value of the second resistance is higher than a resistance value of the first resistance value (Fig. 10 where Test No. 2 has the first resistance value lower than the second resistance value; R1=1996 k
Ω
, R2=2994 k
Ω
).
Regarding Claim 8, Ock and Yoshikawa teach the limitations of claim 4.
Ock further teaches wherein the controller is programmed to execute processes of determining that a circuit included in the output circuit has a fault if the detection voltage when the measurement switch is in an on state is none of the first voltage, the second voltage, and the third voltage ([0084] “At this time, due to the resistance components of the first resistor R1, the second resistor R2 and the third resistor R3, a current may not flow to the first diagnosing path 110, the second diagnosing path 120 and the third diagnosing path 130. Thus, even though the diagnosis switching unit SD is turned on, since a current does not flow to the integrated diagnosing path 140, the diagnosis voltage may not be measured by the voltage measuring unit 150. Therefore, if the diagnosis voltage measured by the voltage measuring unit 150 is 0 V or close thereto, the control unit 160 may determine that the charging and discharging switch 31 is not normally turned off.” Where the voltage when signal travels across R1, R2, and R3 is not 0V).
Regarding Claim 10, Ock, Yoshikawa and Wang teach the limitations of claim 1.
Ock further teaches wherein the second resistance is electrically between the second terminal of the fuse and the measurement switch (Fig. 1 where R2 is between the fuse 32 and the switch 31).
Regarding Claim 12, Ock, Yoshikawa and Wang teach the limitations of claim 1.
Ock and Yoshikawa do not teach wherein the fuse is electrically between the battery and the first resistance.
Wang teaches wherein the fuse is electrically between the battery and the first resistance (Fig 2 where the fuse 222 is between the battery 202 and the resistor 232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the circuit design presented in Wang to the fuse blown detection circuit discussed in Ock and Yoshikawa for the purpose of protecting the circuit placed electrically behind the fuse from a short circuit. This is advantageous because protecting the circuit placed electrically behind the fuse from a short circuit minimizes the risk of fire or other circuit damage, as the fuse would blow and break the circuit protecting the resistors and other electrically connected circuit pieces behind the fuse.
Regarding Claim 13, Ock, Yoshikawa and Wang teach the limitations of claim 1.
Ock further teaches wherein the circuit included in the output circuit having the fault is the fuse blow detection circuit ([0084] “At this time, due to the resistance components of the first resistor R1, the second resistor R2 and the third resistor R3, a current may not flow to the first diagnosing path 110, the second diagnosing path 120 and the third diagnosing path 130. Thus, even though the diagnosis switching unit SD is turned on, since a current does not flow to the integrated diagnosing path 140, the diagnosis voltage may not be measured by the voltage measuring unit 150. Therefore, if the diagnosis voltage measured by the voltage measuring unit 150 is 0 V or close thereto, the control unit 160 may determine that the charging and discharging switch 31 is not normally turned off (i.e., fault).” Where the voltage when signal travels across R1, R2, and R3 is not 0V, where [0084] refers to Figs 1 and 2, which are a battery pack diagnosing apparatus for diagnosis [0014] “ the control unit may be configured to determine which of the charging and discharging switch and the fuse is operating abnormally (i.e., fuse blow detection circuit).”)).
Conclusion
/EMMA ALEXANDER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857