DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the communication filed on 1/22/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a cooling system configured to cool the internal power source”in claims 1, cooling in claims 1 and 22. The claims add that cooling is accomplished by applying power, but does not provide the structure that uses that power to cool. The specification and figure 3 discuss a cooling system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 22, 23, and their dependent claims, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention
Claims 1 and 23: in “a preflight-check period defined as a period before a
time that is predetermined from an expected time of departure arrives,” it is unclear what is the “time that is predetermined from an expected time of departure, it is not clear how long the predetermined time is; it is also unclear how much time is included by the limitation “before”, in “a period before a time”, it is unclear when the preflight-check period begins, when it ends, and how soon before the ‘time predetermined” begins. It is not clear if the “exact time” of departure would be included or not. Additionally, if the “exact time” is included, it is unclear if any “other times” are not included in this limitation.
Claims 1 and 22: in “a temperature adjusting apparatus attachably/detachably connected to an external power source and configured to adjust, during the parking of the aircraft, the temperature of the internal power source by warming, cooling, or keeping warmth of the internal power source: by applying a selected one of the external power source to the electric heater and the cooling system” it is unclear how cooling is accomplished by power feeding from an external power source”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 11, 25is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien 20200130534 in view of Ohgaki 20190039477, Ishii 8896267, Takemura 20240270414, and Toki 20130261865, and Williams 20130164573.
Regarding claim 1, Julien teaches:
A temperature control system (inter alia, 90) for controlling (inter alia, “in FIG. 1, the coolant circuit 90 could be coiled around or otherwise connected in heat exchange relationship with the battery pack 16. A valve 94 can be provided in the coolant circuit 90 downstream of the internal combustion engine 23 to control the flow of warm coolant to the battery pack 16” [0025]), in an aircraft that flies utilizing power generated by an engine or power charged in an internal power source (“hybrid electric power plants for aircraft” [0001]) during parking of the aircraft, comprising:
the internal power source configured to store power (battery pack 16, [0012]) for flying (“on cold days, before the engine 12 is started, the battery pack 16 can be used to electrically heat the lubricant in the tank 72 to reduce oil viscosity and, thus, facilitate starting and reduce the engine starter size“ [0022], teaching that battery power is used to facilitate starting; “hybrid aircraft” teaches the “flying” limitation);
heater configured to heat the internal power source (“circulating the coolant heated by internal combustion engine in heat exchange relationship with a battery pack, the coolant transferring heat to the battery pack to warm the battery pack” [0004]);
a cooling system configured to cool the internal power source (“[0029] On hot days or whenever the batteries need to be cooled, the blower 82 of the engine coolant and lubricant systems can be used to direct cooling air over the battery pack 16. Also, a separate cooling circuit could be provided to remove heat from the battery pack 16” [0029]):
the power feeding from the external power source is absent (Julien does not explicitly teach external power, therefore external power is absent), control the temperature adjusting apparatus (inter alia, ”to selectively bypass the battery pack 16 when the same is within an appropriate range of operating temperatures” [0026])
As discussed above, Julien teaches an external power source being absent. External power sources are known in the art and widely used to power aircraft systems while preserving power stored within the aircraft, but Julien does not explicitly teach:
during parking of the aircraft,
an electric heater configured to heat the internal power source;
“a temperature adjusting apparatus attachably/detachably connected to an external power source and configured to adjust, during the parking of the aircraft, the temperature of the internal power source by warming,
keeping warmth of the internal power source, by applying a selected one of the external power source to the electric heater
a controller configured to detect, during the parking of the aircraft, presence or absence of the power feeding from the external power source if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus, and configured to:
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is present, control the temperature adjusting apparatus to adjust the temperature of the internal power source using the power feeding from the external power source;
Ohgaki teaches a heating control device of an electric vehicle (abstract), and teaches operations with an external power source:
during parking of the aircraft (“parking” [0064-0066]),
an electric heater configured to heat the internal power source (“The heater 115 generates heat by current flowing, the current being obtained from the storage battery 103 or obtained from the external power supply (not illustrated) through the charger 113” [0051]);
“a temperature adjusting apparatus (inter alia, 115) attachably/detachably connected to an external power source (“plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082]) and configured to adjust, during the parking of the aircraft (“in a case the electric vehicle is parked in a state where the plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082]), the temperature of the internal power source by warming (“the heating control of the storage battery 203 using the heater 215 [0082]),
keeping warmth of the internal power source, by applying a selected one of the external power source (“in a case the electric vehicle is parked in a state where the plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082], “obtained from the external power supply (not illustrated) through the charger 113” [0051]) to the electric heater (“the heating control of the storage battery 203 using the heater 215 by the ECU 221 according to the example in a case the electric vehicle is parked in a state where the plug 223 is connected to the external power supply, in a case where the storage battery 203 in which the temperature and the SOC are in a state indicated by “A” in FIG. 8 reaches a target temperature Tar, the change ΔWa in effective capacity is expected to be increased by the predetermined amount or more” [0082])
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is present (“a case the electric vehicle is parked in a state where the plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082]), control the temperature adjusting apparatus to adjust the temperature of the internal power source using the power feeding from the external power source (“causes a current to flow through the heater 215 using electric power supplied from the external power supply” [0082]);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien with Ohgaki's structure discussed above in so “electric power supplied from the external power supply can be effectively consumed to improve the performance of the storage battery 203 without being consumed to inefficiently heat the storage battery 203” as taught by Ohgaki [0083].
Julien in view of Ohgaki teaches a temperature adjusting apparatus (inter alia, Julien 94) and the system being configure do warm, cool and keep warm (Julien [0025-0029]), but is silent about the temperature adjusting unit being configure to adjust the temperature by each the power charged in the power source and power feeding from an external power source as claimed:
cooling, [or keeping warmth of the internal power source, by applying a selected one of the external power source to the electric heater] and the cooling system; and
However, Takemura teaches an electric flight vehicle (abstract) and a control device related to battery temperature control, teaching battery temperature raising unit [0065-0069], cooling process in paragraph [0051],
cooling (“the heat of the drive battery 31 is radiated to a cooling medium, the drive battery 31 radiates the heat more easily as a temperature difference between the battery temperature Tbt and the cooling medium is larger. Examples of the cooling medium include air such as outside air in contact with the drive battery 31 so as to enable heat exchange, and a liquid such as cooling water circulating to the drive battery 31 so as to enable heat exchange” [0051, 0054]), or keeping warmth (In the temperature keeping control, the electric power of the drive battery 31 is consumed by driving the object to be energized, and the battery temperature Tbt rises [0077]) of the internal power source (inter alia, [0077]) by applying a selected one of the power charged in the internal power source and power feeding from the external power source ([0122, 0126]);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki with Takemura's structure discussed above in order to provide the system with an input current, where “The input current is a charging current for charging the drive battery 31” [0037], and to provide a “temperature raising control fore the drive battery 31 [that] is performed when the drive battery 31 is being charged” [0119] as taught by Takemura.
Julien in view of Ohgaki and Takemura teaches the operations with and without external power connected, but is silent about:
a controller configured to detect, during the parking of the aircraft, presence or absence of the power feeding from the external power source if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is absent.
wherein, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent while the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus, and a preflight-check period defined as a period before a time that is predetermined from an expected time of departure arrives
However, Ishii teaches a charging control device for charging a power storage device mounted on a vehicle (Col 1 ll. 12-20), with a system that controls temperatures in the vehicle and is associated with the external charging system (A/C 20 when pre-air-conditioning is executed during external charging, Col 6 ll. 20-23), and describes the system in case where charging is interrupted due to a power failure of the power supply (col 2 ll. 17-20) and:
a controller configured to detect , during the parking of the aircraft (inter alia, “to a charging control device for charging a power storage device mounted on a vehicle by a power supply outside the vehicle” Col 1 ll. 10-20, teaching parking because it requires a power supply outside the vehicle), presence or absence of the power feeding from the external power source if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus (a power failure of external power supply 50 during external charging based on a detection value of voltage V from the voltage sensor (not shown) provided in charger 24 and pilot signal CPLT., Col 5 ll. 35-40), and configured to:
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus (inter alia, “It is noted that charger 24 is connected“ Col 4 ll. 59) and the power feeding from the external power source is absent (“when it is determined that a power failure occurs at external power supply 50, power failure determination unit 108 reports to that effect to charging control unit 104 and condition determination unit 112” Col 6 ll. 30-35).
and a preflight-check period defined as a period before a time that is predetermined from an expected time of departure arrives, the controller is configured to
wherein while the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus (same as discussed above), and a preflight-check period defined as a period before a time that is predetermined from an expected time of departure arrives (time during charging of the power storage, abstract)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, and Takemura with Ishii's teachings discussed above because “By providing such condition determination unit 112, charging of power storage device 12 can be completed by continuing external charging even after the charging end time in the case where external charging is not completed in accordance with the charging schedule due to some reason not owing to an equipment failure” Col 6 ll. 60-68 as taught by Ishii.
Julien teaches a combustion engine (abstract) but Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura and Ishii is not explicit about the internal power source configured to store power for starting an engine as claimed.
However, Toki teaches a hybrid vehicle (title), and:
the internal power source configured to store power for starting an engine (“ an engine start control system […] based on the available output power or the potential power output with the battery and the battery power needed to start the engine, the former being calculated based on data indicating a relationship among a battery temperature, battery residual capacity, a battery temperature detected by a battery temperature sensor and battery capacity detected by a battery controller [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person having Julien in view of Ohgaki, Ishii and Takemura with Toki's structure discussed above in order to provide the “available output power to exceed a required power at the time of engine starting” as taught by Toki [0005].
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii Toki teaches wherein the control section is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent (as discussed above), but Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii Toki, as discussed so far is silent about:
control the temperature adjusting apparatus to warm the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source, in response to the charged power of the internal power source being equal to or greater than a startable charge amount needed to start the engine and the temperature of the internal power source being lower than a flyable temperature needed to fly the aircraft;
However, Takemura further teaches:
control the temperature adjusting apparatus to warm the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source (In the temperature keeping control, the electric power of the drive battery 31 is consumed by driving the object to be energized, and the battery temperature Tbt rises, Takemura [0077]), in response to the charged power of the internal power source being equal to or greater than a startable charge amount needed to start the engine (as discussed above and taught by Taki; and as discussed above, Taki teaches the battery power needed to start the engine is calculate taking battery temperature into account) and the temperature of the internal power source being lower than a flyable temperature needed to fly the aircraft(Takemura [0067]; “When the battery temperature Tbt becomes higher than the temperature raising end temperature TB, the flight control device 40 proceeds to step S204. In step S204, the flight control device 40 terminates the take-off prohibition of the eVTOL 10. Here, take-off of the eVTOL 10 is permitted” [0068]);
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii,and Toki is silent about:
[Warming the internal power source] in response to the charged power of the internal power source before a time that is predetermined from an expected time of departure or after the time being equal to or greater than [a startable charge amount needed to start the engine].
However, Williams teaches: warming the internal power source in response to the charged power of the internal power source after the time being equal to or greater than a startable charge amount needed to start the engine (while the heating mode is in effect (as initiated in step 408), the upper and lower RESS target temperature limits decrease after the RESS state of charge falls below the predetermined state of charge threshold in order to conserve RESS energy for powering the vehicle (instead of for use in heating the RESS) when the state of charge is relatively low [0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura and Toki with Williams’ structure discussed above in order to conserve RESS energy for powering the vehicle ([0055]).
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Ishii, Takemura, Toki and Williams, as discussed so far, is silent about:
start the engine if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start
However, Toki further teaches:
the control section is configured to start the engine if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start (inter alia, “Based on the state of the battery 30, the power control unit 602 refers to a map stored in advance and calculates an output of the battery 30, and subsequently controls the output of the battery 30 so that the output corresponding to the drive frequency of the inverter 35 may be output from the battery 30 to the inverter 35. The power control unit 602 uses the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 30, the temperature of the battery 30, and the degree of deterioration of the battery 30, etc., as representative of the state of the battery 30. The SOC of the battery 30 may be calculated by current and voltage detected by the current sensor and the voltage sensor 31, respectively, while temperature of the battery 30 is detectable by the temperature sensor 32. The map stored in the power control unit 602 relates output power of the battery 30 with respect to SOC, temperature of battery 30 and deterioration. In addition, the power control unit 602 refers to the map stored therein for calculation of output power of the battery 30 based on the calculated SOC and detected temperature” [0049], “Then, in step S4, in a situation in which the detected temperature (T) is equal to or greater than a threshold temperature (TL), the control routine or procedure following step S41 is now described with reference to FIG. 5b. In step S41, the voltage control unit 601 compares the power necessary to start the engine 10 with the output power (instantaneous value) of the battery 30. When the output power (instantaneous value) of battery 30 exceeds the required output power, control proceeds to step S43. On the other hand, when output power (instantaneous value) is below the required power, then the rotation speed setting unit 604 lowers the rotation speed of the motor/generator 20 for starting engine 10 in step S42. Thus, the power required for starting the engine 10 will be lower. Note that the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower the rotation speed stepwise, or alternatively, the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower to the rotation speed at which the required power corresponds to the output power” [0070] “an engine start control system […] based on the available output power or the potential power output with the battery and the battery power needed to start the engine, the former being calculated based on data indicating a relationship among a battery temperature, battery residual capacity, a battery temperature detected by a battery temperature sensor and battery capacity detected by a battery controller” [0005]) and the charged power of the internal power source is equal to or greater than the startable charge amount (“Then, in step S4, in a situation in which the detected temperature (T) is equal to or greater than a threshold temperature (TL), the control routine or procedure following step S41 is now described with reference to FIG. 5b. In step S41, the voltage control unit 601 compares the power necessary to start the engine 10 with the output power (instantaneous value) of the battery 30. When the output power (instantaneous value) of battery 30 exceeds the required output power, control proceeds to step S43. On the other hand, when output power (instantaneous value) is below the required power, then the rotation speed setting unit 604 lowers the rotation speed of the motor/generator 20 for starting engine 10 in step S42. Thus, the power required for starting the engine 10 will be lower. Note that the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower the rotation speed stepwise, or alternatively, the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower to the rotation speed at which the required power corresponds to the output power” [0070], where output power, voltage, read on charge amount). Furthermore, a person having ordinary skills in the art would provide a system where the engine is started when the internal power source is charged to at least a startable amount. In this case there are two options, the internal power source is charged to at least a stable amount, or it can be below said amount. It is known that battery power is often used in the starting process of engines, and as discussed above, regarding the state of charge of the battery there is a “finite number” of possibilities, basically two possibilities, either the charge is sufficient to start the engine (a startable amount of charge), or it is not. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success (in the case of the present application, success would be the successful start of the engine, and failure would be the inability to start the engine or a hot-start etc), it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. MPEP 2143 (I)(E).
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Ishii, Takemura, Toki and Williams as discussed so far, is silent about the control section controlling the temperature using power from the engine it as claimed.
However, Takemura further teaches:
wherein
the controller is configured to, during running of the engine ([0104]) in a flight check period after the engine has been started, further detect whether the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than the flyable temperature (as discussed above) and configured to to:
if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than the flyable temperature (“The temperature raising end temperature TB is set to a temperature higher than the take-off permitting temperature TA” [0067]), control the temperature adjusting apparatus to keep the warmth of the internal power source (TB marks the “end the battery temperature raising processing “ [0067]; in Fig 3, S106 is followed by S108, the “temperature Keeping control”; “battery temperature keeping processing is processing for restricting a drop in the battery temperature Tbt, and may be referred to as temperature decrease restriction processing” [0078]) using electrical power generated by the engine ( “The heat-generating element 101 is a heat source that generates heat for heating the drive battery 31” And “heat-generating element 101 may include a combustion engine” [0104]); and
if the temperature of the internal power source is lower than the flyable temperature, control the temperature adjusting apparatus to warm the internal power source using the electrical power generated by the engine (“the temperature of the drive battery 31 is raised by the heating device 100.” [0108]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, Ishii, Takemura, Toki and Williams with Takemura's structure discussed above to provide “processing of heating the drive battery 31 to raise the battery temperature” [0101] -- {second embodiment}, because it’s known that the performance of batteries is dependent on temperature.
Regarding claim 3, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Ishii, Takemura, and Toki, teaches the invention as discussed for claim 23. Julien in view of Ohgaki, Ishii, Takemura, Toki, and Williams teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to control the temperature adjusting apparatus to warm the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source (as already discussed),
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Ishii, Takemura, and Toki, as discussed so far, is silent about:
in response to the charged power of the internal power source being equal to or greater than a sum of the startable charge amount and power needed to raise the temperature of the internal power source to at least a startable temperature enabling the engine to start.
However, Williams teaches:
in response to the charged power of the internal power source being equal to or greater than a sum of the startable charge amount and power needed to raise the temperature of the internal power source to at least a startable temperature enabling the engine to start (while the heating mode is in effect (as initiated in step 408), the upper and lower RESS target temperature limits decrease after the RESS state of charge falls below the predetermined state of charge threshold in order to conserve RESS energy for powering the vehicle (instead of for use in heating the RESS) when the state of charge is relatively low [0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, Ishii, Takemura, and Toki with Williams’ structure discussed above in order to conserve RESS energy for powering the vehicle ([0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki and Williams teaches the invention as discussed for claim 3. Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki and Williams as discussed so far, is silent about the flyable temperature as claimed.
However, Takemura teaches:
wherein the control section is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent, control the temperature adjusting unit to keep the warmth of the internal power source (“The flight control device 40 performs temperature keeping control in step S108. The flight control device 40 performs the temperature keeping control to keep the battery temperature Tbt.” [0077]) using the charged power of the internal power source (In the temperature keeping control, the electric power of the drive battery 31 is consumed [0077]), in response to the temperature of the internal power source being equal to or higher than the flyable temperature (Fig. 3: “temperature Keeping Control” S108 takes place after S106; [0075-0077]; it is noted that the limitation “flyable temperature” is taught by “the end flag is set”, referring to the “prohibit take-off” flag of S104 take-off prohibition flag described in [0062]).
Regarding claim 11, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki, and Williams teaches the invention as discussed for claim 3. Takemura further teaches:
wherein the control section is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is present (“being charged” [0120, 0125], S401 Fig 8) further detect whether the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than the flyable temperature (“when the battery temperature Tbt is higher than the temperature raising end temperature TB, the flight control device 40 terminates take-off prohibition of the eVTOL 10 [0130]) to:
if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than the flyable temperature, control the temperature adjusting unit to keep the warmth of the internal power source using the power feeding from the external power source (inter alia, “battery temperature keeping processing” [0140]);
and if the temperature of the internal power source is lower than the flyable temperature, control the temperature adjusting unit to warm the internal power source using the power feeding from the external power source (inter alia, “the battery temperature raising processing” [0140]).
Regarding claim 25, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki, and Williams teaches the invention as discussed for claim 3. Takemura further teaches:
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki, and Williams, as discussed so far, is silent about:
The temperature control system according to claim 3, wherein the controller is configured to start the engine if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start, and the charged power of the internal power source is equal to or greater than the startable charge amount.
However, Toki further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to start the engine if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start (“an engine start control system […] based on the available output power or the potential power output with the battery and the battery power needed to start the engine, the former being calculated based on data indicating a relationship among a battery temperature, battery residual capacity, a battery temperature detected by a battery temperature sensor and battery capacity detected by a battery controller” as discussed and taught by Toki [0005]), and the charged power of the internal power source is equal to or greater than the startable charge amount (“Then, in step S4, in a situation in which the detected temperature (T) is equal to or greater than a threshold temperature (TL), the control routine or procedure following step S41 is now described with reference to FIG. 5b. In step S41, the voltage control unit 601 compares the power necessary to start the engine 10 with the output power (instantaneous value) of the battery 30. When the output power (instantaneous value) of battery 30 exceeds the required output power, control proceeds to step S43. On the other hand, when output power (instantaneous value) is below the required power, then the rotation speed setting unit 604 lowers the rotation speed of the motor/generator 20 for starting engine 10 in step S42. Thus, the power required for starting the engine 10 will be lower. Note that the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower the rotation speed stepwise, or alternatively, the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower to the rotation speed at which the required power corresponds to the output power.” [0070]).
Claim(s) 20, 22-24, 26, 16, 4, 10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien 20200130534 in view of Ohgaki 20190039477, Takemura 20240270414, Ishii 8896267, Toki 20130261865,
Regarding claim 20, Julien teaches:
A temperature control method for controlling (A method of operating a hybrid electric power plant in cold climates, Abstract), in an aircraft that flies utilizing power generated by an engine or power charged in an internal power source “hybrid electric power plants for aircraft” [0001]), a temperature of the internal power source (inter alia, battery pack 16)
the method comprising:
the power feeding from the external power source is absent (Julien does not explicitly teach external power, therefore external power is absent), warming (to selectively bypass the battery pack 16 when the same is within an appropriate range of operating temperatures. [0026]; also “ the warm lubricant circuit 74 can also be used to warm the batteries.” [0027]), cooling (“On hot days or whenever the batteries need to be cooled, the blower 82 of the engine coolant and lubricant systems can be used to direct cooling air over the battery pack 16” [0029]), or keeping the warmth (to selectively bypass the battery pack 16 when the same is within an appropriate range of operating temperatures [0025]) of the internal power source by the temperature adiusting apparatus, using charged power of the internal power source based on a temperature state (inter alia, ”to selectively bypass the battery pack 16 when the same is within an appropriate range of operating temperatures” [0026])
Julien is silent about:
using a temperature adjusting apparatus attachably/detachably connected to an external power source and configured to adiust the temperature of the internal power source by warming, cooling, or keeping warmth of the internal power source, by applying a selected one of the power charged in the internal power source and power feeding from the external power source,
[if the external power source is connected to the temperature adiusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is present, warming, cooling or keeping warmth] of [[an]] the internal power source by the temperature adiusting apparatus, using the power feeding from the external power source,
detecting presence or absence of power feeding from an external power source if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus;
f the external power source is connected to the temperature adiusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is present, warming, cooling, or keeping warmthof [[an]] the internal power source by the temperature adiusting apparatus, using the power feeding from the external power source,
However, Ohgaki teaches a heating control device of an electric vehicle (abstract), and teaches an external power source (“in a case the electric vehicle is parked in a state where the plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082]), and:
using a temperature adjusting apparatus (inter alia, 115) attachably/detachably connected to an external power source (“plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082]) and configured to adiust the temperature of the internal power source by warming (“the heating control of the storage battery 203 using the heater 215 [0082]), or keeping warmth of the internal power source, by applying a selected one of the power charged in the internal power source and power feeding from the external power source (“in a case the electric vehicle is parked in a state where the plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082], “obtained from the external power supply (not illustrated) through the charger 113” [0051]),
[if the external power source is connected to the temperature adiusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is present (“a case the electric vehicle is parked in a state where the plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082]) warming (“causes a current to flow through the heater 215 using electric power supplied from the external power supply” [0082]) , or keeping warmth] of [[an]] the internal power source by the temperature adiusting apparatus, using the power feeding from the external power source (“causes a current to flow through the heater 215 using electric power supplied from the external power supply” [0082]),
detecting presence or absence of power feeding from an external power source (“the current flow controller 267 causes the switch portion 219 to be closed, causes the switch portion 217 to be opened, and causes a current to flow through the heater 215 using electric power supplied from the external power supply.” [0082])
the power feeding from the external power source is present, warming, cooling, or keeping warmth
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien with Ohgaki's structure discussed above in so “electric power supplied from the external power supply can be effectively consumed to improve the performance of the storage battery 203 without being consumed to inefficiently heat the storage battery 203” as taught by Ohgaki [0083].
Julien in view of Ohgaki is silent about:
cooling
whereby the temperature of the internal power source is adjusted to be equal to or higher than a flyable temperature needed to fly the aircraft
However, Takemura teaches an electric flight vehicle (abstract) and a control device related to battery temperature control, teaching battery temperature raising unit [0065-0069], cooling process in paragraph [0051],
cooling (“the heat of the drive battery 31 is radiated to a cooling medium, the drive battery 31 radiates the heat more easily as a temperature difference between the battery temperature Tbt and the cooling medium is larger. Examples of the cooling medium include air such as outside air in contact with the drive battery 31 so as to enable heat exchange, and a liquid such as cooling water circulating to the drive battery 31 so as to enable heat exchange” [0051, 0054]),
the temperature of the internal power source is adjusted to be equal to or higher than a flyable temperature needed to fly the aircraft (Takemura [0067]; “When the battery temperature Tbt becomes higher than the temperature raising end temperature TB, the flight control device 40 proceeds to step S204. In step S204, the flight control device 40 terminates the take-off prohibition of the eVTOL 10. Here, take-off of the eVTOL 10 is permitted” [0068]);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki with Takemura's structure discussed above in order to provide the system with an input current, where “The input current is a charging current for charging the drive battery 31” [0037], and to provide a “temperature raising control fore the drive battery 31 [that] is performed when the drive battery 31 is being charged” [0119] as taught by Takemura.
Julien in view of Ohgaki and Takemura is silent about:
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is absent, warming, cooling, or keeping the warmth of the internal power source by the temperature adiusting apparatus, using charged power of the internal power source based on a temperature state and a state of charge of the internal power source, whereby the temperature of the internal power source is adiusted to be equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start
However, Ishii teaches a charging control device for charging a power storage device mounted on a vehicle (Col 1 ll. 12-20), with a system that controls temperatures in the vehicle and is associated with the external charging system (A/C 20 when pre-air-conditioning is executed during external charging, Col 6 ll. 20-23), and describes the system in case where charging is interrupted due to a power failure of the power supply (col 2 ll. 17-20) and:
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus (inter alia, “It is noted that charger 24 is connected“ Col 4 ll. 59) and the power feeding from the external power source is absent (“when it is determined that a power failure occurs at external power supply 50, power failure determination unit 108 reports to that effect to charging control unit 104 and condition determination unit 112” Col 6 ll. 30-35), warming, cooling, or keeping the warmth of the internal power source by the temperature adiusting apparatus, using charged power of the internal power source based on a temperature state and a state of charge of the internal power source, whereby the temperature of the internal power source is adiusted to be equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, and Takemura with Ishii's teachings discussed above because “By providing such condition determination unit 112, charging of power storage device 12 can be completed by continuing external charging even after the charging end time in the case where external charging is not completed in accordance with the charging schedule due to some reason not owing to an equipment failure” Col 6 ll. 60-68 as taught by Ishii.
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura and Ishii is silent about
a state of charge of the internal power source, whereby the temperature of the internal power source is adiusted to be equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to star
However, Toki further teaches:
a state of charge of the internal power source, whereby the temperature of the internal power source is adiusted to be equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to star (inter alia, “Based on the state of the battery 30, the power control unit 602 refers to a map stored in advance and calculates an output of the battery 30, and subsequently controls the output of the battery 30 so that the output corresponding to the drive frequency of the inverter 35 may be output from the battery 30 to the inverter 35. The power control unit 602 uses the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 30, the temperature of the battery 30, and the degree of deterioration of the battery 30, etc., as representative of the state of the battery 30. The SOC of the battery 30 may be calculated by current and voltage detected by the current sensor and the voltage sensor 31, respectively, while temperature of the battery 30 is detectable by the temperature sensor 32. The map stored in the power control unit 602 relates output power of the battery 30 with respect to SOC, temperature of battery 30 and deterioration. In addition, the power control unit 602 refers to the map stored therein for calculation of output power of the battery 30 based on the calculated SOC and detected temperature” [0049], “Then, in step S4, in a situation in which the detected temperature (T) is equal to or greater than a threshold temperature (TL), the control routine or procedure following step S41 is now described with reference to FIG. 5b. In step S41, the voltage control unit 601 compares the power necessary to start the engine 10 with the output power (instantaneous value) of the battery 30. When the output power (instantaneous value) of battery 30 exceeds the required output power, control proceeds to step S43. On the other hand, when output power (instantaneous value) is below the required power, then the rotation speed setting unit 604 lowers the rotation speed of the motor/generator 20 for starting engine 10 in step S42. Thus, the power required for starting the engine 10 will be lower. Note that the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower the rotation speed stepwise, or alternatively, the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower to the rotation speed at which the required power corresponds to the output power” [0070] “an engine start control system […] based on the available output power or the potential power output with the battery and the battery power needed to start the engine, the former being calculated based on data indicating a relationship among a battery temperature, battery residual capacity, a battery temperature detected by a battery temperature sensor and battery capacity detected by a battery controller” [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person having Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura and Ishii with Toki's structure discussed above in order to provide the “available output power to exceed a required power at the time of engine starting” as taught by Toki [0005].
Regarding claim 22, Julien teaches:
A temperature control system (inter alia, 90) for controlling (inter alia, “in FIG. 1, the coolant circuit 90 could be coiled around or otherwise connected in heat exchange relationship with the battery pack 16. A valve 94 can be provided in the coolant circuit 90 downstream of the internal combustion engine 23 to control the flow of warm coolant to the battery pack 16” [0025]), in an aircraft that flies utilizing power generated by an engine or power charged in an internal power source, a temperature of the internal power source (“hybrid electric power plants for aircraft” [0001]), comprising:
the internal power source configured to store power (battery pack 16, [0012]) and flying;
As discussed above, Julien teaches an external power source being absent. External power sources are known in the art and widely used to power aircraft systems while preserving power stored within the aircraft, but Julien does not explicitly teach:
a temperature adjusting apparatus attachably/detachably connected to an external power source and configured to adjust the temperature of the internal power source by warming, cooling, or keeping warmth of the internal power source, by applying a selected one of the power charged in the internal power source and power feeding from the external power source; and
a controller configured to detect presence or absence of the power feeding from the external power source if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus, and configured to:
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is present, control the temperature adjusting apparatus to adjust the temperature of the internal power source to be equal to or higher than a flyable temperature needed to fly the aircraft, using the power feeding from the external power source; and
However, Ohgaki teaches a heating control device of an electric vehicle (abstract), and teaches operations with an external power source:
a temperature adjusting apparatus (inter alia, 115) attachably/detachably connected to an external power source (“plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082]) and configured to adjust the temperature of the internal power source by warming (“the heating control of the storage battery 203 using the heater 215 [0082]) , or keeping warmth of the internal power source, by applying a selected one of the power charged in the internal power source and power feeding from the external power source (“in a case the electric vehicle is parked in a state where the plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082], “obtained from the external power supply (not illustrated) through the charger 113” [0051]); and
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is present (“a case the electric vehicle is parked in a state where the plug 223 is connected to the external power supply” [0082]), control the temperature adjusting apparatus to adjust the temperature of the internal power source, using the power feeding from the external power source (“causes a current to flow through the heater 215 using electric power supplied from the external power supply” [0082]);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien with Ohgaki's structure discussed above in so “electric power supplied from the external power supply can be effectively consumed to improve the performance of the storage battery 203 without being consumed to inefficiently heat the storage battery 203” as taught by Ohgaki [0083].
Julien in view of Ohgaki,teaches a temperature adjusting apparatus (inter alia, Julien 94) and the system being configure do warm, cool and keep warm (Julien [0025-0029]), but is silent about the temperature adjusting unit being configure to adjust the temperature by each the power charged in the power source and power feeding from an external power source as claimed:
Cooling
temperature of the internal power source to be equal to or higher than a flyable temperature needed to fly the aircraft
However, Takemura teaches an electric flight vehicle (abstract) and a control device related to battery temperature control, teaching battery temperature raising unit [0065-0069], cooling process in paragraph [0051],
cooling (“the heat of the drive battery 31 is radiated to a cooling medium, the drive battery 31 radiates the heat more easily as a temperature difference between the battery temperature Tbt and the cooling medium is larger. Examples of the cooling medium include air such as outside air in contact with the drive battery 31 so as to enable heat exchange, and a liquid such as cooling water circulating to the drive battery 31 so as to enable heat exchange” [0051, 0054]), or keeping warmth (In the temperature keeping control, the electric power of the drive battery 31 is consumed by driving the object to be energized, and the battery temperature Tbt rises [0077]) of the internal power source (inter alia, [0077]) by applying a selected one of the power charged in the internal power source and power feeding from the external power source ([0122, 0126]);
temperature of the internal power source to be equal to or higher than a flyable temperature needed to fly the aircraft (Takemura [0067]; “When the battery temperature Tbt becomes higher than the temperature raising end temperature TB, the flight control device 40 proceeds to step S204. In step S204, the flight control device 40 terminates the take-off prohibition of the eVTOL 10. Here, take-off of the eVTOL 10 is permitted” [0068]);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki with Takemura's structure discussed above in order to provide the system with an input current, where “The input current is a charging current for charging the drive battery 31” [0037], and to provide a “temperature raising control fore the drive battery 31 [that] is performed when the drive battery 31 is being charged” [0119] as taught by Takemura.
Julien in view of Ohgaki and Takemura teaches the operations with and without external power connected, but is silent about:
a controller configured to detect presence or absence of the power feeding from the external power source if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus and the power feeding from the external power source is absent,
However, Ishii teaches a charging control device for charging a power storage device mounted on a vehicle (Col 1 ll. 12-20), with a system that controls temperatures in the vehicle and is associated with the external charging system (A/C 20 when pre-air-conditioning is executed during external charging, Col 6 ll. 20-23), and describes the system in case where charging is interrupted due to a power failure of the power supply (col 2 ll. 17-20) and:
a controller configured to detect presence or absence of the power feeding from the external power source if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus (a power failure of external power supply 50 during external charging based on a detection value of voltage V from the voltage sensor (not shown) provided in charger 24 and pilot signal CPLT., Col 5 ll. 35-40), and configured to:
if the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus (inter alia, “It is noted that charger 24 is connected“ Col 4 ll. 59) and the power feeding from the external power source is absent (“when it is determined that a power failure occurs at external power supply 50, power failure determination unit 108 reports to that effect to charging control unit 104 and condition determination unit 112” Col 6 ll. 30-35).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, and Takemura with Ishii's teachings discussed above because “By providing such condition determination unit 112, charging of power storage device 12 can be completed by continuing external charging even after the charging end time in the case where external charging is not completed in accordance with the charging schedule due to some reason not owing to an equipment failure” Col 6 ll. 60-68 as taught by Ishii.
Julien teaches a combustion engine (asbtract) but Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura and Ishii is not explicit about the internal power source configured to store power for starting an engine as claimed.
However, Toki teaches a hybrid vehicle (title), and:
the internal power source configured to store power for starting an engine (“ an engine start control system […] based on the available output power or the potential power output with the battery and the battery power needed to start the engine, the former being calculated based on data indicating a relationship among a battery temperature, battery residual capacity, a battery temperature detected by a battery temperature sensor and battery capacity detected by a battery controller [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person having Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura and Ishii with Toki's structure discussed above in order to provide the “available output power to exceed a required power at the time of engine starting” as taught by Toki [0005].
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii and Toki, as discussed so far, is silent about:
control the temperature adjusting apparatus based on a temperature state and a state of charge of the internal power source to adjust the temperature of the internal power source to be equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start, using charged power of the internal power source
However, Takemura teaches:
control the temperature adjusting apparatus based on a temperature state (In the temperature keeping control, the electric power of the drive battery 31 is consumed by driving the object to be energized, and the battery temperature Tbt rises, Takemura [0077]) and a state of charge (as discussed above and taught by Taki; and as discussed above, Taki teaches the battery power needed to start the engine is calculate taking battery temperature into account) of the internal power source to adjust the temperature of the internal power source to be equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start, using charged power of the internal power source (Takemura [0067]; “When the battery temperature Tbt becomes higher than the temperature raising end temperature TB, the flight control device 40 proceeds to step S204. In step S204, the flight control device 40 terminates the take-off prohibition of the eVTOL 10. Here, take-off of the eVTOL 10 is permitted” [0068]);
Regarding claim 23, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura Ishii, and Toki teaches the invention as discussed for claim 22. Julien further teaches:
The temperature control system according to claim 22, wherein the controller is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent while the external power source is connected to the temperature adjusting apparatus (as already discussed), and a preflight-check period defined as a period before a time that is predetermined from an expected time of departure arrives (inter alia, a time before take off),
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki, as discussed so far, is silent about:
control the temperature adjusting apparatus to warm the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source , in response to the charged power of the internal power source being equal to or greater than a startable charge amount needed to start the engine and the temperature of the internal power source being lower than a flyable temperature needed to fly the aircraft.
However, Takemura further teaches:
control the temperature adjusting apparatus to warm the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source (In the temperature keeping control, the electric power of the drive battery 31 is consumed by driving the object to be energized, and the battery temperature Tbt rises, Takemura [0077]), in response to the charged power of the internal power source being equal to or greater than a startable charge amount needed to start the engine (as discussed above and taught by Taki; and as discussed above, Taki teaches the battery power needed to start the engine is calculate taking battery temperature into account) and the temperature of the internal power source being lower than a flyable temperature needed to fly the aircraft (Takemura [0067]; “When the battery temperature Tbt becomes higher than the temperature raising end temperature TB, the flight control device 40 proceeds to step S204. In step S204, the flight control device 40 terminates the take-off prohibition of the eVTOL 10. Here, take-off of the eVTOL 10 is permitted” [0068])
Regarding claim 24, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki teaches the invention as discussed for claim 23. Julien further teaches:
The temperature control system according to claim 23, wherein the controller is configured to start the engine if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start, and the charged power of the internal power source is equal to or greater than the startable charge amount.
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki, as discussed so far, is silent about:
the controller is configured to start the engine if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start,
However, Toki further teaches:
the controller is configured to start the engine if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than a startable temperature enabling the engine to start (inter alia, “Based on the state of the battery 30, the power control unit 602 refers to a map stored in advance and calculates an output of the battery 30, and subsequently controls the output of the battery 30 so that the output corresponding to the drive frequency of the inverter 35 may be output from the battery 30 to the inverter 35. The power control unit 602 uses the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 30, the temperature of the battery 30, and the degree of deterioration of the battery 30, etc., as representative of the state of the battery 30. The SOC of the battery 30 may be calculated by current and voltage detected by the current sensor and the voltage sensor 31, respectively, while temperature of the battery 30 is detectable by the temperature sensor 32. The map stored in the power control unit 602 relates output power of the battery 30 with respect to SOC, temperature of battery 30 and deterioration. In addition, the power control unit 602 refers to the map stored therein for calculation of output power of the battery 30 based on the calculated SOC and detected temperature” [0049], “Then, in step S4, in a situation in which the detected temperature (T) is equal to or greater than a threshold temperature (TL), the control routine or procedure following step S41 is now described with reference to FIG. 5b. In step S41, the voltage control unit 601 compares the power necessary to start the engine 10 with the output power (instantaneous value) of the battery 30. When the output power (instantaneous value) of battery 30 exceeds the required output power, control proceeds to step S43. On the other hand, when output power (instantaneous value) is below the required power, then the rotation speed setting unit 604 lowers the rotation speed of the motor/generator 20 for starting engine 10 in step S42. Thus, the power required for starting the engine 10 will be lower. Note that the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower the rotation speed stepwise, or alternatively, the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower to the rotation speed at which the required power corresponds to the output power” [0070] “an engine start control system […] based on the available output power or the potential power output with the battery and the battery power needed to start the engine, the former being calculated based on data indicating a relationship among a battery temperature, battery residual capacity, a battery temperature detected by a battery temperature sensor and battery capacity detected by a battery controller” [0005]), and the charged power of the internal power source is equal to or greater than the startable charge amount (“Then, in step S4, in a situation in which the detected temperature (T) is equal to or greater than a threshold temperature (TL), the control routine or procedure following step S41 is now described with reference to FIG. 5b. In step S41, the voltage control unit 601 compares the power necessary to start the engine 10 with the output power (instantaneous value) of the battery 30. When the output power (instantaneous value) of battery 30 exceeds the required output power, control proceeds to step S43. On the other hand, when output power (instantaneous value) is below the required power, then the rotation speed setting unit 604 lowers the rotation speed of the motor/generator 20 for starting engine 10 in step S42. Thus, the power required for starting the engine 10 will be lower. Note that the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower the rotation speed stepwise, or alternatively, the rotation speed setting unit 604 may lower to the rotation speed at which the required power corresponds to the output power” [0070], where output power, voltage, read on charge amount). Furthermore, a person having ordinary skills in the art would provide a system where the engine is started when the internal power source is charged to at least a startable amount. In this case there are two options, the internal power source is charged to at least a stable amount, or it can be below said amount. It is known that battery power is often used in the starting process of engines, and as discussed above, regarding the state of charge of the battery there is a “finite number” of possibilities, basically two possibilities, either the charge is sufficient to start the engine (a startable amount of charge), or it is not. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success (in the case of the present application, success would be the successful start of the engine, and failure would be the inability to start the engine or a hot-start etc), it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. MPEP 2143 (I)(E).
Regarding claim 26, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki teaches the invention as discussed for claim 23. Julien further teaches:
The temperature control system according to claim 24, wherein
the controller is configured to, during running of the engine (“the internal combustion engine 23 to control the flow of warm coolant to the battery pack 16” [0025], where warm coolant is produced when the engine is running), further detect
whether the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than the flyable temperature (“the battery pack 16 when the same is within an appropriate range of operating temperatures” [0025]), and configured to:
if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than the flyable temperature, control the temperature adjusting apparatus to keep the warmth of the internal power source using power generated by the engine (“the warm coolant to selectively bypass the battery pack 16 when the same is within an appropriate range of operating temperatures” [0025); and
if the temperature of the internal power source is lower than the flyable temperature, control the temperature adjusting apparatus to warm the internal power source using the power generated by the engine (“the waste heat picked up by the engine coolant and/or the engine lubricant while circulated through the internal combustion engine 23 could be used to preheat the battery pack 16 whenever the efficiency of the batteries is likely to be diminished by the environment temperature” [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki teaches the invention as discussed for claim 26. Julien further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to, during the running of the engine, further charge the internal power source using the power generated by the engine (the internal combustion engine 23 can be operated to drive the motor-generator 14 to generate electrical power for charging the batteries [0026])
Regarding claim 4, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki teaches the invention as discussed for claim 23. Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki, as discussed so far, is silent about
The temperature control system according to claim 23, wherein the controller control section is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent, control the temperature adjusting apparatus unit to keep the warmth of the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source, in response to the temperature of the internal power source being equal to or higher than the flyable temperature.
However, Takemura further teaches:
wherein the controller control section is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent, control the temperature adjusting apparatus unit to keep the warmth of the internal power source (“the flight control device 40 performs temperature keeping control in step S108. The flight control device 40 performs the temperature keeping control to keep the battery temperature Tbt." [0077]) using the charged power of the internal power source (In the temperature keeping control, the electric power of the drive battery 31 is consumed [0077]), in response to the temperature of the internal power source being equal to or higher than the flyable temperature (Fig. 3: "temperature Keeping Control" S108 takes place after S106; [0075-0077]; it is noted that the limitation "flyable temperature" is taught by "the end flag)
An aircraft comprising the temperature control system according to claim 1 (aircraft [0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki, teaches the invention as discussed for claim 23. Takemura further teaches:
wherein the control section is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is present (“being charged” [0120, 0125], S401 Fig 8) further detect whether the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than the flyable temperature (“when the battery temperature Tbt is higher than the temperature raising end temperature TB, the flight control device 40 terminates take-off prohibition of the eVTOL 10 [0130]) to:
if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than the flyable temperature, control the temperature adjusting unit to keep the warmth of the internal power source using the power feeding from the external power source (inter alia, “battery temperature keeping processing” [0140]);
and if the temperature of the internal power source is lower than the flyable temperature, control the temperature adjusting unit to warm the internal power source using the power feeding from the external power source (inter alia, “the battery temperature raising processing” [0140]).
Regarding claim 19, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki, teaches the invention as discussed for claim 22. Julien further teaches:
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien 20200130534 in view of Ohgaki 20190039477, Takemura 20240270414, Ishii 8896267, Toki 20130261865, and Ferreyra 20160340049.
Regarding claim 6, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki teaches the invention as discussed for claim 23. J Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki is silent about:
wherein the control section is configured to give a signal for restricting a flight of the aircraft, in response to the charged power of the internal power source being less than the startable charge amount.
However, Ferreyra teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to give a signal for restricting a flight of the aircraft, in response to the charged power of the internal power source being less than the startable charge amount (“If the battery level is not enough, the method comprises emitting a warning message (23) indicating insufficient battery level and shutting down the mentioned flight termination system” [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki with Ferreyra's structure discussed above in order to check “whether battery level of the flight termination system is enough for accomplishing the mission required for the UAV” [0053-0055].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien 20200130534 in view of Ohgaki 20190039477, Takemura 20240270414, Ishii 8896267, Toki 20130261865, Williams 20130164573 and Ferreyra 20160340049.
Regarding claim 7, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii Toki, Williams teaches the invention as discussed for claim 3. Julien in view of Takemura Ohgaki, Toki, Williams is silent about:
wherein the controller is configured to give a signal for restricting a flight of the aircraft, in response to the charged power of the internal power source being less than the startable charge amount.
However, Ferreyra teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to give a signal for restricting a flight of the aircraft, in response to the charged power of the internal power source being less than the startable charge amount (“If the battery level is not enough, the method comprises emitting a warning message (23) indicating insufficient battery level and shutting down the mentioned flight termination system” [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki, and Williams with Ferreyra's structure discussed above in order to check “whether battery level of the flight termination system is enough for accomplishing the mission required for the UAV” [0053-0055].
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien 20200130534 in view of Ohgaki 20190039477, Takemura 20240270414, Ishii 8896267, Toki 20130261865, and Lohe 20230155394.
Regarding claim 8, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki teaches the invention as discussed for claim 1. Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki is silent about:
wherein the controller n is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent, control the temperature adjusting unit to cool the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source, in response to the temperature of the internal power source being equal to or higher than an upper limit temperature of the internal power source.
However, Lohe teaches:
the controller is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent, control the temperature adjusting unit to cool the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source, in response to the temperature of the internal power source being equal to or higher than an upper limit temperature of the internal power source (“controller 208 may initiate reparative procedure of a circulation of a coolant through a cooling system of battery pack 104 to lower the temperature if a battery module if the determined temperature of the battery module exceeds a predetermined threshold” [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki with Lohe's structure discussed above in order to prevent the system from “working at a critical temperature level and at risk of catastrophic failure, such as short circuiting or catching fire” and “to lower the temperature if a battery module if the determined temperature of the battery module exceeds a predetermined threshold” as taught by Lohe [0035].
Regarding claim 17, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki teaches the invention as discussed for claim 26. Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki, as discussed so far, is silent about:
wherein the controller section is configured to, if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than an upper limit temperature of the internal power source, control the temperature adjusting apparatus to cool the internal power source using the power generated by the engine.
However, Lohe teaches:
the controller is configured to, if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than an upper limit temperature of the internal power source, control the temperature adjusting apparatus to cool the internal power source using the power generated by the engine (“controller 208 may initiate reparative procedure of a circulation of a coolant through a cooling system of battery pack 104 to lower the temperature if a battery module if the determined temperature of the battery module exceeds a predetermined threshold” [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki with Lohe's structure discussed above in order to prevent the system from “working at a critical temperature level and at risk of catastrophic failure, such as short circuiting or catching fire” and “to lower the temperature if a battery module if the determined temperature of the battery module exceeds a predetermined threshold” as taught by Lohe [0035].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien 20200130534 in view of Ohgaki 20190039477, Takemura 20240270414, Ishii 8896267, Toki 20130261865 and Ferreyra 20160340049.
Regarding claim 18, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii and Toki teaches the invention as discussed for claim 26.
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii and Toki, as discussed so far, is silent about giving a signal for permitting flight as claimed.
However, Takemura further teaches:
and if the temperature of the internal power source is equal to or higher than the flyable temperature and the charged power of the internal power source is equal to or greater than the flyable charge amount, give a signal for permitting a flight (“In step S204, the flight control device 40 terminates the take-off prohibition of the eVTOL 10. Here, take-off of the eVTOL 10 is permitted. The flight control device 40 clears the take-off prohibition flag set in the memory or the like” [0068])
Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii and Toki, as discussed so far, is silent about:
during the running of the engine, further detect whether the charged power of the internal power source is equal to or greater than a flyable charge amount needed to fly the aircraft
However, Ferreyra teaches:
during the running of the engine, further detect whether the charged power of the internal power source is equal to or greater than a flyable charge amount needed to fly the aircraft (“If the battery level is not enough, the method comprises emitting a warning message (23) indicating insufficient battery level and shutting down the mentioned flight termination system” [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii and Toki with Ferreyra’s structure discussed above in order to provide for “checking (22), before starting the flight, whether battery level of the flight termination system is enough for accomplishing the mission required for the UAV” as taught by Ferreyra [0053].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien 20200130534 in view of Ohgaki 20190039477, Takemura 20240270414, Ishii 8896267, Toki 20130261865, Williams 20130164573 and Lohe 20230155394.
Regarding claim 9, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki and Williams teaches the invention as discussed for claim 3. Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki and Williams is silent about:
wherein the controller is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent, control the temperature adjusting unit to cool the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source, in response to the temperature of the internal power source being equal to or higher than an upper limit temperature of the internal power source.
However, Lohe teaches:
the controller is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is absent, control the temperature adjusting unit to cool the internal power source using the charged power of the internal power source, in response to the temperature of the internal power source being equal to or higher than an upper limit temperature of the internal power source (“controller 208 may initiate reparative procedure of a circulation of a coolant through a cooling system of battery pack 104 to lower the temperature if a battery module if the determined temperature of the battery module exceeds a predetermined threshold” [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, Toki and Williams with Lohe's structure discussed above in order to prevent the system from “working at a critical temperature level and at risk of catastrophic failure, such as short circuiting or catching fire” and “to lower the temperature if a battery module if the determined temperature of the battery module exceeds a predetermined threshold” as taught by Lohe [0035].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julien 20200130534 in view of Ohgaki 20190039477, Takemura 20240270414, Ishi Toki 20130261865 and Wiegman 20230136908.
Regarding claim 12, Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki, teaches the invention as discussed for claim 10. J Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura , Ishii and Toki is silent about:
wherein the controller is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is present, control the temperature adjusting apparatus to cool the internal power source using the power feeding from the external power source, in response to the temperature of the internal power source being equal to or higher than an upper limit temperature of the internal power source.
However, Wiegman teaches:
the controller is configured to, if the power feeding from the external power source is present (via charging connector 108, Fig 1, [0032]), control the temperature adjusting apparatus to cool the internal power source using the power feeding from the external power source ([0032]), in response to the temperature of the internal power source ([0028]) being equal to or higher than an upper limit temperature of the internal power source (“Connector 108 may include multiple interfaces required for fast charging of electric vehicles including electric aircrafts. For example connector may include a coolant interface to deliver coolant to at least a battery of electric vehicle or aircraft during charging or recharging” [0032]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide J Julien in view of Ohgaki, Takemura, Ishii, and Toki with Wiegman's structure discussed above in order to “to deliver coolant to at least a battery of electric vehicle or aircraft during charging or recharging” [0032] as taught by Wiegman.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but they are not persuasive because they do not apply to the new combination of references, i.e., adding a new reference to the old combination of references, that was necessitated by applicant’s amendment. However, to the extent possible, applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejections above, at the appropriate location. It is believed that all arguments or questions are addressed in the rejections above.
Page 10 12/24/2025:
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but the examiner respectfully disagrees. The word “a temperature adjusting unit”, as seen in the previous set of claims, was interpreted under 112(f), and the current limitation “a cooling system configured to cool the internal power source” also appears to require a similar interpretation under 112(f), as discussed above. The examiner notes that the elements not present in the claim, requiring a 112(f) interpretation, are not about how the system is powered, but the actual cooling can be accomplished
Applicant argues on page 17-17:
Examiner’s response: Additional details regarding Toki are added in the rejection, in particular pointing to, inter alia, paragraphs [0049], [0070] to help applicant identify the teachings within the Toki reference.
Correspondence
/ROBERTO TOSHIHARU IGUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741