CTNF 18/186,262 CTNF 79996 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is responsive to communications filed on 03/20/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramjee et al. (US Patent 7975071) in view of Haitjema (HAITJEMA, M., "A Survey of the Prominent Quantum Key Distribution Protocols," 2007, 12 pages, retrieved from https://www.cse.wustl.edu/-jain/cse571-07/tp/quantum/index.html) . Regarding Claims 1-2, 8-9 & 15-16, Ramjee discloses a computer-implemented method/system/computer program product (Fig. 5-10, 13 & Col. 13, lines 34-56) comprising: transferring, by sender equipment to receiver equipment, the bits being used to obtain entry values in a shared dictionary (Fig. 1, element 110, 116 & Fig. 3, elements 310, 312, 314, 316 & Abstract, lines 9-14 & Col. 1, lines 50-61 & Col. 3, lines 45-60 & Col. 4, lines 1-14) { Interpretation : The reference discloses the “sender” transmitting/sending/transferring to a receiver entry values in a shared dictionary via the control channel}; determining, by the sender equipment, a solution for an optimization problem using the entry values, wherein data to be transferred over a telecommunications network is expressed by the optimization problem (Col. 3, lines 25-38, 45-60 & Col. 5, lines 17-25) { Interpretation : The reference discloses choosing /determining from various compression algorithms suitable for the application in the data transfer which is interpreted as the solution of the optimization problem}; and transferring, by the sender equipment, the solution over the telecommunications network to the receiver equipment, wherein an equivalence of the data is transferred to the receiver equipment in response to the receiver equipment using the solution, the optimization problem, and the entry values to obtain the data (Fig. 1, element 110, 116 & Fig. 3, elements 310, 312, 314, 316 & Abstract, lines 9-14 & Col. 1, lines 5-17, 50-61 & Col. 3, lines 45-60 & Col. 4, lines 1-14) {Interpretation: The reference discloses transferring compressed data (equivalence of raw data) over a WLAN network to a receiver wherein the compression used is the solution for the optimization problem}. Ramjee further discloses the system comprising a memory having computer readable instructions (Col. 14, lines 6-67 & Fig. 13, elements 1330, 1340, 1350). However, Ramjee does not disclose transferring, by sender equipment, quantum bits over a quantum communications network to receiver equipment. Haitjema, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a communication system comprising plural parallel channels (Fig. 1) including a conventional network (Fig. 1, “Classical Channel”) and a quantum communications network (Fig. 1, “Quantum Channel”). Haitjema further discloses transferring quantum bits over a quantum communications network to receiver equipment using quantum cryptography and using quantum key distribution (QKD) (Sec. 1, Introduction & Sec. 2, Fundamentals of Quantum Cryptography). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the quantum communications network (channel) as described in Haitjema in the method as described in Ramjee so as to be able to send the control information through a quantum control channel to send the information with increased security. Regarding Claims 3, 10 & 17, Ramjee in view Haitjema discloses a computer-implemented method/system/computer program product as recited above. Ramjee further discloses transferring the solution and the optimization problem over the telecommunications network to the receiver equipment occurs without transferring the data over the telecommunications network (Fig. 1, element 110, 116 & Fig. 3, elements 310, 312, 314, 316 & Abstract, lines 9-14 & Col. 1, lines 5-17, 50-61 & Col. 3, lines 45- 60 & Col. 4, lines 1-14) {Interpretation: The reference discloses transferring compressed (solution) data (equivalence of raw data) over a WLAN network to a receiver wherein the compression used is the solution for the optimization problem}. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention Ramjee in view Haitjema satisfies the limitations of the claim. Regarding Claims 5, 12 & 19, Ramjee in view Haitjema discloses a computer-implemented method/system/computer program product as recited above. Haitjema further discloses the states of the quantum bits are read to result in a random number, the random number being utilized to search the shared dictionary (Sec. 3, Protocols Utilizing Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle, line 5 & Page 6, Sec. 3.1, BB84 Protocol) {Interpretation: The reference discloses transmitting a secret random key including random bits over the quantum channel}. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the states of the quantum bits are read to result in a random number to send the information with increased security . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 6-7, 11, 13-14, 18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramjee et al. (US Patent 7975071) in view of Haitjema (HAITJEMA, M., "A Survey of the Prominent Quantum Key Distribution Protocols," 2007, 12 pages, retrieved from https://www.cse.wustl.edu/-jain/cse571-07/tp/quantum/index.html) and further in view of Greenberg et al. (PG-PUB 2020/0293935) . Regarding Claims 4, 11 & 18, Ramjee in view Haitjema discloses a computer-implemented method/system/computer program product as recited above. Ramjee further discloses an algorithm for the optimization problem is selected from a group consisting of a linear minimization algorithm (Col. 3, lines 21-37, 50-60 & Col. 5, lines 19-25 & Col. 7, lines 35-50 & Col. 8, lines 12-45). However, Ramjee in view Haitjema does not disclose a linear minimization algorithm and a least square reduction algorithm. Greenberg, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a linear minimization algorithm and a least square reduction algorithm (Fig.’s 4, 5 & ¶ [0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement a linear minimization algorithm and a least square reduction algorithm as described in Greenberg in Ramjee in view of Haitjema so as to be able to implement high compression ratios and reduce memory and storage consumption. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that implementing a least square reduction algorithm includes a curve fitting including polynomials comprising coefficients and residuals. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUDHANSHU C PATHAK whose telephone number is (571)272-5509. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-to-Fri between 9am-to-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kathleen Bragdon can be reached at (571)272-0931. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SUDHANSHU C PATHAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 6214 Application/Control Number: 18/186,262 Page 2 Art Unit: 6214 Application/Control Number: 18/186,262 Page 3 Art Unit: 6214 Application/Control Number: 18/186,262 Page 4 Art Unit: 6214 Application/Control Number: 18/186,262 Page 5 Art Unit: 6214 Application/Control Number: 18/186,262 Page 6 Art Unit: 6214