Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruettinger et al (US 20230233972; hereinafter Ruettinger) in view of Gaur et al (US 20210046417; hereinafter Gaur).
As regarding claim 1, Ruettinger discloses the claimed invention for a direct air capture of CO2 ([0005]) system, comprising: a chamber defining a microwave cavity and having an upstream end and an opposing downstream end (figs. 2-3; no number); a microwave heating unit (203, 303, [0056] and [0059]) coupled to the chamber in electromagnetic communication with the microwave cavity; a sorbent structure ([0044]) carried within and filling the chamber.
Ruettinger does not disclose the sorbent structure including one or more porous support structures each carrying nanoparticles of CO2 adsorbent material, the one or more porous support structures having a plurality of pores and channels formed therethrough providing a large area of surfaces coated by the CO2 adsorbent material.
Gaur teaches the sorbent structure including one or more porous support structures each carrying nanoparticles ([0059], claim 1; figs. 1 and 9) of CO2 adsorbent material, the one or more porous support structures having a plurality of pores and channels formed therethrough providing a large area of surfaces coated by the CO2 adsorbent material. Both Ruettinger and Gaur are directed to carbon dioxide adsorption. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the sorbent structure including one or more porous support structures each carrying nanoparticles of CO2 adsorbent material, the one or more porous support structures having a plurality of pores and channels formed therethrough providing a large area of surfaces coated by the CO2 adsorbent material as taught by Gaur in order to maximize accessible surface area and adsorption sites, accelerate CO2 capture and release, and improve mass and heat transfer efficiency.
Ruettinger as modified discloses a motor fan (Gaur - 440) coupled to the downstream end of the chamber to create an air flow from the upstream end to the downstream end and draw air through the chamber and the sorbent structure carried therein.
As regarding claim 2, Ruettinger as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruettinger as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the CO2 adsorbent material are hybrid amines, consisting of at least two amine or polyamine components chosen from the list of monoethanolamine, methyldiethanolamine, diethanolamine, ethylenediamine, aminomethyl propanol, diisopropylamine, triethylenetetramine, diethylenetriamine, triethanolamine, tetraethylenepentamine, piperazine, as well as amino group containing polymers including polyethyleneimine, polyacrylamide and chitosan ([0044]-[0045]).
Alternatively, Ruettinger as modified does not disclose wherein the CO2 adsorbent material are hybrid amines, consisting of at least two amine or polyamine components chosen from the list of monoethanolamine, methyldiethanolamine, diethanolamine, ethylenediamine, aminomethyl propanol, diisopropylamine, triethylenetetramine, diethylenetriamine, triethanolamine, tetraethylenepentamine, piperazine, as well as amino group containing polymers including polyethyleneimine, polyacrylamide and chitosan. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the CO2 adsorbent material are hybrid amines, consisting of at least two amine or polyamine components chosen from the list of monoethanolamine, methyldiethanolamine, diethanolamine, ethylenediamine, aminomethyl propanol, diisopropylamine, triethylenetetramine, diethylenetriamine, triethanolamine, tetraethylenepentamine, piperazine, as well as amino group containing polymers including polyethyleneimine, polyacrylamide and chitosan in order to enhance direct air capture system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Masoudi et al (US 20210349065; hereinafter Masoudi; [0118], [0125], [0127] and [0178]).
As regarding claim 3, Ruettinger as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruettinger as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the one or more porous support structures include microwave absorptive materials, chosen from activated carbon, silicon carbide or both. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the one or more porous support structures include microwave absorptive materials, chosen from activated carbon, silicon carbide or both in order to enhance direct air capture system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Yeh et al (US 20200164339; hereinafter Yeh; [0034]).
As regarding claim 4, Ruettinger as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruettinger as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the one or more porous support structures further include structure strengthening materials chosen from alumina, silica, magnesium oxide, cerium oxide, zeolite, cordierite or combinations thereof, which are generally transparent to microwave energy. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the one or more porous support structures further include structure strengthening materials chosen from alumina, silica, magnesium oxide, cerium oxide, zeolite, cordierite or combinations thereof, which are generally transparent to microwave energy in order to enhance direct air capture system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Kimura et al (US 20180050322; hereinafter Kimura; claim 29).
As regarding claim 5, Ruettinger as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruettinger as modified discloses the claimed invention for a shutter assembly (fig. 2; no number) coupled to the upstream end of the chamber, the shutter assembly movable between an open position allowing air to the upstream end, and a closed position, preventing air from entering the upstream end.
Alternative, it is well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a vale upstream (shutter assembly) of the chamber in order to control the fluid flow into the chamber.
As regarding claim 6, Ruettinger as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruettinger as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the one or more porous support structures are pellets, granules, or a honeycomb structure ([0044]).
As regarding claim 7, Ruettinger as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruettinger as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the microwave heating unit generates microwaves at 915 MHz or 2.45 GHz frequency for selective heating of the CO2 adsorbent material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the microwave heating unit generates microwaves at 915 MHz or 2.45 GHz frequency for selective heating of the CO2 adsorbent material in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claim 8, Ruettinger as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruettinger as modified discloses the claimed invention for a duct (figs. 2-3; 201 or 202) having an inlet end and an outlet end, the chamber carried within the duct intermediate the inlet end and the outlet end, the motor fan a motor fan (Gaur - 440) carried by the duct proximate the outlet end and adjacent the downstream end of the chamber.
Claims 9-13 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those outlined with respect to claims 1-8 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773