The present application, filed on or after 16 Mar 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents Claims 1-15 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-15 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
+_+_+ Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Azuma – U.S. Pub. 20230108583 +_+_+
As for Claim 1, Azuma teaches a sensor configured to measure a distance to an object by observing light reflected by the object, and photoelectrically converts the light reflected by the object to output a signal (¶4|2: “The distance measurement device includes: a light emitting unit that emits pulsed light; a light receiving unit that receives light including reflected light due to the pulsed light; and a calculation unit that uses a time of flight of the light received by the light receiving unit to calculate an object distance, which is a distance to an object that reflects the pulsed light and outputs the reflected light.”); an acquisition unit configured to acquire the signal (¶4|3: “a light receiving unit that receives light including reflected light due to the pulsed light….”); a determination unit configured to determine whether or not a predetermined condition is satisfied based on rising of the signal and falling of the signal (¶45|1: “The time of flight specification unit 250 specifies two times of flight (rise time and fall time described later), at which received light intensity agrees with the first threshold received light intensity, in the histogram generated by the histogram generation unit 230.”); a generation unit configured to generate information regarding fluctuation in intensity of the light reflected by the object in a case where the predetermined condition is determined a predetermined number of times not to be satisfied (¶50|4: “Specifically, the composite peak portion estimation unit 240 specifies, in the histogram, a portion in which time of flight, at which received light intensity exceeds the first threshold received light intensity, continues for a predetermined time period or more to specify a composite peak portion.”); and a display configured to display the information regarding fluctuation in intensity of the light reflected by the object (Fig. 4, Histogram Generation Unit 230, Memory 290, ¶39|1: “As illustrated in FIG. 4, the calculation unit 20 includes the calculation unit 20, an addition unit 220, a histogram generation unit 230, a composite peak portion estimation unit 240, a time of flight (time-of-flight) specification unit 250, a base time of flight (base time-of-flight) determination unit 260, a distance calculation unit 270, a control unit 280, and a memory 290 [to store the histograms, which display ‘the information regarding fluctuation in intensity’].”)
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Azuma teaches wherein the signal is a rectangular wave signal, and the predetermined condition is a condition that a width of the rectangular wave signal, the width being a width from rising of the rectangular wave signal to falling of the rectangular wave signal, is equal to or more than a first predetermined width and equal to or less than a second predetermined width (Fig. 4, showing pulsed and received signals as rectangular waves. Further, (¶120|1) “(HS) In the sixth embodiment, in step S132, if it is determined that a pulse width of the composite peak portion is not the predetermined threshold width or smaller.”)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 2, Azuma teaches wherein the sensor includes a light emitting unit (Fig. 4, light emitting unit 40), a light receiving unit (Fig. 4, light receiving unit 60), a window (Fig. 4, window 92), and a signal processor (Fig. 3, SPAD circuit 68), the signal processor is configured to: output a first rectangular wave signal by photoelectrically converting light received by the light receiving unit in a case where light that is emitted from the light emitting unit, passes through the window, and is reflected by the object passes through the window and is received by the light receiving unit (Fig. 4, light emitting unit 40, light receiving unit 60, window 92); and output a second rectangular wave signal by photoelectrically converting light received by the light receiving unit in a case where light that is emitted from the light emitting unit and reflected by the window is received by the light receiving unit (Fig. 4, showing unit receiving rectangular wave), the acquisition unit is configured to acquire the first rectangular wave signal and the second rectangular wave signal (Fig. 4, P3 and P2), and the determination unit is configured to determine whether abnormality occurs on a side of the object or a side of the window based on a width of the first rectangular wave signal (¶46|1: “The peak intensity means the maximum received light intensity of a peak portion, which corresponds to the peak intensity 14 in the composite peak portion mp0 in FIG. 5. The noise intensity means received light intensity of light (hereinafter, referred to as noise light) other than reflected light due to pulsed light.”), the width being a width from rising of the first rectangular wave signal to falling of the first rectangular wave signal and a width of the second rectangular wave signal, the width being a width from rising of the second rectangular wave signal to falling of the second rectangular wave signal (¶46|1: “The peak intensity means the maximum received light intensity of a peak portion, which corresponds to the peak intensity 14 in the composite peak portion mp0 in FIG. 5. The noise intensity means received light intensity of light (hereinafter, referred to as noise light) other than reflected light due to pulsed light.”)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 3, Azuma teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to: determine that abnormality occurs on the side of the object in a case where it is determined a predetermined number of times that a width of the first rectangular wave signal is not equal to or more than the first predetermined width and equal to or less than the second predetermined width and a width of the second rectangular wave signal is equal to or more than a third predetermined width and equal to or less than a fourth predetermined width (¶46|1: “The peak intensity means the maximum received light intensity of a peak portion, which corresponds to the peak intensity 14 in the composite peak portion mp0 in FIG. 5. The noise intensity means received light intensity of light (hereinafter, referred to as noise light) other than reflected light due to pulsed light.”); and determine that abnormality occurs on the side of the window in a case where it is determined a predetermined number of times that a width of the first rectangular wave signal is not equal to or more than the first predetermined width and equal to or less than the second predetermined width and a width of the second rectangular wave signal is not equal to or more than the third predetermined width and equal to or less than the fourth predetermined width (¶46|1: “The peak intensity means the maximum received light intensity of a peak portion, which corresponds to the peak intensity 14 in the composite peak portion mp0 in FIG. 5. The noise intensity means received light intensity of light (hereinafter, referred to as noise light) other than reflected light due to pulsed light.”)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 2, Azuma teaches wherein the sensor includes a light emitting unit, a light receiving unit, a window, a signal processor, an emitter, a reflector, and an optical receiver, the signal processor is configured to output the rectangular wave signal by photoelectrically converting light received by the light receiving unit in a case where light that is emitted from the light emitting unit, passes through the window, and is reflected by the object passes through the window and is received by the light receiving unit, the acquisition unit is configured to acquire the rectangular wave signal, and a light amount obtained when light that is emitted from the emitter, passes through the window, and is reflected by the reflector and light that is emitted from the emitter and reflected by the window are received by the optical receiver (<< all elements are illustrated in Fig. 4, as already detailed in the preceding Claim 3), and the determination unit is configured to determine whether abnormality occurs on a side of the object or a side of the window based on a width of the rectangular wave signal, the width being the width from rising of the rectangular wave signal to falling of the rectangular wave signal, and the light amount (¶46|1: “The peak intensity means the maximum received light intensity of a peak portion, which corresponds to the peak intensity 14 in the composite peak portion mp0 in FIG. 5. The noise intensity means received light intensity of light (hereinafter, referred to as noise light) other than reflected light due to pulsed light.”)
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 5, Azuma teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to: determine that abnormality occurs on the side of the object in a case where it is determined a predetermined number of times that a width of the rectangular wave signal is not equal to or more than the first predetermined width and equal to or less than the second predetermined width and the light amount is included in a predetermined range; and determine that abnormality occurs on the side of the window in a case where it is determined a predetermined number of times that a width of the rectangular wave signal is not equal to or more than the first predetermined width and equal to or less than the second predetermined width and the light amount is not included in the predetermined range (¶46|9: “The noise intensity can be determined as an average value of received light intensity for a predetermined time period measured at the timing at which the light emitting unit 40 is not emitting pulsed light.”)
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 1, Azuma teaches wherein the signal is an analog waveform signal, and the predetermined condition is a condition that elapsed time from a timing at which rising of the analog waveform signal exceeds a first threshold to a timing at which falling of the analog waveform signal falls below a second threshold is equal to or more than first predetermined time and equal to or less than second predetermined time (¶46|1: “The peak intensity means the maximum received light intensity of a peak portion, which corresponds to the peak intensity 14 in the composite peak portion mp0 in FIG. 5. The noise intensity means received light intensity of light (hereinafter, referred to as noise light) other than reflected light due to pulsed light.”)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 7, Azuma teaches wherein the sensor includes a light emitting unit, a light receiving unit, a window, and a signal processor, the signal processor is configured to: output a first analog waveform signal by photoelectrically converting light received by the light receiving unit in a case where light that is emitted from the light emitting unit, passes through the window, and is reflected by the object passes through the window and is received by the light receiving unit; and output a second analog waveform signal by photoelectrically converting light received by the light receiving unit in a case where light that is emitted from the light emitting unit and reflected by the window is received by the light receiving unit, the acquisition unit is configured to acquire the first analog waveform signal and the second analog waveform signal (<< all elements are illustrated in Fig. 4, as already detailed in the preceding claims) and the determination unit is configured to determine whether abnormality occurs on a side of the object or a side of the window based on first elapsed time from a timing at which rising of the first analog waveform signal exceeds the first threshold to a timing at which falling of the first analog waveform signal falls below the second threshold, and second elapsed time from a timing at which rising of the second analog waveform signal exceeds a third threshold to a timing at which falling of the second analog waveform signal falls below a fourth threshold (¶46|9: “The noise intensity can be determined as an average value of received light intensity for a predetermined time period measured at the timing at which the light emitting unit 40 is not emitting pulsed light. In the expression (1), (peak intensity-noise intensity) is also referred to as reflected light intensity. In the expression (1), the received light intensity obtained by adding a value, which is 40 percent of reflected light intensity, to noise intensity is set as the first threshold received light intensity. Instead of 40 percent, any percentage less than or more than 40 percent may be used. In the example illustrated in FIG. 5, at two times Tul, Tdl, the histogram hrl matches with the first threshold received light intensity 13. The time of flight specification unit 250 specifies time Tul, which is earlier than Tdl, as the rise time Tul, and specifies time Tdl, which is later than Tul, as the fall time Tdl.”)
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 8, Azuma teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to: determine that abnormality occurs on the side of the object in a case where it is determined a predetermined number of times that the first elapsed time is not equal to or more than the first predetermined time and equal to or less than the second predetermined time and the second elapsed time is equal to or more than third predetermined time and equal to or less than fourth predetermined time; and determine that abnormality occurs on a side of the object or a side of the window in a case where it is determined a predetermined number of times that the first elapsed time is not equal to or more than the first predetermined time and equal to or less than the second predetermined time and the second elapsed time is not equal to or more than the third predetermined time and equal to or less than the fourth predetermined time (¶46|9: “The noise intensity can be determined as an average value of received light intensity for a predetermined time period measured at the timing at which the light emitting unit 40 is not emitting pulsed light.”)
As for Claim 10, which depends on Claim 7, Azuma teaches wherein the sensor includes a light emitting unit, a light receiving unit, a window, a signal processor, an emitter, a reflector, and an optical receiver, the signal processor is configured to output the analog waveform signal by photoelectrically converting light received by the light receiving unit in a case where light that is emitted from the light emitting unit, passes through the window, and is reflected by the object passes through the window and is received by the light receiving unit, the acquisition unit is configured to acquire the analog waveform signal, and a light amount obtained when light that is emitted from the emitter, passes through the window, and is reflected by the reflector and light that is emitted from the emitter and reflected by the window are received by the optical receiver (<< all elements are illustrated in Fig. 4, as already detailed in the preceding claims), and the determination unit is configured to determine whether abnormality occurs on the object side or the window side based on elapsed time from a timing at which rising of the analog waveform signal exceeds the first threshold to a timing at which falling of the analog waveform signal falls below the second threshold, and the light amount (¶45|1: “The time of flight specification unit 250 specifies two times of flight (rise time and fall time described later), at which received light intensity agrees with the first threshold received light intensity, in the histogram generated by the histogram generation unit 230. The first threshold received light intensity is a threshold value of received light intensity that is used when an object distance is calculated and is used for determining rise time and fall time of a peak portion of the histogram.” Further, (¶46|1) “[t]he peak intensity means the maximum received light intensity of a peak portion, which corresponds to the peak intensity 14 in the composite peak portion mp0 in FIG. 5. The noise intensity means received light intensity of light (hereinafter, referred to as noise light) other than reflected light due to pulsed light.”)
As for Claim 11, which depends on Claim 10, Azuma teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to: determine that abnormality occurs on the side of the object in a case where it is determined a predetermined number of times that the elapsed time is not equal to or more than the first predetermined time and equal to or less than the second predetermined time and the light amount is included in a predetermined range; and determine that abnormality occurs on the side of the window in a case where it is determined a predetermined number of times that the elapsed time is not equal to or more than the first predetermined time and equal to or less than the second predetermined time and the light amount is not included in the predetermined range (¶46|9: “The noise intensity can be determined as an average value of received light intensity for a predetermined time period measured at the timing at which the light emitting unit 40 is not emitting pulsed light. In the expression (1), (peak intensity-noise intensity) is also referred to as reflected light intensity. In the expression (1), the received light intensity obtained by adding a value, which is 40 percent of reflected light intensity, to noise intensity is set as the first threshold received light intensity. Instead of 40 percent, any percentage less than or more than 40 percent may be used. In the example illustrated in FIG. 5, at two times Tul, Tdl, the histogram hrl matches with the first threshold received light intensity 13. The time of flight specification unit 250 specifies time Tul, which is earlier than Tdl, as the rise time Tul, and specifies time Tdl, which is later than Tul, as the fall time Tdl.”)
As for Claim 12, which depends on Claim 1, Azuma teaches wherein the sensor is configured to output the signal in a plurality of directions by measuring the plurality of directions (Fig. 1, scanning mirror 54, scanner 58, and scanner output 80, showing signal is output in various directions), the acquisition unit is configured to acquire the signal in the plurality of directions, the determination unit is configured to determine whether or not the predetermined condition is satisfied based on rising of the signal and falling of the signal in at least one direction of the plurality of directions, and the generation unit is configured to generate information regarding fluctuation in intensity of light reflected by the object in a case where the predetermined condition is determined a predetermined number of times not to be satisfied for at least one direction of the plurality of directions (¶46|9: “The noise intensity can be determined as an average value of received light intensity for a predetermined time period measured at the timing at which the light emitting unit 40 is not emitting pulsed light. In the expression (1), (peak intensity-noise intensity) is also referred to as reflected light intensity. In the expression (1), the received light intensity obtained by adding a value, which is 40 percent of reflected light intensity, to noise intensity is set as the first threshold received light intensity. Instead of 40 percent, any percentage less than or more than 40 percent may be used. In the example illustrated in FIG. 5, at two times Tul, Tdl, the histogram hrl matches with the first threshold received light intensity 13. The time of flight specification unit 250 specifies time Tul, which is earlier than Tdl, as the rise time Tul, and specifies time Tdl, which is later than Tul, as the fall time Tdl.”)
As for Claim 13, which depends on Claim 3, Azuma teaches wherein the generation unit is configured to generate information regarding abnormality on the side of the object in a case where the determination unit determines that abnormality occurs on the side of the object, and generate information regarding abnormality on the side of the window in a case where the determination unit determines that abnormality occurs on the side of the window, and the display is configured to display the information regarding abnormality on the side of the object or the information regarding abnormality on the side of the window (¶46|9: “The noise intensity can be determined as an average value of received light intensity for a predetermined time period measured at the timing at which the light emitting unit 40 is not emitting pulsed light. In the expression (1), (peak intensity-noise intensity) is also referred to as reflected light intensity. In the expression (1), the received light intensity obtained by adding a value, which is 40 percent of reflected light intensity, to noise intensity is set as the first threshold received light intensity. Instead of 40 percent, any percentage less than or more than 40 percent may be used. In the example illustrated in FIG. 5, at two times Tul, Tdl, the histogram hrl matches with the first threshold received light intensity 13. The time of flight specification unit 250 specifies time Tul, which is earlier than Tdl, as the rise time Tul, and specifies time Tdl, which is later than Tul, as the fall time Tdl.”)
Claim 14-15 recite substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 and stand rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Conclusion
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645