DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a pneumatic transmission device" in claims 1 and 13.
The limitation "pneumatic transmission device" is sufficiently described in the specification as a fan or a pneumatic pump (see claims 3, 14 and paragraph 10, specification)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen (CN 105591294 A) and in view of Takasaki (US 2018/0279506 A1) and further in view of Mashiko (US 2009/0120949 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Wen discloses an inverter (inverter within grid control device, see paragraph 33), comprising:
a cabinet compartment (cabinet compartment within enclosure 1, see paragraphs 30, 6-9; and figs. 1-4) configured to house electrical elements of the inverter (power grid control device, temperature and humidity detection devices housed within cabinet, see paragraph 33, where the power grid access control device includes the inverter);
a ventilation structure (air intake and exhaust system, see paragraph 33), wherein the ventilation structure is installed on a surface of a cabinet compartment (air intake and air exhaust openings on the surface of the cabinet body 1, see fig. 3 and paragraphs 33-34) of the inverter (inverter included within the grid control device cabinet 1, see paragraph 33); and a pneumatic transmission device (fans 6, 7, see paragraph 34 and fig. 3), wherein: the pneumatic transmission device is located in the cabinet compartment (exhaust fan 6 as part of the cooling and dehumidification device within cabinet 1, see fig. 3 and paragraph 34), a breathable filter (air filter, see paragraph 19) is disposed at the cabinet wall and the air outlet of the ventilation system (see paragraphs 19 and 34); and the pneumatic transmission device is configured to blow air in the cabinet compartment toward the breathable film in response to at least one preset condition being met (airflow by exhaust fan 6 towards the air exhaust outlet and air outlet filter, see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 34-35; fan control based on temperature detected by temperature detection device, to ensure cabinet in a comfortable temperature state, see paragraph 9-10, 21 and 33), so that the air in the cabinet compartment flows out of the cabinet compartment through the breathable filter (see fig. 3), wherein the at least one preset condition comprises at least one of the following:
the inverter is running (alternative limitation),
humidity in the cabinet compartment is higher than preset humidity (alternative limitation), and
a temperature in the cabinet compartment is higher than a preset temperature (fan control based on temperature detected by temperature detection device, to ensure cabinet in a comfortable temperature state, see paragraph 9-10, 21 and 33; and exhaust fan operated when temperature inside the cabinet rises to a certain set value, see paragraph 38).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach that the ventilation system includes a valve on a surface of the compartment and the breathable film is attached to the valve.
Takasaki teaches plug-in unit electronic components (10) with a ventilation valve (louver valve 42, 42Ac, see figs. 5), and a pneumatic transmission fan (41), where the fan is located in the cabinet compartment (see fan 40, 41 within housing, fig. 3), the fan is configured to blow air in the cabinet toward the valve (fans 41 operated to flow air towards the valve 42, see fig. 3 and paragraph 34); wherein the valve is attached to the wall of the compartment of the electronic components (louver 42 attached to the surface of enclosure 100, see figs. 2-3 and 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inverter housing/compartment of Wen by providing a ventilation system including a valve on a surface of the compartment, where the fan is located in the cabinet compartment, the fan is configured to blow air in the cabinet toward the valve; and wherein the valve is attached to the wall of the compartment of the electronic components based on the teachings of Takasaki in order to open and close the shutter/louver valve of the enclosure to improve efficiency of the cooling of heat generating electronic devices within the compartment (see paragraph 4, Takasaki).
Wen also does not explicitly teach that the breathable film is attached to the valve.
However, Mashiko discloses a cabinet compartment (compartment within housing 51, figs. 1-3, 7-14) configured to house electrical elements such batteries, control units, capacitors (electrical components housed within the housing 51, see paragraphs 1-2, 102); a ventilation valve (valve 5) configured to balance pressure between the inside and the outside of the cabinet compartment (see pressure balancing by opening of valve 5, paragraphs 43, 45), wherein the ventilation valve being installed on a surface of the cabinet compartment (ventilation member on the surface of a housing 51, see figs. 1 and paragraphs 1-2, 102, 43-49); and a breathable film (permeable membrane 2, 3, see paragraph 40 and figs. 1) disposed on the ventilation valve (membrane 2 disposed on the valve 5, see fig. 1A and paragraph 40), and air in the cabinet flows out of the cabinet compartment through the breathable film (air discharged through ventilation member 21, see fig. 1 and paragraph 43).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ventilation valve of the inverter of Wen by providing a ventilation valve, wherein the ventilation valve is configured to balance pressure between the inside and the outside of the cabinet compartment and the ventilation valve is installed on a surface of a cabinet compartment; and a breathable film disposed on the ventilation valve, and air in the cabinet flows out of the cabinet compartment through the breathable film based on the teachings of Mashiko in order to allow gas to escape the compartment and absorb water molecules and moisture present in the air being pushed by the fan through the breathable film (see abstract and paragraph 2, Mashiko).
In regards to claim 2, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a controller (controller, see paragraph 9), wherein the controller is configured to, in response to the at least one preset condition being met: control the pneumatic transmission device to work (controller operates exhaust fan 6, see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 34-36; wherein, fan control is based on temperature detected by temperature detection device, to ensure cabinet in a comfortable temperature state, see paragraph 9-10, 21 and 33), so that the air in the cabinet compartment flows out of the cabinet compartment through the breathable filter (see exhaust fan 6 in front of the air outlet to flow out air in the cabinet compartment, 1, fig. 3; wherein air filter is placed at the air outlet, see paragraph 19, which implies that airflow generated by exhaust fan 6 flows air through the breathable filter); and the pneumatic transmission device is configured to blow the air in the cabinet compartment toward the breathable filter in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the breathable filter (exhaust air flow by fan 6 is perpendicular to the air outlet, see fig. 3, which implies that airflow would be perpendicular to the breathable filter placed at the air outlet). In addition, Takasaki teaches a fan blowing air perpendicular to the valve at the air outlet (see figs. 2-3 and 5); and Mashiko teaches supplying airflow perpendicular to the breathable permeable membrane (2), the valve (5) and the opening (21, see figs. 1 and 7-11, gas moves up through the membrane 2, the valve 5 and then through the ventilation member 21, where the upward direction of gas flow is perpendicular to the permeable membrane 2, paragraph 43).
In regards to claim 3, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the pneumatic transmission device is a fan or a pneumatic pump (exhaust fan 6, see fig. 3 and paragraphs 34-36).
In regards to claim 13, Wen discloses a method (cooling and heat extraction by fans 6, 7) for an inverter (inverter within grid control device, see paragraph 33), wherein the inverter comprises:
a cabinet compartment (cabinet compartment within enclosure 1, see paragraphs 30, 6-9; and figs. 1-4) configured to house electrical elements of the inverter (power grid control device, temperature and humidity detection devices housed within cabinet, see paragraph 33, where the power grid access control device includes the inverter);
a ventilation structure (air intake and exhaust system, see paragraph 33), wherein the ventilation structure is installed on a surface of a cabinet compartment (air intake and air exhaust openings on the surface of the cabinet body 1, see fig. 3 and paragraphs 33-34) of the inverter (inverter included within the grid control device cabinet 1, see paragraph 33); and a pneumatic transmission device (fans 6, 7, see paragraph 34 and fig. 3), wherein: the pneumatic transmission device is located in the cabinet compartment (exhaust fan 6 as part of the cooling and dehumidification device within cabinet 1, see fig. 3 and paragraph 34), a breathable filter (air filter, see paragraph 19) is disposed at the cabinet wall and the air outlet of the ventilation system (see paragraphs 19 and 34); and the pneumatic transmission device is configured to blow air in the cabinet compartment toward the breathable film in response to at least one preset condition being met (airflow by exhaust fan 6 towards the air exhaust outlet and air outlet filter, see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 34-35; fan control based on temperature detected by temperature detection device, to ensure cabinet in a comfortable temperature state, see paragraph 9-10, 21 and 33), so that the air in the cabinet compartment flows out of the cabinet compartment through the breathable filter (see fig. 3), wherein the at least one preset condition comprises at least one of the following:
the inverter is running (alternative limitation),
humidity in the cabinet compartment is higher than a preset humidity (alternative limitation), and
a temperature in the cabinet compartment is higher than a preset temperature (fan control based on temperature detected by temperature detection device, to ensure cabinet in a comfortable temperature state, see paragraph 9-10, 21 and 33; and exhaust fan operated when temperature inside the cabinet rises to a certain set value, see paragraph 38).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach that the ventilation system includes a valve on a surface of the compartment and the breathable film is attached to the valve.
Takasaki teaches plug-in unit electronic components (10) with a ventilation valve (louver valve 42, 42Ac, see figs. 5), and a pneumatic transmission fan (41), where the fan is located in the cabinet compartment (see fan 40, 41 within housing, fig. 3), the fan is configured to blow air in the cabinet toward the valve (fans 41 operated to flow air towards the valve 42, see fig. 3 and paragraph 34); wherein the valve is attached to the wall of the compartment of the electronic components (louver 42 attached to the surface of enclosure 100, see figs. 2-3 and 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inverter housing/compartment of the method of Wen by providing a ventilation system including a valve on a surface of the compartment, where the fan is located in the cabinet compartment, the fan is configured to blow air in the cabinet toward the valve; and wherein the valve is attached to the wall of the compartment of the electronic components based on the teachings of Takasaki in order to open and close the shutter/louver valve of the enclosure to improve efficiency of the cooling of heat generating electronic devices within the compartment (see paragraph 4, Takasaki).
Wen also does not explicitly teach that the breathable film is attached to the valve.
However, Mashiko discloses a cabinet compartment (compartment within housing 51, figs. 1-3, 7-14) configured to house electrical elements such batteries, control units, capacitors (electrical components housed within the housing 51, see paragraphs 1-2, 102);
a ventilation valve (valve 5) configured to balance pressure between the inside and the outside of the cabinet compartment (see pressure balancing by opening of valve 5, paragraphs 43, 45), wherein the ventilation valve being installed on a surface of the cabinet compartment (ventilation member on the surface of a housing 51, see figs. 1 and paragraphs 1-2, 102, 43-49); and
a breathable film (permeable membrane 2, 3, see paragraph 40 and figs. 1) disposed on the ventilation valve (membrane 2 disposed on the valve 5, see fig. 1A and paragraph 40), and air in the cabinet flows out of the cabinet compartment through the breathable film (air discharged through ventilation member 21, see fig. 1 and paragraph 43).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ventilation valve of the inverter of Wen by providing a ventilation valve, wherein the ventilation valve is configured to balance pressure between the inside and the outside of the cabinet compartment and the ventilation valve is installed on a surface of a cabinet compartment; and a breathable film disposed on the ventilation valve, and air in the cabinet flows out of the cabinet compartment through the breathable film based on the teachings of Mashiko in order to allow gas to escape the compartment and absorb water molecules and moisture present in the air being pushed by the fan through the breathable film (see abstract and paragraph 2, Mashiko).
In regards to claim 14, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further discloses a controller (controller, see paragraph 9), wherein the controller is configured to, in response to the at least one preset condition being met: control the pneumatic transmission device to work (controller operates exhaust fan 6, see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 34-36; wherein, fan control is based on temperature detected by temperature detection device, to ensure cabinet in a comfortable temperature state, see paragraph 9-10, 21 and 33), so that the air in the cabinet compartment flows out of the cabinet compartment through the breathable filter (see exhaust fan 6 in front of the air outlet to flow out air in the cabinet compartment, 1, fig. 3; wherein air filter is placed at the air outlet, see paragraph 19, which implies that airflow generated by exhaust fan 6 flows air through the breathable filter); and the pneumatic transmission device is configured to blow the air in the cabinet compartment toward the breathable filter in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the breathable filter (exhaust air flow by fan 6 is perpendicular to the air outlet, see fig. 3, which implies that airflow would be perpendicular to the breathable filter placed at the air outlet). In addition, Takasaki teaches a fan blowing air perpendicular to the valve at the air outlet (see figs. 2-3 and 5); and Mashiko teaches supplying airflow perpendicular to the breathable permeable membrane (2), the valve (5) and the opening (21, see figs. 1 and 7-11, gas moves up through the membrane 2, the valve 5 and then through the ventilation member 21, where the upward direction of gas flow is perpendicular to the permeable membrane 2, paragraph 43).
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of Takasaki and Mashiko as applied to claims 2 and 13 above and further in view of Duich (US 4718020 A).
In regards to claim 4, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 except stopping the fan in response to a working time of the pneumatic transmission device being longer than a preset time period.
However, Duich discloses a controller (microcomputer, see fig. 5) is configured to: in response to a working time of the pneumatic transmission device being longer than a preset time period (blower operation of three seconds at step 242, see fig. 17), control the pneumatic transmission device to stop working (in response to fan operation for three seconds, stop the fan at step 244, where step 244 depends upon step 242, see fig. 17 and col. 15, lines 24-39).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to stop working in response to a working time of the pneumatic transmission fan device being longer than a preset time period based on the teachings of Duich in order to prevent potential damage to the motor windings and contacts and to allow time for maintenance of the fan (see col. 15, lines 24-40, Duich).
In regards to claim 15, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further discloses that the pneumatic transmission device is a fan or a pneumatic pump (exhaust fan 6, see fig. 3 and paragraphs 34-36).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach stopping the fan in response to a working time of the pneumatic transmission device being longer than a preset time period.
Duich discloses a controller (microcomputer, see fig. 5) is configured to: in response to a working time of the pneumatic transmission device being longer than a preset time period (blower operation of three seconds at step 242, see fig. 17), control the pneumatic transmission device to stop working (in response to fan operation for three seconds, stop the fan at step 244, where step 244 depends upon step 242, see fig. 17 and col. 15, lines 24-39).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to stop working in response to a working time of the pneumatic transmission fan device being longer than a preset time period based on the teachings of Duich in order to prevent potential damage to the motor windings and contacts and to allow time for maintenance of the fan (see col. 15, lines 24-40, Duich).
Claim(s) 5-7, 11 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of Takasaki and Mashiko as applied to claims 2 and 13 above and further in view of Zhong (US 2017/0290197 A1).
In regards to claims 5 and 11, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 39), in response to the humidity in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset humidity (humidity of the inside air exceeding upper allowable humidity limit, see paragraph 39).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach operating the fan in response to an electric device such as an inverter operating.
Zhong teaches that a ventilation fan (fan 3) is controlled to operate (fan 3 runs, see paragraph 56) in response to the electric PCB device (2, 21, 22) running/operating (electrodes 21 and 22 of the PCB conduct current, and allows the fan 3 to operate, see paragraph 56).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to work in response to the inverter running in the system of Wen based on the teachings of Zhong in order to improve efficiency of the system by allowing proper heat dissipation from the inverter and the cabin during the heat generation operation of the inverter.
In regards to claims 6 and 11, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 38), in response to the temperature in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset temperature (temperature of the inside air rising to a certain value, see paragraph 38).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach operating the fan in response to an electric device such as an inverter operating.
Zhong teaches that a ventilation fan (fan 3) is controlled to operate (fan 3 runs, see paragraph 56) in response to the electric PCB device (2, 21, 22) running/operating (electrodes 21 and 22 of the PCB conduct current, and allows the fan 3 to operate, see paragraph 56).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to work in response to the inverter running in the system of Wen based on the teachings of Zhong in order to improve efficiency of the system by allowing proper heat dissipation from the inverter and the cabin during the heat generation operation of the inverter.
In regards to claims 7 and 11, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 38), in response to the temperature in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset temperature (temperature of the inside air rising to a certain value, see paragraph 38); and the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 39), in response to the humidity in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset humidity (humidity of the inside air exceeding upper allowable humidity limit, see paragraph 39).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach operating the fan in response to an electric device such as an inverter operating.
Zhong teaches that a ventilation fan (fan 3) is controlled to operate (fan 3 runs, see paragraph 56) in response to the electric PCB device (2, 21, 22) running/operating (electrodes 21 and 22 of the PCB conduct current, and allows the fan 3 to operate, see paragraph 56).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to work in response to the inverter running in the system of Wen based on the teachings of Zhong in order to improve efficiency of the system by allowing proper heat dissipation from the inverter and the cabin during the heat generation operation of the inverter.
In regards to claim 16, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further discloses that the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 39), in response to the humidity in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset humidity (humidity of the inside air exceeding upper allowable humidity limit, see paragraph 39).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach operating the fan in response to an electric device such as an inverter operating.
Zhong teaches that a ventilation fan (fan 3) is controlled to operate (fan 3 runs, see paragraph 56) in response to the electric PCB device (2, 21, 22) running/operating (electrodes 21 and 22 of the PCB conduct current, and allows the fan 3 to operate, see paragraph 56).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to work in response to the inverter running in the system of Wen based on the teachings of Zhong in order to improve efficiency of the system by allowing proper heat dissipation from the inverter and the cabin during the heat generation operation of the inverter.
In regards to claim 17, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further discloses that the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 38), in response to the temperature in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset temperature (temperature of the inside air rising to a certain value, see paragraph 38).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach operating the fan in response to an electric device such as an inverter operating.
Zhong teaches that a ventilation fan (fan 3) is controlled to operate (fan 3 runs, see paragraph 56) in response to the electric PCB device (2, 21, 22) running/operating (electrodes 21 and 22 of the PCB conduct current, and allows the fan 3 to operate, see paragraph 56).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to work in response to the inverter running in the system of Wen based on the teachings of Zhong in order to improve efficiency of the system by allowing proper heat dissipation from the inverter and the cabin during the heat generation operation of the inverter.
In regards to claim 18, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further discloses that the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 38), in response to the temperature in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset temperature (temperature of the inside air rising to a certain value, see paragraph 38); and the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 39), in response to the humidity in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset humidity (humidity of the inside air exceeding upper allowable humidity limit, see paragraph 39).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach operating the fan in response to an electric device such as an inverter operating.
Zhong teaches that a ventilation fan (fan 3) is controlled to operate (fan 3 runs, see paragraph 56) in response to the electric PCB device (2, 21, 22) running/operating (electrodes 21 and 22 of the PCB conduct current, and allows the fan 3 to operate, see paragraph 56).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to work in response to the inverter running in the system of Wen based on the teachings of Zhong in order to improve efficiency of the system by allowing proper heat dissipation from the inverter and the cabin during the heat generation operation of the inverter.
Claim(s) 8-10, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of Takasaki and Mashiko as applied to claims 2 and 13 above and further in view of Webb (US 2009/0309082 A1).
In regards to claims 8 and 19, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 13 and further discloses that the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 39), in response to the humidity in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset humidity (humidity of the inside air exceeding upper allowable humidity limit, see paragraph 39).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach operating the fan in response to an electric device such as an inverter not operating/running.
Webb discloses a controller (controller 88, contactor 84, see figs. 3-4) configured to control a fan (cooling fan 44 with motor 52, figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 22-24) in response to the electric motor device (12) not running/operating (fan motor 52 is operated to run fan 44 while winch motor 12 is not operated, see paragraph 34 and claim 48).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of system/method of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to work in response to the inverter not operating/running in the system of Wen based on the teachings of Webb in order to improve efficiency of the system by allowing proper heat dissipation from the inverter and the cabin during and after the heat generation operation of the inverter to remove residual heat.
In regards to claims 9 and 20, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 13 and further discloses that the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 38), in response to the temperature in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset temperature (temperature of the inside air rising to a certain value, see paragraph 38).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach operating the fan in response to an electric device such as an inverter not operating/running.
Webb discloses a controller (controller 88, contactor 84, see figs. 3-4) configured to control a fan (cooling fan 44 with motor 52, figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 22-24) in response to the electric motor device (12) not running/operating (fan motor 52 is operated to run fan 44 while winch motor 12 is not operated, see paragraph 34 and claim 48).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the system/method of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to work in response to the inverter not operating/running in the system of Wen based on the teachings of Webb in order to improve efficiency of the system by allowing proper heat dissipation from the inverter and the cabin during and after the heat generation operation of the inverter to remove residual heat.
In regards to claim 10, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 38), in response to the temperature in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset temperature (temperature of the inside air rising to a certain value, see paragraph 38); and the controller (controller, control circuit, see paragraph 34) is further configured to control the pneumatic transmission fan device (exhaust fan 6) to work (operating exhaust fan 6, see paragraph 39), in response to the humidity in the cabinet compartment being higher than the preset humidity (humidity of the inside air exceeding upper allowable humidity limit, see paragraph 39).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach operating the fan in response to an electric device such as an inverter not operating/running.
Webb discloses a controller (controller 88, contactor 84, see figs. 3-4) configured to control a fan (cooling fan 44 with motor 52, figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 22-24) in response to the electric motor device (12) not running/operating (fan motor 52 is operated to run fan 44 while winch motor 12 is not operated, see paragraph 34 and claim 48).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Wen as modified to control the pneumatic transmission fan device to work in response to the inverter not operating/running in the system of Wen based on the teachings of Webb in order to improve efficiency of the system by allowing proper heat dissipation from the inverter and the cabin during and after the heat generation operation of the inverter to remove residual heat.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of Takasaki and Mashiko as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lin (CN 107017767 A).
In regards to claim 12, Wen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses using the inverter of the distributer power source with solar power stations (see paragraph 4) and the distributed power cabinet is configured to convert a direct current of the source into an alternating current for output (see fig. 3 and paragraph 11; Also, inverter inherently converts DC power into AC power).
However, Wen does not explicitly teach a photovoltaic array, and the input end of the inverter connected to the photovoltaic array.
Lin teaches a photovoltaic power generation system (see page 4, paragraph 2), comprising the inverter (inverter 200), and further comprising a photovoltaic array (solar cell array with PV panel 100, see page 4, paragraph 2), wherein: an input end of the inverter (see input end of 200 connected to PV panel 100, fig. 1) is connected to the photovoltaic array (inverter circuit input connected to the PV panel 100 to invert the direct current input into alternating current, see page 4, paragraph 4); and the inverter is further configured to convert a direct current of the photovoltaic array into an alternating current for output (invert the direct current input into alternating current, see page 4, paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inverter of Wen as modified by providing a photovoltaic power generation system comprising a photovoltaic array, wherein: an input end of the inverter is connected to the photovoltaic array; and the inverter is further configured to convert a direct current of the photovoltaic array into an alternating current for output as taught by Lin in order to effectively and efficiently convert electric power generated by photovoltaic cells into usable AC power for motors and machines of ventilation fans and valves that allow heat dissipation by fans operated by PV array generated power.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "Wen does not teach the amended claimed sealed cabinet management path," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that the limitation “sealed cabinet management path” is neither claimed nor supported by applicant’s original disclosure. Claims 1 and 13 describe the ventilation valve as configure to balance pressure between inside and outside of the cabinet; however, Mashiko teaches that the ventilation valve (valve 5) is configured to open and allow the pressurized housing to flow the gas from within the housing to the outside (paragraph 43, Mashiko). One of skill in the art would be motivated to modify the cabinet compartment of Wen to place the valve on the surface of the cabinet and configure the valve to balance pressure between inside and outside of the cabinet based on the teachings of Mashiko to prevent high temperature and humidity air from remaining around the electronic circuits for prolonged period of time.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument, "Mashiko does not teach the amended claims because Mashiko does not include a forced airflow by fan," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that the Wen teaches fans at the surface of the cabinet (fans 6, 7, fig. 3); and Mashiko teaches that the ventilation valve (valve 5) is configured to open and allow the pressurized housing to flow the gas from within the housing to the outside (paragraph 43, Mashiko). Therefore, Mashiko is not required to teach the operation of the pneumatic transmission fan device. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument, "proposed combination would not be rational because the combination would destroy the individual operating principles of Takasaki and Mashiko references," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that the primary reference Wen is being modified by the teachings of Takasaki and not the other way around. In addition, the combination of Wen and Takasaki is further modified by the teachings of Mashiko not the Takasaki and Mashiko references individually. Since, Takasaki is directed towards ventilation assembly for electronic apparatus within a housing (see paragraphs 28-33 and figs. 1-3, Takasaki), and Mashiko is directed towards a ventilation system with a valve on the housing surface, where the housing contains electrical components (see paragraph 1-2,5 and 102), on of skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Wen and Takasaki and Mashiko to improve the ventilation assembly of the electronic system enclosure cabin of Wen to vent the high temperature, high humidity air from inside the cabin to the outside to prevent the high humidity air from remaining around the electronic circuits for prolonged period of time and causing oxidation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763