DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0026], line 3, "illustrated in FIGS. 2A and 3B", should likely read "illustrated in FIGS. 2A and 2B"
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20210316669 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an obstacle sensor inspection device that performs an inspection of an obstacle sensor detecting an obstacle present in the vicinity of a mobile body, the obstacle sensor inspection device comprising:
a running control unit configured to perform control such that the mobile body is caused to run along a running path ([0035] The steering system 134 includes suitable componentry that is configured to control the direction of movement of the autonomous vehicle 102 during navigation.; [0096] The hallway calibration environment 300, which may also be referred to as a tunnel calibration environment, includes a thoroughfare 305 through which a vehicle 102 drives, the thoroughfare 305 flanked on either side by targets detectable by the sensors 180 of the vehicle 102.);
an inspection processing unit configured to perform an inspection process for the obstacle sensor using a still object for inspection that is designated in advance in a sensor inspection section designated in advance in a state in which the mobile body is running along the running path ([0045] As described above, the remote computing system 150 is configured to send/receive a signal from the autonomous vehicle 140 regarding reporting data for training and evaluating machine learning algorithms, requesting assistance from remote computing system 150 or a human operator via the remote computing system 150; [0053] The sensor calibration target 200A illustrated in FIG. 2A is a planar board made from a substrate 205, with a pattern 210A printed, stamped, engraved, imprinted, or otherwise marked thereon. The pattern 210A of FIG. 2A is a checkerboard pattern.); and
a detection area setting unit configured to set a detection area of the obstacle sensor to a second area larger than a first area that is used at the time of normal running when the inspection process for the obstacle sensor is performed using the inspection processing unit ([0183] Depending on the sensors 180 on the vehicle 102 and the data captured by the sensors 180, the sensors 180 may require one or more full 360 degree rotations of the vehicle 102 on the platform 420, or may require less than one full 360 degree rotation of the vehicle 102 on the platform 420. In one embodiment, sufficient data for calibration of a sensor may mean data corresponding to targets covering at least a subset of the complete field of view of a particular sensor (collectively over a number of captures), with the subset reaching and/or exceeding a threshold percentage (e.g., 30%, 35%, 40%, 45%, 50%, 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99%, 100%).),
wherein the inspection processing unit determines that the obstacle sensor is normal when the still object for inspection is detected by the obstacle sensor and determines that the obstacle sensor is abnormal when the still object for inspection is not detected by the obstacle sensor ([Fig. 10]; [0149] At step 1015, the calibration systems in the vehicle read the calibration scene and: (a) detect targets in each sensor frame, (b) associate detected targets, (c) generate residuals, (d) solve calibration optimization problem, (e) validate calibration optimization solution, and (f) output calibration results).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the obstacle sensor inspection device according to claim 1, further comprising
an inspection preparation processing unit configured to perform a preparation process for causing the mobile body not to come into contact with the obstacle when the mobile body runs in the sensor inspection section, in a sensor inspection preparation section positioned on a side in front of the sensor inspection section in a traveling direction of the mobile body before the inspection process for the obstacle sensor is performed by the inspection processing unit ([0039] The internal computing system 110 can also include a constraint service 114 to facilitate safe propulsion of the autonomous vehicle 102. The constraint service 116 includes instructions for activating a constraint based on a rule-based restriction upon operation of the autonomous vehicle 102. For example, the constraint may be a restriction upon navigation that is activated in accordance with protocols configured to avoid occupying the same space as other objects, abide by traffic laws, circumvent avoidance areas, etc).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the obstacle sensor inspection device according to claim 2,
wherein the inspection preparation processing unit sets the detection area of the obstacle sensor to a third area larger than the first area and determines whether or not the obstacle is detected by the obstacle sensor in the state as the preparation process ([0183] Depending on the sensors 180 on the vehicle 102 and the data captured by the sensors 180, the sensors 180 may require one or more full 360 degree rotations of the vehicle 102 on the platform 420, or may require less than one full 360 degree rotation of the vehicle 102 on the platform 420. In one embodiment, sufficient data for calibration of a sensor may mean data corresponding to targets covering at least a subset of the complete field of view of a particular sensor (collectively over a number of captures), with the subset reaching and/or exceeding a threshold percentage (e.g., 30%, 35%, 40%, 45%, 50%, 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99%, 100%).), and
wherein, in a case in which it is determined by the inspection preparation processing unit that the obstacle is not detected by the obstacle sensor, the inspection processing unit determines that the obstacle sensor is normal when the still object for inspection is detected by the obstacle sensor and determines that the obstacle sensor is abnormal when the still object for inspection is not detected by the obstacle sensor ([Fig. 10]; [0149] At step 1015, the calibration systems in the vehicle read the calibration scene and: (a) detect targets in each sensor frame, (b) associate detected targets, (c) generate residuals, (d) solve calibration optimization problem, (e) validate calibration optimization solution, and (f) output calibration results).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the obstacle sensor inspection device according to claim 1,
wherein the second area is set to be wider than the first area in at least one of a traveling direction and a width direction of the mobile body ([0183] Depending on the sensors 180 on the vehicle 102 and the data captured by the sensors 180, the sensors 180 may require one or more full 360 degree rotations of the vehicle 102 on the platform 420, or may require less than one full 360 degree rotation of the vehicle 102 on the platform 420. In one embodiment, sufficient data for calibration of a sensor may mean data corresponding to targets covering at least a subset of the complete field of view of a particular sensor (collectively over a number of captures), with the subset reaching and/or exceeding a threshold percentage (e.g., 30%, 35%, 40%, 45%, 50%, 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99%, 100%).).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the obstacle sensor inspection device according to claim 1,
wherein the running path includes a curved part ([0100] While the thoroughfare 305 of the hallway calibration environment 300 of FIG. 3 is a straight path, in some cases it may be a curved path, and by extension the left target channel 310 and right target channel 315 may be curved to follow the path of the thoroughfare 305.),
wherein the sensor inspection section is designated to be at a position on a side in front of the curved part in a traveling direction of the mobile body ([0096] The hallway calibration environment 300, which may also be referred to as a tunnel calibration environment, includes a thoroughfare 305 through which a vehicle 102 drives, the thoroughfare 305 flanked on either side by targets detectable by the sensors 180 of the vehicle 102.), and
wherein the still object for inspection is disposed at a position entering the inside of the second area when the mobile body runs in the sensor inspection section ([0099] The sensor targets illustrated in FIG. 3 are illustrated such that some are positioned closer to the thoroughfare 305 while some are positioned farther from the thoroughfare 305. Additionally, while some targets in FIG. 3 are facing a direction perpendicular to the thoroughfare 305, others are angled up or down with respect to the direction perpendicular to the thoroughfare 305.).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches an obstacle sensor inspection method for performing an inspection of an obstacle sensor detecting an obstacle present in the vicinity of a mobile body, the obstacle sensor inspection method comprising:
designating a sensor inspection section in which an inspection of the obstacle sensor is performed, a sensor inspection preparation section positioned on a side in front of the sensor inspection section in a traveling direction of the mobile body, and a still object for inspection used for an inspection of the obstacle sensor in the sensor inspection section, in the middle of a running path in which the mobile body runs ([0096] The hallway calibration environment 300, which may also be referred to as a tunnel calibration environment, includes a thoroughfare 305 through which a vehicle 102 drives, the thoroughfare 305 flanked on either side by targets detectable by the sensors 180 of the vehicle 102.);
performing control such that the mobile body is caused to run along the running path ([0035] The steering system 134 includes suitable componentry that is configured to control the direction of movement of the autonomous vehicle 102 during navigation.; [0096] The hallway calibration environment 300, which may also be referred to as a tunnel calibration environment, includes a thoroughfare 305 through which a vehicle 102 drives, the thoroughfare 305 flanked on either side by targets detectable by the sensors 180 of the vehicle 102.);
performing an inspection process for the obstacle sensor using the still object for inspection in a state in which the mobile body is running along the running path in the sensor inspection section ([0045] As described above, the remote computing system 150 is configured to send/receive a signal from the autonomous vehicle 140 regarding reporting data for training and evaluating machine learning algorithms, requesting assistance from remote computing system 150 or a human operator via the remote computing system 150; [0053] The sensor calibration target 200A illustrated in FIG. 2A is a planar board made from a substrate 205, with a pattern 210A printed, stamped, engraved, imprinted, or otherwise marked thereon. The pattern 210A of FIG. 2A is a checkerboard pattern.); and
setting a detection area of the obstacle sensor to a second area larger than a first area that is used at the time of normal running when the inspection process for the obstacle sensor is performed ([0183] Depending on the sensors 180 on the vehicle 102 and the data captured by the sensors 180, the sensors 180 may require one or more full 360 degree rotations of the vehicle 102 on the platform 420, or may require less than one full 360 degree rotation of the vehicle 102 on the platform 420. In one embodiment, sufficient data for calibration of a sensor may mean data corresponding to targets covering at least a subset of the complete field of view of a particular sensor (collectively over a number of captures), with the subset reaching and/or exceeding a threshold percentage (e.g., 30%, 35%, 40%, 45%, 50%, 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99%, 100%).),
wherein, in the performing of an inspection process for the obstacle sensor, it is determined that the obstacle sensor is normal when the still object for inspection is detected by the obstacle sensor, and it is determined that the obstacle sensor is abnormal when the still object for inspection is not detected by the obstacle sensor ([Fig. 10]; [0149] At step 1015, the calibration systems in the vehicle read the calibration scene and: (a) detect targets in each sensor frame, (b) associate detected targets, (c) generate residuals, (d) solve calibration optimization problem, (e) validate calibration optimization solution, and (f) output calibration results).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20210316669 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuzaki (US 20180210443A1).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the obstacle sensor inspection device according to claim 2,
Wang fails to teach the device wherein the inspection preparation processing unit performs control of the mobile body to be decelerated to a speed for not coming into contact with the obstacle at the time of the mobile body running in the sensor inspection section as the preparation process
However, Matsuzaki teaches the device wherein the inspection preparation processing unit performs control of the mobile body to be decelerated to a speed for not coming into contact with the obstacle at the time of the mobile body running in the sensor inspection section as the preparation process (the device wherein the inspection preparation processing unit performs control of the mobile body to be decelerated to a speed for not coming into contact with the obstacle at the time of the mobile body running in the sensor inspection section as the preparation process)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Wang to comprise the speed reduction system to avoid obstacles similar to Matsuzaki, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using ensuring the controlled vehicle of Wang avoids obstacles in the safest way.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645