Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are moot in view of new ground of rejection presented in this office action, which better addresses the claims as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 25 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PALS et
al. (US 2020/0329369 A1) in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS et al. (US 2022/0123836 A1) and
further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0314934 A1), and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 20210194551 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
PALS discloses “A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory;
a transceiver; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to” (See Fig.
3, ¶ [0042] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in
an access network): “transmit, via the transceiver, to a network node, an indication of a
capability to support high rank multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication on
two or more frequency bands, wherein the capability to support high rank MIMO
communications includes a capability to support MIMO communication on greater than
two layers” (See ¶ [0053] The UE responds to the base station with a capability information
message indicating the CA band combinations the UE can support. This capability
information message reported by the UE also indicates the supported downlink (DL)-
multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) capability for each component carrier or band. For
example, the UE may report 1A (4)-3C (4-4) as one supported band combination
where bands 1 and 3 both support four layers of DL-MIMO for use in spatial multiplexing in
the component carriers of each band (e.g. four layers in one CC for band 1, bandwidth class
A, and four layers in two CCs for band 3, bandwidth class C). ¶ [0056] The UE supports
higher-rank spatial multiplexing on bands 1 and/or 3. See Fig. 4, ¶ [0076] The UE capability
information message 408 may include a set 410 of supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-
3C, 1A-5A, 1A-7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the UE capability 412 associated with each
band in each band combination of the set. For example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four
layers, or eight layers)); “and in approximately a same direction” (See Fig. 1, ¶ [0025] The
communication links 120 may use multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) antenna
technology, including spatial multiplexing, beamforming, and/or transmit diversity. ¶ [0030]
The base station 180 may transmit a beamformed signal to the UE 104 in one or more
transmit directions 182′. The UE 104 may receive the beamformed signal from the base
station 180 in one or more receive directions 182″. The UE 104 may transmit a beamformed
signal to the base station 180 in one or more transmit directions. The base station 180 may
receive the beamformed signal from the UE 104 in one or more receive directions); “and
perform the high rank MIMO communication with the UE on the two or more frequency
bands in approximately the same direction” (See ¶ [0030] The UE 104 may transmit
a beamformed signal to the base station 180 in one or more transmit directions. The base
station 180 may receive the beamformed signal from the UE 104 in one or more receive
directions. ¶ [0076] The UE capability information message 408 may include a set 410 of
supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-3C, 1A-5A, 1A-7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the
UE capability 412 associated with each band in each band combination of the set. For
example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or eight layers). Note: It is implied that
since the UE supports, it also performs high rank MIMO communications with the network
node on two or more bands on greater than two layers in approximately a same direction.
PALS does not explicitly disclose that the two or more frequency bands have a common
intermediate frequency.
However, ASIMAKOPOULOS discloses “two or more frequency bands that have a common
intermediate frequency” (See ¶ [0175] channels may be destined for MIMO or mMIMO or
transmit diversity transmitters (such as remote antenna units) whereby each of a group of
channels have to be upconverted to the same RF and/or mmW frequency. The mapping
approach could split subgroups (e.g. carrying a single channel) of the group of channels
across different frequency bands so that, when a respective frequency band is down-
sampled, each subgroup is down-sampled to the same intermediate frequency. This enables
the up-conversion to employ a single RF and/or mmW local oscillator signal (as an
intermediate frequency of each of the group of channels is the same),
thus simplifying receiver processing (e.g. mixers, up-/down-converters, filters, digital or
analog)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of PALS with
the teachings of ASIMAKOPOULOS, and the motivation to do so would have been for
simplifying receiver processing (ASIMAKOPOULOS [0175]).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS does not explicitly disclose the layers are polarization
layers.
However, Raghavan discloses “and on greater than two polarization layers” (See Fig. 4D,
[0100] The example of FIG. 4D may illustrate a device 403 implementing inter-band carrier
aggregation polarization MIMO. Specifically, the present example illustrates a
device 403 implementing polarization MIMO across multiple bands in Module 1, illustrated
by module 405-j (e.g., here S=4). [0085] where S is the number of streams. Note: Since S is
the number of streams for implementing polarization MIMO, it implies that polarization
MIMO supports 4 layers/ streams and therefore achieves higher-rank MIMO operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS and
ASIMAKOPOULOS with the teachings of Raghavan to use polarization layers, and the
motivation to do so would have been to reduce power consumption at the UE, and reduce
beam management overhead (Raghavan [0081]).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS and Raghavan does not explicitly disclose first and second antenna modules with a spatial separation satisfying a threshold.
However, Raghavan ‘551 discloses “a first antenna module associated with the transceiver and comprising a first plurality of antenna elements: a second antenna module, a spatial separation between the first antenna module and the second antenna module satisfying a spatial separation threshold, associated with the transceiver and comprising a second plurality of antenna elements” (See Fig. 2A-2B, [0085] transmitting entity 205-a may represent an antenna module 235-a of UE 115-a and transmitting entity 205-b may represent an antenna module 235-c of UE 115-a. Antenna module 235-a may be separated from antenna module 235-c by a spatial separation distance d that is greater than or equal to d.sub.Ray (e.g., d≥d.sub.Ray). [0086] each antenna module 235 may be equipped with antennas across different bands. [0114] UE 115-f may determine, at 610, that UE 115-f is capable of rank-2 transmissions over some TCI state A (e.g., based on a spatial separation distance d between two antenna modules satisfying d≥d.sub.Ray)). Note: Raghavan ‘551 discloses that each antenna module 235 is equipped with multiple antennas across different bands. Applicant’s specification [0086] explains that a multi-band antenna module includes a plurality of antennas/ antenna elements. Accordingly, each antenna module 235 reasonably comprises a plurality of antenna elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS and Raghavan with the teachings of Raghavan ‘551, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve wireless communications performance by increasing throughput rate and beam robustness across different antenna modules (Raghavan ‘551 [0030]).
Regarding claim 12,
PALS discloses “A network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to” (See Fig. 3, ¶ [0042] FIG.
3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access
network): “receive, from a user equipment (UE), an indication of a capability of the UE to
support high rank multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication on two or more
frequency bands, wherein the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication
includes a capability to support MIMO communication on greater than two layers” (See ¶
[0053] The UE responds to the base station with a capability information message indicating
the CA band combinations the UE can support. This capability information message reported
by the UE also indicates the supported downlink (DL)-multiple-input-multiple-output
(MIMO) capability for each component carrier or band. For example, the UE may report 1A
(4)-3C (4-4) as one supported band combination where bands 1 and 3 both support four layers of DL-MIMO for use in spatial multiplexing in the component carriers of
each band (e.g. four layers in one CC for band 1, bandwidth class A, and four layers in two
CCs for band 3, bandwidth class C). ¶ [0056] The UE supports higher-rank spatial
multiplexing on bands 1 and/or 3. See Fig. 4, ¶ [0076] The UE capability information
message 408 may include a set 410 of supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-3C, 1A-5A, 1A-
7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the UE capability 412 associated with each band in each
band combination of the set. For example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum
number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or
eight layers)); “and in approximately a same direction” (See Fig. 1, ¶ [0025] The
communication links 120 may use multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) antenna
technology, including spatial multiplexing, beamforming, and/or transmit diversity. ¶ [0030]
The base station 180 may transmit a beamformed signal to the UE 104 in one or more
transmit directions 182′. The UE 104 may receive the beamformed signal from the base
station 180 in one or more receive directions 182″. The UE 104 may transmit a beamformed
signal to the base station 180 in one or more transmit directions. The base station 180 may
receive the beamformed signal from the UE 104 in one or more receive directions); “and
perform the high rank MIMO communication with the UE on the two or more frequency
bands in approximately the same direction” (See ¶ [0030] The UE 104 may transmit
a beamformed signal to the base station 180 in one or more transmit directions. The base
station 180 may receive the beamformed signal from the UE 104 in one or more receive
directions. ¶ [0076] The UE capability information message 408 may include a set 410 of
supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-3C, 1A-5A, 1A-7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the
UE capability 412 associated with each band in each band combination of the set. For
example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or eight layers). Note: It is implied that
since the UE supports, it also performs high rank MIMO communications with the network
node on two or more bands on greater than two layers in approximately a same direction.
PALS does not explicitly disclose that the two or more frequency bands have a common
intermediate frequency.
However, ASIMAKOPOULOS discloses “two or more frequency bands that have a common
intermediate frequency” (See ¶ [0175] channels may be destined for MIMO or mMIMO or
transmit diversity transmitters (such as remote antenna units) whereby each of a group of
channels have to be upconverted to the same RF and/or mmW frequency. The mapping
approach could split subgroups (e.g. carrying a single channel) of the group of channels
across different frequency bands so that, when a respective frequency band is down-
sampled, each subgroup is down-sampled to the same intermediate frequency. This enables
the up-conversion to employ a single RF and/or mmW local oscillator signal (as an
intermediate frequency of each of the group of channels is the same),
thus simplifying receiver processing (e.g. mixers, up-/down-converters, filters, digital or
analog)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of PALS with
the teachings of ASIMAKOPOULOS, and the motivation to do so would have been for
simplifying receiver processing (ASIMAKOPOULOS [0175]).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS does not explicitly disclose the layers are polarization
layers.
However, Raghavan discloses “and on greater than two polarization layers” (See Fig. 4D,
[0100] The example of FIG. 4D may illustrate a device 403 implementing inter-band carrier
aggregation polarization MIMO. Specifically, the present example illustrates a
device 403 implementing polarization MIMO across multiple bands in Module 1, illustrated
by module 405-j (e.g., here S=4). [0085] where S is the number of streams. Note: Since S is
the number of streams for implementing polarization MIMO, it implies that polarization
MIMO supports 4 layers/ streams and therefore achieves higher-rank MIMO operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS and
ASIMAKOPOULOS with the teachings of Raghavan to use polarization layers, and the
motivation to do so would have been to reduce power consumption at the UE, and reduce
beam management overhead (Raghavan [0081]).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS and Raghavan does not explicitly disclose first and second antenna modules with a spatial separation satisfying a threshold.
However, Raghavan ‘551 discloses “based at least in part on a spatial separation between a first antenna module of the UE and a second antenna module of the UE satisfying a spatial separation threshold, the first antenna module of the UE comprising a first plurality of antenna elements and the second antenna module of the UE comprising a second plurality of antenna elements” (See Fig. 2A-2B, [0085] transmitting entity 205-a may represent an antenna module 235-a of UE 115-a and transmitting entity 205-b may represent an antenna module 235-c of UE 115-a. Antenna module 235-a may be separated from antenna module 235-c by a spatial separation distance d that is greater than or equal to d.sub.Ray (e.g., d≥d.sub.Ray). [0086] each antenna module 235 may be equipped with antennas across different bands. [0114] UE 115-f may determine, at 610, that UE 115-f is capable of rank-2 transmissions over some TCI state A (e.g., based on a spatial separation distance d between two antenna modules satisfying d≥d.sub.Ray)). Note: Raghavan ‘551 discloses that each antenna module 235 is equipped with multiple antennas across different bands. Applicant’s specification [0086] explains that a multi-band antenna module includes a plurality of antennas/ antenna elements. Accordingly, each antenna module 235 reasonably comprises a plurality of antenna elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS and Raghavan with the teachings of Raghavan ‘551, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve wireless communications performance by increasing throughput rate and beam robustness across different antenna modules (Raghavan ‘551 [0030]).
Regarding claim 25,
PALS discloses “A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE),
comprising: transmitting, via a transceiver of the UE and to a network node, an indication
of a capability to support high rank multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication
on two or more frequency bands, wherein the capability to support the high rank MIMO
communication includes a capability to support MIMO communication on greater than
two layers” (See Fig. 4, ¶ [0053] The UE responds to the base station with a capability information message indicating the CA band combinations the UE can support. This
capability information message reported by the UE also indicates the supported downlink
(DL)-multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) capability for each component carrier or band.
For example, the UE may report 1A (4)-3C (4-4) as one supported band combination
where bands 1 and 3 both support four layers of DL-MIMO for use in spatial multiplexing in
the component carriers of each band (e.g. four layers in one CC for band 1, bandwidth class
A, and four layers in two CCs for band 3, bandwidth class C). ¶ [0056] The UE supports
higher-rank spatial multiplexing on bands 1 and/or 3. ¶ [0076] The UE capability information
message 408 may include a set 410 of supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-3C, 1A-5A, 1A-
7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the UE capability 412 associated with each band in each
band combination of the set. For example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum
number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or
eight layers)); “and in approximately a same direction” (See Fig. 1, ¶ [0025] The
communication links 120 may use multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) antenna
technology, including spatial multiplexing, beamforming, and/or transmit diversity. ¶ [0030]
The base station 180 may transmit a beamformed signal to the UE 104 in one or more
transmit directions 182′. The UE 104 may receive the beamformed signal from the base
station 180 in one or more receive directions 182″. The UE 104 may transmit a beamformed
signal to the base station 180 in one or more transmit directions. The base station 180 may
receive the beamformed signal from the UE 104 in one or more receive directions); “and
performing, via the transceiver, the high rank MIMO communication with the network
node on the two or more frequency bands in approximately the same direction” (See ¶
[0030] The UE 104 may transmit a beamformed signal to the base station 180 in one or
more transmit directions. The base station 180 may receive the beamformed signal from the UE 104 in one or more receive directions. ¶ [0076] The UE capability information
message 408 may include a set 410 of supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-3C, 1A-5A, 1A-
7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the UE capability 412 associated with each band in each
band combination of the set. For example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum
number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or
eight layers). Note: It is implied that since the UE supports, it also performs high rank MIMO
communications with the network node on two or more bands on greater than two layers in
approximately a same direction.
PALS does not explicitly disclose that the two or more frequency bands have a common
intermediate frequency.
However, ASIMAKOPOULOS discloses “two or more frequency bands that have a common
intermediate frequency” (See ¶ [0175] channels may be destined for MIMO or mMIMO or
transmit diversity transmitters (such as remote antenna units) whereby each of a group of
channels have to be upconverted to the same RF and/or mmW frequency. The mapping
approach could split subgroups (e.g. carrying a single channel) of the group of channels
across different frequency bands so that, when a respective frequency band is down-
sampled, each subgroup is down-sampled to the same intermediate frequency. This enables
the up-conversion to employ a single RF and/or mmW local oscillator signal (as
an intermediate frequency of each of the group of channels is the same),
thus simplifying receiver processing (e.g. mixers, up-/down-converters, filters, digital or
analog)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of PALS with
the teachings of ASIMAKOPOULOS, and the motivation to do so would have been for
simplifying receiver processing (ASIMAKOPOULOS [0175]).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS does not explicitly disclose the layers are polarization
layers.
However, Raghavan discloses “and on greater than two polarization layers” (See Fig. 4D,
[0100] The example of FIG. 4D may illustrate a device 403 implementing inter-band carrier
aggregation polarization MIMO. Specifically, the present example illustrates a
device 403 implementing polarization MIMO across multiple bands in Module 1, illustrated
by module 405-j (e.g., here S=4). [0085] where S is the number of streams. Note: Since S is
the number of streams for implementing polarization MIMO, it implies that polarization
MIMO supports 4 layers/ streams and therefore achieves higher-rank MIMO operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS and
ASIMAKOPOULOS with the teachings of Raghavan to use polarization layers, and the
motivation to do so would have been to reduce power consumption at the UE, and reduce
beam management overhead (Raghavan [0081]).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS and Raghavan does not explicitly disclose first and second antenna modules with a spatial separation satisfying a threshold.
However, Raghavan ‘551 discloses “wherein transmitting the indication is based at least in part on a spatial separation between a first antenna module associated with the transceiver and a second antenna module associated with the transceiver satisfying a spatial separation threshold, the first antenna module comprising a first plurality of antenna elements and the second antenna module comprising a second plurality of antenna elements” (See Fig. 2A-2B, [0085] transmitting entity 205-a may represent an antenna module 235-a of UE 115-a and transmitting entity 205-b may represent an antenna module 235-c of UE 115-a. Antenna module 235-a may be separated from antenna module 235-c by a spatial separation distance d that is greater than or equal to d.sub.Ray (e.g., d≥d.sub.Ray). [0086] each antenna module 235 may be equipped with antennas across different bands. [0114] UE 115-f may determine, at 610, that UE 115-f is capable of rank-2 transmissions over some TCI state A (e.g., based on a spatial separation distance d between two antenna modules satisfying d≥d.sub.Ray)). Note: Raghavan ‘551 discloses that each antenna module 235 is equipped with multiple antennas across different bands. Applicant’s specification [0086] explains that a multi-band antenna module includes a plurality of antennas/ antenna elements. Accordingly, each antenna module 235 reasonably comprises a plurality of antenna elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS and Raghavan with the teachings of Raghavan ‘551, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve wireless communications performance by increasing throughput rate and beam robustness across different antenna modules (Raghavan ‘551 [0030]).
Regarding claim 35,
PALS discloses “A method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), an indication of a capability of the UE
to support high rank multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication on two or
more frequency bands, wherein the capability to support the high rank MIMO
communication includes a capability to support MIMO communication on greater than
two layers” (See Fig. 4, ¶ [0053] The UE responds to the base station with a capability
information message indicating the CA band combinations the UE can support. This
capability information message reported by the UE also indicates the supported downlink
(DL)-multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) capability for each component carrier or band.
For example, the UE may report 1A (4)-3C (4-4) as one supported band combination
where bands 1 and 3 both support four layers of DL-MIMO for use in spatial multiplexing in
the component carriers of each band (e.g. four layers in one CC for band 1, bandwidth class
A, and four layers in two CCs for band 3, bandwidth class C). ¶ [0056] The UE supports
higher-rank spatial multiplexing on bands 1 and/or 3. ¶ [0076] The UE capability information
message 408 may include a set 410 of supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-3C, 1A-5A, 1A-
7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the UE capability 412 associated with each band in each
band combination of the set. For example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum
number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or
eight layers)); “and in approximately a same direction” (See Fig. 1, ¶ [0025] The
communication links 120 may use multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) antenna
technology, including spatial multiplexing, beamforming, and/or transmit diversity. ¶ [0030]
The base station 180 may transmit a beamformed signal to the UE 104 in one or more
transmit directions 182′. The UE 104 may receive the beamformed signal from the base
station 180 in one or more receive directions 182″. The UE 104 may transmit a beamformed
signal to the base station 180 in one or more transmit directions. The base station 180 may receive the beamformed signal from the UE 104 in one or more receive directions); “and
performing the high rank MIMO communication with the UE on the two or more frequency
bands in approximately the same direction” (See ¶ [0030] The UE 104 may transmit
a beamformed signal to the base station 180 in one or more transmit directions. The base
station 180 may receive the beamformed signal from the UE 104 in one or more receive
directions. ¶ [0076] The UE capability information message 408 may include a set 410 of
supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-3C, 1A-5A, 1A-7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the
UE capability 412 associated with each band in each band combination of the set. For
example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum number of layers used for spatial
multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or eight layers). Note: It is implied that
since the UE supports, it also performs high rank MIMO communications with the network
node on two or more bands on greater than two layers in approximately a same direction.
PALS does not explicitly disclose that the two or more frequency bands have a common
intermediate frequency.
However, ASIMAKOPOULOS discloses “two or more frequency bands that have a common
intermediate frequency” (See ¶ [0175] channels may be destined for MIMO or mMIMO or
transmit diversity transmitters (such as remote antenna units) whereby each of a group of
channels have to be upconverted to the same RF and/or mmW frequency. The mapping
approach could split subgroups (e.g. carrying a single channel) of the group of channels
across different frequency bands so that, when a respective frequency band is down-
sampled, each subgroup is down-sampled to the same intermediate frequency. This enables
the up-conversion to employ a single RF and/or mmW local oscillator signal (as an intermediate frequency of each of the group of channels is the same), thus simplifying
receiver processing (e.g. mixers, up-/down-converters, filters, digital or
analog)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of PALS with
the teachings of ASIMAKOPOULOS, and the motivation to do so would have been for
simplifying receiver processing (ASIMAKOPOULOS [0175]).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS does not explicitly disclose the layers are polarization
layers.
However, Raghavan discloses “and on greater than two polarization layers” (See Fig. 4D,
[0100] The example of FIG. 4D may illustrate a device 403 implementing inter-band carrier
aggregation polarization MIMO. Specifically, the present example illustrates a
device 403 implementing polarization MIMO across multiple bands in Module 1, illustrated
by module 405-j (e.g., here S=4). [0085] where S is the number of streams. Note: Since S is
the number of streams for implementing polarization MIMO, it implies that polarization
MIMO supports 4 layers/ streams and therefore achieves higher-rank MIMO operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS and
ASIMAKOPOULOS with the teachings of Raghavan to use polarization layers, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce power consumption at the UE, and reduce
beam management overhead (Raghavan [0081]).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS and Raghavan does not explicitly disclose first and second antenna modules with a spatial separation satisfying a threshold.
However, Raghavan ‘551 discloses “based at least in part on a spatial separation between a first antenna module of the UE and a second antenna module of the UE satisfying a spatial separation threshold, the first antenna module of the UE comprising a first plurality of antenna elements and the second antenna module of the UE comprising a second plurality of antenna elements” (See Fig. 2A-2B, [0085] transmitting entity 205-a may represent an antenna module 235-a of UE 115-a and transmitting entity 205-b may represent an antenna module 235-c of UE 115-a. Antenna module 235-a may be separated from antenna module 235-c by a spatial separation distance d that is greater than or equal to d.sub.Ray (e.g., d≥d.sub.Ray). [0086] each antenna module 235 may be equipped with antennas across different bands. [0114] UE 115-f may determine, at 610, that UE 115-f is capable of rank-2 transmissions over some TCI state A (e.g., based on a spatial separation distance d between two antenna modules satisfying d≥d.sub.Ray)). Note: Raghavan ‘551 discloses that each antenna module 235 is equipped with multiple antennas across different bands. Applicant’s specification [0086] explains that a multi-band antenna module includes a plurality of antennas/ antenna elements. Accordingly, each antenna module 235 reasonably comprises a plurality of antenna elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS and Raghavan with the teachings of Raghavan ‘551, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve wireless communications performance by increasing throughput rate and beam robustness across different antenna modules (Raghavan ‘551 [0030]).
Claims 2-7, 13, 15, 17, 19, 26-27, 29, 36, 38, 40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103
as being unpatentable over PALS et al. (US 2020/0329369 A1) in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS
et al. (US 2022/0123836 A1) and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0314934 A1) and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 20210194551 A1) and further in view of Gutman et al. (US 2021/0105046 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 13, 26 and 36,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 discloses claim 2 of “The UE of claim 1”, claim 13 of “The network node of claim 12”, claim 26 of “The method of claim 25”, and claim 36 of “The method of claim 35”, but does not explicitly disclose performing high rank MIMO om a first and second subsets of antenna elements on a first and second antenna modules using different frequency bands).
However, Gutman discloses “wherein performing the high rank MIMO communication with
the UE on the two or more frequency bands in approximately the same direction
comprises: performing the high rank MIMO communication with the UE on a first
frequency band, of the two or more frequency bands, via: a first subset of antenna
elements on the first antenna module of the UE, and a first subset of antenna elements on the second antenna module of the UE” (See ¶ [0078] A base station 105 or a UE 115 may be equipped with multiple antennas, which may be used to employ techniques such as transmit
diversity, receive diversity, multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications, or
beamforming. ¶ [0092] UE 215 may be configured with first antenna panel 220 and second
antenna panel 225. First antenna panel 220 may include a first antenna set configured to
receive horizontally polarized transmissions and a second antenna set configured to receive
vertically polarized antennas. The first antenna set in first antenna panel 220 may be
associated with a first receive port configured at UE 215 and the second antenna set in first
antenna panel 220 may be associated with a second receive port configured at UE 215. The first antenna panel 220 may be used to receive transmissions in a frequency band (e.g., a first frequency band), based on the first and second receive ports being configured for the first frequency band); “and performing the high rank MIMO communication with the UE on a second frequency band, of the two or more frequency bands, via: a second subset of antenna elements on the first antenna module of the UE, and a second subset of antenna elements on the second antenna module of the UE” (See ¶ [0093] Second antenna panel 225 may be similarly configured as first antenna panel 220. That is, second antenna panel 225 may include a first antenna set configured to receive horizontally polarized transmissions and a second antenna set configured to receive vertically polarized transmissions. Second antenna panel 225 may be used to receive transmissions in a different frequency band than first antenna panel 220 (e.g., a second frequency band)—e.g., based on the third and fourth receive ports being configured for the second frequency band. [0100] UE 215 may reconfigure second antenna panel 225 for the first frequency band and may activate the second set of receive ports so that signals detected at second antenna panel 225 may be processed by UE 215. [0108] first antenna panel 305 and second antenna panel 310 may be capable of receiving over both the first frequency band and the second frequency band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 with the teachings of Gutman, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve beamforming performance.
Regarding claims 3, 15, 27 and 38,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan, Raghavan ‘551 and Gutman discloses claim 3 of “The UE of claim 2”, claim 15 of “The network node of claim 13”, claim 27 of “The method of claim 26”, and claim 38 of “The method of claim 36”, “wherein performing the high rank MIMO communication with the UE on the first frequency band comprises: performing the high rank MIMO communication with the UE on the first frequency band via two or more first spatial layers; and performing the high rank MIMO communication with the UE on the second frequency band via two or more second spatial layers” (See Gutman ¶ [0086] the first set of receive ports may be configured for operation within a first frequency band and the second set of receive ports may be configured for operation within a second frequency band. ¶ [0079] The base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may use MIMO communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may be referred to as spatial multiplexing. The multiple signals may, for example, be transmitted by the transmitting device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Likewise, the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 with the teachings of Gutman, and the motivation to do so would have been to increase the spectral efficiency (Gutman [0079]).
Regarding claims 4 and 7,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan, Raghavan ‘551 and Gutman discloses claim 4 of “The UE of claim 2”, and claim 7 of “The UE of claim 5”, “wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication, are configured to: transmit the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication based at least in part on the spatial separation between the first antenna module and the second antenna module satisfying the spatial separation threshold” (See Raghavan ‘551 [0114] UE 115-f may determine, at 610, that UE 115-f is capable of rank-2 transmissions over some TCI state A (e.g., based on a spatial separation distance d between two antenna modules satisfying d≥d.sub.Ray)).
Regarding claims 5, 17, 29 and 40,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 discloses claim 5 of “The UE of claim 1”, claim 17 of “The network node of claim 12”, claim 29 of “The method of claim 25”, and claim 40 of “The method of claim 35”, but does not explicitly disclose performing high rank MIMO on the first and second antenna modules using different frequency bands).
However, Gutman discloses “performing the high rank MIMO communication with the UE
on a first frequency band, of the two or more frequency bands, via a plurality of antenna
elements on a first antenna module of the UE; and performing the high rank MIMO
communication with the UE on a second frequency band, of the two or more frequency
bands, via a second plurality of antenna elements on a second antenna module of the UE” (See ¶ [0043] a wireless device having multiple sets of receive ports may be configured to
operate in a second mode that enables the wireless device to use multiple sets of receive
ports concurrently (e.g., a first set of receive ports coupled with a first antenna panel may
be configured for receiving over a first frequency band while a second set of receive ports
coupled with a second antenna panel may be configured for receiving over a
second frequency band)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 with the teachings of Gutman, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve beamforming performance.
Regarding claims 6, 19 and 42,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan, Raghavan ‘551 and Gutman discloses claim 6 of “The UE of claim 5”, claim 19 of “The network node of claim 17”, and claim 42 of “The method of claim 40”, “wherein performing the high rank MIMO communication comprises:
performing the high rank MIMO communication with the UE on the first frequency band
via two or more first spatial layers; and performing the high rank MIMO communication
with the UE on the second frequency band via two or more second spatial layers” (See
Gutman ¶ [0086] the first set of receive ports may be configured for operation within a first
frequency band and the second set of receive ports may be configured for operation within
a second frequency band. ¶ [0079] The base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may use MIMO
communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency
by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may
be referred to as spatial multiplexing. The multiple signals may, for example, be transmitted
by the transmitting device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas.
Likewise, the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas
or different combinations of antennas. Different spatial layers may be associated with
different antenna ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS, ASIMAKOPOULOS and Raghavan with the teachings of Gutman, and the motivation to do so
would have been to increase the spectral efficiency (Gutman [0079]).
Claims 8-9, 21-22, 31-32 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over PALS et al. (US 2020/0329369 A1) in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS et al. (US 2022/0123836
A1) and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0314934 A1) and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 20210194551 A1) and further in view of WU et al. (US 2021/0376887 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 21, 31 and 44,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 discloses claim 8 of “The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication, are configured to: transmit”, claim 21 of “The network node of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication, are configured to: receive”, claim 31 of “The method of claim 25, wherein transmitting the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication comprises: transmitting”, and claim 44 of “The method of claim 35, wherein receiving the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication comprises: receiving” (See PALS ¶ [0076] The UE capability information message 408 may include a set 410 of supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-3C, 1A-5A, 1A- 7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the UE capability 412 associated with each band in each band combination of the set. For example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or eight layers).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 does not explicitly disclose transmitting an indication of a quantity of hybrid beamforming sets of beam weights to be supported for the high rank MIMO communication.
However, WU discloses “an indication of a quantity of hybrid beamforming sets of beam
weights to be supported for the high rank MIMO communication” (See ¶ [0026] FIG.
3 shows a block diagram illustrating a method for compressing coefficients of precoding
vectors (e.g., MIMO precoding vectors, or beamforming weights). Such precoding vectors
can be used to support high performance MIMO/beamforming transmissions. ¶ [0038] The
maximum number of layers can be determined by a capability value that the UE reports to
the base station. ¶ [0058] the number of spatial basis vectors for each layer can be based on
a reported UE capability value. For example, if the number of spatial basis vectors for each
layer for ranks less than or equal to 2 is L0, the number of spatial basis vectors per layer for
ranks greater than 2 can be set to L = floor (2/R_UE L0), where R_UE is the maximum rank
value given by the UE capability value). Note: The UE reports a capability value indicating
the number of spatial vectors/ beamforming sets of beam weights, and for ranks greater
than two (high-rank MIMO), the capability value specifies the quantity of the beamforming
sets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 with the teachings of WU, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve performance for high-rank MIMO.
Regarding claims 9, 22, 32 and 45,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan, Raghavan ‘551 and WU discloses claim 9 of “The UE of claim 8”, claim 22 of “The network node of claim 21”, claim 32 of “The method of claim 31”, and claim 45 of “The method of claim 44”, “wherein the quantity of hybrid beamforming sets of beam weights to be supported is greater than 2” (See WU ¶ [0026] FIG. 3 shows a block diagram illustrating a method for compressing coefficients of precoding vectors (e.g., MIMO precoding vectors, or beamforming weights). Such precoding vectors can be used to support high performance MIMO/beamforming transmissions. ¶ [0058] the number of spatial basis vectors for each layer can be based on a reported UE capability value. For example, if the number of spatial basis vectors for each layer for ranks less than or equal to 2 is L0, the number of spatial basis vectors per layer for ranks greater than 2 can be set to L = floor (2/R_UE L0), where R_UE is the maximum rank value given by the UE capability value). Note: The number of spatial vectors/ beamforming weights for each layer, means that each layer is associated with its own set of beamforming weights, and for ranks greater than two, the quantity of beamforming sets is greater than two.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 with the teachings of WU, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve performance for high-rank MIMO.
Claims 10 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PALS et al.
(US 2020/0329369 A1) in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS et al. (US 2022/0123836 A1) and further
in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0314934 A1) and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 20210194551 A1) and further in view of WU et al. (US 2021/0376887 A1) and further in view of WESEMANN et al. (US 2022/0376956 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 33,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan, Raghavan ‘551 and WU discloses claim 10 of “The UE of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication, are configured to: transmit”, claim 33 of “The method of claim 31, wherein transmitting the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication comprises: transmitting” (See PALS ¶ [0076] The UE capability information message 408 may include a set 410 of supported band combinations (e.g. 1A- 3C, 1A-5A, 1A-7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the UE capability 412 associated with each band in each band combination of the set. For example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or eight layers).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan, Raghavan ‘551 and WU does not explicitly disclose an indication of a plurality of DMRS associated with a beamforming set of beam weights to be supported for high rank MIMO.
However, WESEMANN discloses “an indication of a plurality of demodulation reference
signal (DMRS) ports associated with a hybrid beamforming set of beam weights to be
supported for the high rank MIMO communication” (See ¶ [0130] to exploit the full
potential of massive MIMO communication systems, it may be important to have good
channel information. ¶ [0134] In the context of beamformed transmissions, user devices
with multiple transmit antennas can beamform their data layer in the uplink
(e.g., DMRS pilots and associated data symbols can be mapped to multiple transmit
antennas using a beamforming weight vector). Note: DMRS pilots is functionally equivalent
to DMRS ports, because DMRS pilots are the actual signals emanating from the ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan, Raghavan ‘551 and WU with the teachings of WESEMANN, and the motivation to do so would have been to exploit the full potential of massive MIMO communication systems by having good channel information (WESEMANN [0130]).
Claims 11, 24 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PALS et al.
(US 2020/0329369 A1) in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS et al. (US 2022/0123836 A1) and further
in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0314934 A1) and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 20210194551 A1) and further in view of YANG et al. (US 2020/0112349 A1).
Regarding claims 11, 24 and 34,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 discloses claim 11 of “The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication, are configured to transmit”, claim 24 of “The network node of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the capability to support high rank MIMO communication, are configured to: receive” and claim 34 of “The method of claim 25, wherein transmitting the indication of the capability to support the high rank MIMO communication comprises: transmitting” (See PALS ¶ [0076] The UE capability information message 408 may include a set 410 of supported band combinations (e.g. 1A-3C, 1A-5A, 1A-7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the UE capability 412 associated with each band in each band combination of the set. For example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL- MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or eight layers).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 does not explicitly disclose transmitting an indication of power and performance parameters for the high rank MIMO communication.
However, YANG discloses “an indication of power and performance parameters for the
high rank MIMO communication” (See ¶ [0051] the UE may signal, to a base station, the
maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx
chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). ¶ [0055] the
UE 120 is capable of communicating using four multiple-input multiple-output
(MIMO) layers, and includes four transmit chains. The first transmit chain (Tx 1) has a
maximum transmit power of 29 decibel-milliwatts (dBm), the second transmit chain (Tx 2)
has a maximum transmit power of 23 dBm, the third transmit chain (Tx 3) has a maximum
transmit power of 23 dBm, and the fourth transmit chain (Tx 4) has a maximum
transmit power of 23 dBm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 with the teachings of YANG, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve power efficiency.
Claims 14, 18, 37 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PALS
et al. (US 2020/0329369 A1) in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS et al. (US 2022/0123836 A1) and
further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0314934 A1) and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 20210194551 A1) and further in view of Gutman et al. (US 2021/0105046 A1) and further in view of RAGHAVAN et al. (US 2021/0351816 A1).
Regarding claims 14, 18, 37 and 41,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan, Raghavan ‘551 and Gutman discloses claim 14 of “The network node of claim 13”, claim 18 of “The network node of claim 17”, claim 37 of “The method of claim 36”, and claim 41 of “The method of claim 40”, but does not explicitly
disclose that the first frequency band comprises an FR2 frequency band, and the second
frequency band comprises an FR3 or FR4 frequency band.
However, RAGHAVAN ‘816 discloses “wherein the first frequency band comprises an FR2
frequency band; and wherein the second frequency band comprises an FR3 frequency band
or an FR4 frequency band” (See ¶ [0085] the UE may include a multi-band antenna module
(e.g., Module 2) with a first antenna module that can transmit and/or receive mmW signals
in a first frequency band (e.g., an FR2 frequency band, such as 28 GHz) and a second co-
located antenna module that can transmit and/or receive mmW signals in a second frequency band (e.g., an FR4 frequency band, such as 60 GHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS,
ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan, Raghavan ‘551 and Gutman with the teachings of RAGHAVAN ‘816, and the motivation to do so would have been to improve spectrum usage and/or load balancing (RAGHAVAN [0087]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PALS et al. (US
2020/0329369 A1) in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS et al. (US 2022/0123836 A1) and further in
view of Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0314934 A1) and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 20210194551 A1) and further in view of WESEMANN et al. (US 2022/0376956 A1).
Regarding claim 23,
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 discloses “The network node of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the capability to support high rank MIMO communication, are configured to: receive” (See PALS ¶ [0076] The UE capability information message 408 may include a set 410 of supported band combinations (e.g. 1A- 3C, 1A-5A, 1A-7C, 1A-3A-5A, 1A-3A-7C, etc.) and the UE capability 412 associated with each band in each band combination of the set. For example, the UE capability 412 may be the maximum number of layers used for spatial multiplexing in DL-MIMO (e.g. two layers, four layers, or eight layers).
PALS in view of ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 does not explicitly disclose an indication of a plurality of DMRS associated with a beamforming set of beam weights to be supported for high rank MIMO.
However, WESEMANN discloses “an indication of a plurality of demodulation reference
signal (DMRS) ports associated with a hybrid beamforming set of beam weights to be
supported for the high rank MIMO communication” (See ¶ [0130] to exploit the full
potential of massive MIMO communication systems, it may be important to have good
channel information. ¶ [0134] In the context of beamformed transmissions, user devices
with multiple transmit antennas can beamform their data layer in the uplink
(e.g., DMRS pilots and associated data symbols can be mapped to multiple transmit
antennas using a beamforming weight vector). Note: DMRS pilots is functionally equivalent
to DMRS ports, because DMRS pilots are the actual signals emanating from the ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of PALS and
ASIMAKOPOULOS, Raghavan and Raghavan ‘551 with the teachings of WESEMANN, and the motivation to do so would have been to exploit the full potential of massive MIMO communication systems by having good channel information (WESEMANN [0130]).
Conclusion
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462