Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3-9 are pending
Claims 1 and 6 are amended
Claims 2 and 10 are cancelled
Response to Arguments
Requirement to Correct Drawings
Applicant’s submitted corrections for figure 2 of the drawings is accepted and resolve the issues previously rejected. Therefore the objections to the drawings is withdrawn.
Response to Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Regarding applicant’s arguments that RIBIERO does not disclose “calculat[ing] a plurality of orientation values over a preset period of time based on the data output from the accelerometer”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. RIBIERO discloses the use of a “motion-sensing subsystem” within ¶ 0235 for collecting “multiple sensors that supply varying types of sensor data to the processor”. While primarily disclosed for use in tracking the camera lens, RIBIERO does anticipate the system aiding in the detection in vehicle rollovers within ¶ 0275. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the “receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia” (REBIERO, ¶ 0275) to represent “calculat[ing] a plurality of orientation values over a preset period of time” as a “rapid change of inertia” is only measurable over a period of time. Furthermore, RIBIERO recognizes the motion-sensing subsystem to “include one or more types of motion sensors, such as two-axis or three-axis accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, GPS units, and/or composite inertial measurement units” (¶ 0177) which would disclose the data output of the accelerometers.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that RIBIERO does not disclose “determine[ing] that the vehicle has rolled over if the plurality of orientation values reflect a change in the orientation values greater than a preset threshold amount”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Given the same reasons as in the previous paragraph, the “motion-sensing subsystem” within RIBIERO additionally discloses “Responsive to receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807, the motor vehicle [“…”] the sensor data supplied by the motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may enable to determine whether the vehicle rolled over and now remains upright, on its side, or upside down” (¶ 0275) which under broadest reasonable interpretation would be recognized by as representing the detection of a rollover event if a large change in acceleration or orientation was detected over time. Furthermore, the requirement for a threshold to be met is disclosed by RIBIERO in ¶ 0275 when determining to send an emergency message when “determining that the orientation of the motor vehicle is abnormal (e.g., on its side or upside down) or that the change in inertia indicates a rollover has occurred”. A person having reasonable skill in the art would recognize that for a computer to determine an abnormal state has occurred requires comparing the current values from the sensors with a set threshold value.
Given these reasons, the rejection under 35 USC § 102 is sustained. Please see 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RIBEIRO (US20190356885A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
RIBEIRO discloses:
A system for tracking a rollover of a recreational vehicle, the system comprising: (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0275, “According to yet another embodiment, the video processing system 100, 1400 may be used to detect and report a rollover or other sudden impact to a vehicle monitored by the video processing system 100, 1400.”)
a tracker configured for installation on a vehicle and including an accelerometer and a processor; and (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0177, " The motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may include one or more types of motion sensors, such as two-axis or three-axis accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, GPS units, and/or composite inertial measurement units. "; ¶ 0275, "the motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may be incorporated into a camera 101, 502, 1807 or may be installed elsewhere in the vehicle."; ¶ 0221, “Each camera 1807-1809 may further include a variety of sensors (e.g., an accelerometer, gyroscope, inertial measurement unit, magnetometer, GPS, etc.) providing outputs to the central or video processor to enable the processor to detect various inertial and locational changes affecting the camera 1807-1809 and/or the police car 1803 incorporating it.”)
a camera configured for installation on the vehicle; (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0052, "Another one or more cameras 102-104 may be mounted at predetermined locations on a vehicle (e.g., truck, car, boat, bus, motorcycle, and so forth) that transported the person to his or her current location or that is otherwise positioned near the person under surveillance. The positioning of the cameras 102-104 on the vehicle may be such that the cameras 102-104 captures images of the person and his surroundings at locations where the person is expected to be after stopping the vehicle.")
wherein the tracker is configured to communicate with the camera; (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0275, "The sensor data may indicate changes in inertia and other movement of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401. Responsive to receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807, the motor vehicle 1803, 522 in which a person under surveillance (e.g., police officer, guard, messenger, courier, etc.) is travelling, or both, the video processing system may determine an orientation of the motor vehicle based upon such sensor data.")
wherein the tracker is configured to use data output from the accelerometer to determine whether the vehicle has rolled over; (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0275, "The sensor data may indicate changes in inertia and other movement of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401. Responsive to receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807, the motor vehicle 1803, 522 in which a person under surveillance (e.g., police officer, guard, messenger, courier, etc.) is travelling, or both, the video processing system may determine an orientation of the motor vehicle based upon such sensor data. In other words, depending on the configuration of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401, the sensor data supplied by the motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may enable to determine whether the vehicle rolled over and now remains upright, on its side, or upside down. The processor 110, 1410 may then communicate an emergency message to an emergency management system responsive to determining that the orientation of the motor vehicle is abnormal (e.g., on its side or upside down) or that the change in inertia indicates a rollover has occurred. ")
wherein the tracker is configured so that, when it determines that the vehicle has rolled over, the tracker causes the camera to capture an image and send a notice of the rollover to a server. (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0275, "The processor 110, 1410 may then communicate an emergency message to an emergency management system responsive to determining that the orientation of the motor vehicle is abnormal (e.g., on its side or upside down) or that the change in inertia indicates a rollover has occurred. Therefore, the video processing system 100, 1400 may include or interact with a motion-sensing subsystem 1401 to monitor for accidents or other incidents involving a vehicle that includes one or more cameras 502, 1807-1809 forming part of the video processing system 100, 1400. Upon detecting such an incident, an emergency message may be sent to emergency management authorities to facilitate expedited action to be taken."; ¶ 0276, "According to yet another embodiment, the video processing system 100, 1400 may, through operation of its processor 110, 1410, insert and store a digital marker in video data received from a camera 101-104, 502, 1807-1809 responsive to receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807-1809, the motor vehicle 1803, 522 in which a person under surveillance (e.g., police officer, guard, messenger, courier, etc.) is travelling, or both. In other words, the video processor 110, 1410 may insert and store a digital marker in video data received by a camera 101, 502, 1807-1809 so as to identify the time at which the processor 110, 1410 received sensor data from a motion-sensing subsystem 1401, which sensor data indicated a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807-1809, the motor vehicle 1803, 522, or both. Marking the video in such a manner enables a person later investigating the accident or other incident to quickly view stored video from the time at which the incident occurred.")
wherein the tracker is configured to calculate a plurality of orientation values over a preset period of time based on the data output from the accelerometer and (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0177, “The motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may include one or more types of motion sensors, such as two-axis or three-axis accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, GPS units, and/or composite inertial measurement units.”; ¶ 0236, "For example, the processor 1410 may determine the reference longitudinal axis as the direction in which the vehicle (and the video camera system 1901, 2001) is currently traveling based on the output of an inertial measurement unit (IMU) or other motion sensors within the motion-sensing subsystem 1401. The processor 1410 may also determine a current orientation of the camera lens' optical axis by adjusting a factory present orientation by a change in orientation as detected by the IMU or other motion sensors within the motion-sensing subsystem 1401."; ¶ 0275, “The sensor data may indicate changes in inertia and other movement of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401. Responsive to receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807, the motor vehicle 1803, 522 in which a person under surveillance (e.g., police officer, guard, messenger, courier, etc.) is travelling, or both, the video processing system may determine an orientation of the motor vehicle based upon such sensor data. In other words, depending on the configuration of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401, the sensor data supplied by the motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may enable to determine whether the vehicle rolled over and now remains upright, on its side, or upside down.”)
to determine that the vehicle has rolled over if the plurality of orientation values reflect a change in the orientation values greater than a preset threshold amount. (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0275, " The sensor data may indicate changes in inertia and other movement of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401. Responsive to receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807, the motor vehicle 1803, 522 in which a person under surveillance (e.g., police officer, guard, messenger, courier, etc.) is travelling, or both, the video processing system may determine an orientation of the motor vehicle based upon such sensor data. In other words, depending on the configuration of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401, the sensor data supplied by the motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may enable to determine whether the vehicle rolled over and now remains upright, on its side, or upside down. ")
EXAMINERS NOTE: The RIBEIRO reference does not explicitly state that the camera system is used in a recreational vehicle, however, RIBEIRO states that the camera system can be used in a vehicle (RIBEIRO: Abstract) and the Office takes the position that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a recreational vehicle as a type of vehicle.
Regarding Claim 3:
RIBEIRO discloses the limitations within claim 1 and further discloses:
The system of claim 1 wherein the tracker is configured to communicate wirelessly with the camera to cause the camera to capture the image. (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0043, "Where the cameras 101-104 are positioned apart from the video processing apparatus 106, the cameras 101-104 may further include communication circuitry sufficient to communicate video data and optional motion data (e.g., sensor data) over wireless and/or wired networks to the video processing apparatus 106. Where a camera 101-104 is collocated with the video processing apparatus 106, the camera 101-104 may include one or more data buses or other communication paths to communicate video data and optional motion data (e.g., sensor data) to the video processing apparatus 106.")
Regarding claim 6:
RIBEIRO discloses:
A method for tracking a rollover of a recreational vehicle, the method comprising: (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0275, “According to yet another embodiment, the video processing system 100, 1400 may be used to detect and report a rollover or other sudden impact to a vehicle monitored by the video processing system 100, 1400.”)
providing a tracker configured for installation on a vehicle and including an accelerometer and a processor; and (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0177, " The motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may include one or more types of motion sensors, such as two-axis or three-axis accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, GPS units, and/or composite inertial measurement units. "; ¶ 0221, “Each camera 1807-1809 may further include a variety of sensors (e.g., an accelerometer, gyroscope, inertial measurement unit, magnetometer, GPS, etc.) providing outputs to the central or video processor to enable the processor to detect various inertial and locational changes affecting the camera 1807-1809 and/or the police car 1803 incorporating it.”); ¶ 0275, "the motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may be incorporated into a camera 101, 502, 1807 or may be installed elsewhere in the vehicle.")
with the tracker:
using data output from the accelerometer to determine whether the vehicle has rolled over; and (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0275, "The sensor data may indicate changes in inertia and other movement of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401. Responsive to receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807, the motor vehicle 1803, 522 in which a person under surveillance (e.g., police officer, guard, messenger, courier, etc.) is travelling, or both, the video processing system may determine an orientation of the motor vehicle based upon such sensor data. In other words, depending on the configuration of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401, the sensor data supplied by the motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may enable to determine whether the vehicle rolled over and now remains upright, on its side, or upside down. The processor 110, 1410 may then communicate an emergency message to an emergency management system responsive to determining that the orientation of the motor vehicle is abnormal (e.g., on its side or upside down) or that the change in inertia indicates a rollover has occurred. ")
if the tracker determines that the vehicle has rolled over, generating a trigger signal to send a notice of the rollover to a server, (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0275, "The processor 110, 1410 may then communicate an emergency message to an emergency management system responsive to determining that the orientation of the motor vehicle is abnormal (e.g., on its side or upside down) or that the change in inertia indicates a rollover has occurred. Therefore, the video processing system 100, 1400 may include or interact with a motion-sensing subsystem 1401 to monitor for accidents or other incidents involving a vehicle that includes one or more cameras 502, 1807-1809 forming part of the video processing system 100, 1400. Upon detecting such an incident, an emergency message may be sent to emergency management authorities to facilitate expedited action to be taken.")
wherein the tracker is configured to calculate a plurality of orientation values over a preset period of time based on the data output from the accelerometer and (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0177, “The motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may include one or more types of motion sensors, such as two-axis or three-axis accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, GPS units, and/or composite inertial measurement units.”; ¶ 0236, "For example, the processor 1410 may determine the reference longitudinal axis as the direction in which the vehicle (and the video camera system 1901, 2001) is currently traveling based on the output of an inertial measurement unit (IMU) or other motion sensors within the motion-sensing subsystem 1401. The processor 1410 may also determine a current orientation of the camera lens' optical axis by adjusting a factory present orientation by a change in orientation as detected by the IMU or other motion sensors within the motion-sensing subsystem 1401."; ¶ 0275, “The sensor data may indicate changes in inertia and other movement of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401. Responsive to receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807, the motor vehicle 1803, 522 in which a person under surveillance (e.g., police officer, guard, messenger, courier, etc.) is travelling, or both, the video processing system may determine an orientation of the motor vehicle based upon such sensor data. In other words, depending on the configuration of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401, the sensor data supplied by the motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may enable to determine whether the vehicle rolled over and now remains upright, on its side, or upside down.”)
to determine that the vehicle has rolled over if the plurality of orientation values reflect a change in the orientation values greater than a preset threshold amount. (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0275, " The sensor data may indicate changes in inertia and other movement of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401. Responsive to receiving sensor data indicating a rapid change in inertia of the video camera 101, 502, 1807, the motor vehicle 1803, 522 in which a person under surveillance (e.g., police officer, guard, messenger, courier, etc.) is travelling, or both, the video processing system may determine an orientation of the motor vehicle based upon such sensor data. In other words, depending on the configuration of the motion-sensing subsystem 1401, the sensor data supplied by the motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may enable to determine whether the vehicle rolled over and now remains upright, on its side, or upside down.")
EXAMINERS NOTE: The RIBEIRO reference does not explicitly state that the camera system is used in a recreational vehicle, however, RIBEIRO states that the camera system can be used in a vehicle (RIBEIRO: Abstract) and the Office takes the position that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a recreational vehicle as a type of vehicle.
Regarding Claim 7:
With regards to claim 7, this claim is substantially similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Regarding claim 8:
With regards to claim 8, this claim is substantially similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Regarding claim 9:
RIBEIRO discloses the limitations within claim 7 and further discloses:
The method of claim 7 wherein the step of capturing an image comprises capturing a still image or a video. (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0054, “The video processing apparatus 106 receives (201) a video data stream from each camera 101-104 in real time or near real time via the apparatus' communication interface 108. In other words, each camera 101-104 captures images, encodes the images into video data containing time-sequenced video frames, and communicates the video data to the video processing apparatus 106 as a stream of video frames in accordance with a video streaming protocol, without intentionally delaying the flow of video data any more than is necessary.”)
Regarding claim 10:
With regards to claim 10, this claim is substantially similar to claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RIBEIRO (US20190356885A1) in view of ZENG (US20210347293A1).
Regarding claim 4:
RIBIERO discloses the limitations within claim 1 and further discloses:
The system of claim 1 wherein the tracker (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0177, " The motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may include one or more types of motion sensors, such as two-axis or three-axis accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, GPS units, and/or composite inertial measurement units. "; ¶ 0275, "he motion-sensing subsystem 1401 may be incorporated into a camera 101, 502, 1807 or may be installed elsewhere in the vehicle.")
RIBIERO does not disclose, but ZENG teaches:
is powered by a rechargeable battery. (see at least ZENG, ¶ 0054, "The camera unit 100 may include a rechargeable battery (not shown) mounted in the housing 120 which powers the camera 130 but not the lamp 110. The battery may also provide power to the PLC interface 140, enabling the PLC interface to transmit data to the trailer 10 even when there is no DC current flowing (i.e., 0 V). Power from the trailer 10 and supplied to the camera unit 100 charges the battery. The battery may be a lithium-ion rechargeable battery.", ¶ 0075, "Besides cameras, other data-generating devices could be included in the camera unit such as a proximity sensor (to detect people and objects, lane change assistance), odor detector (e.g., to detect smoking tire or brakes), IR/heat sensor (for imaging or object detection), global positioning satellite (GPS) tracker, sensors to detect open doors, wet or dry temperature sensors to detect the temperature inside of a tanker or cargo container. Other sensors that could be included in the camera unit include a millimeter radar sensor and/or an ultra-sonic sensors.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the motion sensing subsystem within RIBEIRO to include the rechargeable battery of ZENG as it would yield an effective system to install additional sensors without "the need for another power source may prevent the camera unit 100 from being covert and/or easily installed, thereby impairing advantages of the video system" (ZENG, ¶ 0053).
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though RIBEIRO does not directly disclose the use of batteries on the motion sensing subsystem, RIBEIRO does anticipate the deployment of portable motion sensing systems that would be implemented with battery powered devices such as a phone or body cam (RIBEIRO, ¶ 0101, “For example, the motion data may be received from the employee's body camera 501, such as from one or more motion sensors (e.g., accelerometer, gyroscope, global positioning system (GPS), or other sensors) embedded within the camera 501, or from a mobile device 530 carried by the employee 512 (e.g., from a smartphone running a mobile application that is time-synchronized with the employee's body camera 501).”) .
Regarding claim 5:
RIBIERO discloses the limitations within claim 1 and further discloses:
The system of claim 1 wherein the camera (see at least RIBEIRO, ¶ 0278, "For example, where the system cameras include a body camera 501 secured to the body of a person, which may be the person under surveillance, and a data message from the body camera 501 does not indicate that the body camera has been activated, the video processor 110, 1410 may communicate a control message to the body camera 501 causing the body camera 501 to activate and begin communicating video data to the video processor 110, 1410. Such a procedure may be used to keep the body camera 501 from transmitting video until instructed to do so in order to conserve the body cam's battery or to delay body cam transmissions until one or more other cameras are also transmitting, such as the vehicle-mounted cameras 1807-1809.")
RIBIERO does not disclose but ZENG teaches:
is powered by a rechargeable battery. (see at least ZENG, ¶ 0054, "The camera unit 100 may include a rechargeable battery (not shown) mounted in the housing 120 which powers the camera 130 but not the lamp 110. The battery may also provide power to the PLC interface 140, enabling the PLC interface to transmit data to the trailer 10 even when there is no DC current flowing (i.e., 0 V). Power from the trailer 10 and supplied to the camera unit 100 charges the battery. The battery may be a lithium-ion rechargeable battery.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the camera system within RIBEIRO to include the rechargeable battery of ZENG as it would yield an effective system to install the camera without "the need for another power source may prevent the camera unit 100 from being covert and/or easily installed, thereby impairing advantages of the video system" (ZENG, ¶ 0053).
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though RIBEIRO does not directly discuss the use of batteries on vehicle cameras, RIBEIRO does anticipate the deployment of portable camera systems such as body cameras that would require a portable power system such as a battery.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BOYKIN (US 20180025636 A1)
¶ 0104, “Collisions and rollovers can also be detected with system 300 by sampling telemetry data from the accelerometer 303. During a collision the magnitude of the telemetry data from accelerometer 303 is much higher than the magnitude of the telemetry data from the accelerometer 303 discussed in connection with aggressive driving. For example, where the maximum longitudinal deceleration experienced by a vehicle may be approximately −1.3 Gs, a vehicle involved in a collision would experience much greater values of deceleration. For example, a vehicle stopping from a speed of 30 miles per hour in 1 foot would experience approximately −30 Gs. This type of rapid deceleration is indicative of a collision. Similarly, a vehicle's vertical acceleration (depicted as +/−Z values in FIG. 18) should be relatively low and only fluctuate as the vehicle experiences body roll or as the vehicle traverses uneven ground. The vehicle's vertical acceleration would increase sharply if the vehicle were involved in a rollover. In either case, the computer 312 may also be configured with software instructions to determine if there is a spike in acceleration above a predetermined threshold which is consistent with a collision or a rollover. The computer 312 may also be configured with instructions to trigger one or more actions in the event a collision or rollover is detected by the computer 312. A non-limiting example may include sending an emergency communication notifying dispatch of the collision or rollover. This could be beneficial, particularly where the LEO is not conscious, injured, or otherwise unable to request medical attention.”
¶ 0053, “The present disclosure provides the officer the means to leverage technology to perform this continual monitoring task. Upon receipt of such alerts, the computer 12 microprocessor activates the camera device 16 (if not already activated) to start collecting information and processing the captured image data to determine whether the specific content identified in the alert is present in the captured image data. The computer 12 microprocessor is configured to search the captured image data for the presence of the designated content according to the received alert or communication. For example, the designated content may include information such as: a geographical parameter (e.g. GPS coordinate), location data (street designation, historic site, monument, etc.), vehicle type (SUV, truck, sedan, motorcycle, etc.), license plate number(s), particular objects (traffic lights, street signs, etc.), particular shapes (human, animal, etc.), or a person, e.g., with particular characteristics.”
KUMAR (US20190039545A1)
¶ 0014, “To collect or otherwise obtain the above described data, each vehicle and/or infrastructure device may comprise one or more sensors or may be in communication with one or more external devices (e.g., a mobile device owned by a driver of a vehicle) comprising one or more sensors, user profiles, or other data. For example, each vehicle and/or infrastructure device may comprise odometers, global positioning systems, cameras, level sensors (to detect rollovers), force/pressure/impact sensors, range/proximity sensors, various wireless network interfaces capable of detect access to different data networks, mobile networks, and other mobile devices (e.g., via Bluetooth), clocks, and/or movement sensors such as, for example, accelerometers, speedometers, compasses, and gyroscopes.”
/RAFAEL VELASQUEZ VANEGAS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/JOAN T GOODBODY/Examiner, Art Unit 3667