DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and/or arguments submitted on 07/15/2026 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-21 are pending:
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to specification objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objections of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objections of record has been withdrawn.
The office notes that the instant amended drawing set introduces new objections that are detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to 35 USC 102 art rejection by Eskandari (US 2021/0069813) have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts, page 4-5, that Eskandari fails to disclose omitting raw data as Eskandari’s filtering is directed towards “smoothing out micro-level sensor noise”, as opposed to applicant’s “entire sections of raw motion data are intentionally omitted from the recorded positioning data”.
The office respectfully disagrees with applicant’s conclusion, and notes that applicant’s assertion is not commensurate in scope to the presented claim language. While the office agrees that there is a potential difference between applicant’s disclosure and the disclosure of Eskandari, the potential subject matter difference is not reflected in the claim language. Filtering to smooth out the data does omit raw data – the raw data has been changed/processed and therefore at least some of the raw data has been omitted.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to 35 USC 103 art rejections based upon Eskandari (US 2021/0069813), Jacovetty (US 8,115,138), Devengenzo (US 9,919,424), and Heinz (EP 1 582 286) have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts, page 5-6, that one of ordinary skill in the art would have “no motivation to modify” Eskandari in view of Devengenzo and that any such modification relies upon hindsight bias, as the modification relies upon the filtering system argued above in the context of 35 USC 102 to be improper.
The office respectfully disagrees. The office respectfully repeats the response from above that the filtering system of Eskandari is proper and reads upon the claim language as presented. The modification to Eskandari by Devengenzo relies upon the motivation to improve the movement and operation of Eskandari to have smoother operation/path recordings due to the teachings of Devengenzo of selectively processing/recording input signals as detailed in the rejection of record. As the motivation comes from the reference of Devengenzo itself, the combination does not rely upon hindsight bias.
Applicant asserts, page 6, that Jacovetty and Heinz in combination with Eskandari and/or Devengenzo fail to teach the last paragraph of claim 1.
The office respectfully disagrees with applicant’s conclusion. The above assertion is merely a piecemeal analysis of the rejections of record, as neither Jacovetty nor Heinz were relied upon for the last paragraph of Claim 1. Further, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
Unsatisfactory reproduction characteristics due to insufficiently dense, dark, and well-defined lines that are not heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. See MPEP 1.84(l).
Fig3/10, text now more fuzzy relative to drawing set dated 03/20/2023
Fig7, impossible to read small text anymore, and the rest of the text is now more fuzzy, relative to drawing set dated 03/20/2023
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 11-14, 18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eskandari (US 2021/0069813)
Claim 1
Eskandari discloses:
“A system comprising:
a robotic welding apparatus (Fig2, robotic welding system 100) configured to weld metal sections (Fig1/2/2A, pipe sections P) together along a seam (Abstract, Para32-33; Fig2/2A, welding torch T shown welding at seam S);
an input device (Fig2/2A, camera C) configured to produce positioning input for the robotic welding apparatus while welding (Abstract, Para34/33/35, camera C is used during welding to detect and control positioning of the welding system 100); and
a controller (Fig2/2A, control cabinet 101, controller 103, processor 107) configured to control the robotic welding apparatus (Para33, control cabinet 101 controls operation of welding system 100) in accordance with (i) a recording state in which operation of the robotic welding apparatus is controlled and recorded while welding in a root pass based on the positioning input to produce recorded positioning data (Fig3/Starting at Para36; Fig3E/Starting at Para46: two method embodiments of the root pass where the welding positioning is recorded), and (ii) an automatic state in which operation of the robotic welding apparatus is automatically controlled while welding in a subsequent pass based on the recorded positioning data (Fig4/Starting at Para53: additional welding passes after the recorded root pass and based upon the recorded positioning data in the root pass);
wherein the controller (Fig2/2A, control cabinet 101, controller 103, processor 107) is configured to selectively record motion of the robotic welding apparatus such that the recorded positioning data utilized in the automatic state omits (Para41/51, spatial data in filtered thus implicitly omitting raw data due to smoothing/filtering) at least one of (i) … and (ii) stop-start motions of the robotic welding apparatus (Para41/51, spatial data in filtered thus implicitly omitting raw data due to smoothing/filtering).”
Claim 2
Eskandari discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the metal sections comprise pipe sections (Fig1/2/2A, pipe sections P) that have been stitched together with stitches (Fig1/2/2A, stitches St) to form a pipe string (Fig1/2/2A, pipe string connected to positioner 105; Para32), and the system further comprises: a positioner (Fig1/2/2A, positioner 105; Para32) configured to rotate the pipe string in relation to the robotic welding apparatus (Para32) such that the robotic welding apparatus welds along the seam which is between the pipe sections (Fig1/2/2A, arrangement shown; Para32/33; Fig3/3E/4 show welding along seam/stitch region); wherein the root pass and the subsequent pass both involve rotating the pipe string in relation to the robotic welding apparatus by a full rotation (Para45/52, controller monitors positioner to signal when one revolution of the pipes has been completed during operation).”
Claim 9
Eskandari discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the input device comprises a camera (Fig2/2A, camera C).”
Claim 11
Eskandari discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the input device comprises a laser device (Para35, laser camera is used in addition to camera C).”
Claim 12
Eskandari discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises a PLC (programmable logic controller) (Para33, controller 103 is a PLC – programmable logic controller).”
Claim 13
Eskandari discloses: “”
“A method comprising:
welding, using a robotic welding apparatus (Fig2, robotic welding system 100; Para33), metal sections (Fig1/2/2A, pipe sections P) together along a seam (Abstract, Para32-33; Fig2/2A, welding torch T shown welding at seam S) in a root pass (Fig3/Starting at Para36; Fig3E/Starting at Para46: two method embodiments of the root pass where the welding positioning is recorded) in accordance with a recording state (Fig3/Starting at Para36; Fig3E/Starting at Para46: two method embodiments of the root pass where the welding positioning is recorded) in which operation of the robotic welding apparatus is controlled and recorded (Fig2/2A, control cabinet 101, controller 103, processor 107; Para33, control cabinet 101 controls operation of welding system 100) based on positioning input from an input device (Fig2/2A, camera C) to produce recorded positioning data (Abstract, Para34/33/35, camera C is used during welding to detect and control positioning of the welding system 100);
welding, using a robotic welding apparatus (Fig2, robotic welding system 100; Para33), the metal sections together along the seam in a subsequent pass in accordance with an automatic state in which operation of the robotic welding apparatus is automatically controlled based on the recorded positioning data (Fig4/Starting at Para53: additional welding passes after the recorded root pass and based upon the recorded positioning data in the root pass);
wherein the method comprises selectively recording motion of the robotic welding apparatus such that the recorded positioning data utilized in the automatic state omits (Para41/51, spatial data in filtered thus implicitly omitting raw data due to smoothing/filtering) at least one of (i) … and (ii) stop-start motions of the robotic welding apparatus (Para41/51, spatial data in filtered thus implicitly omitting raw data due to smoothing/filtering).”
Claim 14
Eskandari discloses: “The method of claim 13, wherein the metal sections comprise pipe sections (Fig1/2/2A, pipe sections P) that have been stitched together with stitches (Fig1/2/2A, stitches St) to form a pipe string (Fig1/2/2A, pipe string connected to positioner 105; Para32), and the method further comprises: rotating the pipe string in relation to the robotic welding apparatus (Fig1/2/2A, positioner 105; Para32) such that the robotic welding apparatus welds along the seam which is between the pipe sections (Fig1/2/2A, arrangement shown; Para32; Fig3/3E/4 show welding along seam/stitch region); wherein the root pass and the subsequent pass both involve rotating the pipe string in relation to the robotic welding apparatus by a full rotation (Para45/52, controller monitors positioner to signal when one revolution of the pipes has been completed during operation).”
Claim 18
Eskandari discloses: “The method of claim 13, wherein the recorded positioning data omits stop-start motions of the robotic welding apparatus (Para41/51, spatial data in filtered thus implicitly omitting raw data due to smoothing/filtering).”
Claim 21
Eskandari discloses:
“A non-transitory computer readable medium (Para66/68/69) having
recorded thereon statements and instructions (Para66/68/69) that, when executed by control circuitry of a welding system (Para66/68/69),
configure the welding system to implement the method of claim 13 (see claim 13).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eskandari (US 2021/0069813) in view of Jacovetty (US 8,115,138)
Claim 10
Eskandari discloses the arrangement of Claim 1. Eskandari discloses (Para35) the application of a plurality of cameras.
Eskandari is silent to the application of a joystick as the input device.
Jacovetty teaches (C13L27-33; Fig11, input device 1136; C1L16-19) that cameras and a joystick are known in the art alternative input devices for computer welding systems.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Eskandari to substitute a joystick input device for one of the additional cameras of Eskandari, as Jacovetty teaches that cameras and joysticks are known in the art alternative input devices for computer welding systems, and such a modification would merely be a simple substitution for one known in the art input device for computer welding system for another, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement of Eskandari with an additional working and known joystick input device which provides flexibility for a user when using the arrangement due to increased input options.
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 11-18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eskandari (US 2021/0069813) in view of Devengenzo (US 9,919,424)
Claim 1
Eskandari discloses:
“A system comprising:
a robotic welding apparatus (Fig2, robotic welding system 100) configured to weld metal sections together along a seam (Abstract; Fig2/2A, welding torch T shown welding at seam S);
an input device (Fig2/2A, camera C) configured to produce positioning input for the robotic welding apparatus while welding (Abstract, Para34/33/35, camera C is used during welding to detect and control positioning of the welding system 100); and
a controller (Fig2/2A, control cabinet 101, controller 103, processor 107) configured to control the robotic welding apparatus (Para33, control cabinet 101 controls operation of welding system 100) in accordance with (i) a recording state in which operation of the robotic welding apparatus is controlled and recorded while welding in a root pass based on the positioning input to produce recorded positioning data (Fig3/Starting at Para36; Fig3E/Starting at Para46: two method embodiments of the root pass where the welding positioning is recorded), and (ii) an automatic state in which operation of the robotic welding apparatus is automatically controlled while welding in a subsequent pass based on the recorded positioning data (Fig4/Starting at Para53: welding passes after the recorded root pass and based upon the recorded positioning data in the root pass);
wherein the controller (Fig2/2A, control cabinet 101, controller 103, processor 107) is configured to selectively record motion of the robotic welding apparatus such that the recorded positioning data utilized in the automatic state omits (Para41/51, spatial data in filtered thus implicitly omitting raw data due to smoothing/filtering) …”
Eskandari does not explicitly disclose that the positioning data is filtered/omitted for the “initial transient motions” of the apparatus.
Devengenzo teaches (C10L60-C11L7, C11L20-34) that it is known in the art to selectively process and/or record the received positional/movement input signals in order to optimize/revise the raw movements, example to omit “jiggling” or other non-desired movements to result in a smooth operation, during an initial/training run of the robot arm.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Eskandari to expand the existing positional filtering system to apply the known in the art process, as taught by Devengenzo, to selectively process and/or record the received positional/movement input signals in order to optimize/revise the raw movements during a root pass of robot arm, as such a modification would merely be applying a known technique from Devengenzo to a known device of Eskandari which is ready for the improvement to field the predictable results of improved robot weld movement due to smoother operation due to optimized/revised movement path recordings.
Claim 2
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the metal sections comprise pipe sections (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, pipe sections P) that have been stitched together with stitches (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, stitches St) to form a pipe string (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, pipe string connected to positioner 105; Para32), and the system further comprises: a positioner (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, positioner 105; Para32) configured to rotate the pipe string in relation to the robotic welding apparatus (Eskandari: Para32) such that the robotic welding apparatus welds along the seam which is between the pipe sections (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, arrangement shown; Para32/33; Fig3/3E/4 show welding along seam/stitch region); wherein the root pass and the subsequent pass both involve rotating the pipe string in relation to the robotic welding apparatus by a full rotation (Eskandari: Para45/52, controller monitors positioner to signal when one revolution of the pipes has been completed during operation).”
Claim 3
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the recorded positioning data omits the initial transient motions of the robotic welding apparatus (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1), and the controller is configured to omit the initial transient motions by not recording motions for an initial time period at a beginning of the root pass (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1).”
Claim 4
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the recorded positioning data omits the initial transient motions of the robotic welding apparatus (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1), and the controller is configured to omit the initial transient motions by recording motions starting from a beginning of the root pass and removing recorded motions of the robotic welding apparatus during an initial time period at the beginning of the root pass (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1).”
Claim 5
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the recorded positioning data omits stop-start motions of the robotic welding apparatus (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1), and the system is configured to omit start-stop motions by pausing recording when the robotic welding apparatus stops moving relative to the metal sections (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1; Devengenzo: C1120-34, welding movement is recorded, which is a movement relative to the workpiece) and resuming recording when the robotic welding apparatus starts moving relative to the metal sections (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1; Devengenzo: C1120-34, welding movement is recorded, which is a movement relative to the workpiece).”
Claim 9
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the input device comprises a camera (Eskandari: Fig2/2A, camera C).”
Claim 11
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the input device comprises a laser device (Eskandari: Para35, laser camera is used in addition to camera C).”
Claim 12
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises a PLC (programmable logic controller) (Eskandari: Para33, controller 103 is a PLC – programmable logic controller).”
Claim 13
Eskandari discloses: “”
“A method comprising:
welding, using a robotic welding apparatus (Fig2, robotic welding system 100; Para33), metal sections (Fig1/2/2A, pipe sections P) together along a seam (Abstract, Para32-33; Fig2/2A, welding torch T shown welding at seam S) in a root pass (Fig3/Starting at Para36; Fig3E/Starting at Para46: two method embodiments of the root pass where the welding positioning is recorded) in accordance with a recording state (Fig3/Starting at Para36; Fig3E/Starting at Para46: two method embodiments of the root pass where the welding positioning is recorded) in which operation of the robotic welding apparatus is controlled and recorded (Fig2/2A, control cabinet 101, controller 103, processor 107; Para33, control cabinet 101 controls operation of welding system 100) based on positioning input from an input device (Fig2/2A, camera C) to produce recorded positioning data (Abstract, Para34/33/35, camera C is used during welding to detect and control positioning of the welding system 100);
welding, using a robotic welding apparatus (Fig2, robotic welding system 100; Para33), the metal sections together along the seam in a subsequent pass in accordance with an automatic state in which operation of the robotic welding apparatus is automatically controlled based on the recorded positioning data (Fig4/Starting at Para53: additional welding passes after the recorded root pass and based upon the recorded positioning data in the root pass);
wherein the method comprises selectively recording motion of the robotic welding apparatus such that the recorded positioning data utilized in the automatic state omits (Para41/51, spatial data in filtered thus implicitly omitting raw data due to smoothing/filtering) … ”
Eskandari does not explicitly disclose that the positioning data is filtered/omitted for the “initial transient motions” of the apparatus.
Devengenzo teaches (C10L60-C11L7, C11L20-34) that it is known in the art to selectively process and/or record the received positional/movement input signals in order to optimize/revise the raw movements, example to omit “jiggling” or other non-desired movements to result in a smooth operation, during an initial/training run of the robot arm.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Eskandari to expand the existing positional filtering system to apply the known in the art process, as taught by Devengenzo, to selectively process and/or record the received positional/movement input signals in order to optimize/revise the raw movements during a root pass of robot arm, as such a modification would merely be applying a known technique from Devengenzo to a known device of Eskandari which is ready for the improvement to field the predictable results of improved robot weld movement due to smoother operation due to optimized/revised movement path recordings.
Claim 14
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The method of claim 13, wherein the metal sections comprise pipe sections (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, pipe sections P) that have been stitched together with stitches (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, stitches St) to form a pipe string (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, pipe string connected to positioner 105; Para32), and the method further comprises: rotating the pipe string in relation to the robotic welding apparatus (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, positioner 105; Para32) such that the robotic welding apparatus welds along the seam which is between the pipe sections (Eskandari: Fig1/2/2A, arrangement shown; Para32; Fig3/3E/4 show welding along seam/stitch region); wherein the root pass and the subsequent pass both involve rotating the pipe string in relation to the robotic welding apparatus by a full rotation (Eskandari: Para45/52, controller monitors positioner to signal when one revolution of the pipes has been completed during operation).”
Claim 15
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The method of claim 13, wherein the recorded positioning data omits the initial transient motions of the robotic welding apparatus (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1).”
Claim 16
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The method of claim 15, wherein the recorded positioning data omits the initial transient motions of the robotic welding apparatus by: omitting the motions of the robotic welding apparatus for an initial time period at a beginning of the root pass (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1).”
Claim 17
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The method of claim 16, wherein omitting motions of the robotic welding apparatus for the initial time period comprises: removing recorded motions of the robotic welding apparatus during the initial time period (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in Claim 1; movement data inherently exists over a time period).”
Claim 18
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses: “The method of claim 13, wherein the recorded positioning data omits stop-start motions of the robotic welding apparatus (Eskandari: Para41/51, spatial data in filtered thus implicitly omitting raw data due to smoothing/filtering; limitation is within the bounds of the combination as discussed in Claim 13).”
Claim 21
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses:
“A non-transitory computer readable medium (Eskandari: Para66/68/69) having
recorded thereon statements and instructions (Eskandari: Para66/68/69) that, when executed by control circuitry of a welding system (Eskandari: Para66/68/69),
configure the welding system to implement the method of claim 13 (see claim 13).”
Claim(s) 6-8, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eskandari (US 2021/0069813) in view of Devengenzo (US 9,919,424), and in further view of Heinz (EP 1 582 286)
Claim 6
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo disclose the arrangement of Claim 1.
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses (Devengenzo: C10L60-C11L7, C11L20-34) that it is known remove non-desired movements.
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo is silent to responding to a welding mishap, repeating the weld, and omitting the welding mishap data, as claimed in Claim 6.
Heinz teaches (Abstract, Last Para before Claims; Claim 7) that it is known in the art when a faulty weld is detected, then the system will perform a repeat weld over the faulty weld using a different/modified set of welding parameters including position control.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo to account for faulty welds, as Heinz teaches that it is known in the art when a faulty weld is detected, then the system will perform a repeat weld over the faulty weld using a different/modified set of welding parameters including position control and thus that the original recording positioning of the modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo should be revised/optimized to record the correct welding pass and to omit the faulty welding pass, as a faulty welding pass is not preferable, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo with an improved method of recording/omitting welding data by teaching an accommodation method for responding to detected faulty welds as taught by Heinz.
Claim 7
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo and Heinz discloses: “The system of claim 6, wherein omitting motions of the robotic welding apparatus during the welding mishap involves removing recorded motions of the robotic welding apparatus during the welding mishap (limitation is within the bounds of the combination as discussed in claim 6).”
Claim 8
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo and Heinz discloses: “The system of claim 7, wherein omitting motions of the robotic welding apparatus during the welding mishap involves replacing the recorded motions of the robotic welding apparatus during the welding mishap with recorded motions during the repeat welding in the region of the welding mishap (limitation is within the bounds of the combination as discussed in claim 6).”
Claim 19
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo disclose the arrangement of Claim 18.
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses (Devengenzo: C10L60-C11L7, C11L20-34) that it is known remove non-desired movements.
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo is silent to responding to a welding mishap, repeating the weld, and omitting the welding mishap data, as claimed in Claim 6.
Heinz teaches (Abstract, Last Para before Claims; Claim 7) that it is known in the art when a faulty weld is detected, then the system will perform a repeat weld over the faulty weld using a different/modified set of welding parameters including position control.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo to account for faulty welds, as Heinz teaches that it is known in the art when a faulty weld is detected, then the system will perform a repeat weld over the faulty weld using a different/modified set of welding parameters including position control and thus that the original recording positioning of the modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo should be revised/optimized to record the correct welding pass and to omit the faulty welding pass, as a faulty welding pass is not preferable, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo with an improved method of recording/omitting welding data by teaching an accommodation method for responding to detected faulty welds as taught by Heinz.
Claim 20
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo and Heinz discloses: “The method of claim 19, wherein omitting the motions of the robotic welding apparatus during the welding mishap comprises: replacing recorded motions of the robotic welding apparatus leading up to the welding mishap with recorded motions of the robotic welding apparatus during the repeat welding (limitation is within the bounds of the combination as discussed in claim 19).”
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eskandari (US 2021/0069813) in view of Devengenzo (US 9,919,424), and in further view of Jacovetty (US 8,115,138)
Claim 10
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo discloses the arrangement of Claim 1. Eskandari discloses (Para35) the application of a plurality of cameras.
The modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo is silent to the application of a joystick as the input device.
Jacovetty teaches (C13L27-33; Fig11, input device 1136; C1L16-19) that cameras and a joystick are known in the art alternative input devices for computer welding systems.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo to substitute a joystick input device for one of the additional cameras of Eskandari, as Jacovetty teaches that cameras and joysticks are known in the art alternative input devices for computer welding systems, and such a modification would merely be a simple substitution for one known in the art input device for computer welding system for another, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Eskandari by the teachings of Devengenzo with an additional working and known joystick input device which provides flexibility for a user when using the arrangement due to increased input options.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761