DETAILED ACTION
Currently, claims 1-16 are being examined, while claims 17-20 remain withdrawn.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ‘heater positioned within the inner cavity and between the conduit and the shell’ (claim 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “wherein the heater is positioned within the inner cavity and between the conduit and the shell”. However, there does not appear to be sufficient support for this specific claim limitation in Applicant’s disclosure. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/186,527 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the copending claims. Here, the more specific copending claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee, U.S. 2017/0135742 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses (note figs. 1-2) an ablation probe comprising: a shell (12) configured to be positioned at a target tissue in a patient; a conduit (i.e., inner-most lumen) positioned inside the shell, the conduit capable of supplying a cryo-fluid toward a ‘tip’ of the shell (i.e., distal region of ‘12’ including the section containing a distal portion of ‘38’); and a heater (38) necessarily positioned radially outward of an outer surface of the conduit, the heater configured to heat the ablation probe to perform thermal ablation, wherein the heater is necessarily positioned around a ‘main shaft portion’ of the shell (i.e., proximal region of ‘12’ including the section containing a proximal portion of ‘38’) and ‘around’ the tip of the shell (see above). It should be noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses (see above) an ablation probe wherein the heater is necessarily ‘embedded in’ a layer of coating (82) positioned on an external surface of the shell.
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses (see above) an ablation probe wherein the heater comprises a resistive heating wire ‘wrapped around’ the conduit.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses (see above) an ablation probe wherein the heater is coupled to a power line (44) configured to supply a power signal to the heater, the power line necessarily positioned ‘externally’ to the shell (e.g., at the proximal end of the probe).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses (see above) an ablation probe wherein the layer of coating is necessarily positioned ‘over’ the power line (e.g., at terminal ‘48’ – junction between ‘38’ and ‘44’) externally to the shell (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses (see above) an ablation probe comprising two or more measurement contacts (‘50’ and ‘56’) on an external surface of the ablation probe.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses (see above) an ablation probe wherein the conduit includes at least one opening at or near the tip to allow fluid to exit an interior of the conduit and flow in a return direction between an outer surface of the conduit and an inner surface of the shell (see figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses (see above) an ablation probe wherein the shell necessarily has a tube shape extending from a proximal end to a distal end at the tip (see figs. 1-2); and the shell necessarily forms an inner cavity in which the conduit (i.e., inner-most lumen) is positioned.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 15, Lee discloses (note figs. 1-2; as best understood by Examiner) an ablation probe comprising: a shell (82) configured to be positioned at a target tissue in a patient; a conduit (i.e., inner-most lumen) positioned inside the shell, the conduit capable of supplying a cryo-fluid ‘toward’ a ‘tip of the shell’ (i.e., distal region of ‘82’); and a heater (38) necessarily positioned radially outward of an outer surface of the conduit, the heater configured to heat the ablation probe to perform thermal ablation, wherein the heater is necessarily positioned around a ‘main shaft portion’ of the shell (i.e., proximal region of ‘82’) and ‘around’ the tip of the shell (see above); wherein the shell necessarily has a tube shape extending from a proximal end to a distal end at the tip (see figs. 1-2); and the shell necessarily forms an inner cavity (i.e., inner space defined by ‘82’) in which the conduit (i.e., inner-most lumen) is positioned; and wherein the heater is necessarily positioned within the inner cavity and between the conduit and the shell. It should be noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses (note figs. 1-2) an ablation probe comprising: an inner conduit (i.e., inner-most lumen) extending axially along an axis; an outer shell (12) positioned radially outward of the inner conduit and extending along the axis and terminating at a ‘tip’ of the outer shell (i.e., distal region of ‘12’ including the section containing a distal portion of ‘38’); a coil of resistive wire (38) positioned externally to the outer shell (note paragraph 41), the coil configured to heat the ablation probe to a predetermined temperature sufficient to perform thermal ablation, wherein the coil of resistive wire is necessarily positioned around a ‘main shaft portion’ of the outer shell (i.e., proximal region of ‘12’ including the section containing a proximal portion of ‘38’) and ‘around’ the tip of the outer shell (see above); and a layer of coating (82) positioned around the coil of resistive wire separating the coil of resistive wire from an external surface of the ablation probe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Sporri, U.S. 6,042,590 (hereinafter Sporri).
Regarding claims 3-4, Lee discloses (see above) an ablation probe comprising a layer of coating, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein this layer of coating comprises a thermally conductive heat shrink material. Sporri teaches (note figs. 3-4) a similar instrument comprising a probe with a layer of coating (48) thereon, wherein this layer of coating necessarily comprises a thermally conductive heat shrink material (note col. 6, line 19). It is well known in the art that these different coating configurations are widely considered to be interchangeable, and that this specific configuration results in increased safety since it has been utilized to “inhibit[s] the heating element from sticking to the body tissue” (note col. 6, line 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the apparatus of Lee to comprise a thermally conductive heat shrink coating (as taught by Sporri) in order to increase safety. It should also be noted that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claims 9-12, Lee discloses (see above) an ablation probe comprising multiple external ‘measurement contacts’ (i.e., thermocouples), wherein one of them (50) is disposed in the layer of coating between adjacent wraps of a resistive heating coil (‘38’ – note paragraph 41). While Lee discloses an ablation probe comprising three measurement contacts (i.e., thermocouples), and further teaches that this probe could include “additional thermocouples” (note paragraph 73), Lee fails to explicitly disclose a probe comprising a second measurement contact disposed in the layer of coating between adjacent wraps of the resistive heating coil. It is well known in the art (as can be seen by Lee) that the use of additional feedback sensors (e.g., disposed along the length and/or around the circumference of the probe) would result in increased efficiency and safety. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the apparatus of Lee to comprise additional thermocouples disposed at any of a variety of locations along the probe (including at the claimed location in the layer of coating between adjacent wraps of the resistive heating coil), in order to increase efficiency and safety. It should be noted that the remaining claim limitations would necessarily have been met by this modified device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning Lee, Examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically, Examiner maintains that the claims have been met as they are currently written, due to the breadth of limitations such as “shell”, “tip”, “main shaft portion”, and “around” (see above rejections for current interpretation). Therefore, despite Applicant’s arguments, Examiner asserts that the claims are still met by Lee.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS A GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794