DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 3/27/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/27/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSes filed 3/20/23, 7/9/24 and 2/20/25 have all been considered and placed of record. The three (3) initialed copies are attached herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Any reference to the method should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korean document KR20200130825A (see machine translation).
Re claim 1, the document discloses a wireless charging coil module for wirelessly receiving or transmitting electric power or signals by using electromagnetic fields (para 2), the wireless charging coil module 1 having, inter alia, a base 2; and a coil part 3 including a coil provided on one surface of the base to be rotated in one direction (end of para 30), wherein the coil includes a rolled thin plate of a conductive metal disposed on the one surface of the base (fig 1; para 36-37), and wherein a side part of the coil has a shape, a central portion 11 of which protrudes or is recessed (fig 1; para 36). See additional para 27-28 and 30-32.
Re claim 2, the document further discloses the thickness of the coils is between 60 micrometers and 500 micrometers (para 55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean document KR20200130825A (see machine translation).
Re claim 3, the document further discloses the side part (fig 2c) includes: a first inclined part 22 disposed adjacent to the base 2, and having a first inclination angle with respect to a lower surface of the coil; and a second inclined part 11 extending upwards from one end of the first inclined part, and having a second inclination angle with respect to an upper surface of the coil, and wherein the first inclination angle and the second inclination angle are the same. (the bolded text is not disclosed in the document). It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have fabricated the angles to be same for easy machine manufacturing process and further it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 4, the document does not disclose the angles of the first and second inclination are obtuse angles. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the inclination angles to be obtuse angles since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 5, the document further discloses the angles of the first and second inclinations are acute angles (fig 2c).
Re claim 6, the document further discloses a magnetic layer covering at least a portion of the coil while directly contacting the coil (para 19), and configured to act an electromagnetic booster that enhances an intensity of the electromagnetic field generated on the surface of the coil (inherent effect of having a magnet near coils to increase the field around the coils), wherein the magnetic layer decrease, among a skin effect and a proximity effect of an eddy current generated in the coil, the proximity effect by isolating electric power in a gap of the coil that is rotated in the one direction (inherent effect of having a magnetic layer around the coils to increase/decrease the eddy current (depending on the thickness of the magnetic layer) by directing the flux toward the coil conductors).
Re claim 7, the document further discloses the base having one of epoxy resin (para 64), polyimide (para 64) or PET.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean document KR20200130825A (see machine translation) in view of Toivola et al. (US 2012/0194124).
Re claim 17, the Korean document discloses a wireless charging system (para 2) having, inter alia, a wireless power receiving device including a receiver coil module; and a wireless power transmitting device including a transmitter coil module (the bolded text is not disclosed in the Korean document) wherein at least one of the receiver coil module and the transmitter coil module includes: a base 2; and a coil part 3 including a coil provided on one surface of the base to be rotated in one direction (para 30), wherein the coil includes a rolled thin plate of a conductive metal on the one surface of the base (fig 1; para 36-37), and wherein a side part 11 of the coil has a shape, a central portion of which protrudes or is recessed (fig 1; para 36). See additional para 27-28 and 30-32. The Korean document does not specifically claimed the details of the wireless charging system having a transmitter coil and a receiver coil. Official notice is taken of the fact that it is a common knowledge in the art that a wireless charger has a transmitter coil and a receiver coil to perform wireless power transfer. The reference of Toivola exemplified a wireless charger having a wireless charging receiver and a wireless charging transmitter (fig 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have employed the coils of the Korean document in the wireless charger of Toivola for better power transfer from a stronger and more concentrated field due to the coil structure and its manufacturing technique.
Re claim 18, the Korean document further discloses the thickness of the coils is between 60 micrometers and 500 micrometers (para 55).
Re claim 19, the Korean document further discloses the side part (fig 2c) includes: a first inclined part 22 disposed adjacent to the base 2, and having a first inclination angle with respect to a lower surface of the coil; and a second inclined part 11 extending upwards from one end of the first inclined part, and having a second inclination angle with respect to an upper surface of the coil, and wherein the first inclination angle and the second inclination angle are the same. (the bolded text is not disclosed in the document). It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have fabricated the angles to be same for easy machine manufacturing process and further it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 20, the Korean document further discloses a magnetic layer covering at least a portion of the coil while directly contacting the coil (para 19), and configured to act an electromagnetic booster that enhances an intensity of the electromagnetic field generated on the surface of the coil (inherent effect of having a magnet near coils to increase the field around the coils), wherein the magnetic layer decrease, among a skin effect and a proximity effect of an eddy current generated in the coil, the proximity effect by isolating electric power in a gap of the coil that is rotated in the one direction (inherent effect of having a magnetic layer around the coils to increase/decrease the eddy current (depending on the thickness of the magnetic layer) by directing the flux toward the coil conductors).
Conclusion
The Examiner’s SPE is Drew Dunn and he can be reached at 571.272.2312. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087