DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 03/20/2023 and 7/17/2024 have been considered.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “A coil array comprising a plurality of coil components according to Claim 1” of claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Similarly claims 19 and 20 must show the claimed coil arrays. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arata et al. (hereinafter Arata), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0257576.
Regarding Claim 1, Arata teaches, a coil component (Fig. 2) comprising:
an element assembly (2) containing a magnetic material (“ferrite” [0026]);
a coil conductor (21) in the element assembly;
a connection conductor (27, 29) in the element assembly;
an extended conductor (33) coupling the coil conductor to the connection conductor; and
an outer electrode (4, 6) on a bottom surface of the element assembly,
wherein
the coil conductor (21) is electrically coupled to the outer electrode (4, 6) with the connection conductor (27, 29) and the extended conductor interposed therebetween,
the connection conductor (27, 29) extends from a junction portion (the junction of 27, 29 with 39, 43, respectively) connected to the extended conductor (33) in a first direction (width direction, between faces 2e and 2f), and
a width of the connection conductor (27, 29) is larger than a width of the coil conductor (21) when viewed in the first direction. (Arata: Figs. 1-5, para. [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding Claim 2, Arata further teaches, wherein
the coil component (Fig. 2) has a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape where a height direction is an axial direction of the coil conductor, a length direction is a long-side direction of a bottom surface (2a), and a width direction is a short-side direction of the bottom surface, and
the first direction is the width direction (width direction, between faces 2e and 2f). (Arata: Fig. 2, para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 3 and similarly claim 9, Arata further teaches, wherein the width of the connection conductor (27, 29) is from twice to 4 times the width of the coil conductor (21). (Arata: Figs. 3 and 4, para. [0021]).
Regarding Claim 4 and similarly claims 10 and 11, Arata further teaches, wherein a second extended conductor (39) is disposed between the connection conductor (27) and the outer electrode (4). (Arata: Figs. 3 and 4, para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 5 and similarly claims 12-14, Arata further teaches, wherein the outer electrode (4, 6) is a plating layer (“a plated layer 7 is formed on the surface of each of the first and second external electrodes 4, 6” [0028]). (Arata: Fig. 3, para. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 6 and similarly claims 15-17, Arata further teaches, wherein the outer electrode is an underlying electrode (4, 6) and a plating layer (7) disposed on the underlying electrode (“a plated layer 7 is formed on the surface of each of the first and second external electrodes 4, 6” [0028]). (Arata: Fig. 3, para. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 7 and similarly claim 18, Arata further teaches, wherein the plating layer is a Cu layer, a Ni-Sn layer, a Ni-Au layer, a Ni-Cu layer, or a Cu- Ni-Au layer (“Ni and Sn are used for the electroplating” [0028]). (Arata: Fig. 3, para. [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arata, as applied to claims 1, 2 and 3, respectively, in view of Sato et al. (hereinafter Sato), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0111603.
Regarding Claim 8, and similarly claims 19 and 20, Arata is silent on including a coil array comprising a plurality of coil components according to Claim 1. (Arata: Figs. 1-5, para. [0023], [0024], [0026], [0029], [0031]).
Arata does not explicitly teach, a coil array comprising a plurality of coil components according to Claim 1.
However, Sato (Fig. 1B) teaches, a coil array comprising a plurality of coil components (1) (“the laminated electronic component according to the present embodiment may include two or more coils...the laminated electronic component is a coil component (coil array) having two coils stacked within a body” [0092]). (Sato: Figs. 1 and 7, para. [0031], [0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the coil component of Arata to include the plurality of coil components of Sato, the motivation being to provide multiple inductive components in one device to simplify needed connections to multiple components. Therefore, the limitations of Claim 8 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tobita et al. (US 20220319763), Miyahara (US 20170338031) and Endo et al. (US 20180277296).
Conclusion
/MALCOLM BARNES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
1/3/2026