Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that neither Shua US 2022/0345483 or Fellows US 2022/0360597 teach generating a validation status for an unsecured credential based on whether the credential provides access to the resource in the computing environment.
Examiner asserts arguably Shua teaches a “validation status” [0099][0357][360]. Shua teaches testing a “stolen password” based on a “compromised account” or “attempt to login using owners previously leaked passwords”. Shua therefore acknowledges that the status for the credential is “stolen” and that a successful test would result in a “valid” but “stolen” password.
Applicant argues that Shua and Fellows fail to teach generating a security posture visualization based on the validation status the unsecured credential and resource associated with the risk score.
Examiner asserts that Shua arguably teaches this in a comprehensive report provided.
However, Examiner has included Crabtree US 2023/0308459 to expedite prosecution. Crabtree teaches testing compromised credentials, a security graph, attack path and risk score as will be more fully articulated in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shua US 2022/0345483 in view of Fellows US 2022/0360597 in view of Crabtree US 2023/0308459
As per claim 1. A computerized system comprising: one or more computer processors; and computer memory storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform operations, the operations comprising:
Shua teaches accessing credentials scan results associated with a computing device in a computing environment; [0099][0357] (passwords match lateral movement)
Shua teaches based on the credentials scan results, identifying an unsecured credential associated with accessing a resource in the computing environment; (passwords match lateral movement) [0099][0100][0101][0320][0322][0357][0360] (teaches scanning for unsecured credentials and the assets they could compromise)
Shua teaches based on the risk score, generating a security posture visualization associated with computing environment, wherein the security posture visualization comprises the unsecured credential and the resource associated with the risk score; [0419][0420] (cybersecurity report per asset, including threats including password scans, identifying a risk level per asset)
Shua teaches and communicating the security posture visualization to cause display of the security posture visualization. [0161][0162]
Shua teaches, wherein each risk score is based on each corresponding unsecured credential and risk assessment factors of the unsecured credential, wherein the risk assessment factors comprise the following: an unsecured credential type, a resource type, an unsecured credential validation status, and an attack path analysis. [0098][0099]-[0101][0300][0320][0322][0357][0360] (insecure password, matching to resource, validating credential, attack path analysis)
Fellows more explicitly teaches the risk score for each credential. [0012][0014][0048] (teaches that the security score is in part based on a specific credential and its potential to compromise further key systems)
Fellows teaches generating a risk score that quantifies a security exposure associated with the unsecured credential and the resource; [0012][0014][0048] (teaches that the security score is in part based on a specific credential and its potential to compromise further key systems)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Fellows with the prior art because it provides better context to prioritize remediation of security threats.
Crabtree teaches generating a risk score based on one or more of a plurality of risk assessment factors comprising an unsecured credential type, a resource type and an attack path analysis. [0098] (teaches monitoring for attacks including ticket attacks, privilege escalation, and compromised credentials) [0128] (collect metadata of attack using compromised credentials including success or failure of attack using credential, thus indicating a compromised status of account and credentials) [0143][0149] (attack impact assessment score, blast radius including resources at risk, using compromised credentials)
Crabtree teaches generating a validation status for the unsecured credential based on validating whether the unsecured credential provides access to the resource in the computing environment. [0098] (teaches monitoring for attacks including ticket attacks, privilege escalation, and compromised credentials) [0128] (collect metadata of attack using compromised credentials including success or failure of attack using credential, thus indicating a compromised status of account and credentials) [0143][0145][0149] (attack impact assessment score, blast radius including resources at risk, testing using compromised credentials)
Crabtree teaches based on the validation status and the risk score, generating a security posture visualization associated with the computing environment wherein the visualization comprises the validation status the unsecured credential and resource associate with the risk score. [0145] [0148][0149](cyber-physical graph, impact scores, including compromised credential threats and impact assessment scores in the graph, make report)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the current application to use the teaching of Crabtree with the prior art because it comprehensively improves the security of a network.
As per claim 2. Shua teaches The system of claim 1, wherein a credential scanner, associated with a credential-based security posture engine, supports identifying, for a plurality of computing devices in the computing environment, a plurality of unsecured credentials and their corresponding resources, wherein the credential scan results comprise the unsecured credential and the resource. [0099][0100][0101][0360] (teaches scanning for unsecured credentials and the assets they could compromise)
As per claim 3. Shua teaches The system of claim 1, the operations further comprising validating that the unsecured credential provides access to the resource in the computing environment. [0099][0100][0101][0320][0322] (uses insecure credential to test access)
Crabtree provides additional teachings: [0098] (teaches monitoring for attacks including ticket attacks, privilege escalation, and compromised credentials) [0128] (collect metadata of attack using compromised credentials including success or failure of attack using credential, thus indicating a compromised status of account and credentials) [0143][0145][0149] (attack impact assessment score, blast radius including resources at risk, testing using compromised credentials)
As per claim 4. Shua teaches The system of claim 1, the operations further comprising executing an attack path analysis based on the computing device, the unsecured credential, and the resource, wherein the executing the attack path analysis identifies an attack path associated with the computing device, the unsecured credential, and the resource. [0285][0286][0305] (attack path analysis based on vulnerability)
As per claim 4. Shua teaches The system of claim 1, the operations further comprising executing an attack path analysis based on the computing device, the unsecured credential, and the resource, wherein the executing the attack path analysis identifies an attack path associated with the computing device, the unsecured credential, and the resource. [0285][0286][0305] (attack path analysis based on vulnerability)
Fellows teaches The system of claim 1, wherein a security posture management engine supports generating a security posture visualization comprising a plurality of alerts, wherein an alert from the plurality alerts is associated with the unsecured credential and a prioritization identifier, wherein the plurality of alerts are provided in the security posture visualization based on their corresponding prioritization identifiers. [0129]-[0132][0150] (more clearly teaches alert ranking and prioritization identifiers)
As per claim 6. Shua teaches The system of claim 1, wherein a security posture management engine supports executing a risk assessment on a plurality of unsecured credentials, wherein executing the risk assessment comprises generating risk scores for each of the plurality of unsecured credentials to quantify their security exposure of the computing environment, wherein each risk score is based on each corresponding unsecured credential and risk assessment factors of the unsecured credential,. [0098][0099]-[0101][0300][0320][0322][0357][0360] (insecure password, matching to resource, validating credential, attack path analysis)
Crabtree provides additional teachings: [0098] (teaches monitoring for attacks including ticket attacks, privilege escalation, and compromised credentials) [0128] (collect metadata of attack using compromised credentials including success or failure of attack using credential, thus indicating a compromised status of account and credentials) [0143][0145][0149] (attack impact assessment score, blast radius including resources at risk, testing using compromised credentials)
As per claim 7. Shua teaches generating a security posture visualization comprising a plurality of alerts, wherein an alert from the plurality alerts is associated with the unsecured credential [0065][0066][0162][0419] (teaches a report for each asset, and alerts, including password issues, teaches prioritization but not in depth)
Crabtree provides additional teachings: [0098] (teaches monitoring for attacks including ticket attacks, privilege escalation, and compromised credentials) [0128] (collect metadata of attack using compromised credentials including success or failure of attack using credential, thus indicating a compromised status of account and credentials) [0143][0145][0149] (attack impact assessment score, blast radius including resources at risk, testing using compromised credentials)
As per claim 8. Shua teaches The system of claim 1, wherein security posture visualization comprises an alert associated with the unsecured credential, wherein the alert comprises a prioritization identifier and a remediation action, wherein the remediation action is executable to address a security threat associated with the alert. [0065][0066][0162][0419] (alert with remediation suggestion)
As per claim 9. Shua teaches The system of claim 1, the operations further comprising: communicating, from a security management client, a request for a security posture of the computing environment; based on the request, receiving the security posture visualization associated with the computing environment, wherein the security posture visualization comprises an alert associated with the computing device, the unsecured credential, and the resource; and causing display of the security posture visualization. [0065][0066][0162][0366][0419] (alerts, security reports per asset, vulnerabilities.)
As per claim 10. Shua teaches The system of claim 1, the operations further comprising: receiving an indication to execute a remediation action associated with the unsecured credential, wherein the remediation action is associated with the security posture visualization; and communicating the indication to execute the remediation action to cause execution of the remediation action. [0065][0066][0162][0419] (alert with remediation suggestion)
As per claim 11. Shua teaches One or more computer-storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by a computing system having a processor and memory, cause the processor to perform operations, the operations comprising: communicating a request for a security posture of a computing environment; based on the request, receiving a security posture visualization associated with the computing environment, wherein the security posture visualization comprises a risk score of an unsecured credential associated with accessing a resource in the computing environment; and causing display of the security posture visualization. [0098][0099]-[0101][0162][0286][0290][0300][0320][0322][0357][0360][0419] (security reports, visualization of security )
Shua teaches each risk score is based on each corresponding unsecured credential and risk assessment factors of the unsecured credential, wherein the risk assessment factors comprise the following: an unsecured credential type, a resource type, an unsecured credential validation status, and an attack path analysis. [0098][0099]-[0101][0300][0320][0322][0357][0360] (insecure password, matching to resource, validating credential, attack path analysis)
Fellows more explicitly teaches the risk score for each credential. [0012][0014][0048] (teaches that the security score is in part based on a specific credential and its potential to compromise further key systems)
Fellows teaches generating a risk score that quantifies a security exposure associated with the unsecured credential and the resource; [0012][0014][0048] (teaches that the security score is in part based on a specific credential and its potential to compromise further key systems)
As per claim 12. Shua teaches The media of claim 11, wherein the risk score is based on the unsecured credential and corresponding risk assessment factors of the unsecured credential, wherein the risk assessment factors comprising the following: an unsecured credential type, a resource type, an unsecured credential validation status, and an attack path analysis. [0098][0099]-[0101][0300][0320][0322][0357][0360] (insecure password, matching to resource, validating credential, attack path analysis)
Fellows more explicitly teaches the risk score for each credential. [0012][0014][0048] (teaches that the security score is in part based on a specific credential and its potential to compromise further key systems)
As per claim 13. Shua teaches The media of claim 11, wherein the security posture visualization comprises an alert associated with the unsecured credential, wherein the alert is associated with a prioritization identifier and a remediation action, wherein the remediation action is executable to address a security threat associated with the alert. [0065][0066][0162][0419] (alert with remediation suggestion)
As per claim 14. The media of claim 11, Shua teaches the security posture visualization comprises a first plurality of alerts that are not associated with unsecured credentials and a second plurality of alerts that are associated with unsecured credentials, wherein the first plurality of alerts and the second plurality of alerts are provided in the security posture visualization [0065][0066][0162][0419] (teaches a report for each asset, and alerts, including password issues, and alerts for all other security issues, teaches prioritization but not in depth)
Fellows teaches The system of claim 1, wherein a security posture management engine supports generating a security posture visualization comprising a plurality of alerts, wherein the first plurality of alerts and the second plurality of alerts are provided in the security posture visualization based on corresponding prioritization identifiers, [0129]-[0132][0150] (more clearly teaches alert ranking and prioritization identifiers)
As per claim 15. Shua teaches The media of claim 11, the operations further comprising:
receiving an indication to perform a remediation action associated with the unsecured credential, wherein the remediation action is associated with the security posture visualization; and communicating the indication to perform the remediation action to cause execution of the remediation action. [0065][0066][0162][0419] (alert with remediation suggestion)
As per claim 16. Shua teaches A computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
accessing credential scan results associated with a computing device in a computing environment; based on the credential scan results, identifying an unsecured credential; generating a security posture visualization associated with the computing environment, wherein the security posture visualization comprises the unsecured credential; and communicating the security posture visualization to cause display of the security posture visualization. [0098][0099]-[0101][0162][0286][0290][0300][0320][0322][0357][0360][0419] (security reports, insecure credential, visualization of security posture)
Shua teaches each risk score is based on each corresponding unsecured credential and risk assessment factors of the unsecured credential, wherein the risk assessment factors comprise the following: an unsecured credential type, a resource type, an unsecured credential validation status, and an attack path analysis. [0098][0099]-[0101][0300][0320][0322][0357][0360] (insecure password, matching to resource, validating credential, attack path analysis)
Fellows more explicitly teaches the risk score for each credential. [0012][0014][0048] (teaches that the security score is in part based on a specific credential and its potential to compromise further key systems)
Fellows teaches generating a risk score that quantifies a security exposure associated with the unsecured credential and the resource; [0012][0014][0048] (teaches that the security score is in part based on a specific credential and its potential to compromise further key systems)
As per claim 17. Shua teaches The method of claim 16, the method further comprising executing an attack path analysis based on the computing device, the unsecured credential, and a resource accessible using the unsecured credential, wherein the executing the attack path analysis identifies an attack path associated with the computing device, the unsecured credential. [0285][0286][0305] (attack path analysis based on vulnerability)
As per claim 19. The method of claim 16, Shua teaches generating a security posture visualization comprising an alert from the plurality alerts is associated with the unsecured credential [0065][0066][0162][0419] (teaches a report for each asset, and alerts, including password issues, teaches prioritization but not in depth)
Fellows teaches The system of claim 1, wherein a security posture management engine supports generating a security posture visualization comprising a plurality of alerts, wherein an alert from the plurality alerts is associated with the unsecured credential and a prioritization identifier, wherein the plurality of alerts are provided in the security posture visualization based on their corresponding prioritization identifiers. [0129]-[0132][0150] (more clearly teaches alert ranking and prioritization identifiers)
As per claim 20. Shua teaches The method of claim 16, the method further comprising:
receiving an indication to perform a remediation action associated with the unsecured credential, wherein the remediation action is associated with the security posture visualization; and based on receiving the indication to perform the remediation action, causing execution of the remediation action. [0065][0066][0162][0419] (alert with remediation suggestion)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shua US 2022/0345483 in view of Fellows US 2022/0360597 in view of Crabtree US 2023/0308459 in view of Guo US 2022/0019676.
As per claim 5. Guo teaches The system of claim 1, wherein generating the risk score quantifies the security exposure based multiplying a probability score and an impact score associated with a security threat of the computing device, the unsecured credential, and the resource. [0023][0110] (teaches risk calculation in part by multiplying probability and impact).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the risk calculation of Guo with the prior art because it makes for an efficient prioritization of risk.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shua US 2022/0345483 in view of Fellows US 2022/0360597 in view of Crabtree US 2023/0308459 in view of Botti US 2020/0026847.
As per claim 18. Shua teaches The method of claim 16, the method further comprising executing a risk assessment on the unsecured credential, wherein executing the risk assessment comprises generating the risk score based on risk assessment factors comprising the following: an unsecured credential type, a resource type, an unsecured credential validation status, and an attack path analysis. [0098][0099]-[0101][0300][0320][0322][0357][0360] (insecure password, matching to resource, validating credential, attack path analysis)
Fellows more explicitly teaches the risk score for each credential. [0012][0014][0048] (teaches that the security score is in part based on a specific credential and its potential to compromise further key systems)
Botti teaches wherein executing the risk assessment comprises generating risk scores for each of the plurality of unsecured credentials to quantify their security exposure of the computing environment; and wherein each risk score is based on each corresponding unsecured credential and risk assessment factors of the unsecured credential. [0025]-[0032][0063] (teaches each retrieved password has a score based on security exposure, including a risk score)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Botti with the prior art because it provides more refined risk assessment.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439