DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the cylindrical frame” in lines 7-8. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “the
Claim 2 recites “the mesh” in line 3. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “the filter mesh” for consistent recitation of claim limitation.
Claim 6 recites “the top open end” in line 3 which lacks an antecedent basis.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regard(s) as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the top panel” in lines 7-8 which lacks an antecedent basis.
Claim 1 recites “a side panel” in line 4 which directs a singular side panel, however, claim 1 also recites “side panels” in lines 7-8 which directs plural side panels. This renders the limitations indefinite.
Claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S. §112 by virtue of its dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer (US 2007/0074998 A1).
For recordation purposes, it is noted herein that per MPEP 2111.02 II, the claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim); STX LLC. v. Brine, 211 F.3d 588, 591, 54 USPQ2d 1347, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (holding that the preamble phrase "which provides improved playing and handling characteristics" in a claim drawn to a head for a lacrosse stick was not a claim limitation).
Therefore, in the preamble of claim 1 “An easily repairable wash basket for use in a main washing vessel for washing cannabis trichomes from cannabis plants,”, the recitation “for use in a main washing vessel for washing cannabis trichomes from cannabis plants” is considered to directs the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations.
In regard to claims 1, 5 and 10, Langer discloses an easily repairable filter basket (Abstract), comprising (the screening cylinder filter 14 in Fig. 2) for use in a main washing vessel (the outer housing 16, cover 18 and spray shield 20 housing the cylindrical filter 14, Fig. 2 meets the recited “a main washing vessel”):
(i) a cylinder (claim 5) frame (52, Fig. 2) having a plurality of windows and holes and a top open end; and
(ii) a side screen panel (54, Fig. 2) having a bezel (the outer perimeter of the panel encompassing the holes meets the recited “a bezel”) and filter mesh (the holes of the panel screen 54 meets the recites “filter mesh”) attached thereto;
the side panel (54, Fig. 2) being removably attached to the frame to cover one of the windows of the frame with fasteners secured through the holes (Fig. 10 shows the fasteners of the panel 54, Fig. 10; paragraph [0055]), wherein the fasteners are threaded bolts (Fig. 10) (claim 10);
wherein the side panels (54, Fig. 2) and the top panel (100, Fig. 11 or Fig. 12) being selectively removable from the cylindrical frame to facilitate repair of one or more of the side panels and the top panel.
The examiner designates the cover plates 100, Fig. 11 that act to assist in preventing influent movement outwardly from the end of the screening cylinder 14 and housing 16 (paragraph [0060]) as the recited “top panel” and/or “bottom panel”. Choosing one cover plate 100, Fig. 11as the “top panel” and the other cover plate as the “bottom panel” is considered prima facie obvious because this simply involves selecting/designating a known subcomponent(s) in a known filter basket.
In regard to claim 2, Langer discloses the side panel (54, Fig. 2) comprises a first gasket (76, Fig. 10) residing between the bezel and the filter mesh and a second gasket (78, Fig. 10) residing between the mesh and the frame (paragraphs [0057]; [0058]).
In regard to claim 3, Langer discloses side panels are made of stainless steel (paragraphs [0056]; [0057]). Langer does not expressly disclose the claimed the first gasket and second gasket are made of a food safe sealant or food safe gasket material; however one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the materials comprising the side panels as claimed depending on the filtering material (e.g., food or pharmaceutical materials), as a result, the limitation is considered prima facie obvious over Langer.
In regard to claim 4, Langer discloses the side screen panel (54, Fig. 2) comprises plurality of side panels secured to the frame to cover the entire side surface of the frame (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0050]-[0055]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Woo (KR-101960232-B1, please refer to the attached English document, hereinafter “Woo”).
In regard to claims 6 and 7, Langer discloses the top panel (100, Fig. 11 or Fig. 12) being selectively removable from the cylindrical frame to facilitate repair of one or more of the side panels and the top panel.
But Langer does not explicitly disclose the filter basket further comprises a top panel having a bezel and filter mesh attached thereto and a bottom panel having a bezel and filter mesh attached thereto.
However, Woo discloses a crushing and juicing apparatus for agricultural produce (Abstract). Woo discloses an embodiment of an apparatus (Fig. 3 of the original Korean document) comprising the extrusion tube unit 200 includes the cutting and crushing unit 100; the cut and crushed agricultural products are introduced into the cutting and crushing unit 100 through the cutting and crushing unit 100 so as to be transported to one side and discharged, while the liquid phase is discharged downward to the outside and the solidified agricultural product is discharged in the transport direction and an extrusion screw (not shown) is installed therein. The extrusion pipe unit 200 includes an inlet unit 210, a transfer unit 220, a discharge unit 230, and an outlet housing 250 (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3; page 5). Woo discloses the feature of a top portion filter (230, Fig. 1) having a frame and filter mesh attached thereto.
It is noted that both the Langer and Woo references direct a filter basket using screen meshes.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Langer, in view of Woo, to provide the features of the filter basket further comprises a top panel having a bezel and filter mesh attached thereto and a bottom panel having a bezel and filter mesh attached thereto, because the recited features of the filter basket further comprises a top panel having a bezel and filter mesh attached thereto and a bottom panel having a bezel and filter mesh attached thereto, in the context of an easily repairable filter basket is a known, effective features as suggested by Woo (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3; page 5), and (2) this involves application of a known technique to improve a known filter basket apparatus to yield predictable results.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer, in view of Woo, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Jorgensen et al. (US 8,871,100 B2, hereinafter “Jorgensen”).
In regard to claims 8 and 9, Langer, in view of Woo, does not explicitly disclose the filter basket further comprises a stem attached to the bottom panel and at least one paddle attached to the stem.
However, Jorgensen discloses a device for processing a bulk liquid comprising particles, the particles in the bulk liquid being at a first concentration, and the device comprising (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; claim 1): (i) a vessel having at least one wall; (ii) a rotating strainer surface disposed within said vessel that extends from and through said at least one wall, said rotating strainer surface having one or more openings disposed on a circumference thereof, the openings configured to allow an extracted liquid included in the bulk liquid to pass through the strainer surface while preventing particles from passing through the strainer surface, such that a concentration of particles in the extracted liquid is less than the first concentration; (iii) an extracted liquid outflow port which outputs the extracted liquid from an interior region of the rotating strainer surface; and (iv) a motor configured to rotate the strainer surface at a speed sufficient to generate a centrifugal force or turbulence at the openings sufficient to prevent the particles from clogging the openings, wherein the device is configured to rotate the strainer surface and output the extracted liquid through the extracted liquid outflow port when the strainer surface is fully submerged in the bulk liquid.
It is noted that both the Langer, Woo and Jorgensen references direct a filter basket for separating liquid and solid materials.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Langer, in view of Woo and Jorgensen, to provide the features of the filter basket further comprises a stem attached to the bottom panel and at least one paddle attached to the stem, because the recited features of the filter basket further comprises a stem attached to the bottom panel and at least one paddle attached to the stem is a known, effective feature for enhancing separation of liquid from solid as suggested by Jorgensen (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; claim 1), and (2) this involves application of a known technique to improve a known filter basket apparatus to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772