DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “equipment for injecting sodium hypochlorite into the reaction unit” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, it is unclear as to why the limitation “Chemical Formula” appears twice and if they intend to refer to the same feature or to separate features.
As to claim 6, the claim limitation “equipment for injecting” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is silent as to what this specific structure corresponds to. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 19908964 A1 to Gerhardt et al. (Gerhardt).
As to claims 1 and 4, Gerhardt teaches a sodium hydroxide production device (1) comprising a first tank (2) specifically configured to store a salt, and thus capable of performing the functional language of “to store a sodium salt including two or more sodium ions in a molecule”; a first electrolysis unit (15) including a first anode chamber (15a) and a first cathode chamber (15b) separated by a membrane for the diffusion of sodium ions (thus a cation exchange membrane); a water supply unit (Frischwasser/4) specifically configured to supply water to the first tank (2) and the cathode chamber (15b), the first tank (2) connected to a pipe (brine supply line (12)) to supply an aqueous salt solution produced in the first tank (2) to the anode chamber (15a), the fist anode chamber (15a) connected to a pipe (brine return line (16)) to supply material produced in the first anode chamber (15a) to the first tank (2), the tank, brine supply line, anode chamber and brine return line constituting a closed loop during at least some time of operating the system (i.e. when replenishment water is not needed, when the bypass line is not in use and when pH adjustment is not occurring) (Paragraphs 0029-0033; Figure 1; MPEP 2114).
As to claims 2 and 3, Gerhardt teaches the apparatus of claim 1. As discussed above, the first tank of Gerhardt is capable of storing any number of sodium salts including sodium carbonate and sodium sulfate. Apparatus claims must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Functional limitations do not serve to further limit apparatus claims beyond imparting the limitation that the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed function (MPEP 2114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerhardt (under a second interpretation) in view of the NPL “Sodium hydroxide production from sodium carbonate and bicarbonate solutions using membrane electrolysis: A feasibility study” to Simon et al. (Simon).
As to claims 1-5, 7 and 8, Gerhardt teaches a sodium hypochlorite production device comprising a sodium hydroxide production device comprising a tank (2) (the second tank of the claims) specifically configured to store a salt, sodium chloride, an electrolysis unit (15) (the second electrolysis unit of the claims) including an anode chamber (15a) (the second anode chamber of the claims) and a cathode chamber (15b) (the second cathode chamber of the claims) separated by a membrane for the diffusion of sodium ions (thus a cation exchange membrane); a reaction unit (23) configured to react an anodic product, chlorine, produced in the second anode chamber and a cathodic product, sodium hydroxide, produced in the second cathode chamber to obtain sodium hypochlorite, a water supply unit (Frischwasser/4) specifically configured to supply water to the second tank (2) and the second cathode chamber (15b), the apparatus capable of supplying the salt water produced in the second tank to the second anode chamber as saturated slat water (Paragraphs 0029-0033; Figure 1; MPEP 2114).
However, Gerhardt fails to specifically teach an additional electrolysis unit, the first electrolysis unit of the claims. However, Simon also discusses the production of sodium hydroxide electrolytically from sodium chloride and teaches that sodium hydroxide can further be produced electrolytically from another abundant source of sodium, sodium carbonate (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that additional sodium hydroxide product for the generation of sodium hypochlorite could be achieved by providing an additional electrolysis set up for electrolyzing another abundant source of sodium salt, sodium carbonate, thus operating in parallel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form this additional electrolysis set up in the same manner as the sodium chloride set up, thus rendering obvious an additional electrolysis set up comprising a tank (2) (the first tank of the claims) configured to store the sodium carbonate salt, an electrolysis unit (15) (the first electrolysis unit of the claims) including an anode chamber (15a) (the first anode chamber of the claims) and a cathode chamber (15b) (the first cathode chamber of the claims) separated by a membrane for the diffusion of sodium ions (thus a cation exchange membrane); such that the water supply unit (Frischwasser/4) supplies water to the first tank (2) and the first cathode chamber (15b), the first tank (2) connected to a pipe (brine supply line (12)) to supply an aqueous salt solution produced in the first tank (2) to the first anode chamber (15a), the first anode chamber (15a) connected to a pipe (brine return line (16)) to supply material produced in the first anode chamber (15a) to the first tank (2), the tank, brine supply line, anode chamber and brine return line constituting a closed loop during at least some time of operating the system (i.e. when replenishment water is not needed, when the bypass line is not in use) (Paragraphs 0029-0033; Figure 1; MPEP 2114).
As to claim 6, the combination of Gerhardt and Simon teaches the apparatus of claim 5. Gerhardt does not teach any external sources of sodium hydroxide (Figure 1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gerhardt and Simon as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 2021/0130966 A1 to Griffis et al. (Griffis).
As to claim 9, Gerhardt teaches the apparatus of claim 5. However, Gerhardt fails to further teach that the apparatus if configured so as to perform the functional language wherein “at least one of the first and second electrolysis units is automatically controlled according to a pH of sodium hypochlorite obtained in the reaction unit”. However, Griffis also discusses the electrolytic generation of sodium hypochlorite (Paragraph 0010) and teaches that the final product pH can be measured with a sensor for feedback control of, for example, the feed composition, flow rate and applied current/voltage in order to achieve a desired final NaOCl concentration (Paragraph 0079). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the apparatus of the combination with structure to perform the function of measuring the pH of the sodium hypochlorite produced in the reaction unit and controlling the first and second electrolysis units via any of feed composition, flow rate and current/voltage in order to allow for achieving a specific final product concentration as taught by Griffis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5,230,779 to Martin – Specifically discussing sodium sulfate salt utilized for sodium hydroxide production.
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794