DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed August 10, 2026, claims 1, 23 and 29-30 have been amended, claims 31-34 are new and claims 1-34 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 11 paragraphs 2 , filed August 10, 2026, with respect to Xu have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejections in view of Xu is withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 12 - page 13, filed August 10, 2026, with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-30 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0397180).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beale (WO2023/025448A1), in view of Jai et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0259841) and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0397180).
As per claim 1, Beale disclose A first network node (see Fig.2, Fig.3, a transmission and reception points (TRP) 10 / a first network node, para. 0025, 0027, a base station which is an example of network infrastructure equipment, may also be referred to as a transceiver station, nodeB, e-nodeB, eNB, g-nodeB, gNB and so forth (note g-nodeB and gNB) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (see Fig.3, para. 0034, TRP 10 with a memory); and
at least one processor (see Fig.3, controller 34, see para. 0034) coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor (see para. 0034, the controllers 34, 44 (as well as other controllers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure) may be, for example, a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory. The processing steps described herein may be carried out by, for example, a microprocessor in conjunction with a random access memory, operating according to instructions stored on a computer readable medium) is configured to:
receive, from a second network node, timing information corresponding to a timer (Figures 2-5: First network node = UE with energy harvesting functionality and processor and memory, second device = base station/TRP/gNB. Page 16, lines 5-15: The UE is generally configured with scheduling/timing information by the gNB, hence, it receives several timers from the gNB, e.g. to configure DRX / timing information corresponding to a timer);
wherein the timing information is for configuration of a finite duration for the timer (Page 16, lines 5-15: The UE is generally configured with scheduling/timing information by the gNB, hence, it receives several timers from the gNB, e.g. to configure DRX / a finite duration for the timer, see also page 25 lines 6-20, a timing duration for the DRX wake/communication mode is fix/finite duration when the gNB communicates with the UE otherwise the UE enter into a low power mode and harvest energy);
modify, based on an overlap in time of a duration of the timer and a duration of an operational state for the first network node, at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state (Figures 10A, 10B; page 24, line 41 - page 27, line 2: The UE modifies= adapts the duration of the its energy harvesting operational state based on an overlap in time with the duration of the application layer timer, also, the gNB can base the timing of this periodicity (each period comprising a first “EH” time period during which the UE can harvest energy and a second, later, “comms” time period during which the UE can communicate with the gNB) based on the known charging and discharging rates of the UE (e.g. known according to previously described embodiment(s)). The UE thus periodically communicates with the gNB (and hence with the application) to avoid application timeout. In this case, the EH time period is less than the application timeout period (e.g. as indicated by T.sub.3-T.sub.2 in FIG. 10A), thus avoiding application time out by modifying, based on an overlap in time of a duration of the timer {application layer timeout timer} and a duration of an operational state for the first network node { the gNB enters a mode where it communicates with the UE periodically (e.g. according to a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle) }); and
communicate with the second network node in accordance with the modified timing information or the modified duration of the operational state (Figures 10A, 10B; page 24, line 41 - page 27, line 2: The UE communicates with the gNB according to the adapted timing).
Although Beale disclose receive, from a second network node, timing information corresponding to a timer where the timer a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactivity timer;
Beale however does not explicitly disclose a bandwidth part inactivity timer, a bandwidth part switching delay timer, a search space set group switching timer, or a secondary cell deactivation timer.
Jia however disclose wherein a timer comprises a bandwidth part inactivity timer (see para. 0218, a timer comprises a bwp-Inactivity Timer / a bandwidth part inactivity timer) or a secondary cell deactivation timer (see para. 0211, a timer comprises a sCellDeactivation Time / a secondary cell deactivation timer) and wherein a timing information is for configuration of a cancel event for stopping the timer (see para. 076, 0320, 0466, 0479, a timing information is for configuration of a cancel event for stopping an associated timer), or a finite duration for the timer (see also para. 0225-0228, the above DRX configuration includes a first inactivity-timer value, and the first inactivity-timer value is a minimum inactivity-timer value of the terminal equipment in the connected state. That is, the inactive-timer value of the DRX configuration is the minimum inactivity-timer value of the terminal equipment in the connected state / a finite duration for the timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a bandwidth part inactivity timer, a bandwidth part switching delay timer, a search space set group switching timer, or a secondary cell deactivation timer, as taught by Jai, in the system of Beale, so as to enable energy saving in a terminal, see Jai, paragraphs 3-10.
The combination of Beale and Jai however does not explicitly disclose wherein the timing information is for configuration of a trigger event for starting the timer.
Lee however disclose wherein a timing information is for configuration of a trigger event for starting a timer (see para. 0151, 0157-0161, starting a timer based on a trigger event, see also para. 0162-0168, 0172 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a timing information is for configuration of a trigger event for starting a timer, as taught by Lee, in the system of Beale and Jai, so as to provide a method for activating or inactivating a bandwidth part (BWP) in a wireless communication system, see Lee, paragraphs 5-9.
As per claim 2, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: increase, based on the modified timing information, the duration of the timer; decrease, based on the modified timing information, the duration of the timer; cancel, based on the modified timing information, the duration of the timer; or pause, based on the modified timing information, the timer (see figures 6-8 and 10A, 10B where different timings/scheduling/durations of procedures, e.g. DRX, are adapted based on the energy harvesting state of the UE).
As per claim 3, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the timer comprises, a discontinuous reception inactivity timer, a short discontinuous reception timer, or a long discontinuous reception timer (see figures 6-8 and 10A, 10B where different timings/scheduling/durations of procedures, e.g. DRX, are adapted based on the energy harvesting state of the UE).
As per claim 4, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein, to modify the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to: decrease the duration of the operational state for the first network node (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure.
Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of
the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 5, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein, to modify the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to: cancel the duration of the operational state for the first network node (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure.
Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of
the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 6, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 5.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the second network node, a signal that indicates to cancel the duration of the operational state for the first network node based on the overlap in time of the duration of the timer and the duration of the operational state for the first network node, wherein the duration of the operational state for the first network node is canceled further based on the signal (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 7, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the second network node, a signal that configures a first delta value for the first network node, wherein, to modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to modify the duration of the timer or the duration of the operational state based on the first delta value (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 9, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 7.
Beale further disclose wherein the signal comprises downlink control information, a medium access control element, a radio resource control signal, or a wake-up signal (see page 18, lines 31 - page 19, lines 28 and figure 6, Fig. 6 shows an example of the charge state of a UE during two RRC connections).
As per claim 10, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 7.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second network node, a wake-up signal response that comprises a request for a second delta value for the first network node, wherein the signal that configures the first delta value is received based on the request (see page 18, line 31 - page 19, line 28 and figure 6, the UE reports its charge level on request from the gNB. For example, when the gNB schedules the UE, it includes a message (e.g. in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), RRC information element (IE), downlink control information (DCI) field or wake-up signal (WUS) requesting the UE to report its charge level).
As per claim 11, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform an energy harvesting procedure during at least a portion of the modified duration of the operational state (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 12, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 11.
Beale further disclose wherein the modified duration of the operational state comprises a first portion during which a first switch from a communication mode to an energy harvesting mode is configured to occur, a second portion during which the energy harvesting procedure is configured to occur, and a third portion during which a second switch from the energy harvesting mode to the communication mode is configured to occur, wherein the portion of the modified duration of the operational state includes the second portion (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 13, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 11.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform first radio frequency tuning from a first frequency band for communication to a second frequency band for the energy harvesting procedure; and perform second radio frequency tuning from the second frequency band for the energy harvesting procedure to the first frequency band for the communication, wherein the modified duration of the operational state for the first network node further comprises the first radio frequency tuning and the second radio frequency tuning (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 14, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 11.
Beale further disclose wherein, to modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to: modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state based on a type of the energy harvesting procedure, wherein the type of the energy harvesting procedure comprises radio frequency energy harvesting, solar energy harvesting, thermal energy harvesting, vibrational energy harvesting, or laser energy harvesting (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 15, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 11.
Beale further disclose wherein, to modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to: modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state based on a capability of the first network node to perform a radio frequency tuning procedure to a new bandwidth part concurrent to the energy harvesting procedure (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 16, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the second network node, a signal that configures the duration of the operational state for the first network node (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 17, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 16.
Beale further disclose wherein the signal configures a periodicity for a plurality of durations of the operational state for the first network node (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 18, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second network node, a request for a modification to the timing information; and receive, from the second network node and based on the request, an indication of the modification to the timing information, wherein, to modify the timing information, the at least one processor is configured to modify the timing information based on the indication of the modification to the timing information (see page 16 lines 5-15, request modification of timing information).
As per claim 19, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 18.
Beale further disclose wherein the indication of the modification to the timing information comprises a lookup table, a lookup table index, a codepoint, a value, or any combination thereof (see page 16 lines 5-15, request modification of timing information).
As per claim 20, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second network node, a signal that comprises a first indication of the duration of the operational state for the first network node, a second indication of the modified duration of the operational state, or both, wherein the communication with the second network node is based on the first indication of the duration of the operational state, the second indication of the modified duration of the operational state, or both (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 21, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 20.
Beale further disclose wherein the signal comprises an energy report, a scheduling request, a hybrid automatic repeat request signal, a buffer status report, a random access channel signal, an uplink control information signal, or any combination thereof (page 13, lines 17 ff (UE reports rate of
discharging).
As per claim 22, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 20.
Beale further disclose wherein, to transmit the signal, the at least one processor is configured to: backscatter the signal based on a power availability of the first network node (see page 10, lines 16 ff (RF incident energy).
As per claim 23, claim 23 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 24, claim 24 is rejected the same way as claim 7.
As per claim 25, claim 25 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
As per claim 26, claim 26 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 27, claim 27 is rejected the same way as claim 16.
As per claim 28, claim 28 is rejected the same way as claim 20.
As per claim 29, claim 29 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 30, claim 30 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 31, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the timing information is for configuration of the finite duration for the timer (see page 16, lines 5-15: The UE is generally configured with scheduling/timing information by the gNB, hence, it receives several timers from the gNB, e.g. to configure DRX / a finite duration for the timer, see also page 25 lines 6-20, a timing duration for the DRX wake/communication mode is fix/finite duration when the gNB communicates with the UE otherwise the UE enter into a low power mode and harvest energy); and
Jai further disclose wherein the timing information is for configuration of the finite duration for the timer (see also para. 0225-0228, the above DRX configuration includes a first inactivity-timer value, and the first inactivity-timer value is a minimum inactivity-timer value of the terminal equipment in the connected state. That is, the inactive-timer value of the DRX configuration is the minimum inactivity-timer value of the terminal equipment in the connected state / a finite duration for the timer).
As per claim 32, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Lee further disclose wherein the timing information is for configuration of the trigger event for starting the timer (see para. 0151, 0157-0161, starting a timer based on a trigger event, see also para. 0162-0168, 0172).
As per claim 34, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Jai further disclose wherein the timing information is for configuration of the cancel event for stopping the timer (see para. 076, 0320, 0466, 0479, a timing information is for configuration of a cancel event for stopping an associated timer).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beale (WO2023/025448A1), in view of Jai et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0259841), in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0397180) and further in view of Palenius et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0251461).
As per claim 33, the combination of Beale, Jai and Lee disclose the first network node of claim 1.
The combination of Beale, Jai and Lee however does not explicitly disclose wherein the timing information is for configuration of the pause event for pausing the timer.
Palenius however disclose wherein a timing information is for configuration of a pause event for pausing a timer (see para. 0050, 0054, “Pause Indication” to pause a timer and/or a pause time indicative of a time period, a pause time is indicate with a time period for pausing a timer, see also para. 0047, 0067, 0068, 0070, 0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a timing information is for configuration of a pause event for pausing a timer, as taught by Palenius, in the system of Beale, Jai and Lee, so that the resources available for communication are more efficiently used, see Palenius, paragraphs 3-7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Almeida et al (US Pub. No.:2015/0117418) – see Abstract, “There is provided a method, comprising: detecting, by a node of a first wireless network, that at least one overlapping second wireless network is configured to apply contention periods and contention-free periods for communicating with different subsets of devices; detecting that a contention period timing applied by the at least one overlapping second wireless network is not aligned with a contention period timing applied by the node of the first wireless network; and causing a modification of the contention period timing in at least one of the wireless networks in order to have the contention periods to take place at least partly at the same time in each overlapping wireless network.”
Elkotby (US Pub. No.:2022/225402) - see Fig.4-8, 11-19, para. 0083-0093, 0200-0206, Transmission over N consecutive time units that is repeated every M time units for a total duration T. Transmission every N.sub.1.sup.th time unit over N.sub.2 consecutive time units that is repeated every M time units for a total duration T. Transmission over N.sub.1 random or defined time units within N.sub.2 consecutive time units that is repeated every M time units for a total duration T”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469