DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 23, 26, 29, and 30 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 9 paragraphs 4 - page 11, filed December 23, 2025, with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-30 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Jai et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0259841).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beale (WO2023/025448A1), and further in view of Jai et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0259841).
As per claim 1, Beale disclose A first network node (see Fig.2, Fig.3, a transmission and reception points (TRP) 10 / a first network node, para. 0025, 0027, a base station which is an example of network infrastructure equipment, may also be referred to as a transceiver station, nodeB, e-nodeB, eNB, g-nodeB, gNB and so forth (note g-nodeB and gNB) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (see Fig.3, para. 0034, TRP 10 with a memory); and
at least one processor (see Fig.3, controller 34, see para. 0034) coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor (see para. 0034, the controllers 34, 44 (as well as other controllers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure) may be, for example, a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory. The processing steps described herein may be carried out by, for example, a microprocessor in conjunction with a random access memory, operating according to instructions stored on a computer readable medium) is configured to:
receive, from a second network node, timing information corresponding to a timer (Figures 2-5: First network node = UE with energy harvesting functionality and processor and memory, second device = base station/TRP/gNB. Page 16, lines 5-15: The UE is generally configured with scheduling/timing information by the gNB, hence, it receives several timers from the gNB, e.g. to configure DRX / timing information corresponding to a timer);
modify, based on an overlap in time of a duration of the timer and a duration of an operational state for the first network node, at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state (Figures 10A, 10B; page 24, line 41 - page 27, line 2: The UE modifies= adapts the duration of the its energy harvesting operational state based on an overlap in time with the duration of the application layer timer, also, the gNB can base the timing of this periodicity (each period comprising a first “EH” time period during which the UE can harvest energy and a second, later, “comms” time period during which the UE can communicate with the gNB) based on the known charging and discharging rates of the UE (e.g. known according to previously described embodiment(s)). The UE thus periodically communicates with the gNB (and hence with the application) to avoid application timeout. In this case, the EH time period is less than the application timeout period (e.g. as indicated by T.sub.3-T.sub.2 in FIG. 10A), thus avoiding application time out by modifying, based on an overlap in time of a duration of the timer {application layer timeout timer} and a duration of an operational state for the first network node { the gNB enters a mode where it communicates with the UE periodically (e.g. according to a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle) }); and
communicate with the second network node in accordance with the modified timing information or the modified duration of the operational state (Figures 10A, 10B; page 24, line 41 - page 27, line 2: The UE communicates with the gNB according to the adapted timing).
Although Beale disclose receive, from a second network node, timing information corresponding to a timer where the timer a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactivity timer;
Beale however does not explicitly disclose a bandwidth part inactivity timer, a bandwidth part switching delay timer, a search space set group switching timer, or a secondary cell deactivation timer.
Jia however disclose wherein a timer comprises a bandwidth part inactivity timer (see para. 0218, a timer comprises a bwp-Inactivity Timer / a bandwidth part inactivity timer) or a secondary cell deactivation timer (see para. 0211, a timer comprises a sCellDeactivation Time / a secondary cell deactivation timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a bandwidth part inactivity timer, a bandwidth part switching delay timer, a search space set group switching timer, or a secondary cell deactivation timer, as taught by Jai, in the system of Beale, so as to enable energy saving in a terminal, see Jai, paragraphs 3-10.
As per claim 2, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: increase, based on the modified timing information, the duration of the timer; decrease, based on the modified timing information, the duration of the timer; cancel, based on the modified timing information, the duration of the timer; or pause, based on the modified timing information, the timer (see figures 6-8 and 10A, 10B where different timings/scheduling/durations of procedures, e.g. DRX, are adapted based on the energy harvesting state of the UE).
As per claim 3, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the timer comprises, a discontinuous reception inactivity timer, a short discontinuous reception timer, or a long discontinuous reception timer (see figures 6-8 and 10A, 10B where different timings/scheduling/durations of procedures, e.g. DRX, are adapted based on the energy harvesting state of the UE).
As per claim 4, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein, to modify the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to: decrease the duration of the operational state for the first network node (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure.
Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of
the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 5, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein, to modify the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to: cancel the duration of the operational state for the first network node (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure.
Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of
the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 6, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 5.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the second network node, a signal that indicates to cancel the duration of the operational state for the first network node based on the overlap in time of the duration of the timer and the duration of the operational state for the first network node, wherein the duration of the operational state for the first network node is canceled further based on the signal (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 7, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the second network node, a signal that configures a first delta value for the first network node, wherein, to modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to modify the duration of the timer or the duration of the operational state based on the first delta value (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 9, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 7.
Beale further disclose wherein the signal comprises downlink control information, a medium access control element, a radio resource control signal, or a wake-up signal (see page 18, lines 31 - page 19, lines 28 and figure 6, Fig. 6 shows an example of the charge state of a UE during two RRC connections).
As per claim 10, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 7.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second network node, a wake-up signal response that comprises a request for a second delta value for the first network node, wherein the signal that configures the first delta value is received based on the request (see page 18, line 31 - page 19, line 28 and figure 6, the UE reports its charge level on request from the gNB. For example, when the gNB schedules the UE, it includes a message (e.g. in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), RRC information element (IE), downlink control information (DCI) field or wake-up signal (WUS) requesting the UE to report its charge level).
As per claim 11, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform an energy harvesting procedure during at least a portion of the modified duration of the operational state (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 12, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 11.
Beale further disclose wherein the modified duration of the operational state comprises a first portion during which a first switch from a communication mode to an energy harvesting mode is configured to occur, a second portion during which the energy harvesting procedure is configured to occur, and a third portion during which a second switch from the energy harvesting mode to the communication mode is configured to occur, wherein the portion of the modified duration of the operational state includes the second portion (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 13, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 11.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform first radio frequency tuning from a first frequency band for communication to a second frequency band for the energy harvesting procedure; and perform second radio frequency tuning from the second frequency band for the energy harvesting procedure to the first frequency band for the communication, wherein the modified duration of the operational state for the first network node further comprises the first radio frequency tuning and the second radio frequency tuning (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 14, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 11.
Beale further disclose wherein, to modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to: modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state based on a type of the energy harvesting procedure, wherein the type of the energy harvesting procedure comprises radio frequency energy harvesting, solar energy harvesting, thermal energy harvesting, vibrational energy harvesting, or laser energy harvesting (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 15, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 11.
Beale further disclose wherein, to modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state, the at least one processor is configured to: modify at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state based on a capability of the first network node to perform a radio frequency tuning procedure to a new bandwidth part concurrent to the energy harvesting procedure (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 16, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the second network node, a signal that configures the duration of the operational state for the first network node (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 17, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 16.
Beale further disclose wherein the signal configures a periodicity for a plurality of durations of the operational state for the first network node (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 18, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second network node, a request for a modification to the timing information; and receive, from the second network node and based on the request, an indication of the modification to the timing information, wherein, to modify the timing information, the at least one processor is configured to modify the timing information based on the indication of the modification to the timing information (see page 16 lines 5-15, request modification of timing information).
As per claim 19, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 18.
Beale further disclose wherein the indication of the modification to the timing information comprises a lookup table, a lookup table index, a codepoint, a value, or any combination thereof (see page 16 lines 5-15, request modification of timing information).
As per claim 20, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Beale further disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second network node, a signal that comprises a first indication of the duration of the operational state for the first network node, a second indication of the modified duration of the operational state, or both, wherein the communication with the second network node is based on the first indication of the duration of the operational state, the second indication of the modified duration of the operational state, or both (see Fig.10A, 10B, where also the timing/scheduling of the operational state = energy harvesting state of the UE is adapted/modified in relation to the respective underlying communication procedure. Hence, the timing/scheduling of the underlying communication procedure and the timing/scheduling of the energy harvesting state are mutually modified/adapted to optimize communication and/or energy collection).
As per claim 21, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 20.
Beale further disclose wherein the signal comprises an energy report, a scheduling request, a hybrid automatic repeat request signal, a buffer status report, a random access channel signal, an uplink control information signal, or any combination thereof (page 13, lines 17 ff (UE reports rate of
discharging).
As per claim 22, the combination of Beale and Jai disclose the first network node of claim 20.
Beale further disclose wherein, to transmit the signal, the at least one processor is configured to: backscatter the signal based on a power availability of the first network node (see page 10, lines 16 ff (RF incident energy).
As per claim 23, claim 23 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 24, claim 24 is rejected the same way as claim 7.
As per claim 25, claim 25 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
As per claim 26, claim 26 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 27, claim 27 is rejected the same way as claim 16.
As per claim 28, claim 28 is rejected the same way as claim 20.
As per claim 29, claim 29 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 30, claim 30 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection:
Claims 1, 22 and 29-30are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by XU (US Pub. No.:2022/312315), and further in view of Jai et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0259841).
As per claim 1, Xu disclose A first network node (see Fig.3, a base station 310) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (see Fig.3, a memory 376); and at least one processor (see Fig.3, a controller/processor 375) coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor (see para. 0059, The controller/processor 375 can be associated with, and coupled to, a memory 376 that stores program codes and data) is configured to:
receive, from a second network node, timing information corresponding to a timer; modify, based on an overlap in time of a duration of the timer and a duration of an operational state for the first network node, at least one of the timing information or the duration of the operational state (see Fig.4-9, para. 0063-0098, the transmitting device 502 transmit the EH indication signal 530. The EH indication signal 530 indicates a time period 532. In some implementations, the time period 532 may include a start 534. For example, the start 534 may define a time of a first RF signal for energy harvesting. There may be a gap between the EH indication signal 530 and the start 534. For example, the UE 104 may activate the EH component 114 during the gap. In some implementations, the time period 532 includes a duration 536. The duration 536 defines an end 539 of the time period 532. The EH control component 140 deactivates the EH component 114 after the duration 536 (e.g., because RF energy may no longer be available for harvesting). The time period 532 includes a pattern 538 of RF energy. For example, the pattern 538 defines how long RF energy is available for harvesting in each period of a repetition pattern and a duration of each period. In some implementations, the EH indication signal 530 and/or the time period 532 may include only the start 534. The transmitting device 502 may transmit a signal indicating the end 539 of the time period 532. The time period 532 may extend from the start 532 until the signal indicating the end 539 of the time period 532 is received, see para. 0071, 0076, 0078, the wake up indication 522 and the EH indication signal 530 is transmitted as an idle/inactive mode paging early indication signal, clearly modifying, based on an overlap in time of a duration of the timer { the wake up indication 522/timing component 144=timer} and a duration of an operational state for the first network node {the time period 532}, see also para. 0080, the wake up indication 522 may override the EH indication signal 530. For example, if the wake up indication indicates a monitoring window that is longer than the time period 532 indicated by the EH indication signal 530, the timing component 144 may extend the time period 532 based on the wake up indication. In a second implementation, the wake up indication may indicate a monitoring window that is within the time period 532 when RF energy is to be available. The timing component 144 may control the EH component 114 to harvest energy during the entire time period 532, but power splitting may be utilized during the monitoring window, see also para. 0093, the UE 104, the RX processor 356 and/or the controller/processor 359 may execute EH control component 140 and/or the timing component 144 to activate the EH component 114 during the second time period. The UE 104, the RX processor 356, and/or the controller/processor 359 executing the EH control component 140 and/or the timing component 144 may provide means for activating the EH component 114 during the second time period, clearly teaches modifying, based on an overlap in time of a duration of the timer { activating during the second time period } and a duration of an operational state for the first network node {the time period 532}}, at least one of the timing information); and
communicate with the second network node in accordance with the modified timing information or the modified duration of the operational state (see Fig.4-9, para. 0063-0098, At block 930, the method 900 may optionally include transmitting a wake up indication indicating a second time period for the UE to monitor a PDCCH. In an aspect, for example, the transmitting device 502, the controller/processor 375, and/or the TX processor 316 may execute the EH signaling component 120 and/or the wake up indication generator 128 to transmit a wake up indication indicating a second time period for the UE 104 to monitor a control channel. Accordingly, the transmitting device 502, the controller/processor 375, and/or the TX processor 316 executing the EH signaling component 120 and/or the wake up indication generator 128 may provide means for transmitting a wake up indication indicating a second time period for the UE to monitor a PDCCH, see also para. 0025, idle and inactive state discontinuous reception (DRX) modes are used when a UE is not scheduled to receive a transmission and [0069] The transmitting device 502 may transmit a wake up indication 522 to the UE 104. The wake up indication 522 may be a signal that identifies a time when the UE 104 is to wake up to monitor a PDCCH. The wake up indication 522 may include an RRC configuration defining a DRX cycle, a connected mode wake up signal, or an idle mode paging early indication signal).
Although XU disclose receive, from a second network node, timing information corresponding to a timer where the timer a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactivity timer;
Xu however does not explicitly disclose a bandwidth part inactivity timer, a bandwidth part switching delay timer, a search space set group switching timer, or a secondary cell deactivation timer.
Jia however disclose wherein a timer comprises a bandwidth part inactivity timer (see para. 0218, a timer comprises a bwp-Inactivity Timer / a bandwidth part inactivity timer) or a secondary cell deactivation timer (see para. 0211, a timer comprises a sCellDeactivation Time / a secondary cell deactivation timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a bandwidth part inactivity timer, a bandwidth part switching delay timer, a search space set group switching timer, or a secondary cell deactivation timer, as taught by Jai, in the system of Xu, so as to enable energy saving in a terminal, see Jai, paragraphs 3-10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Almeida et al (US Pub. No.:2015/0117418) – see Abstract, “There is provided a method, comprising: detecting, by a node of a first wireless network, that at least one overlapping second wireless network is configured to apply contention periods and contention-free periods for communicating with different subsets of devices; detecting that a contention period timing applied by the at least one overlapping second wireless network is not aligned with a contention period timing applied by the node of the first wireless network; and causing a modification of the contention period timing in at least one of the wireless networks in order to have the contention periods to take place at least partly at the same time in each overlapping wireless network.”
Elkotby (US Pub. No.:2022/225402) - see Fig.4-8, 11-19, para. 0083-0093, 0200-0206, Transmission over N consecutive time units that is repeated every M time units for a total duration T. Transmission every N.sub.1.sup.th time unit over N.sub.2 consecutive time units that is repeated every M time units for a total duration T. Transmission over N.sub.1 random or defined time units within N.sub.2 consecutive time units that is repeated every M time units for a total duration T”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469