DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/29/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishihara et al (US Publication No. 20110024205) in view of Tanaka et al (US Publication No. 20140131071).
Regarding claim 1, Nishihara discloses (100, fig. 2, shown below, para. [0077]- [0085]); a flexible printed wiring board (50) attached to a battery (10), comprising: a trunk portion (TP); a first branch portion (1STBP); a second branch portion (2NDBP); a bent portion (BP); and multiple lines (i.e., 40, 40a wire leads; see for example fig. 8, para. [0119]- [0140]), wherein the multiple lines (i.e., 40, 40a wire leads; see for example fig. 8, para. [0119]- [0140]) are provided only on one surface (i.e., such as the plurality of bus bars 40 and the FPC board 50 arranged on the side of the other side surface of the battery module 100 are covered with the other cover 80; see for example fig. 5, para. [0095]) of the flexible printed wiring board (50), and include a first line group (1STLG), a second line group (2NDLG), and a third line group (3RDLG), the first line group (1STLG) is arranged over the trunk portion (TP), the first branch portion (1STBP), and the bent portion (BP), the second line group (2NDLG) is arranged (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]- [0176]) over the trunk portion (TP) and the second branch portion (2NDBP), the third line group (3RDLG) is arranged at the trunk portion (TP), one end (END1) of each line of the first line group (1STLG) is connected (i.e., wires configurations; see for example fig. 8, para. [0119]- [0140]) to a corresponding one of multiple terminals (40s, 40as) of the battery (10s), and the other end of each line of the first line group (1STLG) is arranged (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]- [0176]) in the bent portion (BP), one end of each line of the second line group (2NDLG) is connected (i.e., wires configurations; see for example fig. 8, para. [0119]- [0140]) to a corresponding one of the multiple terminals (40s, 40as) of the battery (10s), and the other end of each line of the second line group (2NDLG) is arranged (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]- [0176]) at an end portion (END2) of the trunk portion (TP) in a longitudinal direction (X-axis) of the flexible printed wiring board (50), one end of each line of the third line group (3RDLG) is arranged (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]- [0176]) at the end portion (END2) of the trunk portion (TP), and the other end of each line of the third line group (3RDLG) is arranged (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]- [0176]) in the trunk portion (TP), and the bent portion (BP) is bent (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]- [0176]) such that the other end of each line of the first line group (1STLG) arranged (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]- [0176]) in the bent portion (BP) and the other end of each line of the third line group (3RDLG) arranged (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]-[0176]) in the trunk portion (TP) are connected (i.e., wires configurations; see for example fig. 8, para. [0119]- [0140]) to each other.
Nishihara does not explicitly disclose the first branch portion and the second branch portion are branched from the trunk portion.
Tanaka discloses a wiring material method (i.e., wiring material 1; see for example fig. 1, para. [0058]- [0065]); wherein the first branch portion (i.e., such as the first branch portion 22; see for example fig. 1, para. [0058]- [0065]) and the second branch portion (i.e., such as the second branch portion 22; see for example fig. 1, para. [0058]- [0065]) are branched (i.e., such as fabricated/branched; see for example fig. 1, para. [0058]- [0065]) from the trunk portion (i.e., such as the trunk portion 21; see for example fig. 1, para. [0058]- [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the wire fabrication in Nishihara, as taught by Tanaka, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit wiring design.
Regarding claim 2, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above.
Nishihara further discloses (100, fig. 2, shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]); the flexible printed wiring board (50), wherein in a case (i.e., such as each of the battery modules 100 includes a plurality of (eighteen in this example) battery cells 10, a plurality of (five in this example) thermistors 11, and a detecting circuit 20, see for example fig. 1, para. [0068]- [0076]) where potentials of the multiple terminals (40s, 40as) increase in an order of V(0), V(l), V(2), V(3), ... , V(2n - 3), V(2n - 2), V(2n - 1), and V(2n) (n is an integer) (i.e., such as the lower branch starts with 10a and ends with 10b; see for example fig. 3, para. [0086]- [0093]), the one end (END1) of each line of the first line group (1STLG) is connected (i.e., wires configurations; see for example fig. 8, para. [0119]- [0140]) to a corresponding one of the multiple terminals (40s, 40as) of which potentials are V (0), V (2), ..., V (2n - 2), and V(2n) (i.e., such as the upper branch starts with 10a-b and ends with 10a-b; see for example fig. 3, para. [0086]- [0093]), the one end (END1) of each line of the second line group (2NDLG) is connected (i.e., wires configurations; see for example fig. 8, para. [0119]- [0140]) to a corresponding one of the multiple terminals (40s, 40as) of which potentials are V(l), V (3), ..., V (2n - 3), and V (2n - 1) (i.e., such as the lower branch starts with 10a and ends with 10b; see for example fig. 3, para. [0086]- [0093]), and potentials of the multiple lines (i.e., 40, 40a wire leads; see for example fig. 8, para. [0119]- [0140]) arranged (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]- [0176]) at the end portion (END2) of the trunk portion (TP) are arranged (i.e., wires layouts; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]- [0176]) in an order of V (0), V(l), V (2), V (3), ..., V (2n - 3), V (2n - 2), V (2n - 1), and V(2n) (i.e., such as the upper branch starts with 10a-b and ends with 10a-b; see for example fig. 3, para. [0086]- [0093]).
Regarding claim 3, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above.
Nishihara further discloses (100, fig. 2, shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]); the flexible printed wiring board (50), wherein the bent portion (i.e., portion R12 at bending line Bl in fig. 9 a-c, e; see para. [0141]- [0148]) includes only one bent portion (R12).
Regarding claim 4, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above.
Nishihara further discloses (100, fig. 2, shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]); the flexible printed wiring board (50), wherein the first branch portion (1STBP) includes multiple first branch portions (i.e., such as FPC boards S0a to S0h described below may be employed instead of the above-described FPC board 50, see for example para. [0149]) and the bent portion (i.e., portion R12 at bending line Bl in fig. 9 a-c, e; see para. [0141]- [0148]) includes multiple bent portions (i.e., such as R11, R12, R13 at multiple bending lines Bl, B12, Bl3, etc., for S0b; see for example fig. 14, para. [0168]) each corresponding to the multiple first branch portions (S0a- S0h).
Regarding claim 5, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above.
Nishihara further discloses (100, fig. 2, shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]); the flexible printed wiring board (50), wherein the bent portion (i.e., portion R12 at bending line Bl in fig. 9 a-c, e; see para. [0141]- [0148]) is bent once (i.e., one bent in different angles examples a-c and e in fig. 9) at one bending line (B1).
Regarding claim 6, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above.
Nishihara further discloses (100, fig. 2, shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]); the flexible printed wiring board (50), wherein the bent portion (i.e., portion R12 at bending lines B1, Blain fig. 9(d); see para. [0141]- [0148]) is bent twice (i.e., first bent 90° angle in +Z-axis at Bl; second bent 90° angle in - Y-axis at B1a, example (d) in fig. 9) at two bending lines (B1, B1a).
Regarding claim 7, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above.
Nishihara further discloses (100, fig. 2, shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]); a battery monitoring module (100) comprising: the flexible printed wiring board (50); and a connector (i.e., 20; such as the detecting circuit 20 is electrically connected to each of the bus bars 40, 40a via a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) element 60; see for example para. [0072]), wherein the connector (20) is attached (i.e., such as a rigid printed circuit board (hereinafter abbreviated as a printed circuit board) 21 is attached to an outer surface of one of the end surface frames 92 with a predetermined distance therebetween, the detecting circuit 20 is provided on the printed circuit board 21, see for example para. [0082]) to the end portion (END2) of the trunk portion (TP) of the flexible printed wiring board (50).
Regarding claim 8, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above.
Nishihara further discloses (100, fig. 2, shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]); wherein the bent portion (BP) is positioned between the first branch portion (1STBP) and the second branch portion (2NDBP), and extends on an opposite side of the end (i.e., such as the end of TP at numeral 92, as the TP is the head/neck that has two arms, the left arm is the 1STBP and the right arm is the 2NDBP; see for example fig. 2, as shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]) of the trunk portion (i.e., such as the TP/trunk portion has two ends; one end at END2 at numeral 20 (neck/head) and the other end at numeral 92 (neck/arms); see for example fig. 2, as shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]).
Regarding claim 9, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above.
Nishihara further discloses (100, fig. 2, shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]); wherein the bent portion (BP) is positioned between the first branch portion (1STBP) and the second branch portion (2NDBP), and extends on an opposite side of the end (i.e., such as the end of TP at numeral 92, as the TP is the head/neck that has two arms, the left arm is the 1STBP and the right arm is the 2NDBP; see for example fig. 2, as shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]) of the trunk portion (i.e., such as the TP/trunk portion has two ends; one end at END2 at numeral 20 (neck/head) and the other end at numeral 92 (neck/arms); see for example fig. 2, as shown above, para. [0077]- [0085]). As for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 10, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above; and is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Regarding claim 11, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above; and is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 3. {See rejection of claim 3}
Regarding claim 12, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above; and is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 4. {See rejection of claim 4}
Regarding claim 13, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above; and is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 5. {See rejection of claim 5}
Regarding claim 14, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above; and is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 6. {See rejection of claim 6}
Regarding claim 15, Nishihara in view of Tanaka and the teachings of Nishihara as modified by Tanaka have been discussed above; and is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 7. {See rejection of claim 7}
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838