DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pan et al. (CN 107706351 A, cited on the IDS dated June 4, 2024, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated January 27, 2026).
Regarding Claim 1, Pan discloses a lithium ion secondary battery, comprising a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, and an electrolyte ([0010], [0049]), wherein
the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode active material and a positive electrode lithium-supplementing material comprising a lithium-rich metal oxide, the lithium-rich metal oxide comprising one or more elements of Ni, Co, Fe, Mn, and Cu ([0014], [0019], [0022]);
the electrolyte comprises an electrolyte lithium salt and a solvent ([0050]), and the electrolyte has a percentage ɛ of a total mass of a fluorine element in anions of the electrolyte lithium salt relative to a total mass of the electrolyte ([0050], e.g. if the electrolyte does not comprise fluorine then ɛ is 0% and if the electrolyte comprises fluorine then ɛ is greater than 0% and less than 100%).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lho et al. (US PGPub 2020/0176754 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lho discloses a lithium ion secondary battery, comprising a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate and an electrolyte ([0072]), wherein
the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode active material and a positive electrode lithium-supplementing material comprising a lithium-rich metal oxide, the lithium-rich metal oxide comprising one or more elements of Ni, Co, Fe, Mn, and Cu ([0065], [0047]-[0049]);
the electrolyte comprises an electrolyte lithium salt and a solvent ([0080]), and the electrolyte necessarily and inherently has a percentage ɛ of a total mass of a fluorine element in anions of the electrolyte lithium salt relative to a total mass of the electrolyte ([0079]-[0082], e.g. if the electrolyte does not comprise fluorine then ɛ is 0% and if the electrolyte comprises fluorine then ɛ is greater than 0% and less than 100%).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Senoue et al. (US PGPub 2012/0164533 A1),
Regarding Claim 1, Senoue discloses a lithium ion secondary battery, comprising a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate and an electrolyte ([0029], [0109], [0097]), wherein
the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode active material (first lithium composite oxide) and a positive electrode lithium-supplementing material comprising a lithium-rich metal oxide (second lithium composite oxide expressed by formula (1)), the lithium-rich metal oxide comprising one or more elements of Ni, Co, Fe, Mn, and Cu ([0030]-[0031]);
the electrolyte comprises an electrolyte lithium salt and a solvent ([0097]), and the electrolyte has a percentage ɛ of a total mass of a fluorine element in anions of the electrolyte lithium salt relative to a total mass of the electrolyte ([0098]-[0099], [0104]-[0105], [0107], e.g. if the electrolyte does not comprise fluorine then ɛ is 0% and if the electrolyte comprises fluorine then ɛ is greater than 0% and less than 100%).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goh et al. (US PGPub 2004/0157124 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Goh discloses in Fig. 1 a lithium ion secondary battery ([0008], [0026]) comprising:
a positive electrode plate (4, 6), a negative electrode plate (5, 7) and an electrolyte (9) ([0026]), wherein
the positive electrode plate (4, 6) comprises a positive electrode active material (cathode active material) and a positive electrode lithium-supplementing material (overdischarge-preventing agent) comprising a lithium-rich metal oxide, the lithium-rich metal oxide comprising Ni ([0030], [0010]-[0011]);
the electrolyte (9) comprises an electrolyte lithium salt and a solvent, and the electrolyte has a percentage ɛ of a total mass of a fluorine element in anions of the electrolyte lithium salt relative to a total mass of the electrolyte ([0038], e.g. if the electrolyte does not comprise fluorine then ɛ is 0% and if the electrolyte comprises fluorine then ɛ is greater than 0% and less than 100%).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US PGPub 2020/0075957 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jeona lithium ion secondary battery ([0047]) comprising:
a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate and an electrolyte (9) ([0047]), wherein
the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode active material (cathode active material) and a positive electrode lithium-supplementing material (irreversible additive) comprising a lithium-rich metal oxide, the lithium-rich metal oxide comprising Ni ([0013], [0046]),
the electrolyte comprises an electrolyte lithium salt and a solvent, and the electrolyte has a percentage ɛ of a total mass of a fluorine element in anions of the electrolyte lithium salt relative to a total mass of the electrolyte ([0062]-[0065], e.g. if the electrolyte does not comprise fluorine then ɛ is 0% and if the electrolyte comprises fluorine then ɛ is greater than 0% and less than 100%).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-10, 15, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh et al. (US PGPub 2004/0157124 A1), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Schmidt et al. (US PGPub 2019/0157721 A1).
Regarding Claims 2, 15, 19, and 21, Goh discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material comprises Li2Ni1-xMxO2, wherein M may be chosen to be Cu and Zn, Mg, Fe, or Mn, and 0 < x < 1 in order to control irreversible capacities of the cathode, therefore showing superior effects of the overdischarge property without decreasing battery capacity ([0010]-[0011], [0025]), which reads on the instantly claimed compound Li2Cux1Ni1-x1-y1My1O2 wherein 0.6 < x1 < 0.8, 0.2 < 1-x1-y1 < 0.4, 0 < y1 < 0.1, M is selected from one or more of Zn, Mg, Fe, and Mn.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material to be Li2Cux1Ni1-x1-y1My1O2 wherein 0.6 < x1 < 0.8, 0.2 < 1-x1-y1 < 0.4, 0 < y1 < 0.1, wherein M is selected from one or more of Zn, Mg, Fe, and Mn, as disclosed by Goh, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form a positive electrode lithium-supplementing material that controls irreversible capacities of the cathode, therefore showing superior effects of the overdischarge property without decreasing battery capacity.
Modified Goh discloses wherein the electrolyte (9) comprises the electrolyte lithium salt and the solvent, wherein the solvent comprises a cyclic carbonate, such as ethylene carbonate (EC), and a linear carbonate, such as methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC) ([0038]).
However, modified Goh does not explicitly disclose wherein 0.5% ɛ < 14%, and further 2% < ɛ < 9.3%.
The Examiner notes that the instant specification discloses that when the electrolyte lithium salt is lithium bisfluorosulfonimide (LiFSI) at a concentration of 1 mol/L in a solvent of ethylene carbonate (EC) and methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC) at a volume ratio of 3:7, ɛ is 3.1% (Table 1, e.g. Examples 14-27, [00172], [00176]).
Schmidt teaches an electrolyte for a lithium ion secondary battery with improved electronic performance and/or a longer service life in a lithium ion secondary battery and/or safety of the lithium ion secondary battery ([0023]).
Specifically, Schmidt teaches an exemplary embodiment wherein the electrolyte comprises an electrolyte lithium salt and a solvent, wherein the electrolyte lithium salt is lithium bisfluorosulfonimide (LiFSI) at a concentration of 1 mol/L in a solvent of ethylene carbonate (EC) and methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC) at a volume ratio of 3:7 ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the electrolyte taught by Schmidt as the electrolyte in the lithium ion secondary battery of modified Goh in order to achieve a lithium ion secondary battery with improved electronic performance and/or a longer service life and/or improve safety of the lithium ion secondary battery, wherein the electrolyte of modified Goh is not particularly limited and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the lithium ion secondary battery desired by modified Goh.
Thus, modified Goh discloses wherein the electrolyte lithium salt is lithium bisfluorosulfonimide (LiFSI) at a concentration of 1 mol/L in a solvent of ethylene carbonate (EC) and methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC) at a volume ratio of 3:7 ([0054] of Schmidt), which necessarily and inherently has an ɛ of 3.1% as evidenced by Table 1, e.g. Examples 14-27, [00172], [00176] of the instant specification, which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed ranges of 0.5% < ɛ < 14%, and further 2% < ɛ < 9.3%.
Regarding Claims 7-8, modified Goh discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the electrolyte lithium salt is lithium bisfluorosulfonimide (LiFSI) at a concentration of 1 mol/L ([0054] of Schmidt), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of 0.7 mol/L-4 mol/L, optionally 0.7 mol/L-3 mol/L.
Regarding Claims 9-10, modified Goh discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive electrode active material may be chosen to comprise LiFePO4 ([0035] of Goh), which reads on LizFePO4 in which 0 < z < 1.3, and wherein the positive electrode active material is composed in a positive electrode active material layer ([0030], [0035], e.g. [0043] of Goh).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize LiFePO4 as the positive electrode active material of modified Goh, as disclosed by modified Goh, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the positive electrode plate desired by modified Goh.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Goh discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein on at least one side of the positive electrode current collector (6 of Goh), a mass ratio of the positive electrode active material to the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material is 99.1 : 0.1 – 90 : 10 ([0034] of Goh), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of 99.9 : 0.1 – 85 : 15.
Claims 5 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh et al. (US PGPub 2004/0157124 A1) in view of Schmidt et al. (US PGPub 2019/0157721 A1), as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of Lho et al. (US PGPub 2020/0176754 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Goh discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Goh does not disclose wherein the lithium-rich metal oxide contains free lithium including one or more of LiOH, LiHCO3, and Li2CO3, and a mass percentage ꙍ of the free lithium in the lithium-rich metal oxide is <5 wt%.
Lho teaches a lithium ion secondary battery, comprising a positive electrode plate ([0072]), wherein the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode active material and a positive electrode lithium-supplementing material comprising a lithium-rich nickel oxide ([0065], [0047]-[0049]).
Specifically, Lho teaches wherein the lithium-rich nickel oxide may contain free lithium including LiOH and Li2CO3 in an about of 0.5 wt% to 3.5 wt% in order to exhibit superior effects while suppressing heat from being generated from the positive electrode plate when a short circuit occurs and moisture absorption from the atmosphere ([0056]), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of < 5 wt%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the lithium-rich metal oxide of modified Goh to contain free lithium including LiOH and Li2CO3 in the range taught by Lho in order to form a lithium-supplementing material that exhibits superior effects while suppressing heat from being generated from the positive electrode plate when a short circuit occurs and moisture absorption from the atmosphere.
Regarding Claims 16-18, modified Goh discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Goh remains silent regarding an intended use of the lithium ion secondary battery and therefore such is not particularly limited.
However, modified Goh does not disclose a battery pack comprising a battery module comprising the lithium ion secondary battery or a device comprising at least one of the lithium ion secondary batteries.
Lho teaches a lithium ion secondary battery that may be used in a battery pack comprising a battery module comprising the lithium ion secondary battery or in a device comprising at least one of the lithium ion secondary batteries ([0085]-[0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the lithium ion secondary battery of modified Goh in a battery pack comprising a battery module comprising the lithium ion secondary battery or a device comprising at least one of the lithium ion secondary batteries, as taught by Lho, as the intended use of the lithium ion secondary battery is not particularly limited and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully function in the battery pack or the device.
Claims 6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh et al. (US PGPub 2004/0157124 A1) in view of Schmidt et al. (US PGPub 2019/0157721 A1), as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of Li et al. (US PGPub 2014/0302392 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 22, modified Goh discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Goh does not disclose wherein at least part of an outer surface of the lithium-rich metal oxide has a coating layer, wherein the coating layer comprises a metal fluoride comprising AlF3.
Li teaches a positive electrode active material comprising a lithium-rich metal oxide, wherein the lithium-rich metal oxide comprises a coating layer in order to stabilize the positive electrode active material during electrochemical cycling ([0001], [0048]).
Specifically, Li teaches wherein the coating layer comprises a metal fluoride, such as AlF3 ([0062], [0064]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a coating layer on at least part of an outer surface of the lithium-rich metal oxide of modified Goh, wherein the coating layer comprises AlF3, as taught by Li, in order to stabilize the lithium-rich metal oxide during electrochemical cycling.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh et al. (US PGPub 2004/0157124 A1) in view of Schmidt et al. (US PGPub 2019/0157721 A1), as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of Toyama et al. (US PGPub 2012/0034503 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Goh discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive electrode plate (4, 6 of Goh) comprises a positive electrode current collector (6 of Goh) and a positive electrode material layer (4 of Goh) provided on the positive electrode current collector (6 of Goh), the positive electrode active material layer (4 of Goh) comprises the positive electrode active material (Fig. 1, [0026] of Goh); wherein
the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material is distributed in the positive electrode active material layer (4 of Goh) (Fig. 1, [0026], [0030], e.g. [0043] of Goh).
Specifically, modified Goh discloses wherein the positive electrode plate (4, 6 of Goh) is formed by coating a slurry containing the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode lithium-supplementing onto the positive electrode current collector (6 of Goh) and then drying it to form the positive electrode material layer (4 of Goh) provided on the positive electrode current collector (6 of Goh) (Fig. 1, e.g. [0043] of Goh).
However, modified Goh does not explicitly disclose wherein the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material is uniformly distributed in the positive electrode active material layer.
Toyama teaches forming a positive electrode plate by coating a slurry containing a positive electrode active material onto a positive electrode current collector and then drying it to form a positive electrode material layer provided on the positive electrode current collector ([0091]-[0093], [0096]).
Specifically, Toyama teaches that it is preferable to sufficiently knead a mixture using a kneader so as to uniformly disperse the positive electrode active material in the slurry ([0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to knead a mixture containing the positive electrode active material of modified Goh and the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material of modified Goh, as taught by Toyama, in order to uniformly distribute the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material in the slurry, as such is a known desire in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the positive electrode plate desired by modified Goh.
Thus, modified Goh discloses wherein the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material is uniformly distributed in the slurry ([0095] of Toyama) and consequently discloses wherein such is uniformly distributed in the positive electrode active material layer.
Claims 2, 5, 7-10, 15, 18-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US PGPub 2020/0075957 A1), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Schmidt et al. (US PGPub 2019/0157721 A1).
Regarding Claims 2, 15, 19, and 21, Jeon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material comprises Li2Ni1-xMxO2, wherein M may be chosen to be a combination of Cu and Mg, and 0 < x < 1 in in order to prepare a positive electrode plate that exhibits excellent electrochemical characteristics ([0010]-[0011], [0030]), which reads on the instantly claimed compound Li2Cux1Ni1-x1-y1My1O2 wherein 0.6 < x1 < 0.8, 0.2 < 1-x1-y1 < 0.4, 0 < y1 < 0.1, M is Mg.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material to be Li2Cux1Ni1-x1-y1My1O2 wherein 0.6 < x1 < 0.8, 0.2 < 1-x1-y1 < 0.4, 0 < y1 < 0.1, wherein M is selected to be Mg, as disclosed by Jeon, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form a positive electrode plate that exhibits excellent electrochemical characteristics.
Modified Jeon discloses wherein the electrolyte comprises the electrolyte lithium salt and the solvent, wherein the electrolyte lithium salt is not particularly limited as long as it is a compound which can provide lithium ions used in a lithium ion secondary battery and wherein the solvent is not particularly limited so long as it may act as a medium capable of migrating ions involved in an electrochemical reaction of a lithium ion secondary battery, and for example may comprise ethylene carbonate (EC), and methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC) ([0062]-[0064]).
However, modified does not explicitly disclose wherein 0.5% ɛ < 14%, and further 2% < ɛ < 9.3%.
The Examiner notes that the instant specification discloses that when the electrolyte lithium salt is lithium bisfluorosulfonimide (LiFSI) at a concentration of 1 mol/L in a solvent of ethylene carbonate (EC) and methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC) at a volume ratio of 3:7, ɛ is 3.1% (Table 1, e.g. Examples 14-27, [00172], [00176]).
Schmidt teaches an electrolyte for a lithium ion secondary battery with improved electronic performance and/or a longer service life in a lithium ion secondary battery and/or safety of the lithium ion secondary battery ([0023]).
Specifically, Schmidt teaches an exemplary embodiment wherein the electrolyte comprises an electrolyte lithium salt and a solvent, wherein the electrolyte lithium salt is lithium bisfluorosulfonimide (LiFSI) at a concentration of 1 mol/L in a solvent of ethylene carbonate (EC) and methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC) at a volume ratio of 3:7 ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the electrolyte taught by Schmidt as the electrolyte in the lithium ion secondary battery of modified Jeon in order to achieve a lithium ion secondary battery with improved electronic performance and/or a longer service life and/or improve safety of the lithium ion secondary battery, wherein the electrolyte of modified Jeon is not particularly limited and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the lithium ion secondary battery desired by modified Jeon.
Thus, modified Jeon discloses wherein the electrolyte lithium salt is lithium bisfluorosulfonimide (LiFSI) at a concentration of 1 mol/L in a solvent of ethylene carbonate (EC) and methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC) at a volume ratio of 3:7 ([0054] of Schmidt), which necessarily and inherently has an ɛ of 3.1% as evidenced by Table 1, e.g. Examples 14-27, [00172], [00176] of the instant specification, which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed ranges of 0.5% < ɛ < 14%, and further 2% < ɛ < 9.3%.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Jeon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the lithium-rich metal oxide contains free lithium including one or more of LiOH and Li2CO3, and a mass percentage ꙍ of the free lithium in the lithium-rich metal oxide is < 3 wt% ([0041] of Jeon), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of < 5 wt%.
Regarding Claims 7-8, modified Jeon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the electrolyte lithium salt is lithium bisfluorosulfonimide (LiFSI) at a concentration of 1 mol/L ([0054] of Schmidt), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of 0.7 mol/L-4 mol/L, optionally 0.7 mol/L-3 mol/L.
Regarding Claims 9-10, modified Jeon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive electrode active material may be chosen to comprise LiFePO4 ([0049] of Jeon), which reads on LizFePO4 in which 0 < z < 1.3, and wherein the positive electrode active material is composed in a positive electrode active material layer ([0047]-[0049] of Jeon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize LiFePO4 as the positive electrode active material of modified Jeon, as disclosed by modified Jeon, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the positive electrode plate desired by modified Jeon.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Jeon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein on at least one side of the positive electrode current collector, a mass ratio of the positive electrode active material to the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material is 99.1 : 0.1 – 90 : 10 ([0043]-[0044] of Jeon), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of 99.9 : 0.1 – 85 : 15.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Jeon further discloses a device comprising at least one of the lithium ion secondary batteries as set forth above ([0067] of Jeon).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US PGPub 2020/0075957 A1) in view of Schmidt et al. (US PGPub 2019/0157721 A1), as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of Lho et al. (US PGPub 2020/0176754 A1).
Regarding Claims 16-17, modified Jeon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device comprising at least one of the lithium ion secondary batteries as set forth above, wherein the device is not particularly limited ([0067] of Jeon).
Therefore, modified Jeon discloses wherein the intended use of the lithium secondary battery is not particularly limited.
However, modified Jeon does not disclose a battery pack comprising a battery module comprising the lithium ion secondary battery.
Lho teaches a lithium ion secondary battery that may be used in a battery pack comprising a battery module comprising the lithium ion secondary battery ([0085]-[0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the lithium ion secondary battery of modified Jeon in a battery pack comprising a battery module comprising the lithium ion secondary battery, as taught by Lho, as the intended use of the lithium ion secondary battery is not particularly limited and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully function in the battery pack.
Claims 6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US PGPub 2020/0075957 A1) in view of Schmidt et al. (US PGPub 2019/0157721 A1), as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of Li et al. (US PGPub 2014/0302392 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 22, modified Jeon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Jeon does not disclose wherein at least part of an outer surface of the lithium-rich metal oxide has a coating layer, wherein the coating layer comprises a metal fluoride comprising AlF3.
Li teaches a positive electrode active material comprising a lithium-rich metal oxide, wherein the lithium-rich metal oxide comprises a coating layer in order to stabilize the positive electrode active material during electrochemical cycling ([0001], [0048]).
Specifically, Li teaches wherein the coating layer comprises a metal fluoride, such as AlF3 ([0062], [0064]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a coating layer on at least part of an outer surface of the lithium-rich metal oxide of modified Jeon, wherein the coating layer comprises AlF3, as taught by Li, in order to stabilize the lithium-rich metal oxide during electrochemical cycling.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US PGPub 2020/0075957 A1) in view of Schmidt et al. (US PGPub 2019/0157721 A1), as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of Toyama et al. (US PGPub 2012/0034503 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Jeon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode material layer provided on the positive electrode current collector, the positive electrode active material layer comprises the positive electrode active material ([0047]-[0048] of Jeon); wherein
the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material is distributed in the positive electrode active material layer ([0047]-[0048] of Jeon).
Specifically, modified Jeon discloses wherein the positive electrode plate is formed by coating a slurry containing the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode lithium-supplementing onto the positive electrode current collector and then drying it to form the positive electrode material layer provided on the positive electrode current collector ([0047]-[0048] of Jeon).
However, modified Jeon does not explicitly disclose wherein the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material is uniformly distributed in the positive electrode active material layer.
Toyama teaches forming a positive electrode plate by coating a slurry containing a positive electrode active material onto a positive electrode current collector and then drying it to form a positive electrode material layer provided on the positive electrode current collector ([0091]-[0093], [0096]).
Specifically, Toyama teaches that it is preferable to sufficiently knead a mixture using a kneader so as to uniformly disperse the positive electrode active material in the slurry ([0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to knead a mixture containing the positive electrode active material of modified Jeon and the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material of modified Jeon, as taught by Toyama, in order to uniformly distribute the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material in the slurry, as such is a known desire in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the positive electrode plate desired by modified Jeon.
Thus, modified Jeon discloses wherein the positive electrode lithium-supplementing material is uniformly distributed in the slurry ([0095] of Toyama) and consequently discloses wherein such is uniformly distributed in the positive electrode active material layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended Claim 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yonekawa et al. (JP 2004-284845 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation) teaches a positive electrode lithium-supplementing material comprising Li2CuxNi1-xO2 (0 < x<1) (Abstract).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725