DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 06/08/2026, claims 1-6 are cancelled, and new claims 7-19 are added. Claims 7-19 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 recites, inter alia, “the spherical or semi-spherical convex structure and the semi-spherical or spherical groove together form a matched spherical pair defining a spherical bearing”. As set forth above, these limitations are not supported in the originally filed specification. Therefore, the recitation is considered to be New Matter.
Claim 12 recites, inter alia, “the movable clamp jaw is rotatable about at least two mutually transverse axes relative to the clamp arm”. Specification of the instant application does not describe the movable clamp jaw is rotatable about at least two mutually transverse axes. Therefore, the phrase lacks the written description.
Claim 15 recites, inter alia, “the two symmetrical arms are resiliently deflectable …”. As set forth above, these limitations are not supported in the originally filed specification. Therefore, the recitation is considered to be New Matter.
Claim 17 recites, inter alia, “the clamp jaw pad comprises an elastomeric material”. As set forth above, these limitations are not supported in the originally filed specification. Therefore, the recitation is considered to be New Matter.
Claim 19 recites, inter alia, “the connecting end is provided with a semi-spherical or spherical convex structure that engages the groove to form a ball-and-socket connection”. As set forth above, these limitations are not supported in the originally filed specification. Therefore, the recitation is considered to be New Matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strauss et al. (US 7984895, hereinafter Strauss), in view of Stephens et al. (US 2016/0198923, hereinafter Stephens).
Regarding claim 7, Strauss discloses, in figs. 1 and 4, a ratchet woodworking clamp (bar clamp 10) with two universal adaptive clamp jaws (fig. 2, two jaws on each of a movable jaw assembly 12 and a fixed jaw assembly 22), comprising:
a fixed clamp arm (fixed jaw assembly 22) and a movable clamp arm (movable jaw assembly 12),
the fixed clamp arm and the movable clamp arm each being provided with an arc-shaped notch defined by a concave semi-circular wall on a surface of an arm end (see a notch in annotated Strauss fig. 4 below), wherein the arc-shaped notch is configured to receive and movably retain a movable clamp jaw (annotated Strauss figs. 3 and 4 below, the jaw 104 is coupled to the notch, and the jaw rotates pivotably), and wherein:
the movable clamp jaw has two symmetrical arms, each arm having a circular connecting end that is received in the arc-shaped notch, wherein each circular connecting end comprises:
an outer cylindrical surface that is slidably retained against the concave semi-circular wall of the arc-shaped notch (see annotated Strauss fig. 4 below, the movable clamp jaw has a pair of symmetric flanges 106 [correspond to the recited arms], and an end of each flange comprises a circular connecting end. The circular connecting end of the arm has an outer cylindrical surface. The outer cylindrical surface of the connecting end is received in the concave semi-circular wall of the arc-shaped notch as shown in fig. 3), and
an inward-facing surface, wherein the inward-facing surfaces of the two symmetrical arms face each other (fig. 4, each of flanges 106 [correspond to the recited arms] has an inward-facing surface and each inward-facing surface faces each other);
a clamp jaw pad is mounted on another side of the movable clamp jaw (annotated Strauss fig. 4 below, pad 117 is mounted on the jaw 104 on a side where it may make a contact with a wooden block to clamp it), but does not disclose a middle portion of the arc-shaped notch is provided with a semi-spherical or spherical groove recessed inwardly into the concave semi-circular wall; and each inward-facing surface is provided with a spherical or semi-spherical convex structure that engages the semi-spherical or spherical groove in the arc-shaped notch.
Stephens teaches, in a mechanical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a middle portion of the arc-shaped notch is provided with a semi-spherical or spherical groove recessed inwardly into the concave semi-circular wall; and each inward-facing surface is provided with a spherical or semi-spherical convex structure that engages the semi-spherical or spherical groove in the arc-shaped notch (figs. 1 and 6 and ¶ 0040, a surface preparing apparatus 10 comprises a handle 20 and a head portion 30 wherein the handle and the head portion are coupled by a joint 40. The joint 40 comprises a bracket 142 comprising two symmetrical arms and a ball portion 150 [equivalent to the recited clamp arm]. A middle portion of the ball portion is provided with a pair of spherical indents 154 [corresponds to the recited groove] recessed inward, and an inward-facing surface of the bracket is provided with a pair of protrusion 146 [corresponds to the recited spherical convex structure]. Each protrusion 146 engages each indent 154 respectively. Stephens does not disclose a clamping jaw, but it teaches the rotatable joint between two components. The clamp arm and the clamp jaw of Strauss are not coupled by the groove and the convex structure, but by combining with Stephens, the coupling mechanism of Strauss can be replaced with the groove and the convex structure coupling mechanism of Stephens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamp of Strauss to provide the groove and the convex structure as taught by Stephens in order to provide the pivoting joint a useful degree of freedom of movement (Stephens ¶ 0032).
Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the movable clamp jaw, together with the clamp jaw pad mounted thereon, is capable of freely rotating in multiple planes around a matching position between the semi-spherical or spherical groove and the semi-spherical or spherical convex structure, without being constrained to rotation about a single fixed axis (Stephens ¶ 0032 and 0040, the joint 40 allows rotation in multiple planes around a matching point of the indent 154 and the protrusion 146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamp of Strauss as modified by Stephens to provide the movable clamp jaw to rotate freely as taught by Stephens so that the head portion/pad can contact a surface of an object in any direction or angle for effective apparatus operation.
Annotated Strauss Figure 4
Annotated Strauss Figure 3
Regarding claim 8, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein a gap exists between the movable clamp jaw and a periphery of the arc-shaped notch (see annotated Strauss fig. 3 above, a gap exists between the jaw 104 and a periphery of the notch so that the flange 106 can rotate about a matching position).
Regarding claim 9, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein a surface of the clamp jaw pad is provided with an anti-skid structure (Strauss, col. 4, ln 33-38, pad 117 is a relatively soft pad which can function as an anti-skid structure).
Regarding claim 10, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein side surfaces of the fixed clamp arm and the movable clamp arm are provided with a reinforcing rib, and the reinforcing ribs are distributed in an arc shape (see annotated Strauss fig. 16 below. The jaw assemblies 12, 22 have reinforcing frames and the frames are curved or arc-shaped).
Annotated Strauss Figure 16
Regarding claim 11, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the spherical or semi-spherical convex structure and the semi-spherical or spherical groove together form a matched spherical pair defining a spherical bearing (Stephens ¶ 0040, the coupling of the protrusion 146 and the indent 154 allows rotation of the apparatus in multiple directions, thus the coupling can be considered as operating like a bearing).
Regarding claim 12, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the movable clamp jaw is rotatable about at least two mutually transverse axes relative to the clamp arm (Stephens fig. 6 and ¶ 0040, the coupling of the protrusion 146 and the indent 154 allows the apparatus to rotate axially at least in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. By combining with Strauss, the movable jaw assembly 12 of Strauss can be rotatable at least two mutually transverse axes relative to the clamp arm).
Regarding claim 13, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein rotation of the movable clamp jaw is guided by a first engagement between the convex structure and the groove (Stephens ¶ 0040, a rotatable joint is formed by engagement of the protrusion 146 and the indent 154) and a second engagement between the outer cylindrical surface and the concave semi-circular wall (annotated Strauss figs. 2 and 3 above, the recited outer cylindrical surface of the arm/clamp jaw engages the recited concave semi-circular wall. Therefore, the modified coupling of the clamp jaw and the clamp arm by Strauss and Stephens would include the recited first and second engagements).
Regarding claim 14, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the movable clamp jaw is configured to self-adapt to a non-parallel surface of a workpiece by rotating in the multiple planes (Strauss col. 1:21-34 and Stephens ¶ 0032, the modified clamp jaw is movable in multi-planes so that it can orient itself relative to a workpiece. Examiner notes that the recited claim limitation is an intended use. The clamp jaw of Strauss as modified by Stephens can be configured to do the same).
Regarding claim 15, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the two symmetrical arms are resiliently deflectable to permit the circular connecting ends to be snap-fitted into the arc-shaped notch (Stephens ¶ 0040, the protrusions 146 may be removably secured within the indents 154 of the ball portion 150 via a press or a snap fit. Thus, the bracket 142 [corresponds to the recited two symmetric arms] are deflectable to allow pressing or snap-fitting of the indents 154).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamp of Strauss as modified by Stephens to provide the deflectable arms as taught by Stephens so that the coupling can be easily engaged or disengaged when a component needs to be replaced.
Regarding claim 16, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the clamp jaw pad is removably mounted on the movable clamp jaw (annotated Strauss fig. 4 above and col. 4:34-39, pad 117 is mounted on the jaw 104. The pad may be eliminated if desired. Thus, the pad is removably mounted on the clamp jaw).
Regarding claim 18, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein a said movable clamp jaw is received in the arc-shaped notch of each of the fixed clamp arm and the movable clamp arm (see annotated Strauss figs. 3 and 4 above).
Regarding claim 19, Strauss discloses, in figs. 1 and 4, a ratchet woodworking clamp (bar clamp 10), comprising:
a fixed clamp arm (fixed jaw assembly 22) and a movable clamp arm (movable jaw assembly 12), at least one of the fixed clamp arm and the movable clamp arm being provided with an arc-shaped notch (see a notch in annotated Strauss fig. 4 above); and
a clamp jaw having a connecting end received in the arc-shaped notch (see annotated Strauss fig. 4 above, the movable clamp jaw has a pair of symmetric flanges 106 [correspond to the recited arms], and an end of each flange comprises a circular connecting end. The circular connecting end is received in the arc-shaped notch as shown in fig. 3), but does not disclose the arc-shaped notch has a semi-spherical or spherical groove, and the connecting end being provided with a semi-spherical or spherical convex structure that engages the groove to form a ball-and-socket connection.
Stephens teaches, in a mechanical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the arc-shaped notch has a semi-spherical or spherical groove, and the connecting end being provided with a semi-spherical or spherical convex structure that engages the groove to form a ball-and-socket connection (figs. 1 and 6 and ¶ 0040, a surface preparing apparatus 10 comprises a handle 20 and a head portion 30 wherein the handle and the head portion are coupled by a joint 40. The joint 40 comprises a bracket 142, which comprises two symmetrical arms, and a ball portion 150 [equivalent to the recited clamp arm]. A middle portion of the ball portion is provided with a spherical indent 154 [corresponds to the recited groove], and an end of the bracket [corresponds to the recited connecting end] is provided with a protrusion 146 [corresponds to the recited spherical convex structure]. The protrusion 146 engages the indent 154 respectively similar to a ball-and-socket connection. Stephens does not disclose a clamping jaw, but it teaches the rotatable joint between two components. The clamp arm and the clamp jaw of Strauss are not coupled by the groove and the convex structure, but by combining with Stephens, the coupling mechanism of Strauss can be replaced with the groove and the convex structure coupling mechanism of Stephens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamp of Strauss to provide the groove and the convex structure as taught by Stephens in order to provide the pivoting joint a useful degree of freedom of movement (Stephens ¶ 0032).
Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the clamp jaw is capable of freely rotating in multiple planes about the ball-and- socket connection without being constrained to rotation about a single fixed axis (Stephens ¶ 0032 and 0040, the joint 40 allows rotation in multiple planes around a matching point of the indent 154 and the protrusion 146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamp of Strauss as modified by Stephens to provide the movable clamp jaw to rotate freely as taught by Stephens so that the head portion/pad can contact a surface of an object in any direction or angle for effective apparatus operation.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strauss in view of Stephens, as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Shute et al. (US 2015/0246431, hereinafter Shute).
Regarding claim 17, Strauss as modified by Stephens teaches the ratchet woodworking clamp with two universal adaptive clamp jaws as in the rejection of claim 7, but does not disclose the clamp jaw pad comprises an elastomeric material.
Strauss teaches a soft pad 117 is disposed on the jaw (col. 4:34-35), but does not disclose material of the pad.
Shute teaches, in an analogous clamp apparatus field of endeavor, the clamp jaw pad comprises an elastomeric material (¶ 0060, a clamp comprises a movable jaw assembly and a fixed jaw assembly; ¶ 0083, jaw faces may be covered in elastomeric pads).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamp of Strauss as modified by Stephens to provide the jaw pad comprising elastomeric material as taught by Shute. The pads made of the elastomeric material helps applying clamping force to an article (Shute ¶ 0002). The soft pad protects a surface of a workpiece being clamped between the jaws (Strauss col. 4:34-36).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Stephens.
Applicant argues Strauss does not disclose new claim limitations. The new claim limitations include practically amended claim limitations compared with the claims submitted on 10/28/2025. Examiner acknowledges Strauss does not disclose each of two symmetrical arms of the movable clamp jaw has a spherical or semi-spherical convex structure at an inward-facing surface of the arm wherein the each inward-facing surface faces each other, and the spherical or semi-spherical convex structure engages a semi-spherical or spherical groove in an arc-shaped notch of a clamp arm. The movable clamp jaw of Strauss is coupled with the clam arm by a joint comprising a pin and a through hole.
Stephens teaches an apparatus for preparing a surface comprising a handle and a head portion coupled by a joint 40 wherein the joint comprises a bracket 142 having two symmetrical arms. Each end of the arms includes a spherical convex structure (protrusion 146), and the spherical convex structure engages a spherical groove (indent 154) so that the joint allows the head portion to rotate in multiple planes (Stephens ¶ 0032, 0040). The joint of Strauss can be modified by the joint of Stephens to teach the recited coupling of the clamp jaw with the clamp arm. Although Stephens does not disclose the clamp apparatus, it teaches how the clamp jaw and the clamp arm can be coupled by the protrusion and the indent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tillinghast, III (US 2016/0199986) discloses a tool handle assembly comprising arm portions and jaws wherein the arm portions are coupled to a casing by a ball swivel.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723