Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 12, 14, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US20140261749A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an electronically controllable mixing valve cartridge (Figure 2: 202, 203, 132, 205 and Figure 1: 105 taken together), the valve cartridge comprising:
at least two fluid inlets and at least one fluid outlet (Figure 2: inlets 215 and 216, outlet 217);
at least one temperature sensor (Figure 3B: 133);
at least one movable valve member (Figure 3B: 331, also Figure 4B, 400 ¶99) and
at least one actuator configured to move each said movable valve member (figure 3B: 231, “The motor (231) in the temperature control valve gear assembly (203) turns a gear actuator (232) that connects with the top portion of the temperature valve cartridge stem (331). As one or more signals are received from the logical processor (105), the motor turns the temperature control valve stem (331) and rotates it to adjust the size of the cold/hot water control cartridge module opening (313). In another embodiment, an alternative mechanical control device is used instead of the illustrated motor.”); and
an electronic control system (Figure 1: 105, (¶122, “Some embodiments include a programmed logic processor with a circuit board…”) configured for receiving inputs from an input device and adapted to receive inputs from each said temperature sensor and to control the operation of each said actuator (¶83, “The logic processor circuit board (105) can be powered (122) by an electrical power supply package (104) and can communicate with control valve assembly (106) to control the input cold water supply (111) and hot water supply (112) and output the adjusted mixed water (115) at the desired water temperature to the faucet spout. In some embodiments, sensors may communicate individually with the logic processor circuit board (105) without a sensor assembly.”, further see ¶85), wherein
the valve cartridge has a single substantially flat mating face that includes the at least two fluid inlets and the at least one fluid outlet (Figure 9C: 217, 224, 225 are shown in cross section as even on a flat face), and wherein
the valve cartridge is configured such that a mechanical fastening system is used to hold the mating face of the valve cartridge securely to a complimentary fixable valve fitting to form a leak resistant seal between the mating face and the fixable valve fitting (Figure 3B: such a connection is made with any of 361, 371, and/or 381), wherein
the complimentary fixable valve fitting is a fitting that is connectable to the pipework of a plumbing installation and that has complimentary fluid outlets and a fluid inlet or fluid inlets (Figure 3B: 112, 111, and/or 115).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
each said actuator includes an electric motor (Figure 3B: 231).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, wherein
a direction of flow of a fluid through the fluid inlets and through each said fluid outlet is a direction of flow that is substantially aligned with a rotational axis of each said electric motor (see Figure 3B: the longitudinal axes of the inlets, outlet, and motor are substantially parallel).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
the mating face of the valve cartridge is configured for establishing a sealed connection between each said fluid inlet and each said fluid outlet of the valve cartridge and the fixable valve fitting (Figure 3B: connections between 111, 112, 115 and the face are sealed, i.e. water tight).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
the valve cartridge includes a mixing chamber that is configured to mix two or more fluid flows and which is situated downstream of each said movable valve member and upstream of the at least one temperature sensor (Figure 3B, 312 harbors a mixing chamber and is upstream of the end of 331 where cold/hot water enter and is upstream of 133).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
the valve cartridge also includes a flow sensing means (“ The faucet includes a plurality of sensors including: a main faucet control sensor, a primary and secondary temperature control sensor, and a primary and secondary water flow control sensors.” – The water flow control sensors can be considered flow sensing means of the valve cartridge).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches an electronically controllable mixing valve assembly including an electronically controllable mixing valve cartridge as claimed in claim 1 (Figure 3B) and a fixable valve fitting (Figure 3B, 115 with 111-112), the electronically controllable mixing valve cartridge being connectable to the fixable valve fitting using the mechanical fastening system (Figure 3B: see threaded connection with 115 and 202), and the fixable valve fitting being connectable to a plumbing system of a building and configured to direct fluid to the at least two fluid inlets of the valve cartridge and to receive fluid from the at least one fluid outlet of the valve cartridge (Figure 3B: 361, 371, 381), and being configured to allow leak resistant seals to be established between the mating face of the electronically controllable mixing valve cartridge and a complimentary mating face of the fixable valve fitting (Figure 3B: connection between cartridge and 115, 111, and 112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20140261749A1) in view of Peel (WO2006077396A1).
Regarding claim 4 and 15-16 Chen teaches all of the limitations of claims 1-3, but does not teach wherein each said actuator includes a linear actuator.
Peel teaches wherein each said actuator includes a linear actuator which provides accurate temperature control (“By employing a linear piezo motor to control the mixing valve, the ratio of hot and cold water can be adjusted to provide accurate control of the outlet water temperature.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a linear actuator for each said actuator in Chen in order to ensure accurate temperature control.
Regarding claims 5 and 17-18, Chen as modified teaches all of the limitations of claims 4 and 15-16, wherein
a direction of flow of a fluid through the fluid inlets and through each said fluid outlet is a direction of flow that is substantially aligned with a direction of movement of each said movable valve member (see Figure 3B, 331 and Figure 9C. When 331 is inserted into 900, the direction it travels upon insertion and fastening is aligned with the up/down direction of inlet/outlet flow shown in Figure 9C).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20140261749A1) in view of Phillips (US20030088338A1).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 8, but does not teach wherein the valve cartridge includes transfer passages through which fluid flows as the fluid approaches the mixing chamber, and the transfer passages are configured to create a swirling motion within the mixing chamber.
Phillips teaches wherein the valve cartridge includes transfer passages through which fluid flows as the fluid approaches the mixing chamber, and the transfer passages are configured to create a swirling motion within the mixing chamber (Figure 4B: 45, 46, and 51) in order to create a uniform temperature (¶80, “Once the hot and cold water reach the area of convergence 47 formed by shoulders 51 located beneath and adjacent mixed fluid input passageway 48, the cold and hot water are rotationally mixed as described above while continued water flow forces the rotationally mixed water into the mixed fluid input passageway 48. When the mixed water is discharged from mixed fluid input passageway 48, mixed water having a substantially uniform temperature is achieved.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cartridge of Chen such that the valve cartridge includes transfer passages through which fluid flows as the fluid approaches the mixing chamber, and the transfer passages are configured to create a swirling motion within the mixing chamber in order to ensure uniform temperature.
Regarding claim 10, Chen as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 9, but does not teach wherein the mixing chamber is substantially cylindrical in shape and the transfer passages are each configured to direct the fluid in a direction that is substantially tangential to a circle defining a perimeter of the cylindrical mixing chamber.
Phillips teaches wherein the mixing chamber is substantially cylindrical in shape and the transfer passages are each configured to direct the fluid in a direction that is substantially tangential to a circle defining a perimeter of the cylindrical mixing chamber (Figure 4B: 51 creates a cylindrical mixing chamber and the edges/faces of 45/46 are tangent to at least a portion of radius 51) in order to create a uniform temperature (¶80, “Once the hot and cold water reach the area of convergence 47 formed by shoulders 51 located beneath and adjacent mixed fluid input passageway 48, the cold and hot water are rotationally mixed as described above while continued water flow forces the rotationally mixed water into the mixed fluid input passageway 48. When the mixed water is discharged from mixed fluid input passageway 48, mixed water having a substantially uniform temperature is achieved.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mixing chamber and transfer passages of Chen as modified such that the mixing chamber is substantially cylindrical in shape and the transfer passages are each configured to direct the fluid in a direction that is substantially tangential to a circle defining a perimeter of the cylindrical mixing chamber in order to create a uniform temperature.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, the requirement that the cross-sectional area reduce in a direction of flow towards the mixing chamber is not shown in either Chen or Phillips, which are the closest prior art to the invention of claim 11. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to make such a modification without some concrete teaching, suggestion, or motivation from the prior art directly as it is a non-trivial feature, i.e. it does not fall under the scope of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 13, there is nothing in the prior art which anticipates or renders obvious the rotatable element of the flow sensing means being coaxial with the shaft or probe. While rotatable flow sensing means are known, see Tsutsui (JPS6458879), there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to alter Chen to include the flow sensing means in the manner of claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant has argued that none of the documents either alone or in combination teaches or suggests a compact valve cartridge that can be installed in a very simple manner by simply mating a single face of the valve cartridge with a similar face on a complimentary valve fitting. This language is not claimed and therefore the argument is moot.
Applicant has argued that Figure 9B of Chen does not disclose the electronic controllable mixing valve cartridge having a single substantially flat mating surface. Figure 9C shows 217, 224, and 225 as even on a flat face.
Applicant has argued that Chen does not disclose claimed features of claim 1 but does not provide evidence to support the assertion. Chen discloses the features of claim 1 as cited and shown herein.
Applicant has argued that Chen does not disclose interfacing with a “permanently installed manifold/fitting of the plumbing system so that the complete valve assembly can be removed and replaced without disturbing the building plumbing or pipework of the plumbing installation”. This is not claimed and therefore the argument is moot. As shown herein, Chen does teach the claimed features of previous claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsutsui (JPS6458879) discloses an electronically controlled mixing valve.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCHYLER S SANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129