DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Comments
The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 recites a magnetic recording medium comprising a Brvertical to be of 1201-1830 G (1201.37 = -0.01(34863)+1550). However, claim 11, which depends upon claim 10, comprise of a broader range (minimum value is 1200 G). Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinbo et al. (US 2005/0048323) in view of Sato (US 2016/0293196).
Regarding claims 10-12, Zinbo discloses R/R device comprising a magnetic recording medium comprising a non-magnetic support [0074], a magnetic layer containing a ferromagnetic powder [0020], wherein Brδ is 5-200 mT·µm [0103]. Since Zinbo discloses δ (thickness) of 0.01-0.5µm [0103], Zinbo therefore discloses Br of 100-200,000 G. Further, Zinbo discloses a squareness is calculated in a vertical direction [0104]. Since squareness involves Br, one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that Br is measured in vertical direction as well.
Although Zinbo discloses a R/R device, Zinbo fails to explicitly disclose a reproduction bit size is 14941-34863 nm2 or less as claimed.
Sato discloses a magnetic recording medium comprising a linear recording density of 540 kbpi and a reproduction element width of 0.50 µm [0214]. This thereby has a reproduction bit size of 23,518 nm2 (= (25,400,000 nm/540,000) x 500 nm). Thereby, X=1785.18
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zinbo’s device to have a reproduction bit size as claimed, since Sato discloses that this is a typical or known reproduction bit size for a better electromagnetic conversion characteristics and low bit error rates [0222-0223].
In light of Zinbo’s Br of 100-200,000 G and Zinbo in view of Sato’s reproduction bit size of 23,518 nm2 (wherein X=1785.18 G), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges, to satisfy the claim X, disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 14, Zinbo discloses hexagonal barium ferrite powder [0020].
Regarding claim 15, Zinbo disclose magnetic tape [0118].
Regarding claim 16, Zinbo discloses a non-magnetic layer as claimed [0037-0039].
Regarding claim 17, Zinbo discloses a back coating layer as claimed (claim 14).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinbo et al. (US 2005/0048323) in view of Sato (US 2016/0293196) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Ozawa et al. (US 2018/0286446).
Zinbo discloses the claimed invention except that it uses hexagonal barium ferrite powder instead of hexagonal strontium ferrite powder. Ozawa shows that hexagonal strontium ferrite powder is an equivalent structure known in the art [0084]. Therefore, because these two materials were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute hexagonal barium ferrite powder for hexagonal strontium ferrite powder in the invention of Zinbo. Substitution of equivalents requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the equivalency. In re Fount 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Grover Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Zinbo in view of Ozawa has been withdrawn based upon the narrowed claimed range of the reproduction bit size.
Claim 10 recites a magnetic recording and reproducing device comprising a reproduction bit size of 14941-34863 nm2 and a magnetic recording medium comprising a Brvertical of 1201-1830 G (1201.37 = -0.01(34863)+1550).
Applicant argues that the effect demonstrated in Table 3 is one that would not have been expected by those skilled in the art. Thereby, applicant argues that Zinbo in view of Sato would not have been obvious in the invention of claim 10. This has been found unpersuasive.
Applicant stated that “even if the relationship in claim 10 is not satisfied, a reproduction output of 1.0 dB (equivalent to the threshold described in paragraph [0101] of the specification as filed) is obtained” with regards to medium 3 having a Brvertical of 900 G. Applicant further goes on to state that, “when the relationship specified in claim 10 is satisfied, a reproduction output of 1.0 dB or higher (i.e., excellent electromagnetic conversion characteristics) is obtained. Because an output of 1.0 dB can be satisfied with and without the claimed relationship, there appears to be no criticality associated with the reproduction bit size in combination of Brvertical. Although applicant appears to argue an unexpected result of improve electromagnetic conversion characteristics, the issues with the data as highlighted above illustrate that such unexpected results have not been persuasively demonstrated.
Therefore, the invention of claim 10 would have been obvious from Zinbo in view of Sato.
Conclusion
Linda Chau
/L.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785