DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 07/29/2025 regarding claims 1-13 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 3 and 6 have been canceled; claims 2 and 10 have been amended; claim 13 has been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 9-12 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al. (US 2020/0276850 A1) in view of Teranishi et al. (US 2024/0150604 A1) and evidenced by Shimura (US 2022/0315787 A1).
In the Specification, applicants disclose a second processing fluid containing a resin with an oxazoline group. This oxazoline group is allowed to react with a carboxyl group in an organic acid salt in a first processing fluid, forming a cross-linking structure (paragraphs [0094]-[0097]). Specific examples of the products of the resin include commercially available EPOCROS® K-2000 series, EPOCROS® WS series, EPOCROS® RPS series and EPOCROS® RAS series (paragraph [0099]).
In the publication of Urano, the reference teaches a second pretreatment liquid contains a binder resin having a crosslinking component (paragraphs [0130-0132]). As with a first pretreatment liquid, an example of such crosslinking component includes an oxazoline group-containing compounds (paragraphs [0085-0087]). When considering as a whole, the Urano reference teaches the crosslinking component allows the binder resin to crosslink with organic acid in the first pretreatment liquid to form a crosslinked structured that is adhered to the medium by the binder resin (paragraphs [0032]-[0035]).
The applicants state that “however, after crosslinking of the resin, each of the oxazoline groups would react with the resin, such that the combination of resin and crosslinking compound would have no active oxazoline groups” and “the act of crosslinking would destroy the feature of the crosslinking compound as having an oxazoline group” (page 7). It appears that the applicants have interpreted Urano as using the crosslinking component to form the crosslinked binder resin, thereby, the crosslinking component becomes neutralized. The examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation. As stated in the above paragraph, when considering Urano as a whole, the crosslinking component is used to crosslink the biner resin with an organic acid.
Furthermore, Teranishi teaches an example of a crosslinking agent includes the commercially available EPOCROS K-2010E, which has a glass transition temperature below 0 degree C as evidenced by Shimura. As such, the combination of Urano, Teranishi and Shimura teaches a second processing fluid comprises a resin having an oxazoline group and a glass transition temperature Tg below 0-degree C.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim is wrongly labeled as “currently amended”.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is wrongly labeled as “currently amended”.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is wrongly labeled as “currently amended”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al. (US 2020/0276850 A1) in view of Teranishi et al. (US 2024/0150604 A1) and evidenced by Shimura (US 2022/0315787 A1).
Urano et al. teach the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 1, a set of liquid compositions (first pretreatment liquid; [0029]; second pretreatment liquid; [0092]; aqueous inkjet ink; [0138]) comprising:
a white ink (white pigment; [0140]);
a first processing fluid comprising an organic acid salt (first pretreatment liquid contains organic acid; [0033]-[0045]); and
a second processing fluid comprising a resin having an oxazoline group (examples of the crosslinking component include oxazoline group-containing compounds; [0087]; the same crosslinking components as those described above in relation to the first pretreatment liquid may be used as the crosslinking component; [0130-0132]),
wherein the first processing fluid is applied to fabric before the second processing fluid is applied thereto (applying one of a first pretreatment liquid and a second pretreatment liquid, the other of the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid; [0017]; examples of the substrate include fabrics; [0025]; first pretreatment liquid could be applied first and then the other second pretreatment liquid could then be applied), and
the second processing fluid is applied to the fabric before the white ink is applied thereto (applying one of a first pretreatment liquid and a second pretreatment liquid, the other of the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid, and an aqueous ink; [0017]; white pigment; [0140]; first pretreatment liquid could be applied first and then the other second pretreatment liquid could then be applied, and then white pigment aqueous ink).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the organic acid salt comprises at least one of calcium acetate or calcium lactate (calcium acetate; [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, wherein a proportion of the resin in an entire of the second processing fluid is from 3 to 10 percent by mass (crosslinking component more preferably from 1 to 3% by mass; [0134]).
Regarding claim 5, wherein a proportion of the organic acid salt in an entire of the first processing fluid is from 6 to 10 percent by mass (the amount of organic acid is more preferably 3% by mass or greater and 20% by mass or less; [0041]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the white ink comprises a resin having a carboxyl group (the anionic functional group include a carboxyl group; [0183]).
Regarding claim 9, an image forming method (recording method; [0207]) comprising:
applying a first processing fluid comprising an organic acid salt to fabric (examples of substrate include fabrics; [0025]; first pretreatment liquid contains organic acid; [0033]-[0045]; it is preferable that one of the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid, the other of the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid, and then the aqueous ink are applied in this order to a recording region of a substrate; [0207]);
applying a second processing fluid comprising a resin having an oxazoline group to a region of the fabric where the first processing fluid has been applied (examples of the crosslinking component include oxazoline group-containing compounds; [0087]; the same crosslinking components as those described above in relation to the first pretreatment liquid may be used as the crosslinking component; [0130-0132]; it is preferable that one of the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid, the other of the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid, and then the aqueous ink are applied in this order to a recording region of a substrate; [0207]; the second pretreatment liquid is supplied to the second recording head 12; [0259]; FIG. 1); and
applying a white ink to the region of the fabric where the second processing fluid has been applied (white pigment; [0140]; it is preferable that one of the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid, the other of the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid, and then the aqueous ink are applied in this order to a recording region of a substrate; [0207]).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the white ink, the first processing fluid, and the second processing fluid form a set (the first pretreatment liquid is supplied to the first recording head 11; the second pretreatment liquid is supplied to the second recording head 12; [0259]; the aqueous inks are supplied to the third recording head 13; FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 11, wherein applying the second processing fluid includes applying the second processing fluid to the region of the fabric where the first processing fluid has been applied before the first processing fluid dries (this ensures that the aqueous ink is applied before the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid dry on the substrate; [0233]), and
applying the white ink includes applying the white ink to the region of the fabric where the second processing fluid has been applied before the second processing fluid dries (this ensures that the aqueous ink is applied before the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid dry on the substrate; [0233]).
Regarding claim 12, an image forming apparatus (recording head unit 100; FIG. 1) comprising:
a device configured to apply a first processing fluid comprising an organic acid salt to fabric (examples of substrate include fabrics; [0025]; first pretreatment liquid contains organic acid; [0033]-[0045]; the first pretreatment liquid is supplied to the first recording head 11; [0259]; FIG. 1);
a device configured to apply a second processing fluid comprising a resin having an oxazoline group to a region of the fabric where the first processing fluid has been applied (examples of the crosslinking component include oxazoline group-containing compounds; [0087]; the same crosslinking components as those described above in relation to the first pretreatment liquid may be used as the crosslinking component; [0132]; the second pretreatment liquid is supplied to the second recording head 12; while the recording head unit 100 is moved in the outward path direction along the main scanning direction X, the first treatment liquid, the second pretreatment liquid and the aqueous inks can be applied to the substrate in this order; [0259]; FIG. 1; the head unit 100 is capable of applying the second pretreatment liquid to the same region as the first pretreatment liquid); and
a device configured to apply a white ink to the region of the fabric where the second processing fluid has been applied (white pigment; [0140]; the aqueous inks are supplied to the third recording head 13; [0259]; the head unit 100 is capable of applying the white ink to the same region as the first pretreatment liquid and the second pretreatment liquid).
Urano et al. do not teach the following claimed limitations:
Further regarding claim 1, the resin having the oxazoline group and a glass transition temperature Tg below 0 degrees C.
Further regarding claim 9, the resin having the oxazoline group and a glass transition temperature Tg below 0 degrees C.
Further regarding claim 12, the resin having the oxazoline group and a glass transition temperature Tg below 0 degrees C.
Teranishi et al. teach the following claimed limitations:
Further regarding claim 1, the oxazoline group is a commercially available EPOCROS K-2010E (examples of commercially available products of the oxazoline group-containing compound include EPOCROS K-2010E; [0107]-[0108]) for the purpose of storage stability, scratch resistance, solvent resistance and good adhesion.
Further regarding claim 9, the oxazoline group is a commercially available EPOCROS K-2010E (examples of commercially available products of the oxazoline group-containing compound include EPOCROS K-2010E; [0107]-[0108]) for the purpose of storage stability, scratch resistance, solvent resistance and good adhesion.
Further regarding claim 12, the oxazoline group is a commercially available EPOCROS K-2010E (examples of commercially available products of the oxazoline group-containing compound include EPOCROS K-2010E; [0107]-[0108]) for the purpose of storage stability, scratch resistance, solvent resistance and good adhesion.
Shimura discloses the following claimed limitations:
Further regarding claim 1, EPOCROS K-2010E has a glass transition temperature Tg below 0 degrees C (Epocros K-2010E has a glass transition temperature of –150° C; [0210]).
Further regarding claim 9, EPOCROS K-2010E has a glass transition temperature Tg below 0 degrees C (Epocros K-2010E has a glass transition temperature of –150° C; [0210]).
Further regarding claim 12, EPOCROS K-2010E has a glass transition temperature Tg below 0 degrees C (Epocros K-2010E has a glass transition temperature of –150° C; [0210]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the resin having the oxazoline group and a glass transition temperature Tg below 0 degrees C; as taught by Teranishi et al. and evidenced by Shimura, into Urano et al. for the purpose of storage stability, scratch resistance, solvent resistance and good adhesion.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al. (US 2020/0276850 A1) as modified by Teranishi et al. (US 2024/0150604 A1) and evidenced by Shimura (US 2022/0315787 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobashi et al. (US 2019/0284419 A1).
Urano et al. as modified by Teranishi et al. and evidenced by Shimura do not teach the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 8, wherein dried matter of the white ink has a storage elastic modulus G’ of 7.0 x 10° Pa or less in dynamic viscoelasticity measuring at 25 degrees C.
Kobashi et al. teach the following claimed limitations:
Further regarding claim 8, wherein dried matter of the white ink has a storage elastic modulus G’ of 7.0 x 10° Pa or less in dynamic viscoelasticity measuring at 25 degrees C (storage modulus G’ of 7.0×108 Pa or lower; [0024]) for the purpose of having high flexibility and excellent fastness property.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate dried matter of the white ink has a storage elastic modulus G’ of 7.0 x 10° Pa or less in dynamic viscoelasticity measuring at 25 degrees C, as taught by Kobashi et al., into Urano et al. as modified by Teranishi et al. and evidenced by Shimura for the purpose of having high flexibility and excellent fastness property.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al. (US 2020/0276850 A1) as modified by Teranishi et al. (US 2024/0150604 A1) and evidenced by Shimura (US 2022/0315787 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moriyama et al. (US 2019/0390078 A1).
Urano et al. as modified by Teranishi et al. and evidenced by Shimura do not teach the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 13, wherein said resin has a weight average molecular weight of 10,000 to 200,000.
Moriyama et al. teach the following claimed limitations:
Further regarding claim 13, wherein said resin has a weight average molecular weight of 10,000 to 200,000 (the weight average molecular weight of the oxazoline group-containing resin is in the range of 20,000 to 120,000, and more preferably in the range of 20,000 to 80,000; [0136]-[0139]) for the purpose of being not easily dissolved in a solvent.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein said resin has a weight average molecular weight of 10,000 to 200,000, as taught by Moriyama et al., into Urano et al. as modified by Teranishi et al. and evidenced by Shimura for the purpose of being not easily dissolved in a solvent.
Conclusion
23 August 2025
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853