This is the first office action on the merits and is responsive to the papers filed 03/21/2023. Claims 1-19 are currently pending and examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted by Applicant are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilias et al. (DE 102018109884 A1, “Kilias”)1 in view of Hirotani et al. (US 20230171855 A1, “Hirotani”).
Regarding claim 1, Kilias teaches a sensor assembly of a motor vehicle (Figs. 1-3, para 1, 39-24), the sensor assembly comprising:
at least one sensor element emitting and/or detecting electromagnetic radiation in at least one measuring direction to determine a measuring signal (Para 1, 41-42; sensor element 20 emitting the laser light in a measuring direction X, the laser light passing through the cover element and being used to monitor the vehicle environment.),
a cover element (Figs. 2-3, cover 18) disposed in front of the sensor element in the at least one measuring direction and being an injection-molded plastic part which has at least one layer and is transparent to the electromagnetic radiation (Para 2, 42-44, claim 1, disclose a cover element positioned in front of the sensor element, formed as an injection-molded plastic part (polycarbonate core) through which the emitted radiation passes (permeable/transparent). See also, para 5), and
a heating feature (Fig. 3, Para 44. See also, claim 1 “a heating means comprising conductor tracks”) comprising a plurality of conductor paths applied to a backing film (Fig. 3, film 26) molded to the cover element, the backing film including the conductor paths thus forming an insert of the injection-molded cover element (Para 44, 47-48, claim 1. Kilias discloses a film arrangement 26 including film 32 with conductor tracks 34 forming a heating means, wherein film cuts 54 are inserted into injection mold cavity 56 and over molded with plastic material to form cover element 18, thereby forming an insert in the injection-molded cover element. See also, claim 11),
the conductor paths being at least partially located on the side of the backing film facing the sensor element (Kilias (Para 43) teaches the film arrangement is on the inner side of the cover element that faces the sensor element (i.e., film is in the sensor-facing region of the cover). Kilias (Para 44) further teaches the conductor tracks are on the side of the film facing away from the sensor element (toward the core),
Kilias faill to explicitly teach wherein the conductor paths are connected to each other in an electrically conductive manner by at least two bus bars and the at least two bus bars each at least partially form an electrical connecting element protruding from the cover element and being exposed so that electrical contact can be made with the electrical connecting elements.
Kilias discloses that the conductor tracks provided on the film insert include contact points for being electrically connected to an electrical system of a vehicle, thereby forming electrical connection elements associated with the conductor tracks of the heating means (Para 28, 46). These contact points necessarily provide an accessible electrical interface for connection to the vehicle electrical system after the cover element is molded, thereby forming electrical connecting elements associated with the heating conductors.
However, Kilias does not explicitly disclose bus bars insert molded with plastic material forming exposed connecting elements.
Hirotani teaches a heater sheet attached to a vehicle-mounted sensor cover, wherein the heater sheet includes a sheet substrate and a pair of bus bars attached to the sheet substrate, and a plurality of heat generating strips extending between and electrically connected to the pair of bus bars (Para 19, 21-23; Fig. 2, bus bars 9 and 10). Since the heat generating strips correspond to conductor paths and the bus bars electrically connect the heat generating strips and provide electrical supply thereto, Hirotani teaches conductor paths electrically connected by at least two bus bars forming electrical connection elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the busbar configuration of Hirotani into the film insert heating structure of Kilias in order to provide reliable electrical supply and uniform current distribution to the conductor paths, since Hirotani expressly teaches bus bars connecting heating conductors and enabling energization of the heater sheet for melting ice and snow and maintaining proper sensor operation (Hirotani, para 19, 22). Such modification represents a predictable use of known electrical interconnection techniques to improve the heating performance and electrical reliability of heated sensor covers. Furthermore, since Kilias expressly teaches providing contact points for electrical connection to the vehicle electrical system (Kilias, para 28, 46) and Hirotani teaches busbars that serve as electrical supply interfaces, it would have been obvious to configure at least a portion of the busbars to remain accessible (i.e., protruding or exposed relative to the molded plastic cover element) to facilitate electrical connection to the vehicle electrical system, which represents a predictable and conventional implementation of electrical terminals in insert-molded electrical heating structures.
Regarding claim 2, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein after the injection-molding process, the backing film, together with the conductor paths, has been molded to the cover element in such a manner that the electrical connecting elements, which are at least partially formed by the at least two bus bars, are formed in an end portion of respective leg areas of the cover element and at least part of the leg areas forms a mechanical contact.
Kilias teaches introducing the film with conductor tracks into the mold cavity and overmolding the film insert with plastic material to form the cover element, followed by demolding the cover element with the film molded thereto (Para 16, 47-48). Kilias further teaches that the conductor tracks include contact points for electrical connection to the vehicle electrical system (Para 28, 46), thereby forming electrical connection elements associated with the molded cover element.
Hirotani teaches bus bars attached to the sheet substrate and electrically connected to heating conductors (Para 21-23).
It would have been obvious to implement the accessible electrical connection portions at an end/edge portion of the molded cover element (a “leg area”/mounting portion) and to have that portion provide mechanical contact/mounting, because molded cover elements for vehicle sensors typically incorporate edge/flange/leg geometry for mounting/sealing while also providing a convenient region for routing and exposing electrical contacts (consistent with Kilias’s “contact points” and Hirotani’s busbar-based supply).
Regarding claim 3, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 2, wherein the two leg areas of the cover element protrude from the latter against the measuring direction.
Kilias teaches that the cover element forms part of the housing of the sensor arrangement and is integrated into the vehicle roof or body structure (Fig. 1, para 14-15, 42-43). Such cover elements necessarily include structural portions extending from the main optical portion to permit mounting and positioning relative to the sensor and vehicle structure.
It would have been obvious for mounting portions (legs/flanges) of the cover element to protrude opposite the measuring direction to support attachment to the housing/roof module while maintaining an unobstructed optical path in the measuring direction.
Regarding claim 4, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 2, wherein the bus bars are at least partially disposed in the respective leg areas of the cover element and are overmolded with the injection-molding plastic and the electrical connecting elements formed at the end portions are exposed.
Kilias teaches overmolding an insert (film with conductor tracks and electrical contact points) with plastic material to form the cover element (Para 27, 47). Hirotani teaches bus bars attached to the heater sheet substrate and electrically connecting heating conductors (Para 21-23)
It would have been obvious to place busbars in a mounting/edge region and to over mold them while leaving terminal portions exposed for electrical connection, because this is a predictable insert-molding practice to integrate conductors while maintaining accessible connection points (consistent with Kilias’s contact points and Hirotani’s bus bars connection).
Regarding claim 5, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the cover element comprises an outer side, which faces the vehicle environment, and an inner side, which faces the sensor element, and the backing film is disposed on the outer side.
Kilias teaches a backing film insert molded into a sensor cover element (Para 47-49).
Hirotani teaches that the heater sheet substrate is attached to a surface of the vehicle-mounted sensor cover on the front side of the vehicle, which faces the external environment (Para 15, 19; Figs. 1-2, heater sheet 6 and sensor cover 1). Since the heater sheet substrate corresponds to the claimed backing film and is attached to the outer surface of the sensor cover, Hirotani teaches disposing the backing film on the outer side of the cover element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose the film insert of Kilias on the outer side of the cover element as taught by Hirotani because positioning the heating film on the outer surface allows heat to be applied directly to ice and snow accumulating on the exposed surface, thereby improving heating efficiency, reducing heat transfer losses through the cover material, and ensuring reliable electromagnetic transmission through the sensor cover under environmental exposure. Such placement represents a predictable design alternative for improving heating effectiveness.
Regarding claim 6, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the plastic of the cover element is made of at least one polycarbonate material (Killas, para 40 and claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the backing film comprises at least one polycarbonate material (Killas, para 11, 44 and claim 6).
Regarding claim 8, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the cover element is provided with a protective coating at its outer side (Killas, Fig. 3, para 12, 43 and claim 7).
Regarding claim 9, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 8, wherein the protective coating has a lower refractive index than the plastic material of the cover element (Killas, para 13, claim 8).
Regarding claim 10, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the cover element at least partially comprises a first plastic component, which is non-transparent to the human eye and transparent to the at least one sensor element and/or that the cover element at least partially comprises a second plastic component, which is transparent to the human eye and the at least one sensor element.
Kilias teaches a cover element made of plastic material such as polycarbonate and configured to allow transmission of electromagnetic radiation emitted by the sensor element (Para 5, 10, 42-43). Thus, Kilias teaches a plastic component transparent to electromagnetic radiation used by the sensor.
Hirotani further teaches that the vehicle-mounted sensor cover is configured to render the sensor less visible from outside of the vehicle while allowing transmission of electromagnetic waves for sensor operation (Para 15). Hirotani further teaches that the sensor cover includes layered plastic structures including a decorating layer and a transparent layer allowing electromagnetic wave transmission (Para 16-19). Since the cover renders the sensor less visible to human observers while still allowing electromagnetic radiation transmission, Hirotani teaches a plastic component that is non-transparent or obscuring to the human eye while being transparent to electromagnetic radiation used by the sensor.
It would have been obvious to provide visually concealing plastic layers while permitting electromagnetic radiation transmission as taught by Hirotani because vehicle-mounted sensor covers must conceal internal sensors for aesthetic and vehicle design purposes while maintaining proper electromagnetic transmission necessary for sensor operation.
Regarding claim 11, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the backing film is at least partially in-mold laminated and/or overmolded with a first plastic component, which is non-transparent to the human eye and transparent to the at least one sensor element and/or that the backing film is at least partially in-mold laminated and/or overmolded with a second plastic component, which is transparent to the human eye and to the at least one sensor element.
Kilias teaches introducing a film into a mold cavity and overmolding the film with plastic material to form an insert of an injection-molded cover element (Para 27, 47-49), thereby teaching a backing film in-mold laminated and overmolded with plastic material. Hirotani teaches a vehicle-mounted sensor cover including layered plastic components such as decorating and transparent layers configured to render the sensor less visible from outside of the vehicle while allowing transmission of electromagnetic radiation (Para 15-19). Therefore, Kilias in view of Hirotani teaches or renders obvious a backing film overmolded with plastic components configured to allow electromagnetic transmission while providing visual concealment, as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the cover element is an outer skin element of a vehicle roof (Kilias, para 14 and claim 9).
Regarding claim 13, Kilias in view of Hirotani, teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the cover element is an outer skin element of a vehicle front end or a vehicle rear end (Kilias, para 15 and claim 10).
Regarding claim 14, Kilias teaches a roof module for forming a vehicle roof on a motor vehicle comprising a panel component at least partially forming a roof skin of the vehicle roof, the roof skin serving as an outer sealing surface of the roof module, and at least one sensor assembly according to claim 1.
Kilias teaches a sensor arrangement disposed in the roof area of a motor vehicle (Fig.1, para 2, 14). Kilias further teaches a cover element disposed in front of the sensor element and forming part of the outer skin of the motor vehicle (Para 42). Since the outer skin of the motor vehicle in the roof area constitutes the roof skin serving as an outer sealing surface, the cover element of Kilias corresponds to a panel component forming at least part of the roof skin of the vehicle roof. Kilias further teaches that the cover element is an injection-molded plastic structural component forming part of the vehicle exterior and enclosing a film insert comprising conductor tracks forming a heating device (Para 23-29, 39-43, 47-49). Thus, Kilias teaches a roof structure including a panel component forming a roof skin and including a sensor assembly. See also, the rejection of claim 1 for the sensor assembly.
Regarding claim 15, Kilias teaches a motor vehicle comprising a vehicle body and a roof module according to claim 14, the roof module being disposed on the vehicle body as a structural unit.
Kilias teaches a motor vehicle comprising a vehicle body and a sensor arrangement disposed in the roof area of the motor vehicle Fig.1, para 2, 14). Kilias further teaches that the cover element forms part of the outer skin of the motor vehicle and is structurally integrated into the vehicle exterior (Para 42). Since the outer skin forms part of the vehicle body, Kilias teaches structural integration of the sensor cover assembly into the vehicle body. Kilias further teaches that the cover element is an injection-molded plastic structural component integrated into the vehicle exterior (Para 39-43). See also, the rejection of claims 1 and 14.
Regarding claim 16, Kilias teaches a method for producing a cover element of a sensor assembly of a motor vehicle (Claim 11. See also, para 45-50), the method comprising the following steps:
providing a backing film having a first side and a second side (Para 16-17, claim 11);
applying, a plurality of conductor paths (and at least two bus bars) to the first side of the film (Para 24, 27, claim 11. Kilias teaches applying conductor tracks to a side of the film (screen printing, etc.).).
Kilias fails to explicitly applying at least two bus bars. to the first side of the film. However, Hirotani teaches applying bus bars to a sheet substrate (Para 21. See also, the rejection of claim 1.). Since Hirotani teaches bus bars (Fig. 2, bus bars 9 and 10) applied to a sheet substrate (which corresponds to the claimed backing film), Hirotani teaches applying at least two bus bars to the film.
It would have been obvious to apply bus bars to the film insert of Kilias as taught by Hirotani because bus bars provide reliable electrical supply and uniform current distribution to conductor paths, thereby improving heating performance and electrical reliability of the heating device.
Kilias, in view of Hirotani teaches introducing, the backing film with the conductor paths into a cavity of an injection mold in such a manner that the two bus bars protrude over the conductor paths (Kilias teaches introducing the film insert into the mold cavity (Para 27, The film insert is introduced into the mold cavity; Para 47, Film cut 54 is placed in the mold cavity; claim 11). Hirotani teaches bus bars serving as electrical connection elements supplying current to heating conductors (Para 22, The heat generating strips are energized through the pair of upper and lower bus bars. Since bus bars must be electrically accessible to provide electrical supply, they necessarily protrude relative to heating conductor structures to allow electrical connection.). It would have been obvious to configure the bus bars of Hirotani to remain accessible when integrated into the molded cover element of Kilias in order to allow electrical connection to a power source. Also, arranging busbars to protrude relative to conductor paths is a predictable layout choice to preserve access and maintain spacing/coverage during molding.);
filling the cavity of the injection mold with at least one plastic material in such a manner that the two bus bars each form an electrical connecting element which remains free from the plastic material (Kilias teaches injection molding plastic material into the mold cavity to form the cover element (Claim 11; Para 27, Plastic material is injected into the mold cavity so that the film insert is overmolded; Para 28, Contact points are provided for electrically contacting the conductor tracks.). Hirotani teaches bus bars forming electrical connection elements (Para 22, The heat generating strips are energized through the pair of bus bars.). It would have been obvious to leave portions of the bus bars exposed when overmolding the film insert of Kilias in order to allow electrical connection to a power source, as taught by Hirotani, since electrical supply to the heating conductors requires accessible electrical connection elements.);
hardening the plastic material in the cavity for forming the cover element having the backing film molded thereto; and demolding the cover element with the backing film molded thereto (Kilias teaches hardening and demolding the cover element with the film molded thereon (Claim 11; Para 47-48)).
Regarding claim 17, Kilias, in view of Hirotani teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 10, wherein the at least one sensor is at least one of a lidar sensor and a camera (Kilias, para 41).
Regarding claim 18, Kilias, in view of Hirotani teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 11, wherein the at least one sensor is at least one of a lidar sensor and a camera (Kilias, para 41).
Regarding claim 19, Kilias, in view of Hirotani teaches the method for producing a cover element of a sensor assembly of a motor vehicle of claim 16,wherein the step of the applying a plurality of conductor paths and at least two bus bars to the first side of the film is by screen printing; wherein the step of introducing the backing film is by inserting the backing film with the conductor paths into a cavity of an injection mold; and wherein the step of filling the cavity of the injection mold with at least one plastic material is by filing a first plastic component and/or a second plastic component.
Kilias teaches applying conductor tracks to a film insert using screen printing (Para 24). Kilias further teaches inserting the film insert into an injection mold cavity and injecting plastic material to form the cover element (Para 27, 47-49). Kilias also teaches forming the cover element from polycarbonate plastic material (Para 40, 43). Hirotani teaches applying bus bars to a sheet substrate to electrically connect heating conductors (Para 21). It would have been obvious to incorporate bus bars into the film insert of Kilias using the same screen-printing techniques in order to provide reliable electrical connection and improve heating performance and electrical reliability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lesmeister et al. (US 20140332518 A1), teaches heatable luminaire cover
Tooker et al. (US20210300159A1), teaches vehicular liftgate window assembly with electrical connection to heater grid through glass window panel
Meiler et al. (US 20060086710 A1), teaches Heating Element on The Polymer Inside Surface of a Motor Vehicle Front-end Module/bumper In an Operative Connection to A Radar Transmitter/receiver Unit
Deering et al. (US 20190306926 A1), teaches lens heating systems and methods for a led lighting system
/JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
1 Use Kilias et al. (US 20210239795 A1) for translation