Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 03/17/2026, claim 1 is pending. Claim 1 is amended. No claims are new. Claims 2-3 are presently cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The prior interpretation of the term “a temperature judgment section” under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) is no longer applicable due to the amendments. The prior interpretation of the term “a battery connection/disconnection section” under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) is maintained.
The prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Interpretation
The term “battery connection/disconnection section” of claim 1 is interpreted in accordance with the structural definition provided by the instant application’s specification ¶ [0017], which defines “Battery connection/disconnection section 3 is composed of the same number of contactors 6 as battery packs 2” and specification ¶ [0018], which defines this as part of the “battery control apparatus 10”, which is “an Electronic Control Unit (ECU)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 does not provide sufficient antecedent basis in the claim language for the following terms:
“each time” (line 23)
“the minimum number of battery packs required to run the vehicle” (lines 23-24)
“the state of the vehicle” (line 24)
“the battery pack with the highest temperature” (line 26)
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Kato (US 12,212,178 B2) in view of Makino et al. (US 2022/0089051 A1) and Sakakibara (JP 2009-302030 A; hereinafter “Saka”).
The following table compares the instant application and Kato’s claims. The patentably indistinct claim language is identified with bold text.
Instant Application 18/015,164
Kato (US 12,212,178 B2)
Claim 1
A battery control system for a vehicle in which a battery module including a plurality of battery packs is mounted
and the plurality of battery packs are connected in parallel to a load including a drive motor that propels the vehicle,
the battery control system comprising:
a battery connection/disconnection section interposed between the battery module and the load and capable of connecting and disconnecting each of the plurality of battery packs individually to and from the load;
a plurality of temperature sensors measuring a temperature of each of the plurality of battery packs;
and a hardware processor configured to:
judge whether or not a temperature of each of the plurality of battery packs is equal to or higher than a predetermined lowest threshold temperature based on sensor values of the plurality of temperature sensors,
control the battery connection/disconnection section such that a first predetermined number of battery packs are connected to the load when the temperature of at least one of the plurality of battery packs is equal to or higher than the lowest threshold temperature at a start of power supply from the battery module to the load,
control the battery connection/disconnection section such that a second predetermined number of battery packs are connected to the load when the temperatures of all of the plurality of battery packs are lower than the lowest threshold temperature at the start of power supply from the battery module to the load, the second predetermined number being less than the first predetermined number,
calculate and set the second predetermined number each time based on the minimum number of battery packs required to run the vehicle and the state of the vehicle,
and when connecting the second predetermined number of battery packs to the load, prioritizes connecting the battery pack with the highest temperature among the plurality of battery packs.
Claim 1
A battery control system for a vehicle in which a battery module including a plurality of battery packs is mounted
and the plurality of battery packs are connected in parallel to a load,
the battery control system comprising: a battery connection and disconnection section interposed between the battery module and the load and capable of connecting and disconnecting each of the plurality of battery packs individually to and from the load;
an upper limit current calculation section configured to, for each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs, individually calculate an upper limit current value of said each battery pack using a temperature sensed for said each battery pack individually and a voltage value of said each battery pack;
(sensors are inherent for the later limitation: “a temperature sensed for said each battery pack individually”)
(no equivalent claim language for remaining limitations)
Regarding Claim 1, though Kato claims a load, does not claim “a load including a drive motor that propels the vehicle”.
Kato further does not claim “a hardware processor configured to: judge whether or not a temperature of each of the plurality of battery packs is equal to or higher than a predetermined lowest threshold temperature based on sensor values of the plurality of temperature sensors, control the battery connection/disconnection section such that a first predetermined number of battery packs are connected to the load when the temperature of at least one of the plurality of battery packs is equal to or higher than the lowest threshold temperature at a start of power supply from the battery module to the load, control the battery connection/disconnection section such that a second predetermined number of battery packs are connected to the load when the temperatures of all of the plurality of battery packs are lower than the lowest threshold temperature at the start of power supply from the battery module to the load, the second predetermined number being less than the first predetermined number, calculate and set the second predetermined number each time based on the minimum number of battery packs required to run the vehicle and the state of the vehicle, and when connecting the second predetermined number of battery packs to the load, prioritizes connecting the battery pack with the highest temperature among the plurality of battery packs”.
Makino teaches (see detailed claim mapping included infra in prior art rejection) the plurality of battery packs are connected in parallel to a load including a drive motor that propels the vehicle and a hardware processor configured to: judge whether or not a temperature of each of the plurality of battery packs is equal to or higher than a predetermined lowest threshold temperature based on sensor values of the plurality of temperature sensors, control the battery connection/disconnection section such that a first predetermined number of battery packs are connected to the load when the temperature of at least one of the plurality of battery packs is equal to or higher than the lowest threshold temperature at a start of power supply from the battery module to the load, control the battery connection/disconnection section such that a second predetermined number of battery packs are connected to the load when the temperatures of all of the plurality of battery packs are lower than the lowest threshold temperature at the start of power supply from the battery module to the load, the second predetermined number being less than the first predetermined number, calculate and set the second predetermined number each time based on the minimum number of battery packs required to run the vehicle and the state of the vehicle.
Makino teaches the hardware processor and associated control of the battery packs to improve the vehicle’s power performance in low temperature environments (¶ [18])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery control system of Kato’s claim 1 to incorporate the hardware processor and associated control of the battery packs, as taught by Makino, to improve the vehicle’s power performance in low temperature environments.
Saka teaches (see detailed claim mapping included infra in prior art rejection) when connecting the second predetermined number of battery packs to the load, prioritizes connecting the battery pack with the highest temperature among the plurality of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery control system of Kato’s claim 1 to prioritize connecting the battery pack with the highest temperature, as taught by Saka, to improve the battery life by avoiding the deterioration of battery packs that occurs from discharging at low temperatures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino et al. (US 2022/0089051 A1) in view of Sakakibara (JP 2009-302030 A; hereinafter “Saka”).
Regarding Claim 1, Makino discloses a battery control system (combo of “battery pack 20” and “battery controller 60”; Figs. 1-4) for a vehicle (“vehicle 11”; Figs. 1, 3-4) in which a battery module (combo of “battery stacks A-C” within “battery pack 20”; Figs. 1-4) including a plurality of battery packs (“battery stacks A-C”, comprising strings of “battery cells 30a-30c”; Figs. 1-4) is mounted.
Makino further discloses the plurality of battery packs (A-C) are connected in parallel to a load (combo of “motor generator 13” and “various electrical devices 23”; Figs. 1-4) including a drive motor (“motor generator 13”, coupled to “drive system 16”; Figs. 1-4) that propels the vehicle (11).
Makino further discloses the battery control system (20, 60) comprising the following.
Makino further discloses a battery connection/disconnection section (“switch selector 50”, including “switches SWa-SWc”; Figs. 1-4) interposed between the battery module (20) and the load (13, 23) and capable of connecting and disconnecting each (“A-C” are individually connected via “SWa-SWc”) of the plurality of battery packs (A-C) individually to and from the load (13, 23).
Makino further discloses a plurality of temperature sensors (“battery sensors 51a-51c”; Figs. 1-4) measuring a temperature (¶ [23]: “51a to 51c serve to detect information about each of the battery stacks A to C, such as temperature”) of each of the plurality of battery packs (A-C).
Makino further discloses a hardware processor (¶ [93]: “at least one processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU)) … configured … to perform all or a part of functions of … the battery controller 60”) configured to do the following.
Makino further discloses (see annotated Fig. 6, included infra) to judge (Fig, 6, step S20: “temperature (Ta, Tb, Tc) ≤ Tx?”; ¶ [43]) whether or not a temperature of each of the plurality of battery packs (Ta, Tb, Tc) is equal to or higher than a predetermined lowest threshold temperature (“predetermined temperature threshold Tx”) based on sensor values (outputs of “51a-51c”) of the plurality of temperature sensors (51a-51c).
Makino further discloses to control the battery connection/disconnection section (50, SWa-SWc) such that a first predetermined number (all three of “A-C” connected in step S21) of battery packs (A-C) are connected to the load (via turning on all three of “SWa-SWc” in step S21) when the temperature of at least one (any of Ta, Tb, Tc) of the plurality of battery packs (A-C) is equal to or higher (when any one of “Ta-Tc” is higher than “Tx”, then follow “N” response to step S20) than the lowest threshold temperature (Tx) at a start of power supply (Fig. 6 is a “battery warm-up control” process, resulting in power being supplied to the load at either step S21 or S24) from the battery module (A-C) to the load (13, 23).
Makino further discloses to control the battery connection/disconnection section (50, SWa-SWc) such that a second predetermined number (one of “A-C” connected in step S24; but may allow a second one of “A-C” to be connected in S51 in order to meet the “target supply electric energy (TW)” in steps S48-S51 of Fig. 10) of battery packs (A-C) are connected to the load (via turning on only one of “SWa-SWc” in step S24 or an additional switch in step S51) when the temperatures of all (Ta, Tb, Tc) of the plurality of battery packs (A-C) are lower (“Y” response to step S20; Fig. 6) than the lowest threshold temperature (Tx) at the start of power supply (Fig. 6 is a “battery warm-up control” process, resulting in power being supplied to the load at either step S21 or S24) from the battery module (A-C) to the load (13, 23).
Makino further discloses the second predetermined number (one of “A-C” connected in S24, but may allow a second one of “A-C” to be connected in S51 in order to meet the “target supply electric energy (TW)” in steps S48-S51 of Fig. 10) being less than the first predetermined number (all three of “A-C” connected in S21).
Makino further discloses to calculate and set the second predetermined number (may be one or two, depending on result of steps S48-S51; Fig. 10) each time based on the minimum number of battery packs required (minimum number is iteratively determined based on the values of the available energy “Wp” and the required “TW”; Fig. 10; ¶ [62]; “Wp” is the sum of available energy from battery packs “A-C”; “TW” is the energy required to run the vehicle “over a predetermined period of time”) to run the vehicle (11) and the state (¶ [62]: “TW is calculated based on the operating condition of the motor generator 13, the electrical devices 23, or other devices”) of the vehicle (11).
Makino does not disclose “when connecting the second predetermined number of battery packs to the load, prioritizes connecting the battery pack with the highest temperature among the plurality of battery packs”.
Saka teaches when connecting the second predetermined number (¶ [86]: “output is permitted for at least one battery pack, and output is not permitted for other battery packs”; thus, the second predetermined number may be one) of battery packs (¶ [153]: “plurality of battery packs in parallel”; ¶ [243]: “Fig. 15 … showing three battery packs 100-2A, 100-2B and 100-2C are connected in parallel to each other”) to the load (load associated with the “load current of the electrical device”, as described in ¶ [238]), prioritizes connecting (¶ [86]: “output is permitted for at least one battery pack, and output is not permitted for other battery packs”; ¶ [83]: “if the battery pack is closer to a predetermined reference temperature than that represented by the second information, the battery pack is allowed to output to the electrical device”; ¶ [222, 237]: “the battery packs may be discharged preferentially … and the other two battery packs may be in a standby group”) the battery pack with the highest temperature (¶ [85]: “closer to a predetermined reference temperature” means having the highest temperature when the other battery packs are a “a low temperature that is far away from room temperature”; ¶ [86]: “reference temperature (for example, room temperature)”)among the plurality of battery packs (100-2A, -2B, -2C).
Saka further teaches to prioritize connecting the battery pack with the highest temperature to improve the battery life by avoiding the deterioration of battery packs that occurs from discharging at low temperatures (¶ [84]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the hardware processor’s operation of connecting the second predetermined number of battery packs to the load disclosed by Makino to prioritize connecting the battery pack with the highest temperature, as taught by Saka, to improve the battery life by avoiding the deterioration of battery packs that occurs from discharging at low temperatures.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859