DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the claim set filed 03/21/2023 and Response to Restriction filed 11/21/2025. Claims 1-12 are pending. Elected claims 1-6 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Non-elected claims 7-12 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 are rejected for the reasons below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 11/21/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Furukawa et al. (US2019/0276692 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2, attention is drawn to Table 2. The aqueous white ink 15 and 17 each comprises white pigment dispersion and 0.2% by mass of 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol which is a primary amine having a molecular weight of 119.16 g/mol. The white ink 15 and 17 comprise water dispersible urethane resin 2.7% and 3% by mass, respectively, therefore, the mass ratio of 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol to urethane resin are 0.074 and 0.067, respectively.
Regarding Claims 4-5, the hydroxy groups of 2-amino-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol relative to the molecular weight is 2/119.16=0.017, falling within the claimed 0.016.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatta et al. (JP2020169232 A, citing US11,285,732 B2 for English translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Hatta teaches that a white ink comprising a urethane resin and a coloring material (claim 1). The exemplary aqueous white ink comprising titanium oxide, urethane resin emulsion and 0.3 mass% of triethanolamine. The molecular weight of triethanolamine is 149.19 g/mol. Hatta further teaches the proportion of the urethane resin is preferably from 5 mass% to 20 mass% of the total content of the white ink (6: 49-54). Therefore, Hatta teaches the mass ratio of triethanolamine to the urethane resin being from 0.015 to 0.06, overlapping the claimed 0.02 to 0.08. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Hatta.
Regarding Claim 4, the number of hydroxy groups relative to the molecular weight of triethanolamine is 0.02.
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US20190352528 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamazaki teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising a pigment, a first water dispersible resin and a second water dispersible resin (claim 1) wherein a water-dispersible urethane resin is a preferred resin of the first water dispersible resin water (examples) and wherein the pigment can be a white pigment ([0052]). Yamazaki further teaches the ink comprising a basic substance (claim 4) wherein the basic substance is an amine compound ([0071]) and the content of the basic substance is preferably 0.2 mass% to 2 mass% of the total mass of ink ([0072]). Yamazaki furthermore teaches the total amount of the first water-dispersible resin and the second water-dispersible resin is from 2 to 18% by mass relative to the total mass of the ink, and the mass ratio of the second water-dispersible resin relative to the first water dispersible resin (second water-dispersible resin/first water dispersible resin) is from 0.1 to 5.0 (Claim 1). Therefore, the amount of the water-dispersible urethane resin relative the total mass of ink is from 2/(5+1) *mass% to 18/(1+0.1) * mass%. Consequently, the mass ratio of the basic substance to water-dispersible urethane resin is from 0.2/(18/1.1)=0.012 to 2/(2/6)=6. As Yamazaki exemplifies the basic substance is triethanolamine (examples) which has a molecular weight of is 149.19 g/mol, Yamazaki teaches the mass ratio of the amine compound with a molecular weight between 110 and 150 to water-dispersible urethane resin is from 0.012 to 6, encompassing the claimed 0.02 to 0.08. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamazaki teaches that the content of the basic substance is preferably 0.2 mass% to 2 mass% of the total mass of ink ([0072]), overlapping the claimed 1.1 to 1.3% by mass.
Regarding Claims 4 and 6, the number of hydroxy groups relative to the molecular weight of triethanolamine is 0.02.
Conclusion
/HUIHONG QIAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763