DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 May 2023, 28 March 2024, 12 August 2024, 19 February 2025 and 18 December 2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, the limitation “wherein, in the forming a discontinuous layer of one of a second magnetic layer and a conductive layer on the first magnetic layer, and forming the other in a discontinuous portion of the discontinuous layer,
a discontinuous layer of the second magnetic layer is formed on the first magnetic layer, and the conductive layer is formed in a discontinuous portion of the discontinuous layer of the second magnetic layer.” should read:
-- wherein, forming the portion of the discontinuous layer of one of the second magnetic layer and the conductive layer on the first magnetic layer, and forming the other discontinuous portions of the discontinuous layer comprising:
forming the conductive layers in the discontinuous portions of the discontinuous layer of the second magnetic layer. --
In claim 16, line 1: “A manufacturing method of an electronic component” should read:
-- The manufacturing method of an electronic component --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “forming a discontinuous layer of one of a second magnetic layer and a conductive layer on the first magnetic layer, and forming the other in a discontinuous portion of the discontinuous layer,” renders claim indefinite because it is unclear what the recited “forming the other” is. What does “forming the other” mean? Furter, from the recited limitation “forming a discontinuous layer”, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that a discontinuous layer comprises a plurality of portions. Would “forming a discontinuous layer” means forming a portion of a discontinuous layer? Furthermore, the limitation “one of a second magnetic layer” would be interpreted as one of the plurality of layers. As best understood, the limitation “forming a discontinuous layer of one of a second magnetic layer and a conductive layer on the first magnetic layer, and forming the other in a discontinuous portion of the discontinuous layer” has been examined as forming a portion of a discontinuous layer of a second magnetic layer and a conductive layer on the first magnetic layer, and forming the other discontinuous portions of the discontinuous layer, or the like.
Claims 2-16 depend on claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-16 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masayuki (JP 2007067427) in view of Otani (US 20220020524).
[AltContent: textbox (other discontinuous layer)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (discontinuous layer)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (conductive layer)][AltContent: textbox (third magnetic layer)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 1, Masayuki.
Regarding claim 1, Masayuki teaches, a manufacturing method of an inductor (Fig. 1, para. [0001]), comprising:
forming a discontinuous layer (step 4, see annotated Fig. 1) of one of a second magnetic layer (high magnetic permeability material portion 7, para. [0015], see Fig. 1 above) and a conductive layer (conduction portion 11, step 5, Fig. 1, conductive portion 11 made of, for example, conductive metal powder and a photosensitive organic binder is formed in the second space portion 9, para. [0016]) on the first magnetic layer, and forming the other in a discontinuous portion (see annotated Fig. 1) of the discontinuous layer,
wherein a thickness of the second magnetic layer is larger than a thickness of the conductive layer (see annotated Fig. 1, a conductive metal or the like is formed in the second space 9 until it reaches a predetermined thickness, para. [0035]), and
the manufacturing method further includes forming a third magnetic layer (low magnetic permeability material portion 13, step 6, Fig. 1) in a groove portion formed by a difference in thickness between the second magnetic layer and the conductive layer (see step 6, Fig. 1).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (first magnetic layer)]
Annotated Fig. 1B, Otani.
Masayuki does not teach forming a first magnetic layer. However, Otani teaches a manufacturing method of an inductor in Fig. 1B including, forming a discontinuous layer of one of a second magnetic layer (second magnetic layer 12) and a conductive layer (columnar layer 31, 32), and forming a first magnetic layer (first magnetic layer 11, Fig. 1B). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Otani, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify the manufacturing method of an inductor of Masayuki and to replace the support substrate 1 of Masayuki with a magnetic layer 11 as Otani taught in Fig. 1B so that it enables manufacturing an inductor comprising plurality of magnetic layers and insulating layers having different layer properties.
Regarding claim 2, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 1, wherein, in the forming a discontinuous layer of one of a second magnetic layer and a conductive layer on the first magnetic layer, and forming the other in a discontinuous portion of the discontinuous layer, a discontinuous layer of the second magnetic layer is formed on the first magnetic layer, and the conductive layer is formed in a discontinuous portion of the discontinuous layer of the second magnetic layer (see the conductor portion 11 between the discontinues portion 7 and the other discontinuous portion 7 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 1, wherein the discontinuous layer has a spiral pattern (high permeability material portion 7 is disposed around the conductor portion 21a and the spaced insulation portion 27a, and the portion acts as an insulator portion 25b, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 4, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 2, wherein the discontinuous layer has a spiral pattern (high permeability material portion 7 is disposed around the conductor portion 21a and the spaced insulation portion 27a, and the portion acts as an insulator portion 25b, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 1, wherein the forming of the second magnetic layer and the forming of the third magnetic layer are performed by applying a composition containing magnetic particles (a high magnetic permeability material portion 7, which is composed of a powder having electrical properties such as high magnetic permeability…a low magnetic permeability material portion 13 consisting of a powder having low magnetic permeability as an electrical property, para. [0033-0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 2, wherein the forming of the second magnetic layer and the forming of the third magnetic layer are performed by applying a composition containing magnetic particles (a high magnetic permeability material portion 7, which is composed of a powder having electrical properties such as high magnetic permeability…a low magnetic permeability material portion 13 consisting of a powder having low magnetic permeability as an electrical property, para. [0033-0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 3. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 3, wherein the forming of the second magnetic layer and the forming of the third magnetic layer are performed by applying a composition containing magnetic particles (a high magnetic permeability material portion 7, which is composed of a powder having electrical properties such as high magnetic permeability…a low magnetic permeability material portion 13 consisting of a powder having low magnetic permeability as an electrical property, para. [0033-0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 4. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 4, wherein the forming of the second magnetic layer and the forming of the third magnetic layer are performed by applying a composition containing magnetic particles (a high magnetic permeability material portion 7, which is composed of a powder having electrical properties such as high magnetic permeability…a low magnetic permeability material portion 13 consisting of a powder having low magnetic permeability as an electrical property, para. [0033-0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 5. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 5, wherein the applying of the composition containing magnetic particles is performed by applying the composition containing magnetic particles with a dispenser (metal paste consisting of a metal powder and an organic binder is printed in a predetermined pattern, para. [0004]). Masayuki teaches in para. [0004] that, disposing metal particles and organic binder by screen printing. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Masayuki, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify the manufacturing method of an inductor of Masayuki and to dispose the magnetic particles and the binder by screen printing as Masayuki taught in para. [0004] so that it enables manufacturing an inductor comprising plurality of magnetic layers by repeating the printing steps that forms a laminated structure.
Regarding claim 10, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 5. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 5, wherein the composition containing magnetic particles is a magnetic resin composition containing the magnetic particles and a resin (high magnetic permeability material portion 7, …organic binder, para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 5. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 5, wherein the magnetic particles are metal particles (high permeability material portion 7 composed of a powder having electrical characteristics, para. [0033-0034], in which it is obvious that the magnetic particles are metal particles such as Ni, see para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 12, Otani further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 11, wherein the metal particles include Ni and Fe (magnetic metal particles 136… such as Ni-Fe, para. [0029]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Otani, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify the manufacturing method of an inductor of Masayuki and to include Ni and Fe metal particles as Otani taught in para. [0029] so that it enables manufacturing an inductor comprising plurality of magnetic layers having a desired magnetic permeability.
Regarding claim 14, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 5. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 1, wherein the forming of the conductive layer is performed by applying a conductive composition (a conductive portion 11 made of,…a conductive metal or the like, para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 15, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 5. Masayuki further teaches, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 14, wherein the applying of the conductive composition is performed by applying the conductive composition with a dispenser (metal paste consisting of a metal powder and an organic binder is printed in a predetermined pattern, para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Masayuki in view of Otani teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Masayuki further teaches, a manufacturing method of an electronic component including an inductor, the manufacturing method comprising: producing an inductor (multilayer inductor, para. [0001]) by the manufacturing method according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masayuki in view of Otani as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Homma (TW 202012075).
Regarding claim 13, modified Masayuki does not teach, metal particles include Mo. However, Homma teaches a manufacturing method of an inductor including a magnetic layer, in which, the manufacturing method of an inductor according to claim 12, wherein the metal particles further include Mo (magnetic paste contains magnetic powder as component…Fe-Ni-Mo, Page 7). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Homma, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify the manufacturing method of an inductor of Masayuki and to include Mo metal particles as Homma taught in Page 7 so that it enables forming a magnetic composition having a desired viscosity and magnetic permeability while manufacturing the inductor.
Conclusion
Prior art Saki (US 20210035724) teaches a manufacturing method of an inductor including forming a first magnetic layer, forming a discontinuous layer of a second magnetic layer and a conductive layer on the first magnetic layer, wherein a thickness of the second magnetic layer is larger than a thickness of the conductive layer.
Prior art Yan (US 20200105453) teaches a manufacturing method of an inductor including forming a first magnetic layer, forming a second magnetic layer on the first magnetic layer.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729