DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 10/17/2025 have been considered and entered. Claims 1, 3-5 and 7 have been amended, claim 6 has been canceled, and claims 15-21 have been newly added. Claims 1-5 and 7-21 are pending in the present application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 21 are allowed.
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over French et al. (US 2020/0292017 A1) in view of Watts (US 2,407,197) or Ren (CN 109058328 B).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, French et al. discloses a wheel and brake assembly (figs. 1A-4) comprising:
a stator (34);
a rotating assembly (114) mounted around and rotatable relative to the stator about an axis A;
a torque tube (122) in fixed engagement with the stator;
a stack of brake disks (32) mounted about the torque tube, the stack of brake disks comprising alternate rotor disks and stator disks, the stator disks attached to the torque tube and the rotor disks attached to the rotating assembly;
a brake actuator (130) configured to, in response to a brake command, apply a pressing force on the stack of brake disks to cause frictional engagement between the rotor disks and the stator disks such that the stator disks limit rotation of the rotor disks and, hence the rotating assembly, relative to the torque tube;
wherein the stator disks (34) are attached to the torque tube (122) by means of a plurality of splines (156) around the torque tube and a plurality of recesses in the stator disks in which the splines engage;
wherein the rotor disks (32) are attached to the rotating assembly by means of a plurality of torque bars (124, 222, 300) extending radially inwards from the rotating assembly and a plurality of recesses in the rotor disks with which the torque bars engage.
French et al. discloses at least one or more of the plurality of torque bars or one or more of the plurality of splines has a second cavity (notes abstract, [0003]-[0007] and 328 in fig. 3B) formed therein and wherein various options of materials is provided in the cavity but fails to disclose any of the materials to be liquid sodium as recited in the claim. Each of Watts and Ren discloses a brake assembly comprising a brake member having cavity provided with sodium (note col. 1, lines 14-16 of Watts and claim 3 of Ren where metal sodium turn into liquid sodium due heat). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the filing date of the present application was made to include sodium as taught by each of Watts and Ren since it is cheap, easily available and using metal sodium with high specific heat capacity, high thermal conductivity characteristics, braking energy absorption part, and acceleration is generated by braking so as to improve thermal deterioration performance of the vehicle brake of French et al..
Re-claim 17, the modified device of French et al. discloses one or some of the plurality of torque bars (330 in fig. 3C of French et al.) are not provided with the second cavity.
Re-claim 20, the modified device of French et al. discloses the metallic sodium changes to liquid at 100 deg. C (note Ren disclose the metal sodium start transforming to liquid sodium at 90 deg. C and thus it understood that at 100 deg. C the metallic sodium will be liquid).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 7-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on some reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616