DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 01/14/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 5, 7, 18 and 20 have been amended; and Claims 9-17 are cancelled.
Claims 1-8 and 18-20 are pending. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 01/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites the limitation "second pouch laminate CPP are fused." It appears that a word is missing from this phrase, specifically the word "layer" following "CPP" and preceding "are." As currently written, the phrase "second pouch laminate CPP" is grammatically incomplete and its scope is unclear, as "CPP" refers to a material (co-polymer polypropylene) rather than a discrete structural element capable of being fused in the context of the claim structure.
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the claim recites the limitation "the single pouch laminate CPP layer." There is no antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim previously introduces "a sealant layer formed on an inside surface." While the specification may define the sealant layer as comprising CPP, the claim language itself does not explicitly define the "sealant layer" as a "CPP layer" prior to invoking the definite article "the." Thus, the relationship between the "sealant layer" and the "CPP layer" is unclear.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim similarly recites "the single pouch laminate CPP layer," which lacks antecedent basis for the same reasons set forth above regarding Claim 5.
Additionally, Claim 20 recites "the temperature control mechanism CPP layer." There is no proper antecedent basis for "the temperature control mechanism" (singular). Claim 18, from which Claim 20 depends, recites both a "first temperature control mechanism" and a "second temperature control mechanism." Therefore, it is unclear whether "the temperature control mechanism CPP layer" refers to a layer on the first mechanism, the second mechanism, or both.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,189,872 B2 (hereinafter "US’872") in view of KR 101446149 B1 (hereinafter "KR’149").
As to Claim 1:
US’872 discloses:
a battery interconnection system ("three adjacent cells 300 are aligned and interlocked next to each other to form a single unit or a battery pack 350," [0057]) comprising: a first battery cell ("In at least one embodiment... a pouch battery cell is disclosed," [0003]; describing the "pouch battery cell 100" structure in [0044]),
the first battery cell including: at least one electrically positive tab; at least one electrically negative tab (US’872 describes the cell embodiment 100 having a "pair of terminals 134" which are "electrical current carrying tabs," [0053]; connected to "anode 118 or cathode 114," [0052]); and
a first temperature control mechanism (US’872 discloses the cell embodiment includes "a thermal transfer device arranged in the aperture and integrated into the frame," [0003]; "thermal transfer device 502... placed inside each cell 500," [0064]);
a second battery cell ("three adjacent cells 300," [0057]), the second battery cell comprising:
at least one electrically positive tab; at least one electrically negative tab; and a second temperature control mechanism; the pack 350 is formed of "adjacent cells 300" which "interlock" ([0057]);
the "multifunctional frame" features (terminals, thermal transfer device) as features of the "pouch battery cell" generally ([0003]), and states that in the pack embodiment, "Each frame 326 includes one or more channel portions" ([0057]), teaching that the stacked cells 300 share the common structural features of the disclosed pouch cell embodiments; and
the first battery cell is separate from the second battery cell ("adjacent cells 300 are aligned... next to each other," [0057]; "interconnect," [0059]).
However, while US’872 teaches mechanically interconnecting the separate cells to form a pack, US’872 does not explicitly disclose the specific electrical topology wherein the at least one electrically positive tab of the first battery cell couples with the at least one electrically positive tab of the second battery cell; and the at least one electrically negative tab of the first battery cell couples with the at least one electrically negative tab of the second battery cell (i.e., a parallel electrical configuration).
KR’149 teaches a secondary battery system comprising a plurality of battery cells ("plurality of battery cells 110 and 120," pg. 3, [0048]) wherein the system includes electrically connecting the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the plurality of battery cells so that the plurality of battery cells is connected in parallel. Specifically, KR’149 discloses "A relay electrically connecting the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the plurality of battery cells so that the plurality of battery cells is connected in parallel" (pg. 1, paragraph 1 [Abstract]). KR’149 discloses using electrode leads (pg. 2, paragraph 5) and relays to effectuate this connection, thereby coupling the positive electrodes to each other and negative electrodes to each other.
US’872 and KR’149 are analogous art because both references pertain to the field of battery module design, specifically the structural arrangement and interconnection of pouch-type secondary battery cells with thermal management systems.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack of US’872 to electrically interconnect the stacked battery cells in a parallel configuration as taught by KR’149. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because KR’149 explicitly teaches that this parallel configuration is used to create a "parallel type secondary battery" (pg. 3, [0048]), which allows for summing the current capacity of the individual modular cells of US’872 to achieve a desired amperage for the battery pack.
As to Claim 2:
US’872 discloses the battery interconnection system of claim 1 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above). Regarding the specific internal connections: US’872 discloses the first battery cell includes a cathode electrically coupled with the at least one electrically positive tab of the first battery cell... and the first battery cell includes an anode electrically coupled with the at least one electrically negative tab of the first battery cell. Specifically, US’872 describes the cell embodiment wherein "The battery cell further includes... a cathode... including a current collector with an exposed tab portion bonded to a terminal" ([0045]). US’872 further defines that "The terminals 134 are electrical current carrying tabs" ([0053]) and "The interior portion 138 may be bonded to a current collector 130... of an anode 118 or cathode 114" ([0052]).
US’872 further teaches the second battery cell includes a cathode electrically coupled with the at least one electrically positive tab... and... an anode electrically coupled with the at least one electrically negative tab. US’872 describes the battery pack 350 as being formed of "three adjacent cells 300" ([0057]). US’872 describes the "multifunctional frame" and terminal structures as features of the "pouch battery cell" invention generally ([0003]) and applies these features to the stacked cells in the pack ([0057]), thereby teaching that the second cell (one of the adjacent cells) utilizes the same anode/cathode-to-terminal bonding structure as the first cell.
However, as discussed with respect to Claim 1, US’872 does not explicitly disclose the specific electrical topology where the positive tabs of separate cells are coupled to each other and the negative tabs of separate cells are coupled to each other in a parallel configuration.
KR’149 teaches a secondary battery system comprising a plurality of battery cells wherein the system includes electrically connecting the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the plurality of battery cells so that the plurality of battery cells is connected in parallel. Specifically, KR’149 discloses "A relay electrically connecting the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the plurality of battery cells so that the plurality of battery cells is connected in parallel" (pg. 1, paragraph 1 [Abstract]; see also "the plurality of battery cells 110 and 120 are electrically connected in parallel to each other," pg. 5, paragraph 1). KR’149 further teaches that the connection is made via "electrode leads 31 and 32 [which] correspond to a structure functioning as an electrode" (pg. 2, paragraph 5), thereby teaching that the tabs (leads) of the respective positive and negative electrodes are the components coupled by the relay to achieve the parallel connection.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the parallel interconnection architecture of KR’149 with the specific internal cell structure (anode/cathode bonded to tab/terminals) of US’872. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to combine the robust, frame-integrated terminal structure of US’872 (which provides mechanical stability, [0003]) with the high-capacity parallel electrical configuration explicitly taught by KR’149 (pg. 3, [0048]).
As to Claim 6:
US’872 discloses the battery interconnection system of claim 1 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above). Regarding the specific pouch configuration: US’872 discloses the first battery cell is disposed within a first pouch laminate. Specifically, US’872 describes the cell embodiment 100 as a "pouch battery cell" ([0044]) which includes "a sheet arranged as the cell cover 140, enclosing the frame within the cell 100" ([0044]). US’872 further describes that "The cell cover 140 may be made from a polymeric material... flexible sheet... laminated" ([0050]-[0051]), thereby teaching a first pouch laminate enclosing the first cell.
US’872 further discloses the second battery cell is disposed within a second pouch laminate. US’872 describes the battery pack 350 as being formed of "three adjacent cells 300" which are "aligned and interlocked next to each other" ([0057]). By describing the pack as an assembly of multiple discrete "pouch battery cells" ([0003]; [0043]), US’872 teaches that each adjacent cell in the stack retains the "cell cover 140" structure of the preferred embodiment ([0044]). Therefore, the second cell in the stack is disposed within its own independent cell cover, constituting a second pouch laminate.
However, as discussed with respect to Claim 1, US’872 does not explicitly disclose the specific electrical topology where the positive tabs of the separate battery cells are coupled to each other and the negative tabs are coupled to each other in a parallel configuration.
KR’149 teaches a secondary battery system comprising a plurality of battery cells wherein the system includes electrically connecting the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the plurality of battery cells so that the plurality of battery cells are connected in parallel (Abstract; pg. 3, [0048]). KR’149 discloses using "electrode leads" and relays to connect the "plurality of battery cells" (pg. 5, paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the parallel interconnection architecture of KR’149 with the modular, stacked pouch cell structure of US’872. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because connecting the tabs of the individual, separately pouched cells of US’872 in the parallel configuration of KR’149 allows for the creation of a high-capacity battery pack (via parallel connection) that retains the mechanical robustness and individual sealing benefits of US’872's frame design. By maintaining separate pouch laminates for each cell as taught by US’872, the system prevents a failure or leak in one cell from directly compromising the electrolyte integrity of adjacent cells, a benefit distinct from single-pouch designs.
As to Claim 8:
US’872 discloses the battery interconnection system of claim 1 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the system comprises a plurality of interconnected battery cells. Specifically, US’872 teaches that "three adjacent cells 300 are aligned and interlocked next to each other to form a single unit or a battery pack 350" ([0057]) and includes "features 354 that allow adjacent cells 300... to interconnect" ([0059]).
However, while US’872 discloses mechanically interconnecting the cells to form a pack, US’872 does not explicitly disclose the specific electrical topology wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are in parallel.
KR’149 teaches a secondary battery system wherein the plurality of battery cells is electrically connected in parallel. Specifically, KR’149 discloses a "parallel type secondary battery" comprising "A relay electrically connecting the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the plurality of battery cells so that the plurality of battery cells is connected in parallel" (pg. 1, paragraph 1 [Abstract]). KR’149 further describes this configuration wherein "a plurality of battery cells 110 and 120 are connected in parallel to each other" (pg. 3, [0048]) via electrode leads (pg. 2, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack of US’872 to electrically connect the battery cells in parallel as taught by KR’149. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to achieve the "parallel type secondary battery" configuration explicitly taught by KR’149 (pg. 3, [0048]), which sums the current capacity of the individual modular cells of US’872 to create a high-capacity battery pack suitable for the power requirements of electric vehicles (as discussed in US’872, [0001]).
As to Claim 18:
US’872 discloses:
a battery interconnection system ("three adjacent cells 300 are aligned and interlocked next to each other to form a single unit or a battery pack 350," [0057]) comprising a first battery cell. US’872 describes the preferred embodiment of the "pouch battery cell 100" ([0044]), which includes:
at least one electrically positive tab; a cathode electrically coupled with the at least one electrically positive tab: US’872 describes "a pair of terminals 134" which are "electrical current carrying tabs" ([0053]) and states that "The interior portion 138 may be bonded to a current collector 130... of a... cathode 114" ([0052]);
at least one electrically negative tab; an anode electrically coupled with the at least one electrically negative tab: US’872 describes the terminals connecting to the "current collector 130... of an anode 118" ([0052]; see also "anode and cathode each including a current collector with an exposed tab portion bonded to a terminal," [0003]);
and a first temperature control mechanism: US’872 discloses "a thermal transfer device arranged in the aperture and integrated into the frame" ([0003]) and "thermal transfer device 502... placed inside each cell 500" ([0064]);
a second battery cell ("three adjacent cells 300," [0057]),
the second battery cell comprising: at least one electrically positive tab; a cathode electrically coupled...; at least one electrically negative tab; an anode electrically coupled...; and a second temperature control mechanism (US’872 describes the battery pack 350 as being formed of "adjacent cells 300" [0057]);
the "multifunctional frame" features (terminals bonded to electrode tabs, thermal transfer device) to the "pouch battery cell" generally ([0003]) and states that in the pack embodiment, "Each frame 326 includes... channel portions" ([0057]), thereby teaching that the second cell in the stack utilizes the same internal anode/cathode-to-terminal bonding and thermal transfer structure as the first cell; and
the first battery cell is separate from the second battery cell ("adjacent cells 300 are aligned and interlocked next to each other," [0057]).
However, while US’872 teaches mechanically interconnecting the separate cells, US’872 does not explicitly disclose the specific electrical topology wherein the at least one electrically positive tab of the first battery cell couples with the at least one electrically positive tab of the second battery cell and the at least one electrically negative tab of the first battery cell couples with the at least one electrically negative tab of the second battery cell (i.e., a parallel connection).
KR’149 teaches a secondary battery system comprising a plurality of battery cells wherein the system includes electrically connecting the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the plurality of battery cells so that the plurality of battery cells is connected in parallel. Specifically, KR’149 discloses "A relay electrically connecting the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the plurality of battery cells so that the plurality of battery cells is connected in parallel" (pg. 1, paragraph 1 [Abstract]; see also "the plurality of battery cells 110 and 120 are electrically connected in parallel to each other," pg. 3, [0048]). KR’149 teaches that this connection is effectuated using "electrode leads 31 and 32" (pg. 2, paragraph 5), thereby teaching the coupling of the respective positive and negative tabs.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack of US’872 to electrically interconnect the stacked battery cells in a parallel configuration as taught by KR’149. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because KR’149 explicitly teaches that this parallel configuration is used to create a "parallel type secondary battery" (pg. 3, [0048]), which sums the current capacity of the individual modular cells of US’872 to achieve a high-capacity battery pack suitable for the high-power applications described in US’872 ([0001]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,189,872 B2 (hereinafter "US’872") in view of KR 101446149 B1 (hereinafter "KR’149"), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of US 10,629,915 B2 (hereinafter "US’915").
As to Claim 3:
US’872 and KR’149 disclose the battery interconnection system of claim 2 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 2 above), utilizing electrode tabs/leads.
However, US’872 and KR’149 do not explicitly disclose that each of the first battery cell cathode and the second battery cell cathode is formed with a punch through process; and each of the first battery cell anode and the second battery cell anode is formed with a punch through process.
US’915 teaches a battery system utilizing electrode foils wherein features are formed by mechanical stamping. Specifically, US’915 discloses cathode foils having features configured to steer electrical current, wherein "the open-circuit feature includes slots that are stamped or formed in a respective surface of the cathode foils" (Claim 17; pg. 1-3). US’915 further discloses that "each anode assembly... defines a plurality of tab leads" (Claim 13).
US’872, KR’149, and US’915 are analogous arts because all three references pertain to the design and manufacturing of battery cells and their internal electrode components.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to manufacture the anode and cathode electrodes of the combined US’872/KR’149 battery system using the stamping process taught by US’915. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because US’915 teaches that "stamping" (forming slots and defining tabs) allows for the creation of specific current paths and precise tab geometries. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, the "stamped" slots and defined tabs of US’915 correspond to the claimed electrodes "formed with a punch through process," as stamping to create slots/tabs in metal foil is a mechanical process of punching through the material to define the electrode shape. Applying this process to US’872 would facilitate the precise formation of the "exposed tab portion" (US’872, [0045]) required to bond with the rigid frame terminals.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,189,872 B2 (hereinafter "US’872") in view of KR 101446149 B1 (hereinafter "KR’149"), US 10,629,915 B2 (hereinafter "US’915"), as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of US 2021/0184292 A1 (hereinafter "US’292").
As to Claim 4:
US’872, KR’149, and US’915 disclose the battery interconnection system of claim 3 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 3 above), wherein the system comprises a first battery cell and a second battery cell (US’872, [0057]; KR’149, Abstract).
However, US’872, KR’149, and US’915 do not explicitly disclose the specific configuration wherein each of the first battery cell and the second battery cell are disposed within a single pouch laminate. US’872 teaches stacking individually framed/pouched cells ([0057]), and while KR’149 teaches a "common pouch" that is folded (Abstract), it does not explicitly teach the specific "single pouch laminate" configuration for multiple distinct electrode assemblies in the manner of the claim without the folding complexity.
US’292 teaches a secondary battery configuration comprising a plurality of electrode assemblies housed within a single packaging material, specifically disclosing a secondary battery comprising... a first electrode assembly... a second electrode assembly... and an exterior material [pouch laminate] for accommodating the first and second electrode assemblies (Abstract; [0007]; [0042] - "the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are accommodated in the accommodation part of the exterior material"). By disposing the first and second battery cells (electrode assemblies) within the "exterior material," US’292 teaches disposing them within a single pouch laminate.
US’292 is analogous art to US’872, KR’149, and US’915 because all references pertain to the field of secondary battery packaging and structural configuration, specifically regarding pouch-type lithium-ion batteries.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery interconnection system of US’872/KR’149/US’915 to dispose the first and second battery cells within a single pouch laminate as taught by US’292. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because housing multiple electrode assemblies (cells) within a single pouch laminate reduces the overall volume and weight of the battery packaging materials (inactive mass), thereby increasing the energy density of the battery pack, while also simplifying the sealing process by reducing the number of individual pouches required.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,189,872 B2 (hereinafter "US’872") in view of KR 101446149 B1 (hereinafter "KR’149"), US 10,629,915 B2 (hereinafter "US’915"), US 2021/0184292 A1 (hereinafter "US’292"), as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of KR 2016/0080559 A (hereinafter "KR ’559").
As to Claim 5:
US’872, KR’149, US’915, and US’292 disclose the battery interconnection system of claim 4 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 4 above). Specifically, the combined system comprises first and second battery cells with temperature control mechanisms disposed within a single pouch laminate (as taught by US’292, [0042]).
However, the combined references do not explicitly disclose the specific sealing composition wherein the single pouch laminate includes a sealant layer formed on an inside surface thereof and the first temperature control mechanism and the second temperature control mechanism each have a CPP layer disposed on sides thereof and the single pouch laminate CPP layer are fused with the first temperature control mechanism CPP layer and the second temperature control mechanism CPP layer thereby forming a hermetic seal.
KR ’559 teaches a pouch-type secondary battery with an enhanced sealing part. KR ’559 explicitly discloses:
The single pouch laminate includes a sealant layer formed on an inside surface thereof: KR ’559 states the pouch outer member is a laminate sheet where "an inner sealant layer... are sequentially laminated" ([0010]). KR ’559 explicitly teaches that this inner sealant layer includes "at least one polypropylene-based resin such as... cast polypropylene (cPP)" ([0055]).
The temperature control mechanism has a CPP layer disposed on sides thereof: KR ’559 teaches adding a "reinforcing sealant member" to the sealing portion (where components exit the pouch) to improve sealing ([0010]). KR ’559 discloses that this reinforcing sealant member is made of a heat-sealable polymer such as "CPP-modified propylene-based" material, "polyethylene copolymer," or "propylene copolymer" ([0013]).
The pouch laminate CPP layer is fused with the temperature control mechanism CPP layer thereby forming a hermetic seal: KR ’559 states that the reinforcing sealant member is "melted together with the inner sealant layer" when heated and pressurized ([0052]), and that the layers "come into contact and are fused" ([0043]). This is done to prevent defects like electrolyte leakage, which corresponds to forming a hermetic seal ([0007]).
KR ’559 is analogous art to the other references because it pertains to the field of pouch-type secondary battery packaging and specifically addresses the problem of reinforcing the sealing portion to prevent electrolyte leakage.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the sealing materials and technique of KR ’559 to the battery system of US’872/KR’149/US’915/US’292. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to ensure a robust, hermetic seal at the interface where the "thermal transfer device" (US’872) exits the "single pouch laminate" (US’292). KR ’559 explicitly teaches that using a "CPP-modified" sealant member at the sealing interface and fusing it with the "cast polypropylene (cPP)" inner layer of the pouch prevents leakage and improves durability ([0020]-[0021]) .
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,189,872 B2 (hereinafter "US’872") in view of KR 101446149 B1 (hereinafter "KR’149"), as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of KR 2016/0080559 A (hereinafter "KR ’559").
As to Claim 7:
US’872 and KR’149 disclose the battery interconnection system of claim 6 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the first and second battery cells are disposed within separate pouch laminates. US’872 further discloses that the frame and cell components may be made of polymeric materials such as "polypropylene (PP)" or "polyethylene (PE)" and that the terminals or thermal transfer devices are sealed to the frame to form a "hermetic seal" ([0050]).
However, US’872 does not explicitly disclose the specific material construction wherein each of the first pouch laminate and the second pouch laminate include a co-polymer propylene and polyethylene (CPP) layer formed on an inside surface thereof and the first temperature control mechanism and the second temperature control mechanism each have a CPP layer disposed on sides thereof and the first pouch laminate CPP layer and second pouch laminate CPP are fused with the first temperature control mechanism CPP layer and the second temperature control mechanism CPP layer thereby forming hermetic seals.
KR ’559 teaches a pouch-type secondary battery with an enhanced sealing part to prevent electrolyte leakage and improve durability. KR ’559 explicitly discloses:
The pouch laminate includes a sealant layer formed on an inside surface thereof: KR ’559 states that the pouch outer member is a laminate sheet where "an inner sealant layer... are sequentially laminated" ([0010]) . KR ’559 explicitly teaches that this inner sealant layer includes "at least one polypropylene-based resin such as... cast polypropylene (cPP)" ([0055]).
The temperature control mechanism has a CPP layer disposed on sides thereof: KR ’559 teaches adding a "reinforcing sealant member" to the sealing portion (where components exit the pouch) to improve sealing ([0010]). KR ’559 discloses that this reinforcing sealant member is made of a heat-sealable polymer such as "CPP-modified propylene-based" material, "polyethylene copolymer," or "propylene copolymer" ([0013]) .
The pouch laminate CPP layer and temperature control mechanism CPP layer are fused thereby forming hermetic seals: KR ’559 states that the reinforcing sealant member is "melted together with the inner sealant layer" when heated and pressurized ([0052]) , and that the layers "come into contact and are fused" ([0043]). This is done to prevent defects like electrolyte leakage, which corresponds to forming a hermetic seal ([0007]).
KR ’559 is analogous art to US’872 and KR’149 because all references pertain to the field of battery packaging and specifically address the technical problem of sealing a pouch film around components protruding from the cell interior.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the sealing materials and technique of KR ’559 to the battery system of US’872. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because a known failure mode in pouch cells with internal cooling plates (as in US’872) is electrolyte leakage at the interface where the metal plate exits the pouch. KR ’559 explicitly teaches that using a "CPP-modified" sealant member at the sealing interface and fusing it with the "cast polypropylene (cPP)" inner layer of the pouch prevents leakage and improves durability ([0020]-[0021]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,189,872 B2 (hereinafter "US’872") in view of KR 101446149 B1 (hereinafter "KR’149"), as applied to Claim 18 above, and further in view of US 10,629,915 B2 (hereinafter "US’915").
As to Claim 19:
US’872 and KR’149 disclose the battery interconnection system of claim 18 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 18 above), comprising first and second battery cells with anodes, cathodes, and tabs.
However, US’872 and KR’149 do not explicitly disclose that each of the first battery cell cathode and the second battery cell cathode is formed with a punch through process; and each of the first battery cell anode and the second battery cell anode is formed with a punch through process.
US’915 teaches a battery system utilizing electrode foils wherein features are formed by mechanical stamping. Specifically, US’915 discloses cathode foils having features configured to steer electrical current, wherein "the open-circuit feature includes slots that are stamped or formed in a respective surface of the cathode foils" (Claim 17; pg. 1-3). US’915 further discloses that "each anode assembly... defines a plurality of tab leads" (Claim 13), which are features defined by the removal of material.
US’872, KR’149, and US’915 are analogous arts because all three references pertain to the design and manufacturing of battery cells and their internal electrode components.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to manufacture the anode and cathode electrodes of the combined US’872/KR’149 battery system using the stamping process taught by US’915. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because US’915 teaches that "stamping" allows for the precise definition of current steering slots and tab leads in the foil. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, the "stamped" features of US’915 read on the claimed "punch through process," as stamping a feature (such as a slot or tab) into a metal foil necessarily involves a die punching through the material to cut the shape. Applying this process to US’872 would allow for the efficient mass production of the electrode "exposed tab portions" (US’872, [0045]) required to bond with the frame terminals.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,189,872 B2 (hereinafter "US’872") in view of KR 101446149 B1 (hereinafter "KR’149") and US 10,629,915 B2 (hereinafter "US’915"), as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of KR 2016/0080559 A (hereinafter "KR ’559").
As to Claim 20:
US’872, KR’149, and US’915 disclose the battery interconnection system of claim 19 (as discussed in the rejection of claim 19 above), wherein the system comprises first and second battery cells with stamped electrode components connected in parallel.
However, the combined references do not explicitly disclose the specific packaging and sealing configuration wherein each of the first battery cell and the second battery cell are disposed within a single pouch laminate, wherein the single pouch laminate includes a co-polymer propylene and polyethylene (CPP) layer formed on an inside surface thereof and the first temperature control mechanism and the second temperature control mechanism each have a CPP layer disposed on sides thereof and the single pouch laminate CPP layer is fused with the temperature control mechanism CPP layer thereby forming a hermetic seal.
KR ’559 teaches a pouch-type secondary battery design with improved sealing characteristics. KR ’559 explicitly discloses:
The first and second battery cells are disposed within a single pouch laminate: KR ’559 teaches that the pouch outer member accommodates the electrode assembly ([0026]) and further discloses that the system can be configured as a "medium- to large-sized battery module including a plurality of such batteries as unit cells" ([0059]). While KR '559 discusses individual pouches, it teaches the material system for enclosing electrode assemblies.
The single pouch laminate includes a sealant layer formed on an inside surface thereof: KR ’559 states that the pouch outer member is a laminate sheet where "an inner sealant layer... are sequentially laminated" ([0010]) . KR ’559 explicitly teaches that this inner sealant layer includes "at least one polypropylene-based resin such as... cast polypropylene (cPP)" ([0055]) .
The temperature control mechanism has a CPP layer disposed on sides thereof: KR ’559 teaches adding a "reinforcing sealant member" to the sealing portion (where components exit the pouch) ([0010]). KR ’559 discloses that this reinforcing sealant member is made of a heat-sealable polymer such as "CPP-modified propylene-based" material, "polyethylene copolymer," or "propylene copolymer" ([0013]) .
The pouch laminate CPP layer is fused with the temperature control mechanism CPP layer thereby forming a hermetic seal: KR ’559 states that the reinforcing sealant member is "melted together with the inner sealant layer" when heated and pressurized ([0052]), and that the layers "come into contact and are fused" ([0043]). This is done to prevent defects like electrolyte leakage, which corresponds to forming a hermetic seal ([0007]).
KR ’559 is analogous art to US’872, KR’149, and US’915 because all references pertain to the field of lithium-ion battery packaging and specifically address the technical challenges of sealing cooling components that interface with the battery interior.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery system of US’872/KR’149/US’915 to dispose the cells within a pouch laminate structure and apply the sealing materials and techniques of KR ’559. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because a known failure mode in pouch cells with internal cooling plates (as in US’872) is electrolyte leakage at the interface where the metal plate exits the pouch. KR ’559 explicitly teaches that using a "CPP-modified" sealant member at the sealing interface and fusing it with the "cast polypropylene (cPP)" inner layer of the pouch prevents leakage and improves durability ([0020]-[0021]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723