Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicants dated 03/30/2026 and 08/05/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Because:
- In response to applicant argument: “…That is, Dageville describes using explicit grants to configure access privileges for an object and separately describes identifying an object based on its alias object…Thus, Dageville does not teach or suggest at least the aforementioned features of amended independent claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Dageville teaches in Fig. 1. Fig. 4. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]. Para [0043]. Para [0051], Table T1 and View V1 are descendants of Schema S1, which is a descendant of Database D1, which is a descendant of Account A1. Security permissions or access paths applied to a parent object (like a database or schema) automatically cascade down to all of its descendants (the tables, views, or functions), which defines the hierarchical relationship between the first computing object and the one or more second computing objects.
- In response to applicant argument: “Rapp describes assigning a child the assignments of a source object when the child is added to the hierarchy, which describes determining what permissions an object will have when it is created or added to a system...Thus, Rapp does not teach or suggest at least the aforementioned features of amended independent claim 1.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Rapp teaches in Fig. 12. Para [0082], that a child object inherits the assignments of a parent object upon entering a hierarchy, it is entirely predictable and obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that if the parent object's assignment changes, that change will cascade down to the existing children.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-10, 12-13, 15, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dageville (US20220207169A1) in view of Rapp (US 20060230363 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dageville teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a data management system, an indication of an assignment of a first computing object of a data management cluster to a tenant of the data management system, wherein the data management cluster comprises the first computing object and one or more second computing objects that descend from the first computing object (Fig. 1. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]: receiving by the first account/first tenant, a request from the second account/second tenant of Multi-Tenant Database 100 to access data or services of the first account/first tenant. The first account A1/first tenant contains databases objects. Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1/third computing object, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1. The request component may identify a resource with which the alias object is linked, such as a database or table in a sharer account.), wherein the data management cluster is operable to provide protection for data sources associated with a plurality of tenants of the data management system (Fig. 1. Para [0016]: multi-tenant database or data warehouse that supports many different customer accounts A1, A2, A3, An, etc. Customer accounts may be separated by multiple security controls, including different data storage locations associated with the costumer, and different account-level encryption keys.);
identifying, by the data management system in response to the indication of the assignment of the first computing object to the tenant, a hierarchical relationship between the first computing object and one or more second computing objects, wherein the one or more second computing objects comprise each computing object that descends from the first computing object in accordance with the hierarchical relationship within an object hierarchy (Fig. 1. Fig. 4. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]. Para [0043]. Para [0051]: receiving by the first account/first tenant, a request from the second account/second tenant of Multi-Tenant Database 100 to access data or services of the first account/first tenant. The first account A1/first tenant contains databases objects. Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1. The request component may identify a resource with which the alias object is linked, such as a database or table in a sharer account.);
assigning, by the data management system in response to the indication of the assignment of the first computing object to the tenant, the first computing object to the tenant (Para [0032]: a customer account A1 contains role R1, which has grants to all objects in the object hierarchy. Assuming these grants are usage grants between R1 and D1, D2, S1, S2.);
and assigning, by the data management system in response to the indication of the assignment of the first computing object to the tenant (Para [0032]: a customer account A1 contains role R1, which has grants to all objects in the object hierarchy. Assuming these grants are usage grants between R1 and D1, D2, S1, S2 and select grants between R1 and T1, V1, F2, Q2, T2 a user with activated role R1 can see all objects and read data from all tables, views, and sequences and can execute function F2 within account A1.).
Dageville does not explicitly disclose (perform an action) the one or more second computing objects automatically to the tenant, wherein the automatic assignment of the one or more second computing objects by the data management system is based at least in part on the one or more second computing objects being lower within the object hierarchy than the first computing object.
Rapp does disclose (perform an action) the one or more second computing objects automatically to the tenant, wherein the automatic assignment of the one or more second computing objects by the data management system is based at least in part on the one or more second computing objects being lower within the object hierarchy than the first computing object (Fig. 12. Para [0082]: adding children objects to a sub-hierarchy of which the source object is the root node results in an automatic inheritance of the respective object assignments in the persistent data entry mode.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dageville with the teachings of Rapp to include (perform an action) the one or more second computing objects automatically to the tenant, wherein the automatic assignment of the one or more second computing objects by the data management system is based at least in part on the one or more second computing objects being lower within the object hierarchy than the first computing object in order to allow child objects to automatically adopt object assignments from their parent object (Rapp Para [0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the data management system, an indication of a second assignment of a third computing object of the data management cluster to a second tenant of the data management system (Dageville Fig. 1. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]: receiving by the first account/first tenant, a request from the second account/second tenant of Multi-Tenant Database 100 to access data or services of the first account/first tenant. The first account A1/first tenant contains databases objects. Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1/third computing object, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1 (fourth computing objects).);
identifying, by the data management system in response to the indication of the second assignment of the third computing object to the second tenant, a second hierarchical relationship between the third computing object and one or more fourth computing objects, wherein the hierarchical relationship comprises the one or more fourth computing objects being lower within a second object hierarchy than the third computing object (Dageville Fig. 1. Fig. 4. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]. Para [0043]. Para [0051]: receiving by the first account/first tenant, a request from the second account/second tenant of Multi-Tenant Database 100 to access data or services of the first account/first tenant. The first account A1/first tenant contains databases objects. Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1/third computing object, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1/fourth computing objects. The request component may identify a resource with which the alias object is linked, such as a database or table in a sharer account.);
assigning, by the data management system in response to the indication of the assignment of the third computing object to the second tenant, the third computing object to the second tenant (Dageville Para [0032]: a customer account A1 contains role R1, which has grants to all objects in the object hierarchy. Assuming these grants are usage grants between R1 and D1, D2, S1, S2 (third computing object).); and
assigning, by the data management system in response to the indication of the assignment of the third computing object to the second tenant, the one or more fourth computing objects to the second tenant based at least in part on the one or more fourth computing objects being lower within the object hierarchy than the third computing object (Dageville Para [0032]: a customer account A1 contains role R1, which has grants to all objects in the object hierarchy. Assuming these grants are usage grants between R1 and D1, D2, S1, S2 (third computing object) and select grants between R1 and T1, V1, F2, Q2, T2 (fourth computing object) a user with activated role R1 can see all objects and read data from all tables, views, and sequences and can execute function F2 within account A1.).
Regarding claim 5, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the data management system, an indication of a second assignment of a third computing object of the data management cluster to the tenant of the data management system (Dageville Fig. 1. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]: receiving by the first account/first tenant, a request from the second account/second tenant of Multi-Tenant Database 100 to access data or services of the first account/first tenant. The first account A1/first tenant contains databases objects. Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1/third computing object, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1 (fourth computing objects).);
identifying, by the data management system in response to the indication of the second assignment of the third computing object to the tenant, a second hierarchical relationship between the third computing object and one or more fourth computing objects, wherein the second hierarchical relationship comprises the one or more fourth computing objects being lower within a second object hierarchy than the third computing object (Dageville Fig. 1. Fig. 4. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]. Para [0043]. Para [0051]: receiving by the first account/first tenant, a request from the second account/second tenant of Multi-Tenant Database 100 to access data or services of the first account/first tenant. The first account A1/first tenant contains databases objects. Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1/third computing object, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1/fourth computing objects. The request component may identify a resource with which the alias object is linked, such as a database or table in a sharer account.);
assigning, by the data management system in response to the indication of the assignment of the third computing object to the tenant, the third computing object to the tenant (Dageville Para [0032]: a customer account A1 contains role R1, which has grants to all objects in the object hierarchy. Assuming these grants are usage grants between R1 and D1, D2, S1, S2 (third computing object).); and
assigning, by the data management system in response to the indication of the assignment of the third computing object to the tenant, the one or more fourth computing objects to the tenant based at least in part on the one or more fourth computing objects being lower within the object hierarchy than the third computing object (Dageville Para [0032]: a customer account A1 contains role R1, which has grants to all objects in the object hierarchy. Assuming these grants are usage grants between R1 and D1, D2, S1, S2 (third computing object) and select grants between R1 and T1, V1, F2, Q2, T2 (fourth computing object) a user with activated role R1 can see all objects and read data from all tables, views, and sequences and can execute function F2 within account A1. Rapp Fig. 12. Para [0082]: adding children objects to a sub-hierarchy of which the source object is the root node results in an automatic inheritance of the respective object assignments in the persistent data entry mode.).
Regarding claim 7, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the data management system, an indication of an assignment to the tenant of a first set of permissions for the first computing object and a second set of permissions for at least one computing object of the one or more second computing objects (Dageville Para [0031]. Para [0036]: grants between roles and database objects define what privileges a role has on these objects. For example, a role that has a usage grant/first set of permissions on a database can “see” this database when executing the command “show databases” (first computing object); a role that has a select grant/second set of permissions on a table (second computing object) can read from this table but not write to the table. The role would need to have a modify grant on the table to be able to write to it.).
Regarding claim 8, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the assignment of the first set of permissions and the second set of permissions is based at least in part on the first computing object being a first type of computing object and the at least one computing object of the one or more second computing objects being a second type of computing object (Dageville Para [0031]. Para [0036]: grants between roles and database objects define what privileges a role has on these objects. For example, a role that has a usage grant/first set of permissions on a database can “see” this database when executing the command “show databases” (first computing object); a role that has a select grant/second set of permissions on a table (second computing object) can read from this table but not write to the table. The role would need to have a modify grant on the table to be able to write to it.).
Regarding claim 9, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving, from a user associated with the tenant, a request to modify the at least one computing object of the one or more second computing objects (Dageville Para [0031]. Para [0036]: a role that has a usage grant on a database can “see” this database when executing the command “show databases”; a role that has a select grant on a table (second computing objects) can read from this table but not write to the table. The role would need to have a modify grant on the table to be able to write to it.); and
denying the request to modify the at least one computing object of the one or more second computing objects based at least in part on the second set of permissions (Dageville Para [0031]. Para [0036]-[0037]: a role that has a usage grant on a database can “see” this database when executing the command “show databases”; a role that has a select grant on a table (second computing objects) can read from this table but not write to the table. By modifying the list of references of other customer accounts, the share object can be made accessible to more accounts or be restricted to fewer accounts.).
Regarding claim 10, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving, from a user associated with the tenant, a request to modify the at least one computing object of the one or more second computing objects (Dageville Para [0031]. Para [0036]: a role that has a usage grant on a database can “see” this database when executing the command “show databases”; a role that has a select grant on a table (second computing objects) can read from this table but not write to the table. The role would need to have a modify grant on the table to be able to write to it.); and
modifying the at least one computing object of the one or more second computing objects in accordance with the request based at least in part on the modifying being allowed by the second set of permissions (Dageville Para [0031]. Para [0036]- [0037]: a role that has a usage grant on a database can “see” this database when executing the command “show databases”; a role that has a select grant on a table (second computing objects) can read from this table but not write to the table. By modifying the list of references of other customer accounts, the share object can be made accessible to more accounts or be restricted to fewer accounts.).
Regarding claim 12, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from a user interface view associated with a second tenant of the data management system, a request to access one of the first computing object or the one or more second computing objects (Dageville Fig. 1. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]: receiving by the first account/first tenant, a request from the second account/second tenant of Multi-Tenant Database 100 to access data or services of the first account/first tenant. The first account A1/first tenant contains databases objects. Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1/second computing object, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1.); and
denying the request to access the one of the first computing object or the one or more second computing objects based at least in part on the one of the first computing object or the one or more second computing objects being assigned to the tenant (Dageville Para [0031]. Para [0036]- [0037]: a role that has a usage grant on a database can “see” this database when executing the command “show databases”; a role that has a select grant on a table (second computing objects) can read from this table but not write to the table. By modifying the list of references of other customer accounts, the share object can be made accessible to more accounts or be restricted to fewer accounts.).
As per claims 13, 15, 17 the claims claim an apparatus essentially corresponding to themethod claims 1, 3, 5, above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claim 20, the claim claiming a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code essentially corresponding to the method claim 1 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 11, 14, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dageville (US20220207169A1) in view of Rapp (US 20060230363 A1) in view of Noe (US 10380369 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
information associated with the first computing object and the one or more second computing objects (Dageville Para [0026]- [0030]: Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1.).
Dageville in view of Rapp does not explicitly disclose presenting, within a user interface view associated with the tenant.
Noe teaches presenting, within a user interface view associated with the tenant (Claim 6. Claim 14. Col 6 lines 3-16: The user interface allows users to interact with the DMS cluster 112. Preferably, each of the DMS nodes includes a user interface 201, and any of the user interfaces can be used to access the DMS cluster 112. The user interface 201 can be used to define what services should be performed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dageville in view of Rapp of indication of the assignment of the first computing object to the tenant with the teachings of Noe to include the well-known technique of presenting, within a user interface view associated with the tenant because the results would have been predictable and resulted in use the user interface to define what services should be performed (Noe Claim 6).
Regarding claim 4, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising:
information associated with the third computing object and the one or more fourth computing objects (Dageville Para [0026]- [0030]: Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1.).
Dageville in view of Rapp does not explicitly disclose presenting, within a user interface view associated with the second tenant.
Noe teaches presenting, within a user interface view associated with the second tenant (Claim 6. Claim 14. Col 6 lines 3-16: The user interface allows users to interact with the DMS cluster 112. Preferably, each of the DMS nodes includes a user interface 201, and any of the user interfaces can be used to access the DMS cluster 112. The user interface 201 can be used to define what services should be performed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dageville in view of Rapp of indication of the assignment of the third computing object to the tenant with the teachings of Noe to include the well-known technique of presenting, within a user interface view associated with the second tenant because the results would have been predictable and resulted in use the user interface to define what services should be performed (Noe Claim 6).
Regarding claim 6, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the assignment of the first computing object of the data management cluster to the tenant comprises:
receiving the indication of assignment of the first computing object of the data management cluster to the tenant (Dageville Fig. 1. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]: receiving by the first account/first tenant, a request from the second account/second tenant of Multi-Tenant Database 100 to access data or services of the first account/first tenant. The first account A1/first tenant contains databases objects. Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1/third computing object, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1.).
Dageville in view of Rapp does not explicitly disclose via a user interface view associated with an administrator account for the data management cluster.
Noe teaches via a user interface view associated with an administrator account for the data management cluster (Claim 6. Claim 14. Col 6 lines 3-16: The user interface allows users to interact with the DMS cluster 112. Preferably, each of the DMS nodes includes a user interface 201, and any of the user interfaces can be used to access the DMS cluster 112. The user interface 201 can be used to define what services should be performed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dageville in view of Rapp of indication of the assignment of the first computing object to the tenant with the teachings of Noe to include the well-known technique of presenting, via a user interface view associated with an administrator account for the data management cluster because the results would have been predictable and resulted in use the user interface to define what services should be performed (Noe Claim 6).
Regarding claim 11, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 7, wherein receiving the indication of the assignment to the tenant of the first set of permissions for the first computing object and the second set of permissions for the at least one computing object of the one or more second computing objects comprises:
receiving the indication of the assignment to the tenant of the first set of permissions for the first computing object and the second set of permissions for the at least one computing object of the one or more second computing objects (Dageville Fig. 1. Fig. 5. Para [0019]. Para [0026]- [0030]: receiving by the first account/first tenant, a request from the second account/second tenant of Multi-Tenant Database 100 to access data or services of the first account/first tenant. The first account A1/first tenant contains databases objects. Each Database object D1 contains schema object S1/third computing object, which in turn contains table object T1 and view object V1.).
Dageville in view of Rapp does not explicitly disclose (perform an action) via a user interface view associated with an administrator account for the data management cluster.
Noe (perform an action) via a user interface view associated with an administrator account for the data management cluster.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dageville in view of Rapp of indication of the assignment of the first computing object to the tenant with the teachings of Noe to include the well-known technique of presenting, via a user interface view associated with an administrator account for the data management cluster because the results would have been predictable and resulted in use the user interface to define what services should be performed (Noe Claim 6).
As per claims 14, 16, 18 the claims claim an apparatus essentially corresponding to themethod claims 2, 4, 6 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dageville in view of Rapp (US20220207169A1) in view of Rapp (US 20060230363 A1) in view of Bahm (US 20230239344 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Dageville in view of Rapp teaches the method of claim 1.
Dageville in view of Rapp does not explicitly disclose wherein respective sets of users of the data management system associated with a remainder of the plurality of tenants are barred from accessing the first computing object and the one or more second computing objects based at least in part on assignment of first computing object and the one or more second computing objects to the tenant.
Bahm does disclose wherein respective sets of users of the data management system associated with a remainder of the plurality of tenants are barred from accessing the first computing object and the one or more second computing objects based at least in part on assignment of first computing object and the one or more second computing objects to the tenant (Fig. 1. Para [0034]: the cluster 102 can support multiple tenants, also that the cluster 102 can be divided (e.g., logically divided) from a security standpoint into separate access zones such that first data, files, or other data objects associated (first and second object) with a first tenant can be securely separated or isolated from second tenant.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dageville in view of Rapp with the teachings of Bahm to include wherein respective sets of users of the data management system associated with a remainder of the plurality of tenants are barred from accessing the first computing object and the one or more second computing objects based at least in part on assignment of first computing object and the one or more second computing objects to the tenant in order to prevent unauthorized access to the tenant’s object in the multi-tenant cluster (Bahm Para [0034]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUDY BAZNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495