DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on November 18, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that it is believed that search and examination of claims 11-20 will not require different fields of search or result in inapplicable prior art across different groups. Additionally, it is believed that it is unlikely examination of claims 11-20 will raise different non-prior art issues that would otherwise impose a serious burden, and the office action does not articulate any particular prospective non-prior art issues with respect to any of the claims that would differ across groups.
This is not found persuasive because examiner has explained how the inventions are independent and distinct from each other, and hence, are classified in two completely different CPC classes (Group I, Claims 1-10 classified in B01J2/02 and Group II, Claims 11-20 classified in B01J19/12). Further, examiner has provided sufficient reasoning for concluding that a serious search/examination burden is present if a restriction was not required, such as carrying out different search queries and searching in different classes/subclasses in view of their different classification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Group II, Claims 11-20 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,872,632 in view of Wang et al. (US Pat. No. 11,331, 724, hereinafter Wang).
Claim 1 of US Pat. No. 11,872,632 contains substantially similar limitations to claim 1 of instant invention except:
a platform within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles;
one or more generators configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves to form a fluidized bed of the particles on the platform.
However, Wang teaches an apparatus for preparing ultrafine spherical metal powders. The apparatus comprises a housing (#20) having an enclosure, a crucible (#2) configured to produce a melt of a material (#5), a droplet device (#14) configured to receive the melt of the material (#5) from the crucible (#2) and produce a flow of droplets of melt within the enclosure of the housing (#20), a platform (#8) within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles (#13) and an oscillator generator (#3) configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves, and wherein the platform (#8) and the oscillator generator (#3) are configured to produce the powder (#9) that includes the particles (see figure 1 and column 7, lines 16-42 and column 8, lines 5-11 and lines 18-52).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the system as disclosed by Claim 1 of US Pat. No. 11,872,632 by further including one or more generators configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves to form a fluidized bed of the particles on the platform, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success as Wang teaches an apparatus for preparing ultrafine spherical metal powders comprising a housing having an enclosure, a crucible configured to produce a melt of a material, a droplet device configured to receive the melt of the material from the crucible and produce a flow of droplets of melt within the enclosure of the housing, a platform within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles, and an oscillator generator configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves, and wherein the platform and the oscillator generator are configured to produce the powder that includes the particles, thereby obtaining metal powder particles with narrow particle size distribution, controllable and with high sphericity and low production cost (see figure 1, column 5, lines 22-29, column 7, lines 16-42 and column 8, lines 5-11 and lines 18-52).
Examiner notes that although the combination of US Pat. No. 11,872,632, in view of Wang, does not explicitly disclose wherein the generator is configured to form a fluidized bed of particles on the platform, Wang discloses substantially similar limitations as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that the system of the combination of US Pat. No. 11,872,632, in view of Wang, is capable of functioning in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim 6 of US Pat. No. 11,872,632 contains substantially similar limitations to claim 1 of instant invention except: one or more generators configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves to form a fluidized bed of the particles on the platform.
However, Wang teaches an apparatus for preparing ultrafine spherical metal powders. The apparatus comprises a housing (#20) having an enclosure, a crucible (#2) configured to produce a melt of a material (#5), a droplet device (#14) configured to receive the melt of the material (#5) from the crucible (#2) and produce a flow of droplets of melt within the enclosure of the housing (#20), a platform (#8) within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles (#13) and an oscillator generator (#3) configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves, and wherein the platform (#8) and the oscillator generator (#3) are configured to produce the powder (#9) that includes the particles (see figure 1 and column 7, lines 16-42 and column 8, lines 5-11 and lines 18-52).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the system as disclosed by Claim 6 of US Pat. No. 11,872,632 by further including one or more generators configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves to form a fluidized bed of the particles on the platform, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success as Wang teaches an apparatus for preparing ultrafine spherical metal powders comprising a housing having an enclosure, a crucible configured to produce a melt of a material, a droplet device configured to receive the melt of the material from the crucible and produce a flow of droplets of melt within the enclosure of the housing, a platform within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles, and an oscillator generator configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves, and wherein the platform and the oscillator generator are configured to produce the powder that includes the particles, thereby obtaining metal powder particles with narrow particle size distribution, controllable and with high sphericity and low production cost (see figure 1, column 5, lines 22-29, column 7, lines 16-42 and column 8, lines 5-11 and lines 18-52).
Examiner notes that although the combination of US Pat. No. 11,872,632, in view of Wang, does not explicitly disclose wherein the generator is configured to form a fluidized bed of particles on the platform, Wang discloses substantially similar limitations as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that the system of the combination of US Pat. No. 11,872,632, in view of Wang, is capable of functioning in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim 2 of US Pat. No. 11,872,632 contains substantially similar limitations as claimed in claim 2 of instant invention, thereby reading on the subject matter of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 of US Pat. No. 11,872,632 contains substantially similar limitations as claimed in claim 3 of instant invention, thereby reading on the subject matter of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 of US Pat. No. 11,872,632 contains substantially similar limitations as claimed in claim 4 of instant invention, thereby reading on the subject matter of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 of US Pat. No. 11,872,632 contains substantially similar limitations as claimed in claim 5 of instant invention, thereby reading on the subject matter of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 of US Pat. No. 11,872,632 contains substantially similar limitations as claimed in claim 10 of instant invention, thereby reading on the subject matter of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0198005, hereinafter Li) in view of Wang et al. (US Pat. No. 11,331, 724, hereinafter Wang).
In regards to Claim 1, Li discloses a system for producing a powder, the system comprising:
a housing having an enclosure (#10) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0020]);
a crucible (#12) configured to produce a melt of a first material (#16) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0020]);
a droplet device (atomization chamber #14) configured to receive the melt of the first material (#16) from the crucible (#12) and produce a flow of droplets of the melt of the first material (#16) within the enclosure of the housing (#10) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0020]); and
a distribution device (high-velocity jets) configured to propel a second material (water) into the flow of droplets of the first material (#16) within the enclosure (#10) such that the second material is mixed with the flow of droplets of the first material (#16), wherein the droplets solidify in the enclosure to form particles (#26) of the first material, the second material, and/or a reaction product thereof (see figure 1 and paragraph [0020]).
Li fails to disclose:
a platform within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles;
one or more generators configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves to form a fluidized bed of the particles on the platform, and
wherein the platform and/or the one or more generators are configured to produce, from the fluidized bed, the powder that includes the particles.
However, Wang teaches an apparatus for preparing ultrafine spherical metal powders. The apparatus comprises a housing (#20) having an enclosure, a crucible (#2) configured to produce a melt of a material (#5), a droplet device (#14) configured to receive the melt of the material (#5) from the crucible (#2) and produce a flow of droplets of melt within the enclosure of the housing (#20), a platform (#8) within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles (#13) and an oscillator generator (#3) configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves, and wherein the platform (#8) and the oscillator generator (#3) are configured to produce the powder (#9) that includes the particles (see figure 1 and column 7, lines 16-42 and column 8, lines 5-11 and lines 18-52).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the system as disclosed by Li by further having a platform within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles, one or more generators configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves to form a fluidized bed of the particles on the platform, and wherein the platform and/or the one or more generators are configured to produce, from the fluidized bed, the powder that includes the particles, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success as Wang teaches an apparatus for preparing ultrafine spherical metal powders comprising a housing having an enclosure, a crucible configured to produce a melt of a material, a droplet device configured to receive the melt of the material from the crucible and produce a flow of droplets of melt within the enclosure of the housing, a platform within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles, and an oscillator generator configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves, and wherein the platform and the oscillator generator are configured to produce the powder that includes the particles, thereby obtaining metal powder particles with narrow particle size distribution, controllable and with high sphericity and low production cost (see figure 1, column 5, lines 22-29, column 7, lines 16-42 and column 8, lines 5-11 and lines 18-52).
Examiner notes that although Li, in view of Wang, does not explicitly disclose wherein a fluidized bed of particles is formed on the platform, Li, as modified above, discloses substantially similar limitations as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that Li’s system, as modified above is capable of functioning in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 2, Li discloses wherein the particles (#26) of the powder include an alloy of the first material and the second material (see paragraph [0008]).
In regards to Claim 8, Li, in view of Wang, discloses the system as recited in claim 1. Although Li, as modified above, is silent in regards to wherein the one or more generators are configured to control the fluidized bed to produce the powder with a predetermined volume or mass fraction of the first material, the second material, and/or the reaction product thereof, Li, as modified above, discloses substantially the same system as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that Li’s system, as modified above, will reasonably function in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 9, Li, in view of Wang, discloses the system as recited in claim 1. Although Li, as modified above, is silent in regards to wherein the one or more generators are configured to produce the powder with a predetermined particle size distribution, Li, as modified above, discloses substantially the same system as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that Li’s system, as modified above, will reasonably function in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daul et al. (US Pat. No. 11,872,632, with an effective filing date of December 27, 2022, hereinafter Daul), in view of Wang.
In regards to Claim 1, Daul discloses a system (#100) for producing a powder, the system comprising:
a housing (#110) having an enclosure (see figure 1 and column 3, lines 21-27);
a crucible (#112) configured to produce a melt of a first material (#116) (see figure 1 and column 3, lines 28-37);
a droplet device (#114) configured to receive the melt of the first material (#116) from the crucible (#112) and produce a flow of droplets (#118) of the melt of the first material (#116) within the enclosure of the housing (#110) (see figure 1 and column 3, lines 38-49); and
a distribution device (#120) configured to propel a second material (#122) into the flow of droplets of the first material (#116) within the enclosure (#110) such that the second material is mixed with the flow of droplets of the first material (#116), wherein the droplets solidify in the enclosure to form particles of the first material, the second material, and/or a reaction product thereof (see figure 1 and column 3, line 50 to column 4, line 8);
a platform (#127-#130 contact surfaces) within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles (see figure 1 and column 4, lines 33-51); and
wherein the platform (#127-#130) is configured to produce the powder (#132) that includes the particles (see figure 1 and column 4, lines 52-67).
Daul fails to disclose:
one or more generators configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves to form a fluidized bed of the particles on the platform.
However, Wang teaches an apparatus for preparing ultrafine spherical metal powders. The apparatus comprises a housing (#20) having an enclosure, a crucible (#2) configured to produce a melt of a material (#5), a droplet device (#14) configured to receive the melt of the material (#5) from the crucible (#2) and produce a flow of droplets of melt within the enclosure of the housing (#20), a platform (#8) within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles (#13) and an oscillator generator (#3) configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves, and wherein the platform (#8) and the oscillator generator (#3) are configured to produce the powder (#9) that includes the particles (see figure 1 and column 7, lines 16-42 and column 8, lines 5-11 and lines 18-52).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the system as disclosed by Daul by further having one or more generators configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves to form a fluidized bed of the particles on the platform , as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success as Wang teaches an apparatus for preparing ultrafine spherical metal powders comprising a housing having an enclosure, a crucible configured to produce a melt of a material, a droplet device configured to receive the melt of the material from the crucible and produce a flow of droplets of melt within the enclosure of the housing, a platform within the enclosure configured to intercept the particles, and an oscillator generator configured to produce electromagnetic waves and/or acoustic waves, and wherein the platform and the oscillator generator are configured to produce the powder that includes the particles, thereby obtaining metal powder particles with narrow particle size distribution, controllable and with high sphericity and low production cost (see figure 1, column 5, lines 22-29, column 7, lines 16-42 and column 8, lines 5-11 and lines 18-52).
Examiner notes that although Daul, in view of Wang, does not explicitly disclose wherein a fluidized bed of particles is formed on the platform, Daul, as modified above, discloses substantially similar limitations as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that Daul’s system, as modified above is capable of functioning in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 2, Daul discloses wherein the particles of the powder include an alloy of the first material and the second material (see figure 1, column 2, lines 31-32 and column 6, lines 29-38).
In regards to Claim 3, Daul discloses wherein the particles of the powder include a core formed of the first material and a coating or layer of the second material thereon (see figure 1, column 2, lines 33-35 and column 6, lines 44-52).
In regards to Claim 4, Daul discloses wherein the powder includes a mixture of particles of the first material and the second material (see figure 1, column 2, lines 36-37 and column 6, lines 52-60).
In regards to Claim 5, Daul discloses wherein the droplet device (#114) is configured to apply an electrostatic charge to the first material and/or the distribution device (#120) is configured to apply an electrostatic charge to the second material (#122) (see figure 1, column 1, lines 56-59 and column 4, lines 23-32).
In regards to Claim 10, Daul discloses further comprising a second distribution device (#124) configured to propel a third material (#126) into the flow of droplets of the first material (#116) within the enclosure such that the third material (#126) is mixed with the droplets of the first material (#116) (see figure 1 and column 3, line 50 to column 4, line 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774