Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/28/2024 has been fully reconsidered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed on 8/15/2024 has been entered. Claims 1, 9, 12 and 17 have been amended, claims 13-15 have been canceled, and no new claims have been added.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12 and 17 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wittmann et al (US 20200243960 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive in relation to the amended limitation as thus: wherein the wall thickness is based upon a carrier frequency of the associated radar sensor thereby improving transmission of radar waves from the associated radar sensor through the wall (Italics for emphasis on limitation by the Applicant and please see rejection below)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, and 16-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wittmann et al (US 20200243960 A1), hereinafter Wittmann.
Regarding claim 1, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus comprising (Wittman, Abstract, A radome subassembly for a radar sensor for motor vehicles, which radar sensor encompasses a radar-frequency printed circuit board having at least one antenna and a radar-frequency printed circuit alongside the antenna, the radome subassembly encompassing: a radome for covering the antenna side of the radar-frequency printed circuit board; and an absorber for radar waves in order to shield the radar-frequency printed circuit, the absorber being disposed in front of an inner side of the radome, the absorber leaving a region next to the absorber, in front of the inner side of the radome, open for a main antenna lobe of the at least one antenna, the absorber being fastened on the radome, and the radome subassembly having at least one elastic plastic element by way of which the absorber is braced movably against the inner side of the radome. A radar sensor having the radome subassembly is also described):
a radar cover arranged to protect an associated radar sensor (Wittman, Abstract),
including a wall having a longitudinal wall portion and at least one lateral wall portion curving away from the longitudinal wall portion and positioned relative to the longitudinal wall portion such that both wall portions have substantially uniform wall thickness (Wittman, paras [0041], Radome subassembly 10 shown in FIG. 1 encompasses a radome 12, an absorber 14, and a symbolically depicted elastic plastic element 16 that is disposed between radome 12 and absorber 14 in an interstice between radome 12 and absorber 14. Absorber 14 is connected to radome 12, and fastened onto radome 12, via elastic plastic element 16. Elastic plastic element 16 represents an elastic support of absorber 14 on radome 12) and (para [0050], Stops 34 can be configured, for example, as walls or as a portion of an encircling wall of absorber 14, or they can project from absorber 14 toward printed circuit board 22 at individual, separate positions. Stops 34 terminate in a common plane that corresponds to the surface of antenna side 20 of printed circuit board 22. In the case of an encircling wall, stops 34 surround a pocket on the open side of absorber 14. Distance D corresponds to a depth of the pocket) Examiner notes the encircling wall of which is noted as curvature or curving portion,
wherein the wall thickness is based upon a carrier frequency of the associated radar sensor thereby improving transmission of radar waves from the associated radar sensor through the wall (Wittman, para [0004], Radar sensors for motor vehicles emit high-frequency radar beams via an antenna structure, and receive the radar beams reflected at objects. The objects can be stationary or moving, and can encompass, for example, vehicles, pedestrians, bicyclists, or stationary obstacles. The distance, and an azimuth angle, of an object can be calculated based on the received radar signals. The radial speed of the object relative to the radar sensor can also be calculated. Typical radar sensors for motor vehicles operate in a frequency range of 76 to 77 GHz. [0005] With a radar sensor, it is desirable for the high-frequency radar signals to be emitted only at specific exposed points in the radar sensor. It is further desirable to reduce, or to eliminate to the extent possible, spurious signals in the received radar signals. An absorber, which can be a component that absorbs and screens out radar waves, is used in a radar sensor in order to absorb spurious radar waves in the context of the emission and/or reception of radar signals) and (para [0030], Preferably, the radome is produced from plastic, the absorber is produced from plastic, and a plastic material of the at least one elastic element has a dielectric constant that is between a dielectric constant of a plastic material of the absorber and a dielectric constant of a plastic material of the radome. What can be achieved thereby is that the dielectric constant of the radome subassembly, including the absorber, continuously increases, or continuously decreases, or remains the same, from inside to outside. A disadvantageous discontinuity in the dielectric constant, which would be associated with a change in the profile of the dielectric constant, can thus be avoided) Examiner notes the absorber component of the radar cover (radome) is optimal for the radar sensors for motor vehicle that operate in a frequency range of 76-77 GHz and can screen out spurious radar waves thus optimizing the transmission.
Regarding claim 2, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 1 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein the at least one lateral wall portion includes (i) a first lateral wall portion curving away from a first end of the longitudinal wall portion, (Wittman, para [0050]),
and (ii) a second lateral wall portion curving away from a second end of the longitudinal wall portion (Wittman, para [0050]).
Regarding claim 3, Wittmann discloses: a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 1 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein the radar cover includes a plurality of retention tabs for enabling the radar cover to be secured to a radar sensor assembly without use of fasteners (Wittman, para [0032], According to a refinement of the present invention, the absorber has at least two pegs or at least two peg receptacles for interacting with corresponding countermembers of the radar-frequency printed circuit board in order to align the absorber in a direction parallel to the radar-frequency printed circuit board. The absorber preferably has at least two pegs that protrude beyond the projecting stops for abutment against the radar-frequency printed circuit board. Particularly preferably, the stops are embodied on the pegs. This makes possible a particularly compact configuration of the absorber. [0033] The pegs or peg receptacles allow optimal positioning of the absorber relative to the at least one antenna element, or relative to the radar-frequency circuit, to be achieved. In particular, the position of the absorber can be defined in two or three dimensions. The at least one elastic plastic element can, for example, permit displacements between the absorber and radome in directions parallel to the radar-frequency printed circuit board)
Regarding claim 4, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 3 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein each of the plurality of retention tabs clamps onto the radar sensor assembly to secure the radar cover to the radar sensor assembly (Wittman, paras [0032-0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 3 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein each of the plurality of retention tabs hooks onto the radar sensor assembly to secure the radar cover to the radar sensor assembly (Wittman, paras [0032-0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 5 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein each of the plurality of retention tabs hooks onto an edge of a back surface of a radar sensor of the radar sensor assembly to secure the radar cover to the radar sensor assembly (Wittman, paras [0032-0033])
Regarding claim 7, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 3 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein the radar cover has a plurality of slots that assist in creating a spring feature for the plurality of retention tabs to enable the radar cover to deflect during installation without permanently distorting shape of the radar cover (Wittman, para [0026], In particular, the at least one elastic plastic element can be at least one elastic spacer. The elastic spacer can be configured in particular to establish or compensate for a distance between the absorber and the radome in the installed situation of the radome subassembly on the radar sensor.
[0027] The at least one elastic plastic element is preferably at least one elastic support or brace, for example a backing or an assemblage of supports or braces. The elastic plastic element can be, in particular, an elastic spacer.
[0028] In an embodiment, the at least one elastic plastic element encompasses at least one spring, in particular a compression spring, particularly preferably a helical spring or a yoke spring. The spring can represent an elastic support) and (para [0048], The at least one elastic plastic element 16 has, for example, an elasticity, upon compression in a direction perpendicular to printed circuit board 22, which corresponds to a specific spring constant) Examiner notes the elasticity as spring feature.
Regarding claim 9, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 1 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein the radar cover includes at least two longitudinal locating features that assist in aligning a radar sensor assembly within the radar cover during installation (Wittman, Figs. 1 and 2, elastic plastic element 16) and (para [0021], The at least one elastic plastic element is configured, for example, in the context of a disposition of the radome subassembly in an installed situation of the radome subassembly on the radar sensor, in which disposition the absorber abuts against the antenna side of the radar-frequency printed circuit board, to furnish an application pressure for pressing the absorber against the antenna side of the radar-frequency printed circuit board. The at least one elastic plastic element can, in that context, accommodate tolerances in the position of the radome relative to the radar-frequency printed circuit board. The at least one elastic plastic element is elastically deformable and, in particular, elastically compressible. The absorber is, for example, mounted in elastically flexible fashion, by way of the at least one elastic plastic element, against pressure of the absorber onto the radom3).
Regarding claim 12, Wittman discloses:
A vehicle radar apparatus comprising (Wittman, Abstract):
a bracket fastenable to a vehicle part (Wittman, Abstract);
a radar sensor assembly fastened to the bracket and including a radar sensor for emitting radar waves and receiving reflected radar waves (Wittman, para [0004], Radar sensors for motor vehicles emit high-frequency radar beams via an antenna structure, and receive the radar beams reflected at objects. The objects can be stationary or moving, and can encompass, for example, vehicles, pedestrians, bicyclists, or stationary obstacles. The distance, and an azimuth angle, of an object can be calculated based on the received radar signals. The radial speed of the object relative to the radar sensor can also be calculated. Typical radar sensors for motor vehicles operate in a frequency range of 76 to 77 GHz. [0005] With a radar sensor, it is desirable for the high-frequency radar signals to be emitted only at specific exposed points in the radar sensor. It is further desirable to reduce, or to eliminate to the extent possible, spurious signals in the received radar signals. An absorber, which can be a component that absorbs and screens out radar waves, is used in a radar sensor in order to absorb spurious radar waves in the context of the emission and/or reception of radar signals);
and a radar cover secured to the radar sensor assembly and for protecting the radar sensor from road debris during vehicle operation (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein the radar cover has a wall having a longitudinal wall portion and at least one lateral wall portion curving away from the longitudinal wall portion and positioned relative to the longitudinal wall portion such that both wall portions have a wall thickness that is substantially uniform across a field of view of the radar sensor (Wittman, para [0015], The radome is configured to cover the antenna side of the radar-frequency printed circuit board when the radome subassembly is in an installed situation on the radar sensor. The radome is preferably configured to cover the entire surface of the antenna side of the radar-frequency printed circuit board. In other words, the entire antenna side of the radar-frequency printed circuit board becomes covered), (para [0030]), and (para [0050]) ,
wherein the wall thickness is based upon an intended carrier frequency of radar wave emission by the radar sensor thereby improving transmission of radar waves from the radar sensor through the wall (Wittman, paras ([0004-0005], [0030], and [0050]) Examiner notes the absorber component of the radar cover (radome) is optimal for the radar sensors for motor vehicle that operate in a frequency range of 76-77 GHz and can screen out spurious radar waves thus optimizing the transmission.
Regarding claim 16, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 12 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein the radar cover includes a plurality of retention tabs for enabling the radar cover to be secured to only the radar sensor assembly and not the bracket (Wittman, para [0027], The at least one elastic plastic element is preferably at least one elastic support or brace, for example a backing or an assemblage of supports or braces. The elastic plastic element can be, in particular, an elastic spacer.[0028] In an embodiment, the at least one elastic plastic element encompasses at least one spring, in particular a compression spring, particularly preferably a helical spring or a yoke spring. The spring can represent an elastic support. [0029] In an embodiment, the at least one elastic plastic element encompasses at least one resilient cushion, in particular an elastic cushion. The resilient cushion can represent an elastic support).
Regarding claim 17, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus comprising (Wittman, Abstract):
a radar sensor assembly including a radar sensor for emitting radar waves and receiving reflected radar waves (Wittman, paras [004-0005]);
And a radar cover secured to the radar sensor assembly and for protecting the radar sensor from road debris during vehicle operation (Wittman, Abstract, and para [0042], Absorber 12 is, for example, a plastic part produced using the injection-molding process. Radome 14 is, for example, a plastic part produced using the injection-molding process)),
wherein the radar cover includes a wall having a longitudinal wall portion and at least one lateral wall portion curving away from the longitudinal wall portion and positioned relative to the longitudinal wall portion such that both wall portions have substantially uniform wall thickness (Wittman, paras ([0004-0005] and [0050]),
wherein the wall thickness is based upon a frequency of the emitted radar waves of the radar sensor thereby improving transmission of radar waves from the radar sensor through the wall and a plurality of retention tabs for enabling the radar cover to be secured to the radar sensor assembly without use of fasteners (Wittman, paras ([0004-0005], [0042] and [0050])
Claim 18 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 18 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein each of the plurality of retention tabs has a slotted surface into which an edge surface of the radar sensor assembly can engage to clamp the radar cover onto the radar sensor assembly (Wittman, paras [0032-0033])
Claim 20 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 5.
Claim 21 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 6.
Regarding claim 22, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 20 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein each of the plurality of retention tabs has an extended surface onto which an edge surface of the radar sensor assembly can engage to hook the radar cover onto the radar sensor assembly (Wittman, para [0042]).
Regarding claim 23, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 17 (Wittman, Abstract),
wherein at least one of the plurality of retention tabs has an elongated slot through which a screwdriver can be inserted and used as a lever to remove the radar cover from the radar sensor assembly (Wittman, para [0010], Because the absorber is fastened on the radome and is braced by way of the at least one elastic plastic element movably on the inner side of the radome, it becomes possible, with the radome subassembly in an installed situation on the radar sensor, for the absorber to abut against the antenna side of the radar-frequency printed circuit board and to be pressed by the elastic plastic element against the antenna side of the radar-frequency printed circuit board. The distance between the absorber and the radar-frequency printed circuit board, in particular a defined abutment of the absorber against the radar-frequency printed circuit board, can thus be determined by the absorber. In particular, the elastic plastic element can compensate for a distance tolerance between the absorber and the radome. Any tolerance fluctuations in the shape of the radome or in the installation position of the radome subassembly on the radar-frequency printed circuit board or on a housing of the radar sensor can therefore be decoupled from the absorber by the at least one elastic plastic element, so that they have no direct influence on the distance between the absorber and the antenna side of the circuit board. This therefore makes possible simple installation of the absorber on the radar sensor, in which a defined distance between the absorber and the antenna side of the radar-frequency printed circuit board can nevertheless be ensured).
Claim 24 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 7.
Claim 25 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 8.
Claim 26 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittmann et al (US 20200243960 A1), hereinafter Wittmann in view of Miu et al (US 20220187416 A1), hereinafter Miu.
Regarding claim 8, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 1 (Wittman, Abstract),
Miu discloses:
wherein the radar cover includes a spoiler extending from edge of the radar cover and for deflecting and diverting airflow around the radar cover and away from back side of the radar cover (Miu, para [0033], FIG. 22 is a plan view of the door handle assembly of FIGS. 20 and 21, with air channels for directing airflow during vehicle movement) and (para [0079], Referring to FIGS. 20-22, a door handle assembly 410 may include a handle portion 414, and the handle portion may be configured to provide active cooling for the electronics during driving or operation of the vehicle, such as by including air inlets to promote airflow through and around the handle portion. During vehicle operation, airflow is channeled through the body of the handle to cool the electronics. The handle portion 414 may include active air inlets 430 so that airflow enters from the front of the handle (at the pivot end 416), where the front of the handle is towards the front of the vehicle so that as the vehicle travels forward, airflow travels along the handle from the front to the rear of the handle and across the electronics to promote heat dissipation. The handle portion may include channels 432 such as to direct airflow in and around the radar unit 420 and/or one or more heat sinks 420a attached to or integrated into the radar unit to promote additional heat dissipation. The heat sinks 420a attached to or integrated into the radar unit 420 may be disposed at the PCB of the radar unit (that includes electronic circuitry, including transmitting antennas and receiving antennas and optionally a processor for controlling the antennas and/or for processing outputs of the receiving antennas) and connected to the radar unit, such as at a cutout at the rear of the radar unit (with the PCB at the cutout may be formed to receive a portion of the heat sink to connect to the heat sink). The channels 432 may be disposed at the interior surface of the handle portion. One or more active air outlets 434 may be disposed at the rear of the handle portion to direct airflow out of the handle portion. The one or more active air inlets and/or active air outlets may be designed into and disposed at any location on the handle assembly to promote active airflow through the handle when the vehicle is in operation).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wittman with Miu to incorporate the features of: wherein the radar cover includes a spoiler extending from edge of the radar cover and for deflecting and diverting airflow around the radar cover and away from back side of the radar cover. Both arts are considered analogous arts as they both disclose vehicle mounted radar systems protected by a radome. The modification would render the predictable results of preserve radar alignment and structural integrity, reduce thermal fluctuations, and preserve performance by protecting against contaminants.
Claims 10 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittmann et al (US 20200243960 A1), hereinafter Wittmann n view of Miu et al (US 20220187416 A1), hereinafter Miu in further view of An et al (CN 217099847 U), hereinafter An.
Regarding claim 10, Wittmann discloses:
a vehicle radar apparatus according to claim 1 (Wittman, Abstract),
Miu discloses:
(Miu, para [0054], As shown in FIG. 5, the vehicle exterior component 13, 14, 16, 17 includes a class-A surface 42 that is intended to be directly viewed and/or touched by a user. In other words, the radome 40 includes the class-A surface 42, so there is no air gap between the radome 40 and the class-A surface 42. A housing 44 is sealed against an interior surface 46 opposite the class-A surface 42. The housing 44 defines an interior space 48 configured to hold the radar transceiver 36. The housing 44 may be configured to be watertight to prevent moisture from affecting the radar transceiver 36) Examiner notes that drainage holes are not disclosed, and that the radome housing is configured to be watertight to prevent moisture
An discloses:
wherein the radar cover has a plurality of drainage holes located at bottom of the radar cover to allow water and debris to drain (An, p. 7, para [0007], It is worth explaining that the vehicle-mounted radar of this embodiment preferably adopts the conventional radar that has certain waterproof performance, and can utilize the waterproof performance of radar self to design drainage portion based on the structure of radar protection casing, thereby form the waterproof construction of this embodiment, realize protecting better to in the radar protection casing and automobile body 10 electronic components. [0008], Further, as shown in fig. 1 and 4, it is preferable that the vehicle-mounted radar of the present embodiment is installed on the roof of the vehicle in an inclined manner such that the joint between the first cover 1 and the second cover 2 is formed with a roof portion and a floor portion, and that, when the drain portion is in use, rainwater entering the cavity 5 through the opening or rainwater entering the cavity 5 through the slit 3 can be drained out of the radar cover through the drain hole 4 in the floor portion).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wittmann and Miu with An to incorporate the features of: wherein the radar cover has a plurality of drainage holes located at bottom of the radar cover to allow water and debris to drain. The three arts are considered analogous arts as they both disclose vehicle-mounted radar systems that comprise a radome. Wittman discloses a radar cover (radome), and Miu discloses an airtight radom to prevent water or moisture from entering. The combination of the two doe not disclose the both disclose a radar cover wherein the radar cover has a plurality of drainage holes located at bottom of the radar cover to allow water and debris to drain as disclosed within An. The modification would render the predictable results of preserved signal clarity, prevention of mechanical wear, and augment protection of electronic and structural materials.
Claim 27 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 10.
References Cited but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as thus:
Bouabdalli et al US 20220407214 A1 disclose a heatable plastic component and method and radome
Ferri et al US 20220349220 A1 discloses a vehicle outside door handle with radar module and thermal management
Fina US 12066571 B2 discloses a vehicular radar system with performing radar cleaning and heating techniques
Hess et al US 20230020243 A1 discloses a system that has a radar sensor located at a vehicle for sensing exterior of vehicle
Poiger et al US 20190204435 A1 discloses a vehicular radar system
Stav et al US 20210184340 A1 discloses a radome for automotive radar patch antenna
Wohlte et al US 20220099793 A1 discloses a vehicular radar sensing system
Moss US 20240222853 A1 vehicle radar unit
Hess US 20230020243 A1 vehicle radar system w enhancing
Katsurada et al US 20230062751 A1 radar module with concave/convex portions
Kim US 20210410344 discloses a radome
Lv et at. "Hybrid Absorptive-Diffusive Frequency Selective Radome", IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, Vol, 69, No. 6, pp. 3312-3321, June 2021
Costa et al. "A Frequency Selective Radome with Wideband Absorbing Properties", IEEE Tranactions on Antennas and Propagation, Vol. 60, No. 6, pp. 2740-2747, June 2012
Sheret et al. "Efficient Design of a Radome for Minimised Transmission Loss", IET Microwaves, Antennas & Propagation, pp. 1662-1666, June 2016
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY JENKINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648