DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-15, and 18 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejection of claims 7 and 13, claims 7 and 13 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 7 and 13, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-20, no arguments were presented as to their patentability and therefore the claims remain rejected as indicated in previous office action dated June 12. 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,3,6,7,8,9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 20190268053 A1) in view of Wilson (US 20190222289 A1); hereinafter Wilson2.
Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches a beam management method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving first indication information from a network device (Fig. 16, [0199] At 1635 the UE 115 may receive an indication of a first TCI state from the table of TCI states that is to be used in receiving a first transmission beam of the plurality of sequential transmission beams);
when the first indication information indicates that a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) list configured for a terminal device remains the same as a previously configured second TCI list ([0104] the base station 105-c may transmit a RecordPlay activation trigger 415. [0105] the RecordPlay activation trigger 415 may include an indication of which TCI states are to be used. [0106] the base station 105-c does not need to provide an explicit indication for beamforming or quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions for CORESET transmissions or PDSCH transmissions over time, as this gets played from memory at both the base station 105-c and the UE 115-c. In some cases, to receive PDSCH DMRS, the N bit TCI indicator within the DCI 420 may refer to the deterministic table of TCI states 345 ((indicates that a (TCI) list configured for a terminal device remains the same as a previously configured second TCI list)) for that particular slot.), performing beam switching according to an arrangement order of (TCI) states (TCI-states) in the second TCI list ([0095] In some cases, receiving, from the base station, a second indication that the base station is starting transmission of the plurality of sequential transmission beams and applying the plurality of TCI states in a deterministic manner to generate receive beamforming parameters for use in receiving each transmission beam of the plurality of sequential transmission beams may allow a UE that is subject to repetitive movements utilize beamforming parameters that are determined for various position of the UE throughout a movement cycle. [0099] In this example, the UE 115-b may be subject to repetitive movements that may result in different transmission beams being used during the course of the movement of the UE 115-b. (First indication information indicates to use a predetermined stored TCI list.)).
Wilson does not teach receiving second indication information from the network device; and when the second indication information indicates that the TCI list configured for the terminal device changes from the second TCI list to a first TCI list, performing beam switching according to a first TCI-state in the first TCI list, wherein the first TCI list comprises a plurality of TCI-states comprising the first TCI-state, and in the first TCI list, beams corresponding to TCI-states after the first TCI-state are to sequentially provide a service for the terminal device.
Wilson2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches receiving second indication information from the network device ([0098] Accordingly, at 515, base station 105-c may transmit DCI to UE 115-c that identifies the subset of the set of TCI states to update and the updated QCL relationships corresponding to the TCI states being updated.); and
when the second indication information indicates that the TCI list configured for the terminal device changes from the second TCI list to a first TCI list ([0099] UE 115-c may receive the DCI indicating the update to the subset of the set of TCI states), performing beam switching according to a first TCI-state in the first TCI list ([0100] UE 115-c may then communicate with base station 105-c based on the updated subset of the set of TCI states. [0090] In some examples, the DCI transmitted by base station 105-b at 405 may include a TCI state within TCI subset=0 (e.g., indicating a data beam switch) such that base station 105-b may switch data beams at 410-a and UE 115-b may switch data beams at 410-b (e.g., if offset 425 is larger than Threshold-Sched-Offset).), wherein the first TCI list comprises a plurality of TCI-states comprising the first TCI-state ([0089] As shown in Table 4.1, a first TCI subset may include TCI states associated with an MSB equal to 0, and a second TCI subset may include TCI states associated with an MSB equal to 1. Each TCI state may further be associated with a reference signal (RS), signal block (SB), etc. A parameter in RRC (e.g. ControlBeamSwitch-inDCI) may be specified, and if enabled may associate the TCI states with such TCI subsets. That is, when ControlBeamSwitch-inDCI is enabled, if the MSB of an indicated TCI state is 0, the TCI state may indicate a data beam switch. When ControlBeamSwitch-inDCI is enabled, if the MSB of an indicated TCI state is 1, the TCI state may indicate a joint control and data beam switch.), and in the first TCI list, beams corresponding to TCI-states after the first TCI-state are to sequentially provide a service for the terminal device ([0091] In other examples, the DCI transmitted by base station 105-b at 405 may include a TCI state within TCI subset 1 (e.g., indicating both a control beam and data beam switch) such that base station 105-b may switch data beams at 410-a and UE 115-b may switch data beams at 410-b (e.g., if offset 425 is larger than Threshold-Sched-Offset) and base station 105-b may switch control beams at 420-a and UE 115-b may switch control beams at 420-b.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the dynamic TCI update method of Wilson2 with the beam tracking and beam refinement procedures of Wilson to indicate an update to the TCI states used for commination between the UE and base station. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce latency associated with beam switching operations (Wilson2; [0089]).
Regarding claim 2, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein:
The first indication information indicates the terminal device to perform beam switching according to the arrangement order of the TCI-states in the second TCI list ([0196] At 1620 the UE 115 may receive, responsive to the reporting the plurality of sets of measured beam parameters, a plurality of TCI states for use in deterministically receiving a subsequent plurality of sequential transmission beams from the base station); or
the second indication information indicates the first TCI-state and the first TCI list.
Regarding claim 3, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 1, before the receiving first indication information from a network device, further comprising:
receiving one or more TCI lists, wherein the one or more TCI lists comprise at least one of the first TCI list or the second TCI list ([0196] At 1620 the UE 115 may receive, responsive to the reporting the plurality of sets of measured beam parameters, a plurality of TCI states for use in deterministically receiving a subsequent plurality of sequential transmission beams from the base station. [0197] At 1625 the UE 115 may store the plurality of TCI states. Examiner is interpreting the plurality of TCI states as one or more TCI lists. As shown in Fig. 16, this happens before receiving indication information at steps 1630 and 1635).
Regarding claim 6, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information is comprised in any one of the following:
downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 6, [0121] At 630, the base station 105-e may configure DCI with a first TCI state. In some cases, the DCI may include an index into a table of available TCI states. In other cases, the DCI may identify a TCI ID. The base station 105-e may then transmit the DCI 635 to the UE 115-e.);
a media access control control element (MAC CE); and
radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Regarding claim 7, Wilson teaches a communication apparatus, wherein the communication apparatus comprises:
at least one processor ([007] The apparatus may include a processor);
a transceiver ([0129] the transmitter 720 may be collocated with a receiver 710 in a transceiver module); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to ([007] memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor):
receive, by the transceiver, first indication information from a network device ([0199] At 1635 the UE 115 may receive an indication of a first TCI state from the table of TCI states that is to be used in receiving a first transmission beam of the plurality of sequential transmission beams);
when the first indication information indicates that a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) list configured for a terminal device remains the same as a previously configured second TCI list ([0104] the base station 105-c may transmit a RecordPlay activation trigger 415. [0105] the RecordPlay activation trigger 415 may include an indication of which TCI states are to be used. [0106] the base station 105-c does not need to provide an explicit indication for beamforming or quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions for CORESET transmissions or PDSCH transmissions over time, as this gets played from memory at both the base station 105-c and the UE 115-c. In some cases, to receive PDSCH DMRS, the N bit TCI indicator within the DCI 420 may refer to the deterministic table of TCI states 345 ((indicates that a (TCI) list configured for a terminal device remains the same as a previously configured second TCI list)) for that particular slot.), perform beam switching according to an arrangement order of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (TCI-states) in the second TCI list ([0095] In some cases, receiving, from the base station, a second indication that the base station is starting transmission of the plurality of sequential transmission beams and applying the plurality of TCI states in a deterministic manner to generate receive beamforming parameters for use in receiving each transmission beam of the plurality of sequential transmission beams may allow a UE that is subject to repetitive movements utilize beamforming parameters that are determined for various position of the UE throughout a movement cycle. [0099] In this example, the UE 115-b may be subject to repetitive movements that may result in different transmission beams being used during the course of the movement of the UE 115-b. (First indication information indicates to use a predetermined stored TCI list.)).
Wilson does not teach receiving second indication information from the network device; and when the second indication information indicates that the TCI list configured for the terminal device changes from the second TCI list to a first TCI list, performing beam switching according to a first TCI-state in the first TCI list, wherein the first TCI list comprises a plurality of TCI-states comprising the first TCI-state, and in the first TCI list, beams corresponding to TCI-states after the first TCI-state are to sequentially provide a service for the terminal device.
Wilson2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches receiving second indication information from the network device ([0098] Accordingly, at 515, base station 105-c may transmit DCI to UE 115-c that identifies the subset of the set of TCI states to update and the updated QCL relationships corresponding to the TCI states being updated.); and
when the second indication information indicates that the TCI list configured for the terminal device changes from the second TCI list to a first TCI list ([0099] UE 115-c may receive the DCI indicating the update to the subset of the set of TCI states), performing beam switching according to a first TCI-state in the first TCI list ([0100] UE 115-c may then communicate with base station 105-c based on the updated subset of the set of TCI states. [0090] In some examples, the DCI transmitted by base station 105-b at 405 may include a TCI state within TCI subset=0 (e.g., indicating a data beam switch) such that base station 105-b may switch data beams at 410-a and UE 115-b may switch data beams at 410-b (e.g., if offset 425 is larger than Threshold-Sched-Offset).), wherein the first TCI list comprises a plurality of TCI-states comprising the first TCI-state ([0089] As shown in Table 4.1, a first TCI subset may include TCI states associated with an MSB equal to 0, and a second TCI subset may include TCI states associated with an MSB equal to 1. Each TCI state may further be associated with a reference signal (RS), signal block (SB), etc. A parameter in RRC (e.g. ControlBeamSwitch-inDCI) may be specified, and if enabled may associate the TCI states with such TCI subsets. That is, when ControlBeamSwitch-inDCI is enabled, if the MSB of an indicated TCI state is 0, the TCI state may indicate a data beam switch. When ControlBeamSwitch-inDCI is enabled, if the MSB of an indicated TCI state is 1, the TCI state may indicate a joint control and data beam switch.), and in the first TCI list, beams corresponding to TCI-states after the first TCI-state are to sequentially provide a service for the terminal device ([0091] In other examples, the DCI transmitted by base station 105-b at 405 may include a TCI state within TCI subset 1 (e.g., indicating both a control beam and data beam switch) such that base station 105-b may switch data beams at 410-a and UE 115-b may switch data beams at 410-b (e.g., if offset 425 is larger than Threshold-Sched-Offset) and base station 105-b may switch control beams at 420-a and UE 115-b may switch control beams at 420-b.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the dynamic TCI update method of Wilson2 with the beam tracking and beam refinement procedures of Wilson to indicate an update to the TCI states used for commination between the UE and base station. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce latency associated with beam switching operations (Wilson2; [0089]).
Regarding claim 8, Wilson teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein: the first indication information indicates the communication apparatus to perform beam switching according to the arrangement order of the TCI-states in the second TCI list ([0196] At 1620 the UE 115 may receive, responsive to the reporting the plurality of sets of measured beam parameters, a plurality of TCI states for use in deterministically receiving a subsequent plurality of sequential transmission beams from the base station);
or the second indication information indicates the first TCI-state and the first TCI list.
Regarding claim 9, Wilson teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to receive, by the transceiver, one or more TCI lists, and the one or more TCI lists comprise at least one of the first TCI list or the second TCI list ([0196] At 1620 the UE 115 may receive, responsive to the reporting the plurality of sets of measured beam parameters, a plurality of TCI states for use in deterministically receiving a subsequent plurality of sequential transmission beams from the base station. [0197] At 1625 the UE 115 may store the plurality of TCI states. Examiner is interpreting the plurality of TCI states as one or more TCI lists. As shown in Fig. 16, this happens before receiving indication information at steps 1630 and 1635).
Regarding claim 12, Wilson teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the first indication information or the is comprised in any one of the following:
downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 6, [0121] At 630, the base station 105-e may configure DCI with a first TCI state. In some cases, the DCI may include an index into a table of available TCI states. In other cases, the DCI may identify a TCI ID. The base station 105-e may then transmit the DCI 635 to the UE 115-e.);
a media access control control element (MAC CE); and
radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Wilson2; further in view of Goyal (US 20220167301 A1); hereinafter Goyal.
Regarding claim 5, Wilson in view of Wilson2 teaches claim 1, but does not teach wherein the method further comprises:
receiving request information from the network device through a message 2 in a random access process, wherein the request information is for requesting a location of the terminal device; and
sending location information to the network device through a message 3 in the random access process, wherein the location information indicates the location of the terminal device.
Goyal, in the same field of endeavor of network communications, teaches wherein the method further comprises:
receiving request information from the network device through a message 2 in a random access process, wherein the request information is for requesting a location of the terminal device (FIG. 10, [0128] The WTRU may receive a second positioning message MSG2 1022, for example in a RAR, including any of temporary identifier, an UL grant, a TA, etc. This request information is to be used by the terminal to send location information to the network device.); and
sending location information to the network device through a message 3 in the random access process, wherein the location information indicates the location of the terminal device ([0128] The WTRU may transmit a third positioning message MSG3 1024 in the PUSCH according to the UL grant, the third positioning message MSG3 1024 including any of a WTRU ID, and a positioning measurement report according to any embodiment described above).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of determining a terminal device’s location with the beam tracking methods of Wilson and the dynamic TCI state indication of Wilson2 to determine positioning of a terminal device while it is in idle and/or inactive mode. The motivation to do so would have been to allow for increased positioning accuracy and/or decreased latency of location determination ([0003]; Goyal).
Regarding claim 11, Wilson in view of Wilson2 teaches claim 7 but does not teach wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to:
receive, by the transceiver, request information from the network device through a message 2 in a random access process, and the request information is for requesting a location of the communication apparatus; and
send, by the transceiver, location information to the network device through a message 3 in the random access process, wherein the location information indicates the location of the communication apparatus.
Goyal, in the same field of endeavor of network communications, teaches wherein the method further comprises:
receive, by the transceiver, request information from the network device through a message 2 in a random access process, wherein the request information is for requesting a location of the communication apparatus (FIG. 10, [0128] The WTRU may receive a second positioning message MSG2 1022, for example in a RAR, including any of temporary identifier, an UL grant, a TA, etc. This request information is to be used by the terminal to send location information to the network device.); and
send, by the transceiver, location information to the network device through a message 3 in the random access process, wherein the location information indicates the location of the communication apparatus ([0128] The WTRU may transmit a third positioning message MSG3 1024 in the PUSCH according to the UL grant, the third positioning message MSG3 1024 including any of a WTRU ID, and a positioning measurement report according to any embodiment described above).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of determining a terminal device’s location with the beam tracking methods of Wilson and the dynamic TCI state indication of Wilson2 to determine positioning of a terminal device while it is in idle and/or inactive mode. The motivation to do so would have been to allow for increased positioning accuracy and/or decreased latency of location determination ([0003]; Goyal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Wilson2; further in view of Cirik (US 20210243659 A1); hereinafter Cirik.
Regarding claim 4, Wilson in view of Wison2 teaches claim 3 but does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more TCI lists are comprised in system information or comprised in radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Cirik, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches wherein the one or more TCI lists are comprised in system information, or comprised in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0209] The one or more configuration parameters 1701 (e.g., RRC configuration, RRC reconfiguration, etc.) may indicate one or more cell groups/lists (e.g., one or more simultaneous TCI cell lists) associated with a TCI state change/update).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the beam management methods of Cirik with the beam tracking methods of Wilson and the dynamic TCI state indication of Wilson2. The motivation to do so would have been to improve wireless communications between devices by selectively applying a resource change/update (Cirik [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Wilson in view of Wilson2 teaches claim 9 but does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more TCI lists are comprised in system information or comprised in radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Cirik, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches wherein the one or more TCI lists are comprised in system information, or comprised in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0209] The one or more configuration parameters 1701 (e.g., RRC configuration, RRC reconfiguration, etc.) may indicate one or more cell groups/lists (e.g., one or more simultaneous TCI cell lists) associated with a TCI state change/update).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the beam management methods of Cirik with the beam tracking methods of Wilson and the dynamic TCI state indication of Wilson2. The motivation to do so would have been to improve wireless communications between devices by selectively applying a resource change/update (Cirik [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Wilson teaches a communication system ([0089] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system 200), wherein the communication system comprises a terminal device (UE 115-a) and a network device (base station 105-a), wherein:
the terminal device comprises:
at least one first processor ([007] The apparatus may include a processor);
a first transceiver ([0129] the transmitter 720 may be collocated with a receiver 710 in a transceiver module); and
one or more first memories coupled to the at least one first processor and storing first programming instructions for execution by the at least one first processor to ([007] memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor):
receive, by the first transceiver, first indication information from the network device ([0199] At 1635 the UE 115 may receive an indication of a first TCI state from the table of TCI states that is to be used in receiving a first transmission beam of the plurality of sequential transmission beams);
when the first indication information indicates that a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) list configured for a terminal device remains the same as a previously configured second TCI list ([0104] the base station 105-c may transmit a RecordPlay activation trigger 415. [0105] the RecordPlay activation trigger 415 may include an indication of which TCI states are to be used. [0106] the base station 105-c does not need to provide an explicit indication for beamforming or quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions for CORESET transmissions or PDSCH transmissions over time, as this gets played from memory at both the base station 105-c and the UE 115-c. In some cases, to receive PDSCH DMRS, the N bit TCI indicator within the DCI 420 may refer to the deterministic table of TCI states 345 ((indicates that a (TCI) list configured for a terminal device remains the same as a previously configured second TCI list)) for that particular slot.), perform beam switching according to an arrangement order of (TCI) states (TCI-states) in the second TCI list ([0095] In some cases, receiving, from the base station, a second indication that the base station is starting transmission of the plurality of sequential transmission beams and applying the plurality of TCI states in a deterministic manner to generate receive beamforming parameters for use in receiving each transmission beam of the plurality of sequential transmission beams may allow a UE that is subject to repetitive movements utilize beamforming parameters that are determined for various position of the UE throughout a movement cycle. [0099] In this example, the UE 115-b may be subject to repetitive movements that may result in different transmission beams being used during the course of the movement of the UE 115-b. (First indication information indicates to use a predetermined stored TCI list.));
the network device comprises:
at least one second processor (FIG. 14, [0178] processor 1420);
a second transceiver (transceiver 1435); and
one or more second memories coupled to the at least one second processor and storing second programming instructions for execution by the at least one second processor to ([0140] The memory 1425 may store computer-readable, computer-executable software 1430 including instructions):
determine the first TCI-state and the first TCI list (Fig. 20, [0232] At 2020 the base station 105 may determine a plurality of TCI states for use in deterministically transmitting a subsequent plurality of sequential transmission beams to the UE. [0236] At 2040 the base station 105 may transmit an indication of a first TCI state from the table of TCI states that is to be used by the UE in receiving a first transmission beam).
Wilson does not teach and when the first TCI list is the same as the second TCI list, send, by the second transceiver, the first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to perform beam switching according to the arrangement order of TCI-states in the second TCI list, and the second TCI list is determined by the network device last time; or
when the first TCI list is different from the second TCI list, send, by the second transceiver, the second indication information to the terminal device, wherein the second indication information indicates the first TCI-state and the first TCI list.
receiving second indication information from the network device; and when the second indication information indicates that the TCI list configured for the terminal device changes from the second TCI list to a first TCI list, performing beam switching according to a first TCI-state in the first TCI list, wherein the first TCI list comprises a plurality of TCI-states comprising the first TCI-state, and in the first TCI list, beams corresponding to TCI-states after the first TCI-state are to sequentially provide a service for the terminal device.
Wilson2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches receiving second indication information from the network device ([0098] Accordingly, at 515, base station 105-c may transmit DCI to UE 115-c that identifies the subset of the set of TCI states to update and the updated QCL relationships corresponding to the TCI states being updated.); and
when the second indication information indicates that the TCI list configured for the terminal device changes from the second TCI list to a first TCI list ([0099] UE 115-c may receive the DCI indicating the update to the subset of the set of TCI states), performing beam switching according to a first TCI-state in the first TCI list ([0100] UE 115-c may then communicate with base station 105-c based on the updated subset of the set of TCI states. [0090] In some examples, the DCI transmitted by base station 105-b at 405 may include a TCI state within TCI subset=0 (e.g., indicating a data beam switch) such that base station 105-b may switch data beams at 410-a and UE 115-b may switch data beams at 410-b (e.g., if offset 425 is larger than Threshold-Sched-Offset).), wherein the first TCI list comprises a plurality of TCI-states comprising the first TCI-state ([0089] As shown in Table 4.1, a first TCI subset may include TCI states associated with an MSB equal to 0, and a second TCI subset may include TCI states associated with an MSB equal to 1. Each TCI state may further be associated with a reference signal (RS), signal block (SB), etc. A parameter in RRC (e.g. ControlBeamSwitch-inDCI) may be specified, and if enabled may associate the TCI states with such TCI subsets. That is, when ControlBeamSwitch-inDCI is enabled, if the MSB of an indicated TCI state is 0, the TCI state may indicate a data beam switch. When ControlBeamSwitch-inDCI is enabled, if the MSB of an indicated TCI state is 1, the TCI state may indicate a joint control and data beam switch.), and in the first TCI list, beams corresponding to TCI-states after the first TCI-state are to sequentially provide a service for the terminal device ([0091] In other examples, the DCI transmitted by base station 105-b at 405 may include a TCI state within TCI subset 1 (e.g., indicating both a control beam and data beam switch) such that base station 105-b may switch data beams at 410-a and UE 115-b may switch data beams at 410-b (e.g., if offset 425 is larger than Threshold-Sched-Offset) and base station 105-b may switch control beams at 420-a and UE 115-b may switch control beams at 420-b.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the dynamic TCI update method of Wilson2 with the beam tracking and beam refinement procedures of Wilson to indicate an update to the TCI states used for commination between the UE and base station. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce latency associated with beam switching operations (Wilson2; [0089]).
Wilson2 does not teach and when the first TCI list is the same as the second TCI list, send, by the second transceiver, the first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to perform beam switching according to the arrangement order of TCI-states in the second TCI list, and the second TCI list is determined by the network device last time; or
when the first TCI list is different from the second TCI list, send, by the second transceiver, the second indication information to the terminal device, wherein the second indication information indicates the first TCI-state and the first TCI list.
Cirik, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches and when the first TCI list is the same as the second TCI list, send, by the second transceiver, the indication information to the terminal device, wherein the indication information indicates the terminal device to perform beam switching according to the arrangement order of TCI-states in the second TCI list, and the second TCI list is determined by the network device last time; or
when the first TCI list is different from the second TCI list, send, by the second transceiver, the indication information to the terminal device, wherein the indication information indicates the first TCI-state and the first TCI list (Fig. 17 [0214] The one or more simultaneous TCI cell lists, which are not overlapping with each other, may comprise the first simultaneous TCI cell list, different from the second simultaneous TCI cell list, that does not comprise the one or more second cells.). (The TCI lists are different). [0228] The wireless device may receive an activation command 1702 (e.g., a MAC-CE, a TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE, DCI, or an RRC message). (second indication information) [0229] The activation command may indicate the TCI state via a field, among the one or more fields, of the activation command. [0233] The activation command (e.g., the activation command 1702, 1810, 1820) may indicate the simultaneous TCI cell list.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the beam management methods of Cirik with the beam tracking methods of Wilson and the dynamic TCI state indication of Wilson2. The motivation to do so would have been to improve wireless communications between devices by selectively applying a resource change/update (Cirik [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Wilson teaches the communication system according to claim 13, wherein:
The first indication information indicates the terminal device to perform beam switching according to the arrangement order of the TCI-states in the second TCI list ([0196] At 1620 the UE 115 may receive, responsive to the reporting the plurality of sets of measured beam parameters, a plurality of TCI states for use in deterministically receiving a subsequent plurality of sequential transmission beams from the base station); or
the second indication information indicates the first TCI-state and the first TCI list.
Regarding claim 15, Wilson teaches the communication system according to claim 13, before receiving the first indication information from the network device, the first programming instructions are for execution by the at least one first processor to receive, by the first transceiver, one or more TCI lists, wherein the one or more TCI lists comprise at least one of the first TCI list or the second TCI list ([0196] At 1620 the UE 115 may receive, responsive to the reporting the plurality of sets of measured beam parameters, a plurality of TCI states for use in deterministically receiving a subsequent plurality of sequential transmission beams from the base station. [0197] At 1625 the UE 115 may store the plurality of TCI states. Examiner is interpreting the plurality of TCI states as one or more TCI lists. As shown in Fig. 16, this happens before receiving indication information at steps 1630 and 1635).
Regarding claim 16, Wilson teaches claim 15 but does not explicitly teach, wherein the one or more TCI lists are comprised in system information, or comprised in radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Cirik, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches wherein the one or more TCI lists are comprised in system information, or comprised in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0209] The one or more configuration parameters 1701 (e.g., RRC configuration, RRC reconfiguration, etc.) may indicate one or more cell groups/lists (e.g., one or more simultaneous TCI cell lists) associated with a TCI state change/update).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the beam management methods of Cirik with the beam tracking methods of Wilson. The motivation to do so would have been to improve wireless communications between devices by selectively applying a resource change/update (Cirik [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Wilson teaches the communication system according to claim 13, wherein the indication information is comprised in any one of the following: downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 6, [0121] At 630, the base station 105-e may configure DCI with a first TCI state. In some cases, the DCI may include an index into a table of available TCI states. In other cases, the DCI may identify a TCI ID. The base station 105-e may then transmit the DCI 635 to the UE 115-e.); a media access control control element (MAC CE); and radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Regarding claim 19, Wilson teaches the communication system according to claim 13, wherein the second programming instructions are for execution by the at least one second processor to send, by the second transceiver, one or more TCI lists, and the one or more TCI lists comprise at least one of the first TCI list or the second TCI list ([0196] At 1620 the UE 115 may receive, responsive to the reporting the plurality of sets of measured beam parameters, a plurality of TCI states for use in deterministically receiving a subsequent plurality of sequential transmission beams from the base station. [0197] At 1625 the UE 115 may store the plurality of TCI states. Examiner is interpreting the plurality of TCI states as one or more TCI lists. As shown in Fig. 16, this happens before receiving indication information at steps 1630 and 1635).
Regarding claim 20, Wilson teaches the communication system according to claim 13, wherein the second programming instructions are for execution by the at least one second processor to determine the first TCI-state and the first TCI list based on a location of the terminal device ([0092] [0093][0094] In cases where the UE 115-a repetitively moves between the first position 215 and the second position 220, the respective TCI states, as well as one or more intermediate TCI states, may be stored and used to determine beamforming parameters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Wilson2 and Cirik; further in view of Goyal.
Regarding claim 17, Wilson in view of Wilson2 and Cirik teach claim 13, but do not teach wherein the first programming instructions are for execution by the at least one first processor to:
receive, by the first transceiver, request information from the network device through a message 2 in a random access process, and the request information is for requesting a location of the terminal device; and
send, by the first transceiver, location information to the network device through a message 3 in the random access process, wherein the location information indicates the location of the terminal device.
Goyal, in the same field of endeavor of network communications, teaches wherein the method further comprises:
receive, by the first transceiver, request information from the network device through a message 2 in a random access process, wherein the request information is for requesting a location of the terminal device (FIG. 10, [0128] The WTRU may receive a second positioning message MSG2 1022, for example in a RAR, including any of temporary identifier, an UL grant, a TA, etc. This request information is to be used by the terminal to send location information to the network device.); and
send, by the first transceiver, location information to the network device through a message 3 in the random access process, wherein the location information indicates the location of the terminal device ([0128] The WTRU may transmit a third positioning message MSG3 1024 in the PUSCH according to the UL grant, the third positioning message MSG3 1024 including any of a WTRU ID, and a positioning measurement report according to any embodiment described above).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of determining a terminal device’s location with the beam tracking methods of Wilson to determine positioning of a terminal device while it is in idle and/or inactive mode. The motivation to do so would have been to allow for increased positioning accuracy and/or decreased latency of location determination ([0003]; Goyal).
Conclusion
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465