DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges the applicant's submission of the amendment dated 4/8/2026.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC ' 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 9-11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0032913, hereafter “Kim”) in view of Wang (US 2021/0081109) and Cho et al (US 2021/0034300).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a memory controller of a host device (the memory controller corresponding to host controller 1130 and Host I/F 1101 of Fig. 1, which control data reads and writes to storage device 1200, Paragraphs 0040-0041) configured to couple the host device to a memory system through a physical layer interface (PHY) (PHY corresponding to the Host I/F 1101, which couples the host device 100 with memory system 1200 of Fig. 1), the memory controller configured to perform operations including:
initializing the PHY to operate at a first speed (initially, the speed is set to “the first speed mode A,” Paragraph 0063, also see Fig. 6 where the first speed mode A is shown between time t0 and t1);
receiving PHY configuration information for configuring the PHY to operate at a second speed, greater than the first speed, from a first buffer of the memory system (“information about the efficient transfer speed is sent from the UFS device 2200 to the UFS host 2100,” Paragraph 0091 and step S130 of Fig. 12, also see the Speed Mode Table of Fig. 10, which may increase an operating speed, and the first buffer of the memory system corresponding to the speed mode table of Fig. 10, which is used to determine a speed, Paragraph 0081, further, configuration data from the Speed Mode Table is sent from the Speed Mode Table to a host at step S130 of Fig. 12, and Fig. 8 clearly shows that this data goes through MA queue (Tx) 222 before being sent to the host. The DMA queue is also a buffer in the broadest reasonable interpretation, giving buffer the plain meaning in the art of “a section of computer memory for temporarily storing information”); and
adjusting a configuration of the PHY in accordance with the PHY configuration information (step S150 of Fig. 12, and “The host controller 2130 changes the data transfer speeds of the interfaces 2101 and 2201 according to the speed change command,” Paragraph 0093) to operate at the second speed (step S160 of Fig. 12).
However, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach:
communicating with the memory system, via the PHY at the second speed, before initialization of the memory system is complete.
Wang teaches communicating with a memory system, via the PHY at a second speed, before initialization of the memory system is complete (communication begins at low speed at step S102 of Fig.11, and increases to a second higher speed at step S105 of Fig. 11, and Fig. 11 is a parameter setting/initialization process, Paragraph 0017, where “initialization” has been interpreted as the time between power-on of the memory device and the time I/O SSD commands received from the host are ready to be executed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the second speed during initialization (as taught by Wang) in the cited prior art in order to quickly allow high-speed access to the SSD (Paragraph 0056 of Wang).
Further, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach communicating with the memory system before an fDeviceInit operation of the memory system is complete.
Cho teaches communicating with and initializing a system before an fDeviceInit operation of the memory system is complete (Paragraphs 0102-0104).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the fDeviceInit of Cho in the cited prior art in order to notify the host when initialization is complete (Paragraph 0104).
Regarding Claim 2, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first buffer is located in a flash memory of the memory system (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding Claim 3, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the memory controller is further configured to complete initialization of the flash memory after adjusting the configuration of the PHY (shown on Fig. 11 of Wang).
Regarding Claim 6, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PHY configuration information comprises a PHY patch associated with the second speed, and wherein adjusting the configuration of the PHY comprises applying the PHY patch (each patch corresponds to a speed mode of Fig. 10, which is applied at step S150 of Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 7, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the buffer stores a plurality of PHY patches associated with a plurality of speeds (each patch corresponds to a speed mode of Fig. 10, and the plurality of speeds are shown).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches a method, comprising:
initializing, by a memory controller of a host device (the memory controller corresponding to host controller 1130 and Host I/F 1101 of Fig. 1, which control data reads and writes to storage device 1200, Paragraphs 0040-0041), a physical interface (PHY) for connecting the host device to a memory system (PHY corresponding to the Host I/F 1101 to operate at a first speed (initially, the speed is set to “the first speed mode A,” Paragraph 0063, also see Fig. 6 where the first speed mode A is shown between time t0 and t1);
receiving PHY configuration information for configuring the PHY to operate at a second speed, greater than the first speed, from a first buffer of the memory system (“information about the efficient transfer speed is sent from the UFS device 2200 to the UFS host 2100,” Paragraph 0091 and step S130 of Fig. 12, also see the Speed Mode Table of Fig. 10, which may increase an operating speed, and the first buffer of the memory system corresponding to the speed mode table of Fig. 10, which is used to determine a speed, Paragraph 0081, further, configuration data from the Speed Mode Table is sent from the Speed Mode Table to a host at step S130 of Fig. 12, and Fig. 8 clearly shows that this data goes through MA queue (Tx) 222 before being sent to the host. The DMA queue is also a buffer in the broadest reasonable interpretation, giving buffer the plain meaning in the art of “a section of computer memory for temporarily storing information”); and
adjusting, by the memory controller, a configuration of the PHY in accordance with the PHY configuration information (step S150 of Fig. 12, and “The host controller 2130 changes the data transfer speeds of the interfaces 2101 and 2201 according to the speed change command,” Paragraph 0093) to operate at the second speed (step S160 of Fig. 12).
However, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach:
communicating with the memory system, via the PHY at the second speed, before initialization of the memory system is complete.
Wang teaches communicating with a memory system, via the PHY at a second speed, before initialization of the memory system is complete (communication begins at low speed at step S102 of Fig.11, and increases to a second higher speed at step S105 of Fig. 11, and Fig. 11 is a parameter setting/initialization process, Paragraph 0017, where “initialization” has been interpreted as the time between power-on of the memory device and the time I/O SSD commands received from the host are ready to be executed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the second speed during initialization (as taught by Wang) in the cited prior art in order to quickly allow high-speed access to the SSD (Paragraph 0056 of Wang).
Further, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach communicating with the memory system before an fDeviceInit operation of the memory system is complete.
Cho teaches communicating with and initializing a system before an fDeviceInit operation of the memory system is complete (Paragraphs 0102-0104).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the fDeviceInit of Cho in the cited prior art in order to notify the host when initialization is complete (Paragraph 0104).
Regarding Claim 10, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the first buffer is located in a flash memory of the memory system (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding Claim 11, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising completing initialization of the flash memory after adjusting the configuration of the PHY (shown on Fig. 11 of Wang).
Regarding Claim 14, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the PHY configuration information comprises a PHY patch associated with the second speed, and wherein adjusting the configuration of the PHY comprises applying the PHY patch (each patch corresponds to a speed mode of Fig. 10, which is applied at step S150 of Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 15, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the buffer stores a plurality of PHY patches associated with a plurality of speeds (each patch corresponds to a speed mode of Fig. 10, and the plurality of speeds are shown).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0032913) in view of Wang (US 2021/0081109), Cho et al (US 2021/0034300) and Sela et al (US 2023/0035584).
Regarding Claim 4, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein initializing the PHY to operate at the first speed comprises completing a link initialization stage of initialization of the host device.
Sela teaches initializing a PHY to operate at a first speed comprising completing a link initialization stage of initialization of a host device (link initialization shown as steps 502 and 504 of Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the link initialization stage of Sela in the cited prior art in order to establish communication between the memory and a host.
Regarding Claim 12, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein initializing the PHY to operate at the first speed comprises completing a link initialization stage of initialization of the host device.
Sela teaches initializing a PHY to operate at a first speed comprising completing a link initialization stage of initialization of a host device (link initialization shown as steps 502 and 504 of Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the link initialization stage of Sela in the cited prior art in order to establish communication between the memory and a host.
Claims 5, 13, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 24-26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0032913) in view of Wang (US 2021/0081109), Cho et al (US 2021/0034300), and Kim et al (US 11,782,853, hereafter “Kim ‘853”).
Regarding Claim 5, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the memory controller is further configured to perform operations including: transmitting, after initializing the PHY to operate at the first speed, a request for the PHY configuration information to the memory system.
Kim ‘853 teaches transmitting, after initializing a device to operate at the first speed, a request for the configuration information to the memory system (the request corresponding to PWR_req, step S381 of Fig. 4, C10 L1-16).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the transmitting o the request (as taught in Kim ‘853) to adjust the configuration of the PHY in the cited prior art in order to allow a host to control data transfer rates.
Regarding Claim 13, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 9, but does not explicitly teach: transmitting, after initializing the PHY to operate at the first speed, a request for the PHY configuration information to the memory system.
Kim ‘853 teaches transmitting, after initializing a device to operate at the first speed, a request for the configuration information to the memory system (the request corresponding to PWR_req, step S381 of Fig. 4, C10 L1-16).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the transmitting o the request (as taught in Kim ‘853) to adjust the configuration of the PHY in the cited prior art in order to allow a host to control data transfer rates.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a memory controller (device controller 1230 Fig. 1):
coupled to a memory module (memory module/NVM 1210 of Fig. 1) through a first channel and configured to access data stored in the memory module through the first channel (first channel corresponding to the channel between the device controller 1230 and memory 1210 of Fig. 1); and coupled to a host device through a first physical interface (PHY) and configured to communicate with the host device over the first PHY (PHY corresponding to device interface 1201 of Fig. 1, shown as coupled to a host device), the memory controller configured to perform operations comprising:
after the PHY is initialized to operate at a first speed (initially, the speed is set to “the first speed mode A,” Paragraph 0063, also see Fig. 6 where the first speed mode A is shown between time t0 and t1), generating PHY configuration information for configuring the PHY to operate at a second speed, greater than the first speed, from a first buffer of the memory module (“information about the efficient transfer speed is sent from the UFS device 2200 to the UFS host 2100,” Paragraph 0091 and step S130 of Fig. 12, also see the Speed Mode Table of Fig. 10, which may increase an operating speed, and the first buffer of the memory system corresponding to the speed mode table of Fig. 10, which is used to determine a speed, Paragraph 0081, further, configuration data from the Speed Mode Table is sent from the Speed Mode Table to a host at step S130 of Fig. 12, and Fig. 8 clearly shows that this data goes through MA queue (Tx) 222 before being sent to the host. The DMA queue is also a buffer in the broadest reasonable interpretation, giving buffer the plain meaning in the art of “a section of computer memory for temporarily storing information”); and
transmitting the PHY configuration information to the host device (Paragraph 0091).
However, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach:
receiving, from the host device, after the PHY is initialized to operate at a first speed, a request for PHY configuration information for configuring the PHY to operate at a second speed, greater than the first speed.
Kim ‘853 teaches receiving, from a host device, after a device is initialized to operate at a first speed, a request for device configuration information for configuring the device to operate at a second speed, greater than the first speed (the request corresponding to PWR_req, step S381 of Fig. 4, C10 L1-16); and
transmitting the configuration information to the host device (step S382 of Fig. 4, C10 L19-23).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented receiving the request from the host (as taught in Kim ‘853) to adjust the configuration of the PHY in the cited prior art in order to allow a host to control data transfer rates.
Further, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach:
communicating with the memory system, via the PHY at the second speed, before initialization of the memory system is complete.
Wang teaches communicating with a memory system, via the PHY at a second speed, before initialization of the memory system is complete (communication begins at low speed at step S102 of Fig.11, and increases to a second higher speed at step S105 of Fig. 11, and Fig. 11 is a parameter setting/initialization process, Paragraph 0017, where “initialization” has been interpreted as the time between power-on of the memory device and the time I/O SSD commands received from the host are ready to be executed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the second speed during initialization (as taught by Wang) in the cited prior art in order to quickly allow high-speed access to the SSD (Paragraph 0056 of Wang).
Further, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach communicating with the host before an fDeviceInit operation of the memory module is complete.
Cho teaches communicating with and initializing a system before an fDeviceInit operation of the memory module is complete (Paragraphs 0102-0104).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the fDeviceInit of Cho in the cited prior art in order to notify the host when initialization is complete (Paragraph 0104).
Regarding Claim 18, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first buffer is located in a flash memory of the memory module (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding Claim 19, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein transmitting the PHY configuration information is performed before initialization of the flash memory is complete (shown on Fig. 11 of Wang).
Regarding Claim 21, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the PHY configuration information comprises a PHY patch associated with the second speed (each patch corresponds to a speed mode of Fig. 10, which is applied at step S150 of Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 22, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the buffer stores a plurality of PHY patches associated with a plurality of speeds (each patch corresponds to a speed mode of Fig. 10, and the plurality of speeds are shown).
Regarding Claim 24, Kim teaches a method, comprising:
sending, at a memory controller (device controller 1230 Fig. 1), after a physical interface (PHY) connecting the memory controller to the host device (host 1100 of Fig. 1) is initialized to operate at a first speed (initially, the speed is set to “the first speed mode A,” Paragraph 0063, also see Fig. 6 where the first speed mode A is shown between time t0 and t1), PHY configuration information for configuring the PHY to operate at a second speed, greater than the first speed, from a first buffer of a memory module coupled to the memory controller (“information about the efficient transfer speed [configuration information] is sent from the UFS device 2200 to the UFS host 2100,” Paragraph 0091 and step S130 of Fig. 12, also see the Speed Mode Table of Fig. 10, which may increase an operating speed, and the first buffer of the memory system corresponding to the speed mode table of Fig. 10, which is used to determine a speed, Paragraph 0081); and
transmitting, by the memory controller, the PHY configuration information to the host device (Paragraph 0091).
However, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach:
receiving, at a memory controller from a host device, after a physical interface (PHY) connecting the memory controller to the host device is initialized to operate at a first speed, a request for PHY configuration information for configuring the PHY to operate at a second speed, greater than the first speed.
Kim ‘853 teaches receiving, at a memory controller from a host device, after a memory connecting the memory controller to the host device is initialized to operate at a first speed, a request for configuration information for configuring the memory to operate at a second speed, greater than the first speed (the request corresponding to PWR_req, step S381 of Fig. 4, C10 L1-16); and
transmitting the configuration information to the host device (step S382 of Fig. 4, C10 L19-23).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented receiving the request from the host (as taught in Kim ‘853) to adjust the configuration of the PHY in the cited prior art in order to allow a host to control data transfer rates.
Further, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach:
communicating with the memory system, via the PHY at the second speed, before initialization of the memory system is complete.
Wang teaches communicating with a memory system, via the PHY at a second speed, before initialization of the memory system is complete (communication begins at low speed at step S102 of Fig.11, and increases to a second higher speed at step S105 of Fig. 11, and Fig. 11 is a parameter setting/initialization process, Paragraph 0017, where “initialization” has been interpreted as the time between power-on of the memory device and the time I/O SSD commands received from the host are ready to be executed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the second speed during initialization (as taught by Wang) in the cited prior art in order to quickly allow high-speed access to the SSD (Paragraph 0056 of Wang).
Further, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach communicating with the host before an fDeviceInit operation of the memory module is complete.
Cho teaches communicating with and initializing a system before an fDeviceInit operation of the memory module is complete (Paragraphs 0102-0104).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the fDeviceInit of Cho in the cited prior art in order to notify the host when initialization is complete (Paragraph 0104).
Regarding Claim 25, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the first buffer is located in a flash memory of the memory module (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding Claim 26, the cited prior art taches the method of claim 25, wherein transmitting the PHY configuration information is performed before initialization of the flash memory is complete (shown on Fig. 11 of Wang).
Regarding Claim 28, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the PHY configuration information comprises a PHY patch associated with the second speed (each patch corresponds to a speed mode of Fig. 10, which is applied at step S150 of Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 29, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the buffer stores a plurality of PHY patches associated with a plurality of speeds (each patch corresponds to a speed mode of Fig. 10, and the plurality of speeds are shown).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0032913) in view of Wang (US 2021/0081109), Cho et al (US 2021/0034300) and Hsiang et al (US 2024/0118583).
Regarding Claim 8, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first buffer is configured as read-only.
Hsiang teaches parameters required for operation in a read-only memory (Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the read-only memory of Hsiang for the first buffer of the cited prior art so the speeds of the interfaces cannot be changed.
Regarding Claim 16, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 9, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first buffer is configured as read-only.
Hsiang teaches parameters required for operation in a read-only memory (Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the read-only memory of Hsiang for the buffer of the cited prior art so the speeds of the interfaces cannot be changed.
Claims 20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0032913) in view of Wang (US 2021/0081109), Kim et al (US 11,782,853, hereafter “Kim ‘853”), Cho et al (US 2021/0034300) and Sela et al (US 2023/0035584).
Regarding Claim 20, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 19, but does not explicitly teach wherein the PHY is initialized to operate at the first speed during a link initialization stage of initialization of the host device.
Sela teaches initializing a PHY to operate at a first speed during a link initialization stage of initialization of the host device (link initialization shown as steps 502 and 504 of Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the link initialization stage of Sela in the cited prior art in order to establish communication between the memory and a host.
Regarding Claim 27, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 26, but does not explicitly teach wherein the PHY is initialized to operate at the first speed during a link initialization stage of initialization of the host device.
Sela teaches initializing a PHY to operate at a first speed during a link initialization stage of initialization of the host device (link initialization shown as steps 502 and 504 of Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the link initialization stage of Sela in the cited prior art in order to establish communication between the memory and a host.
Claims 23 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0032913) in view of Wang (US 2021/0081109), Kim et al (US 11,782,853, hereafter “Kim ‘853”), Cho et al (US 2021/0034300) and Hsiang et al (US 2024/0118583).
Regarding Claim 23, the cited prior art teaches the apparatus of claim 17, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first buffer is configured as read-only.
Hsiang teaches parameters required for operation in a read-only memory (Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the read-only memory of Hsiang for the first buffer of the cited prior art so the speeds of the interfaces cannot be changed.
Regarding Claim 30, the cited prior art teaches the method of claim 24, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first buffer is configured as read-only.
Hsiang teaches parameters required for operation in a read-only memory (Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the read-only memory of Hsiang for the first buffer of the cited prior art so the speeds of the interfaces cannot be changed.
ARGUMENTS CONCERNING PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Rejections - USC 102/103
On pages 9-10 of the submitted remarks, applicant argues that the cited prior art, particularly Wang, “fails to disclose "communicating with the memory system, via the PHY at the second speed, before an fDeviceInit operation of the memory system is complete" because Wang's disclosed high speed setting is performed after initializing the NAND flash memory.”
This argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
The examiner has given the term “initialization” the plain meaning of “put in the condition to start operation.” In the memory system of Wang, the initialization has been interpreted as the time between power-on of the memory device and the time I/O SSD commands received from the host are ready to be executed. The examiner maintains that all commands between steps S102-S105 are performed before read/write commands are received from the host, and that this is therefore an “initialization” process in the broadest reasonable interpretation, as the steps are for initializing the SSD at a high-speed in preparation for I/O from the host (see Paragraph 0056, where it is indicated that Fig. 11 is performed during startup/initialization). Though Wang does refer to starting the flash memory and resetting various settings as “initialization” (step S103 and Paragraph 0106), this is merely a part of the preparation/initialization process for the SSD to transmit data to and from the host at a high speed, as the “initialization” at step S103 of Wang merely “resets various settings.” After step 103, the device is not ready for use by the host, as the firmware and relevant parameters for the flash device are not loaded – therefore, the device is not ready for use, and is not “initialized” in the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant further argues on pages 10-11 of the submitted remarks that Cho fails to remedy Wang’s deficiencies, and that it would not be obvious to combing Cho with the cited prior art.
These arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Though Wang does not explicitly teach an fDeviceInit flag, this element is taught by Cho. It is known in the art that an “fDeviceInit” flag is used as a signal to indicate to a host when a memory device has finished initialization tasks. The examiner maintains that the device of Wang is not ready for commands from the host (and thus has not completed initialization) until the steps of Fig. 11 are performed once, as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the flash of Wang is not ready for host I/O until at least firmware is loaded (at step S104) and the PHY Parameters are set (at step S110). The examiner maintains that it would be obvious to signal the fDeviceInit operation to be complete only when the memory is ready for host I/O, which does not occur in Wang until the steps of Fig. 11 have been performed at least once. One of ordinary skill in the art would not indicate an “fDeviceInit” operation is complete before the flash device is ready for host commands, as it is well known in the art that indicating the “fDeviceInit” operation is complete indicates to the host that the flash device is ready for I/O commands. Therefore, the examiner maintains it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to indicate the “fDeviceInit” operation is complete after step S110 of Fig. 11 of Wang has been performed. Applicant’s statement that “loading of firmware and a PHY parameter table to DRAM at S104 would cause the loading of the firmware and PHY parameter table to DRAM from the NAND flash memory at S104 to cease to function properly, given the lack of completion of the fDeviceInit operation” is not true, as if an fDeviceInit operation were sent before the proper firmware and parameters were loaded, a host would assume the flash device was ready for I/O, even though essential firmware and parameters are not loaded into the memory device.
For the above reasons, the examiner maintains that the cited prior art teaches the claims as presented.
RELEVANT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of skill in the applicant's art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references include:
Yoon et al (US 2021/0034298) teaches MEMORY DEVICE INCLUDING PLURALITY OF BUFFER AREAS FOR SUPPORTING FAST WRITE AND FAST READ AND STORAGE DEVICE INCLUDING THE SAME.
CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. ' 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-30 have been rejected in the application.
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
/MARK A GIARDINO JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135