DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 with the election of Claims 1-7. Therefore, claim 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, claims 1-7 are presently pending in this application.
Applicant's election with traverse is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that groups I (claims 1-7) and II (claims 8-14) are not independent or distinct due to overlapping subject matter. This is not found to be persuasive since claims 1-7 are directed to a product/apparatus and claims 8-14 are directed to a method of making the product/apparatus. The determination of patentably distinct subject matter is based on a one-way distinction as discussed on page 2 of the restriction requirement. Restriction between product and process of making is based on subject matter disclosed in independent claims only and if a one-way distinction can be shown. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Furthermore, as discussed on page 5 of the restriction requirement, the non-elected process claims will be rejoined when the product/apparatus claims are found to be allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esch et al. (2007/0088433) “Esch” in view of Hong et al. (2012/0259411) “Hong”.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Esch discloses an intraocular lens (IOL) 20 (abstract and Figs. 3A-3B), comprising: a lens body 21 having a monolithic anterior lens element 23 (par. 0049) and a monolithic posterior lens element 27 (par. 0049); and one or more haptics 22 coupled to the lens body (as shown in Fig. 3B).
Esch is silent regarding an anterior nanostructure assembly formed thereon and posterior nanostructure assembly formed thereon; and wherein each of the anterior nanostructure assembly and the posterior nanostructure assembly includes a plurality of protrusions having heights of between 30 nm and 200 nm, widths of between 30 nm and 300 nm, and spacings between adjacent protrusions of between 30 nm and 300 nm. However, Hong teaches a similar IOL 150 comprising a lens body 150 and haptics 154 (par. 0046 and Figs. 1-2 and 17) comprising an anterior nanostructure assembly 156 formed thereon and posterior nanostructure assembly 156 formed thereon (Fig. 17 and par. 0046 discloses a nanostructure assembly disposed on anterior and posterior surfaces of the lens body 152); and wherein each of the anterior nanostructure assembly and the posterior nanostructure assembly includes a plurality of protrusions 22 (Fig. 2) having heights of between 30 nm and 200 nm (par. 0028 discloses protrusion height of 100-200 nm), widths of between 30 nm and 300 nm (par. 0028 discloses protrusion width of 25-50 nm), and spacings between adjacent protrusions of between 30 nm and 300 nm (par. 0028 discloses spacing between protrusions have a width of 10-30 nm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the IOL in Esch to include an anterior nanostructure assembly formed thereon and posterior nanostructure assembly formed thereon; and wherein each of the anterior nanostructure assembly and the posterior nanostructure assembly includes a plurality of protrusions having heights of between 30 nm and 200 nm, widths of between 30 nm and 300 nm, and spacings between adjacent protrusions of between 30 nm and 300 nm, as taught and suggested by Hong, for providing a reduction in surface reflection and scattering of light associated with IOLs (pars. 0002-0006).
Regarding claims 3-5, Esch discloses an optical fluid 38 filled in a cavity 35 formed between the monolithic anterior lens 23 element and the monolithic posterior lens 27 element (par. 0055 and Fig. 3B discloses a cavity 35 located between anterior and posterior lens 23/27 filled with fluid 38); e optical fluid comprises silicone oil (par. 0051) and wherein the one or more haptics 22 each include an internal volume 34 that is in fluid communication with the cavity 35 (pars. 0049 and 0055 discloses fluid 38 travels through channels 34 in haptics 22 and cavity 35).
Regarding claim 7, Esch in view of Hong disclose the claimed invention of claim 1 including the structure of a lens body 21 having a monolithic anterior lens element 23 (par. 0049) and a monolithic posterior lens element 27 (par. 0049); and one or more haptics 22 coupled to the lens body (as shown in Fig. 3B) and an anterior nanostructure assembly 156 formed thereon and posterior nanostructure assembly 156 formed thereon (Fig. 17 and par. 0046 discloses a nanostructure assembly disposed on anterior and posterior surfaces of the lens body 152); and wherein each of the anterior nanostructure assembly and the posterior nanostructure assembly includes a plurality of protrusions 22 (Fig. 2) having heights of between 30 nm and 200 nm (par. 0028 discloses protrusion height of 100-200 nm), widths of between 30 nm and 300 nm (par. 0028 discloses protrusion width of 25-50 nm), and spacings between adjacent protrusions of between 30 nm and 300 nm (par. 0028 discloses spacing between protrusions have a width of 10-30 nm).
Esch in view of Hong is silent regarding explicitly disclosing wherein the anterior nanostructure assembly and the posterior nanostructure assembly are configured to reduce reflectivity of the lens body by between 10 % and 90 % as compared to a lens body with no nanostructure assemblies on the monolithic anterior lens element or the monolithic posterior lens element. However, Hong does disclose reducing reflectivity of the lens using the nanostructure assembly (pars. 0008 and 0029). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Esch in view of Hong to reduce reflectivity of the lens body by between 10 % and 90 %, since these are result effective variables that contribute to the surface reflectance and light scattering on the IOL, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and modifying the IOL to reduce reflectivity of the lens body by between 10 % and 90 %, would allow for a desired image with lower reflectance. MPEP 2144.05
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. MPEP 2144.05
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esch et al. (2007/0088433) “Esch” in view of Hong et al. (2012/0259411) “Hong” further in view of Ho et al. (2009/0076602)” “Ho”.
Esch in view of Hong discloses the claimed invention of claim 1; except for the monolithic anterior lens element and the monolithic posterior lens element each comprises poly (dimethylsiloxane) (PDMS). However, Ho teaches an IOL comprising PDMS (0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the IOL in Esch in view of Hong to include poly (dimethylsiloxane) (PDMS) as taught and suggested by Ho, for using a flexible polymer that allows for foldability and deformability (par.0008).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include poly (dimethylsiloxane) (PDMS), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/YASHITA SHARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774