DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding applicant’s amendment to the parent claims, since status can be defined as current state or condition, and the description of the controllable device capabilities are the current available operating conditions or states, the controllable device capabilities can be equated to device’s status.
As to the amendment to the dependent claims, please see below new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palin 20160212147.
As to claim 1, Palin discloses a method for low energy sensing [using Bluetooth™ Low Energy protocol (LE)] (see par. 0003) the methodcomprising:
placing a sensor in a listening mode [the radio only listens for specific advertisements until receiving an advertising message] (see par. 0257);
receiving, by the sensor, a wake-up request (see par. 0249, 0259, 0274);
in response to the sensor receiving the wake-up request: detecting [reading, getting], by the sensor, a first parameter, the first parameter including one or more of: an environmental parameter sensed by the sensor, a current device status of the sensor, or data sensed by the sensor [id or description of the controllable device capabilities]; generating, by the sensor, a response [first packet] including the first parameter (see par. 0103, 0247); and broadcasting, by the sensor, the response [first packet] [controllable device 102 starts sending the Bluetooth LE advertisements 150 containing a description of the controllable device capabilities] (see par. 0263, 0273). Palin does not explicitly recite that response Bluetooth LE advertisement is a packet; however, Palin disclose in par. 0247 that the received Bluetooth LE advertisement is a packet; thereby, it will be obvious that the response Bluetooth LE advertisement is also a packet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to repeat the teaching of the received Bluetooth LE advertisement into the response Bluetooth LE advertisement since it will provide the same predictable result of sending the desired information to achieve the desired outcome.
As to claim 2, Palin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein while in the listening mode, the sensor is does not transmit any data unless the wake-up request is first received [the radio only listens for specific advertisements until receiving an advertising message] (see par. 0257).
As to claim 3, Palin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein while in the listening mode, the sensor is does not detect any parameter unless the wake-up request is first received [the radio only listens for specific advertisements until receiving an advertising message] (see par. 0257).
As to claim 5, Palin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sensor is Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) compatible, and the first packet is an advertisement packet (see par. 0136). Palin does not explicitly recite that response Bluetooth LE advertisement is a packet; however, Palin disclose in par. 0247 that the received Bluetooth LE advertisement is a packet; thereby, it will be obvious that the response Bluetooth LE advertisement is also a packet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to repeat the teaching of the received Bluetooth LE advertisement into the response Bluetooth LE advertisement since it will provide the same predictable result of sending the desired information to achieve the desired outcome.
As to claim 6, Palin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein prior to the sensor receiving the wake-up request, the sensor has no other communication with a device that transmitted the wake-up request [the radio only listens for specific advertisements until receiving an advertising message] (see fig. 1; par. 0257).
Regarding claims 18-19, they are the respective Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) sensor claims of method claims 1-2. Therefore, claims 18-19 are rejected for the same reasons as show above. In addition, fig. 1B shows the processor 122 and communicators 115-116.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palin 20160212147 in view of Meli WO 2024/175606.
As to claims 4, Palin discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: in response to the sensor receiving the wake-up request, broadcasting, by the sensor, (see par. 0249, 0259, 0273-0274). Palin fails to disclose broadcasting, by the sensor, the wake-up request. In an analogous art, Meli discloses: in response to the sensor receiving the wake-up request [110], broadcasting, by the sensor, the wake-up request [150] (see fig. 2; page 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of forwarding the wakeup signal and allowing to wake up additional devices.
Claim(s) 7-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palin 20160212147 in view of Iustin WO 2024/218182.
As to claim 7, Palin discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: in response to the sensor receiving the wake-up request, detecting, by the sensor, a second parameter, wherein the first parameter is different from the second parameter [id and description of the controllable device capabilities] (see par. 0103). Palin does not specifically disclose a second parameter of the list. In an analogous art, Iustin discloses a second parameter, the second parameter including one or more of: an environmental parameter sensed by the sensor, a current device status of the sensor, or data sensed by the sensor [sensor data may comprise one or more data packets representative of a sensor status, a sensor identity, a sensor functionality, or a sensor reading] (see page 6, lines 11-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use one of Iustin’s parameters in Palin for a fast reading of the sensor parameter; thereby, increasing user satisfaction.
As to claim 8, Palin discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first message includes both the first parameter and the second parameter [id and description of the controllable device capabilities] (see par. 0103). Palin does not explicitly recite that response Bluetooth LE advertisement is packet; however, Palin disclose in par. 0247 that the received Bluetooth LE advertisement is a packet; thereby, it will be obvious that the response Bluetooth LE advertisement is also a packet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to repeat the teaching of the received Bluetooth LE advertisement into the response Bluetooth LE advertisement since it will provide the same predictable result of sending the desired information to achieve the desired outcome.
As to claim 9, Palin discloses the method of claim 7 further comprising: in response to the sensor receiving the wake-up request: generating, by the sensor, the second parameter; and broadcasting, by the sensor, the second parameter [id or description of the controllable device capabilities] (see par. 0103). Palin fails to disclose a second packet; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to separate information, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to broadcast a second message or packet for the simple purpose of making sure that the information is received.
Regarding claim 20, they are the respective Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) sensor claims of method claims 7-8. Therefore, claims 20 is rejected for the same reasons as show above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647